Nashville cottage rental - CENTER Little House; LEFT gate/grape arbor; RIGHT path/patio; REAR owner's home
CENTER Little House; LEFT gate/grape arbor; RIGHT path/patio; REAR owner's home
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Nashville Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Award winning, historic garage/servants quarters, 750 square feet of newly renovated and fully-furnished comfortable living. Enjoy freestanding guesthouse with beautiful fenced garden and patio in the Hillsboro Village. Located conveniently in the Elmington Park and West End area of Nashville.

.............................................................................

SEE MAP: Two blocks from West End Avenue, 'Nashville's Main Street.'

..............................................................................

One of the nation's first historic LEED Platinum residences (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design), awarded by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), 2011

Selected 'Best Green House,' February 2011 Greensource, The Magazine of Sustainable Design

Recipient of 'Best of the Best, Green Star Award,' U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), Middle Tennessee Chapter, 2012

Recipient of Commendation for 'outstanding efforts toward the preservation of Davidson County's architectural heritage,' The Historical Commission of Metropolitan Nashville-Davidson County, 2012

..............................................................................

One large L-shaped room with multi-functions: Sleeps 4 (Queen Murphy bed with pillow-top mattress, and two twins convert to queen bed), TV viewing area, dining/game area, and bath. Huge fabric curtains divide the room into two sleeping areas.

• Kitchen includes full-size stove, oven, dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator

• Washer, dryer - full-size

• Universal Design means comfort and accessibility for guests using wheelchairs or walkers

• Recognized for historic renovation, and sustainable design and construction (LEED for Homes, US Green Building Council)

• Geothermal/central air conditioning and heat, with ceiling fans and window screens

• Includes partially-stocked refrigerator and pantry. Jane sends an email a few days before guests arrive with a list of basic groceries and pantry items that will be stocked before arrival. She asks for any additions or changes, and, at no extra charge, they're in the kitchen when guests arrive.

• Full-package cable, 42” LCD HDTV, wireless Internet

• Indoor/outdoor ping-pong table

• Across the street from Elmington Park and two blocks from bus shelter/route on West End Avenue, Nashville's 'Main Street.' Walkable/ bikable neighborhood

• Polite dogs welcome (deposit required, ask for guest dog rules)

..............................................................................

CHECK OUT OVER FOURTY GUEST REVIEWS:

100% OF REVIEWS RECEIVED

FIVE POINT RATING OUT OF FIVE POSSIBLE POINTS!

..............................................................................

Our historic house and it's gardens have been featured in numerous articles..

..............................................................................

Why Sustainability and LEED in 2010/11 renovation?

When we bought the property in 1992 our uninhabitable 750 sq. ft. servants’ quarters/garage was falling down. We chose to save it, not only because it’s a charming, historic structure, but also because adapting an existing building to a new use is more sustainable than tearing it down, sending it to a landfill and starting over with new materials. We plan to own this property for a long time, so energy efficiency makes financial sense for us, plus we and our guests will be healthier and more comfortable. In addition, by attaining LEED Platinum status (awarded by US Green Building Council), we hope the project will serve as an example and teaching tool for 'best practices' in sustainable design and construction, thereby increasing the quality of sustainable practices in Middle Tennessee. The LEED process ensures that all systems are designed, installed and tested for effectiveness, and that they actually deliver a higher standard.

DESIGN

• Quality Over Quantity – The house is small, but it works – and well. We took 750 sq. ft. of history and gave it a modern spin on functionality while retaining the best of its character.

• Cradle to Cradle – Reclaim, Restore, & Reuse. Most construction materials were saved from the landfill and are now enjoying a second life.

• The 50 Year Plan – We tried to envision every possible use of this structure for many decades to come and design accordingly. Universal Design ensures access for all occupants.

EFFICIENCY

• Geothermal HVAC W/Radiant Heat – We use the earth to cool in the summer and heat the concrete floor in winter.

• Soy Based Spray Foam Insulation – Perfect for this situation, spray foam fills in all the cracks old homes inevitably have.

• Low flow water fixtures, tank less water heating, efficient windows, and more decrease energy consumption.

SUSTAINABILITY

• Reclaim – We deconstructed a garage, scoured salvage yards, and reclaimed our own demolition materials in order to create a highly aesthetic space with minimal environmental impact.

