Volcano house rental - livingroom
livingroom
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Volcano House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our Volcano Secret Garden Hale is charming, private, and decorated with our private collections from local artists and our Asian travels. Built 4 years ago by our son ,friends and us, we used large local Ohia post on the lanai which now is the location of a new hot tub and cedar shingles creating a rustic style cottage. It has a open floor plan consisting of 1300 square fee with a wonderful wood burning fireplace for the cool Volcano nights. It has a very large master suite with king bed and sitting area, the second bedroom has a king and third a double. Granite kitchen counter and tile and carpet flooring.

Nearest Airport : Hilo international at 24 Miles

Nearest Motorway : Highway 11 at 2 Miles

Nearest Beach : Punaluu at 35 Miles

Nearest Barpub : Volcano Village at 6 Miles

Nearest Golf : Volcano Golf course at 7 Miles

Nearest Restaurant : Volcano Village at 6 Miles

Car: necessary

Our lovely home , The Volcano Secret Garden Cave Hale, is located on 3 square forested acres. Surrounded by only three acre lots you can expect complete privacy with all the conveniences, paved road ,electric, and satellite TV. Ten minutes minutes from the The World famous Hawaii Volcano National Park with its erupting Volcanoes, scenic quaint Volcano Village complete with great restaurants, and a beautiful Volcano Golf course. But the most exciting feature of our home is your very own entrance to the worlds longest lava cave, Kazimura Cave. But at this time our Secret Garden and the entrance are work in progress and hopefully will be complete soon.

The owners: We have lived on the Big Island for 36 years and the Volcano area for 30 years. During this time we owned a a successful B/B for 15 years. We sold and continued to operate two great properties in Kapoho. Now after a 4 year break we have returned to the hospitality business. We are happy to introduce you to Volcano Secret Garden Cave Hale, our brand new vacation rental. We also are building a studio , The Singing Forest cottage , which will be open by the end of the year. Perfect for romantic getaways.

a great surprise: We found our cave when we were preparing the lot to build. We first observed the one entrance which seem large and very beautiful. It was our kids that discovered the other entrance that opened a world of mazes underground. We contacted the National Park and to our surprise it was a documented entrance to the world longest lava tube cave. It goes from the National Park almost to the ocean. We are in the process of creating a secret garden and park like setting at the entrances. Someday maybe cave tours.

Other Activities: viewing an erupting Volcano, cave viewing

Cancellation policy: A Credit card will be taken at the time of booking. A 25% booking deposit will be charged at that time. This will be refundable 30 days prior booking date. Full payment id due 30 days before booking date and is NONREFUNDABLE if you cancel.

Keywords: Volcano cottage,with CAVE ,hot tub Fireplace and WIFI

More Details
Hide Details

My husband ,Tommy is from the islands. We met in 1974. We moved to the Big Island in 1975. From 1988 to 2003 we owned operated a Bed and Breakfast in Volcano. We have now returned to the hospilatity field after traveling to SE Asia for the last 5 years.

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

We lived in Volcano for the last 32 years. We think it is very beautiful. Located at the 2800 ft. elevation mark it is cool and refreshing from the lower elevations. Surrounded by large native tree and the upcountry rainforest tree ferns intermingled either with foggy mist or bright blue skies. It is beautiful.

Volcano is something to experience on your Hawaiian vacation. Great restaurants, Norman Rockwell Volcano Village and of Hawaii volcano National Park with its erupting volcanoes and many trails. Our home is only minutes from these great things.

13 Reviews of Property 365416 in Volcano, Hawaii

Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Boston
5

We loved this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I stayed at this house for three nights with two of my girlfriends. We used the house as a base for all of our island adventures including hiking Volcanos National Park (10 minutes), turtle viewing (south island-1 hour west), snorkeling (few hours drive west), and Hilo (45 minutes east). We had a fantastic time! The house is comfortable and was well-equipped for our cooking and sleeping needs. The location is beautiful (lava tube!) and feels very remote.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Calgary, AB Canada
2

Interesting property but not very well kept

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We rented this Volcano house, for just one night, based on the positive reviews and the uniqueness of the house and property; also the fact that the house had both a hot tub and a fireplace (as Volcano can be quite chilly) was a definite bonus. We were really looking forward to staying in this house.

