Hershey farmhouse rental - Union Deposit Homestead
Union Deposit Homestead
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Hershey Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

The Union Deposit Homestead, built in the 1760's, is located in the quaint Village of Union Deposit, a 3 minute drive to Hershey Park,the Giant center and downtown Hershey.

Our Stone House was one of three original buildings in this historic community. It is nestled on a private park-like setting on the edge of the village with mature trees and a small stream. It is located adjacent to open fields.

At one time the house was known to have hidden stairways and a room to hide from the Indians that raided homesteads in the 1700's. Today it still has many interesting features including the large fireplace that was once the summer kitchen, two porches, a covered patio with a fenced and gated play area.

Enjoy the Home as you relax after a day at Hershey Park or from your tour of South Central Pennsylvania attractions, i.e. Pa Dutch county, Gettysburg Battlefield, numerous golf courses, Zoo America, Hershey Rose Garden, Chocolate World, Capitol attractions, or swimming at the Hershey pool and play area, and many more.

Keywords: Stone Farmhouse built in 1760's

More Details
Hide Details

We always admired this home. When it came on the market, we rushed to see it and the love continues to today. We love older homes, the home and setting was so charming it spoke to our desire to part of it's history. These dwellings are masterpieces of the early settlers who used what was available to create beautiful and sustaining buildings. The saying, 'If Walls Could Talk'...can we really imagine all that must have been taken place here.. The best part is location. All the history and close to everything! We proudly welcome you to our home. Come, relax and ENJOY. Sincerely, Diane and Bob

The Owner purchased this farmhouse in 2005

11 Reviews of Property 290138 in Hershey, Pennsylvania

Union Deposit Stone Homestead
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful Stay at a Beautiful Historic Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at this lovely home with another couple and our babies over New Year's. The home has lots of charm and plenty of space to enjoy. The kitchen is new and became the hang-out spot for much of the weekend. We also enjoyed the backyard and various porches.

We visited Hershey Park, Lititz, and a local brewery. The home is very convenient to several attractions. Thank you to the owners for making this home available. If we come back to this part of PA in the future, we would certainly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
CT
5

Best place to stay in Hershey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I am so glad we found this wonderful house to stay in. It was perfect for us to have our children and grandchildren all be together. The home was clean, had everything we needed, private yet convenient to all Hershey area attractions. The pictures and description in the listing are accurate and we would stay there again if in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Carlsbad, CA
5

Charming and Perfect Family Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I adjusted (fudged) my dates by a few days to allow the review to be accepted! Our family checked in on 10/25/12 and had anticipated spending 4 nights in this lovely home. We have 4 children and wanted to have space and enjoy our time inside the home as much as we enjoyed Hershey Park. Sadly, Hurricane Sandy was churning northeast during our vacation. Diane, in the kindest way, respectfully asked us to get out asap! We were in vacation mode, so we were not watching the TV, news, etc...so hadn't a clue about the "Frankenstorm" headed our way. We left on the morning of 10/28 (one full day early). My childhood home is in Breezy Point, NY. All I can say is thank God Diane knew how to take care of us with tough love!!! We got back to our home in the nick of time to evacuate all of our belongings as well as 85 years of my family's precious photos, etc...Our home was completely destroyed by Sandy, and the next week of our life was sheer hell to say the least. As we reflect back on the last year (rough), we remember the great memories too! My kids have not stopped talking about our Hershey Park house and how they can't wait to go back-the cozy charming house that warmed their hearts. Additionally, Diane followed up with us to see how we were doing after the storm. Her home reflects the warmth inside her heart. We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I guess my "Motherly" instinct kicked in when we saw the impending storm "Sandy" coming. Our renters safety and well being are top priority to us. We were amazed that after a year of rebuilding our renters remembered their stay with us and wanted to post a review. We are grateful that their family is well and family mementos are safe. With warmest regards we invite our "friends" back.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Minnetonka, MN
5