• Restore – We didn’t tear it down! It would have been easier, but it definitely wasn’t as sustainable. Restoring existing buildings preserves history and conserves materials.

• Reuse – Siding became our ceiling. A floor is our countertop. Old screen doors open to a pantry. Thinking creatively allows for unconventional uses of conventional materials.

Keywords: cottage, guesthouse, guest house, Bungalow, studio, efficiency, garden house, carriage house, architecture, LEED Platinum, USGBC, West End, West End Avenue, Vanderbilt University, Vanderbilt, Vandy, Belmont University, Belmont, Hillsboro Village, Hillsboro,Hillsboro-West End Neighborhood Association, HWEN, Elmington Park, Elmington Park Neighborhood, Whitland, Richland, RWENA, Central Avenue, Middle Tennessee, historic, heritage, charming, vintage, convenient, luxury, universal design, aging in place, accessible, garden, sustainable, environmentally friendly, green, non-toxic, eco-living, fenced yard, fenced garden, gates, dogs, patio, fruit trees, edible landscaping, permaculture, restorative design, restorative, premiere location, no VOC, smart, walking, walkable, cycling, eclectic, preservation, eco tourism, award winning, awards, published, sustainable travel, heritage travel, ecotourism,

More Details
Hide Details

Jane Hardy, Owner/Host – I’m a sustainability enthusiast, neighborhood activist, and networker. Professionally, I’m a Strategic Career Counselor. I'm passionate about historic buildings, gardening (especially low-maintenance, fruit and nut-bearing vines, shrubs and trees), family and friends. I thrive on making sure our guests enjoy their stays in our guesthouse and their visits to Nashville.

Rod Kochtitzky, Co-Owner/Host - my husband – a psychotherapist in private practice. Rod specializes in working with couples, and he's really good at it! (www.rodk.net).

Will Hardy Kochtitzky – our 20-year-old son is a Sophomore at Dickinson College in Pennsylvania. He loves camping/ backpacking, urban gardening, the Spanish language, and he's studying environmental and earth sciences.

Tom Hardy Kochtitzky – our 17-year-old son is a junior at Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet High School in downtown Nashville. He’s enthusiastic about photography, Ultimate Frisbee, and longboarding. He's an activist and leader in social justice issues at Nashville's Oasis Center.

Both Will and Tom are very responsible. They inspire Rod and me to continuously strive to reduce our family’s carbon footprint and have more fun. They enjoy good friends, cousins, and travel.

Jane Hardy and Rod Kochtitzky purchased this cottage in 1992

We love Nashville -- It's a great city with friendly people, four seasons, gorgeous hills, fields and rivers, and lots of fun things to do.

Our home and guest house are in a historic neighborhood with big trees and sidewalks. One of Nashville's favorite green spaces, Elmington Park, is right across the street. We love being in a central location, within walking distance to so many great restaurants, shops and parks. We can easily walk to Hillsboro Village, Sylvan Park, Vanderbilt University, and Centennial Park. Nashville's most beautiful historic neighborhoods are all around us, and downtown is just three miles away, a straight shot on the bus. We love the quietness of our home and garden, set in the center of Nashville.

We're in a very central location, so driving to almost every Nashville destination is a three to 15 minute trip. A very active bus line is two blocks away. Take walks on sidewalks through our historic neighborhood and Elmington Park which is across the street. Many Nashvillian's favorite locally-owned shops and restaurants are in Hillsboro Village, is one-and-a-half miles away. Nashville is filled with all kinds of live music every night of the week, and the venues are all over town, so our central location is perfect if you're coming to hear music. Enjoy our private patio surrounded by a lush garden full of birds, a grape arbor, flowers and fruit trees. Even adults enjoy our tree house, and you'll meet our six pet hens (no roosters!) that lay delicious organic eggs. Guests often tell us that they love the comfort, peacefulness and beauty of Little House Nashville so much that they don't want to leave. This may be the only LEED Platinum vacation rental in the nation! As well as being energy efficient, that means it's comfortable and healthy -- no toxic paint or cleaning products, all natural fabrics, lots of fresh air, and no drafts!

Please see our website www. LittleHouseNashville. com for more information and photos.