When we arrived, it became apparent that the hot tub was not functioning; a check of my email indicated that the owner had become aware that the hot tub was broken and called a repair person. The tub wouldn't be repaired for a while. However,it had dirt in the bottom and things floating on the top; we would not have used it for this reason if it was functioning. (Please note that the owner did rebate the cleaning fee as compensation for the hot tub being broken.)

The house interior was a little less than clean. The fridge had mould on the outside and dirt hanging from underneath, the stove/oven was dirty, the hoodfan was dirty, the kitchen floor was dirty, there were numerous cobwebs, light fixtures were dirty, the kitchen ceiling fan blades were overdue for a good cleaning, plates in the cupboard were greasy and had food attached (brocolli and lettuce). There was splattered "something" on the upper cabinets. There was a good coating of dust on the tv armoire. Cobwebs and dust on the LR furniture. Then, the 2nd bathroom tub wouldn't drain, so we couldn't use it. In the master bedroom ensuite bath, the shower water adjustment handle came off in our hand and the sink taps were not attached to the vanity. The shower curtain had black mould. W/D were rusting.

Positive notes: the fireplace is quite effective at keeping the house cozy--firewood was supplied, the property is quite unique and the cave is amazing, the fresh flowers were lovely, the outside space under the covered porch was nice.

I am not sure why the cleaning standards seem to have slipped since the last reviews. We were expecting a reasonably clean rental, and DO realize the humid conditions in Volcano, but this house was disappointing. A good thorough cleaning, and some maintenance, appear to be required.

We have been renting vacation properties in Hawaii for 10 years now and this would be our first negative review of a VRBO rental.
Owner's Response: We take pride in our places, We offer great accommodations with lots of amenities for reasonable prices. Our places are clean and maintained to our up most ability. We want our guest to be happy. However, due to unforeseeable circumstances some times things happen. We might fail to meet some people's standards but to most we have been successful. Thank goodness ,this is our livelihood and we wouldn't be in business if most people were like you. The next two guest gave us glowing reviews and left a cleaning tip even with out a hot tub. 1.Yes, my hot tub was broken. I did not know until they left. I called the repair man that day. The day you checked in. Yes, the hot tub was not exactly clean, the pump broke. I think your first paragraph says it all. My hot tub was broken and you made it clear that was the main reason you booked my house.. That was your disappointment After that my cottage couldn't have pleased you if it had been the White House. At that time you made it your goal to search high and low for anything wrong. If my place was so disgusting and dirty why didn't you refuse to stay there and demand your money back? Because it wasn't !!! People who write trashing reviews, without even a call while staying or a note when checking out indicating a problem, must find twisted HAPPINESS and JOY taking revenge when disappointed. Cleanness of my cottage is not debatable.. I do my own cleaning and do a good job. Depending on last guest controls the amount of deep cleaning that can be done. 1. Frig. ,stove fan hood were clean! Might not be new. 4. Cobwebs are part of the environment. We dust every day and they return daily 5. Fans could have been dusted. 6. Upper cabinets ? 6 Dishes ,Only thing debatable, The last guest put them away This I didn't check! Lesson learned. Maintenance: We do routine checks of all working things. . Unaware of drain in 2nd bath. Like you, last guest didn't say anything, why NO note if it was so bad you couldn't use? Handle in master suite, Where was it? NO NOTE by you or any other guest. Sink Faucet could be tightened. I check by shower curtain every clean. Washer and dryer ,not new but work. Most vacation rentals do not have them due to water and electric cost. You say you have never written a bad review for the other rentals in volcano so if they were so perfect then why didn't you return. They would of loved to have you or maybe not! .