The Perfect Setting for an Old Fashioned Family Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just spent four days at the Union Deposit Stone Homestead as an early Christmas surprise for our 90 year old Grandfather. We were thrilled with how charming the house looks inside and out and the quiet location adjacent to some pretty rolling farm fields. We also appreciated the convenient location. We were just minutes from Hershey Park for those who wanted to go. The house was beautifully decorated for the holidays and it was lovely and comfortable to spend time there reading, playing games, cooking and watching holiday movies. There was plenty of room for our party of 6 adults and one 2 year old. There is a great grocery store 2 miles away that had everything we needed. It was easy to have all of us in the modern kitchen at the same time cooking - it is very spacious. We were delighted with the above average selection of pots, pans and utensils which was beyond what we are used to seeing in a rental house. The house was toasty warm and evenly heated, something we were concerned about since our Grandfather is always chilly. He had no problems at all. It was also great to have a washer and dryer right there. We were expecting to use the wood stove since it was featured as an amenity, but noticed a sign asking us not to use it, due to insurance liability. That was the only unexpected thing, and we were so in love with the house that we soon forgot about it. The owner was also great about communicating with us in the weeks leading up to our visit. we would highly recommend this house and will have wonderful memories of the place. Many thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so Much....This is why we do what we do....Great families come to relax and enjoy their time together. We provide the Cozy Home away from Home. Plus....we make friends along the way. Diane and Bob
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Sparta, NJ
5

Great family gathering place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
When we vacation with our children and their families, we prefer to stay in a house rather than individual hotel rooms. Union Deposit Homestead certainly met our needs. We were six adults and three children and there was plenty of space. The first floor was recently updated in keeping with the character and charm of the original farmhouse. Yet, there are conveniences such as WiFi, flat screen TV's, ice maker, microwave, etc. There are two separate sitting rooms which would be great for a family with teenagers. The property is set off by itself and is very quiet and peaceful. The fenced in area was great for our small children, but regretfully, we didn't get to use it since the kids were exhausted by the time they got home from Hershey Park. The proximity to the Park is wonderful and our main reason for renting this property. One of the grandchildren still takes a nap so it was very convenient to be so close.
The property was well-maintained and clean. Our bed was very comfortable and everyone else reported the same. I was a bit concerned since pets are allowed with permission. However, we were happy to find that there was no pet odor at all. It is also a no-smoking house which is a plus. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone going to the Hershey area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Columbus
5

Blew away my expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We enjoyed staying at this home for 4 nights. We had a mini-family reunion at the home and I had concerns about not having enough space. For a beautiful older home, this place had plenty of space for 11 people. There are 2 large sitting areas with TV's on main floor and an over-sized kitchen. TV's and ceiling fans in most bedrooms. There is a full dining room and another seating area in kitchen. Kitchen was well equipped with more than I have experienced at other rentals. We ate almost all meals at the house and never had any concerns. EWverything was very clean and owner's were flexible and very accomodating. We spent most of the time in the expansive and private back yard/patio. The kids had plenty of space to run around and explore; they really enjoyed the stream. Location is perfect for all Hershey area activities. Consider the Indian Echo Caverns. Don't hesitate to book this property. Last time we visited, we did the hotel thing...never again. We will be back to the Stone House when visiting Hershey in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
4

Perfect

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was a perfect location for us and the house and owner were just as perfect. This is such a lovely home and it's a great location. Very close to the attractions. Avoid the crowded and overpriced hotels, this is perfect lodging. Thanks Diane!!!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Haverhill ma
5

Hershy stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our stay at Union Depot was wonderful. It is a home away from home and much more .We felt very comfortable for all ten of us with more then enough room. We all had a great time and are all ready talking about another trip to the Homestead.WE WILL CERTAINLY RETURN! Thank You, Kathy & Al
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to host your family gathering. New friends were made in our many conversations. We look forward to your return. Diane and Bob
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
East Hanover, NJ
5

We Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
What a terrific and beautiful home. Certainly surpassed our expectations! We were looking for an alternative to the local hotels for our soccer weekend, and could not have made a better choice. The yard was perfect for a relaxing dinner right off the grill, and much nicer than what any hotel would have to offer. The millions of fireflys created a gorgeous 'light show' in the yard too. Just what we needed to end each sports-filled day. Just perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Union Deposit Stone Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290138vb
(717) 503-5713 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Roanoke, VA
5

What a Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family and I spend a terrific long weekend in this historic farmhouse. It was historic with ALL the modern conveniences and luxuries. Our ages ranged from 1 year to 70's, but everyone enjoyed the enchanting and historically preserved house and extensive grounds. We played soccer, enjoyed a wadding pool, grilled out, ate well, and slept soundly and comfortably. In addition to all the comforts of home, we also enjoyed dinner in the little village and visiting the many tourist attractions nearby. We look forward to a return visit next summer!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1