41 Reviews of Property 348759 in Nashville, Tennessee

Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
average rating of 5.0 based on 41 reviews
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
5

Loved it and kids did not want to leave!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We just got back from our visit to Nashville (or should I say to the little house). Pictures can not describe how cozy and comfortable this house is. Although it is technically one room, the layout was such that it was big enough for me, my husband and two kids (9& 10). My kids loved the inside of the house, the tree house outside and especially the chickens and Annie, the dog. It was hard to do any sightseeing because they did not want to leave the house. Jane and Rod, put their love into building this house and you can tell by all the personal details in the house. My husband, an architect, loved the Leed aspect of the house. Thank you Jane for sharing your story with us and especially for sharing this gem of a house with us. The kids are already begging to come back so you will probably see us soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love hosting architects with LEED credentials (US Green Building Council) who bring their families, because they're so good at interpreting all the environmentally-friendly and energy-saving details that go into construction that attains a Platinum level award.
Thanks for all the complements.
So glad you and your precious daughters had such a good time here!
We're happy that you chose to visit Nashville instead of Florida for spring break!
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
Suwanee, GA
5

Loved the Little House Nashville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Little House so much that I wanted to let you know. Again, thank you for everything. Staying there was one of the most peaceful VRBO places we’ve visited. The location was excellent - allowing us the opportunity to easily explore Nashville for the first time. I’ve been inspired by your property – not only from an “eco- friendly” design. Also, the use of space was incredibly well thought out and maximized. I’m so impressed how both were accomplished in the small, efficient space. Your attention to detail is outstanding – thoughtful decorations – beautiful garden – well stocked – comfortable areas to relax . . . I could go on! Of course, the personal attention that you give to each guest says how much you care that the visit is pleasant. We look forward to visiting again someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Judy! We loved hosting your sweet family, and we're delighted that you enjoyed the details and the care we take in creating a positive experience for our guests! Best wishes!
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
Hampton
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful time staying at little House Nashville. It is one mile from Vanderbilt University and that is what we needed to be close to. Jane and Rod and Frank were wonderful people and so accommodating. We grilled and made Midwestern food for our son and his friends from college. They found Janes's chickens amazing and the treehouse was even fun for college kids. This home is spotless. Jane put fresh flowers in the house and this so so nice since we still had snow on the ground at home. Wonderful house, wonderful people!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed hosting a homemade supper for a few of your son's close friends at Vanderbilt. Their enthusiasm about our treehouse and backyard hens was awesome! We hope you'll come back soon!
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
Annapolis Maryland
5

Sweet 16

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our trip to Nashville was a surprise for my daughter's 16th birthday. I was looking for the perfect venue. I found it. The Southern Ground Music and Food Festival. I was looking for the perfect place to stay. I found it. The Little House Nashville!
One of my most important messages as a parent to my teenage daughter is- be an original. I stress to her...use what you God gave you;express yourself;be artistic and creative;think outside the box;let it come through in all you do. The Little House Nashville is the quintessence of this. The bones were there; historic,in fact.The rest,is a masterful creative expression of the owners willingness to expose her whimsy to us strangers. Look around. No corner is without thought.Comfort is well accounted for. Better in every way than a hotel room. We appreciated her willingness to attend to our grocery list,directions and questions.Loved it! It was a fantastic trip. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for appreciating our intention and the details, Lisa! We love making sure our guests have a great experience here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I were in Nashville for our son's graduation and were thrilled with Little House! The owner was so gracious-gardens were glorious, bed was comfortable and she stocked our kitchen with the best coffee and lovely strawberries. Would definitely recommend this lovely little oasis to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Parents of Vanderbilt and Belmont students love the convenience of the Little House!
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
United States
5