Best Wishes,

Reviews Team
HomeAway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Maui
5

We Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our family stayed here and I can say we were pleasantly surprised at how beatiful the place was and the attentio to detail was appreciated. Fresh cut flowers and chopped wood in the wood burning stove as well as flashlights available were very nice touches. The kitchen is fully equipped and this was a real gem and great value. Thanks for letting us stay at your beatiful place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Ohio
5

Fabulous Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was an amazing place. Our family of four had the great fortune to spend time in this spacious retreat. Great location to see the volcanoes or just hide away and relax in the secluded area. Already making plans to go back and spend more time in this gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Hawaii
5

Quiet and secluded home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was a beautiful home, very clean and well decorated. We came for our 25th anniversary and it was so quiet and secluded - just what we were looking for. It was actually very easy to find. I loved the wood stove. We felt right at home and comfortable.
They have re-arranged the furniture since they posted their pictures, and it actually looks like having the couch against the front window would work better than having it on the side where it is now.But no real complaints, can't wait to come and stay there again.
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Culver City, CA
5

King of the Jungle!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I spent a fair amount of time searching all available properties in the Volcano area, and settled on this one because it had three bedrooms for a reasonable price, the amenities (hot tub!), and photos of this lovely home. I have found that often the actual property does not measure up to the description, but in this case, we were pleasantly surprised. The home is clean and well kept, and it's obvious someone spent some time trying to make the decor pleasing. The kitchen is well equipped and the WiFi worked fine.

The front yard is huge (think big enough for softball?) and is completely isolated by the surrounding rainforest. We cherished afternoons spent in the hot tub, overlooking our own private glade and the rainforest beyond, after a long day hiking around Kilauea. Next time we are in the area, we will certainly rent this "secret cottage" again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Colorado
5

Really special place and good value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We were only able to stay one night, but really enjoyed our stay. The home, grounds, location, and lava tubes were great. It allowed us to stay at the volcano until the evening so we could watch the glow of the crater and not have far to travel to get 'home'. It is a good idea to get to the property in the daylight. It isn't complicated or too far off the road, but is in a dark neighborhood, which is wonderful to see the stars from the Hot tub. And the lava tubes were really cool.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Western Massachusetts
5

ABOVE and BEYOND; This place is an INCREDIBLE FIND!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We are really thrilled to have stayed at this location in Volcano....to say it is special is to underate it.
The cave on the property (3 acres I think) makes it VERY powerful energetically, and beautiful, and then there's all the original works of art in the house.....STUNNING.

You have 3 Glorious beds to choose from, (2 King, one Double), 2 baths, and wifi, television and a fireplace all ready with dry logs to be lit. And, of course, the perfect temperature hot tub.

There was nothing we wanted for!

The kitchen was fully equipped.....really, it was so much above and beyond our expectations....we only hope you will be able to enjoy the same experience as well!

We also stayed one other place one night, same price, and there is no comparison! This was 3 x the value, Easily!

So make your reservation with confidence.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Alaska
5

great stay at volcano property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The description is accurate for this property. Our family of 6 enjoyed our stay at this house and found it to be comfortable and roomy. It is conveniently close to the volcano national park which we love. If you are a hiker this is a good location to use as a base. I have done many VRBO vacation houses for our vacations and I found the owner available for any questions we had. She was immediately responsive to our suggestions for the minor improvements to the kitchen supplies. It was a pleasure to stay at this property.
Mahalo,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Volcano Secret Garden Cave Cottage,Fireplace & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365416vb
(800) 605 8439 (Office hours 8AM-8 PM Hawaii Time)
Volcano Puna District
Davis, California
5

Wonderful, rather isolated, exquisitely decorated home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The home is decorated extremely tastefully; everything is artistic, beautiful, and in its place. One person in our party commented that the owner *had* to be an artist, and I'm sure she is. Cut and potted orchids were placed about the home (including one interesting species I did not know). The dishes are elegant; even the cookware is excellent. The cave is quite substantial; while we didn't venture far into it (I do not think it would be easy to), it was still an impressive sight. The location is good, a short and easy drive to Volcano National Park. I would warn of two things. First, in the evening, this home gets *cold* -- at least it did when we visited, in mid-December. For heat there is a wood stove and plenty of firewood, but it is not up to heating the far reaches of the home. (It is tricky, too, to add the firewood without letting out excessive smoke.) Second, the home does feel quite isolated. There are in fact plenty of other (nice) homes nearby, and the main highway is only one mile off, but the grounds are so large you do kind of feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. I myself like this feeling, but it made the strictly-city-dwelling women in my party a little scared. Despite these matters, I think this is a fabulous home -- one memorable, humanistic, and full of character.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1