Perfect Spot for a Weekend in Nashville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family of four - including two young girls stayed at Little House Nashville during the St. Jude Marathon. We couldn't have imagined a more perfect place to stay and plan to come back again and again on our return trips to Nashville.
Jane greeted us upon arrival with a brief tour of the House and all of its fabulous features and also a tour around the enchanting garden - complete with a magical tree-house and 4 beautiful chickens! The girls had a ball feeding the chickens all weekend and collecting their eggs in the morning. We also had another family over to hang out one afternoon and the kids LOVED spending time in the treehouse playing games and drawing with their friends - all while hearing the rain beat down on the little tin roof on the tree-house. It's no wonder they never wanted to leave!
The space inside Little House is the most thoughtful space I've ever experienced. The Eco friendly touches were fascinating and we loved sharing the ideas with the girls about how to live more sustainably. My oldest would catch me throwing away things in the kitchen and would taken them straight out to the compost in the garden.
There was plenty of room to spread out and and not feel like we were on top of each other all weekend - like you tend to feel in a hotel room. And having a full kitchen to serve meals was an added bonus.
The highlight of the weekend may have been when Jane offered to let the girls cut flowers to make a bouquet to bring home. The flowers are still blooming beautifully in their rooms and they are a reminder of our fabulous weekend at Little House.
Can't wait to come back and meet the new puppy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
Atlanta, GA
5

Live like a local...and in style!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and I made a weekend trip to Nashville, and Jane was the perfect host. Her pre-arrival logistics (ranging from driving directions to our snack preferences) were spot on, and made us feel welcome before we even got there. When we arrived, she met us out on the street to wave us in and quickly showed us around the Little House. She then left us to ourselves and made it very clear that this was OUR house for the weekend (though it was also clear that we could call or text or email at any time if we needed to get in touch). Indeed, we had complete privacy and didn't see her again (sorry, Jane -- it would have been nice to say goodbye in person!)

The house itself is charming and warm, and we felt very comfortable there. It was thoughtfully stocked with fresh fruit and milk, granola, and chips and salsa to tide us over during down time in the house. The patio and garden were peaceful and beautiful (and although our days were so packed we didn't get to spend much time there, we could have spent hours just enjoying the surroundings) and we enjoyed watching the chickens walk around in their enclosure behind the house (no roosters, though -- sleep easy!). The location is great -- just off the highway, but in a quiet residential neighborhood, and close enough to downtown, or even East Nashville that you're there in minutes. It was also a very quick drive down to Radnor Lake (~15 min), where we did an easy 2.5 mile walk around the lake and took in the scenery and wildlife (which I definitely recommend on a nice day).

All in all, I cannot recommend this property enough. Go experience Little House Nashville for yourself!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you found our guesthouse convenient to so many fun places in Nashville, including our favorite hiking place, Radnor Lake!
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
Columbus, MS
5

LEED Platinum residence: Comfort, innovation and hospitality!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Thank you for hosting the Whiffenpoofs of 2013 in the Little House this past January! I cannot tell you what a delight is was to stay in accommodations that are not just comfortable, but also full of care and innovation. As an alumnus of Sidwell Friends School, whose campus is LEED certified, I particularly enjoyed comparing and contrasting with your artistry. Generous hospitality as you showed us is what enables us Whiffenpoofs to take our music across the country and around the world, and we are grateful for it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
5

Little House Exceeds Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My sisters and I recently stayed at Little House Nashville. We were wowed at first sight! The house is warm and inviting, and so very artistically designed and decorated! It's clear that a lot of love went in to the house and the gardens. It took a couple days for us to really notice every detail! Jane and Rod went out of their way to be sure all our needs were met, and then some. The location was perfect-just 20 minutes or so to downtown, 10 minutes to 21st Ave. shopping and restaurants (be sure to check out Tin Angel-yummy!), and a short walk to a couple restaurants. I highly recommend this lovely little home, it has it all; fantastic location, well-equipped kitchen for enjoying at-home meals, comfortable sleeping spaces, beautiful gardens to enjoy your morning coffee or evening refreshments! One warning: you will want to be sure when planning your trip that you allow extra time to sit and enjoy Little House when in Nashville!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: More and more women are enjoying getaways at Little House Nashville. The location and cozy atmosphere of Little House Nashville are perfect for two to four women who want to experience a beautiful "green" home and gardens.
business
Little House Nashville: Convenient, Comfortable, Historic and Green Urban Oasis
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p348759vb
+1 6159570404
Nashville Tennessee
Charlotte
5

Girl's Wknd Away

Girl's Wknd Away
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Myself and 2 of my best girlfriends, came across little house Nashville and Jane and were nothing short of happily ecstatic about our experience. The attention to detail, the beauty of the home, and the hospitality were aspects that were constant and throughout our experience. We were so lucky to have come across such kind and warm home owners that truely extended their knowledge of the area. We were given delicious snacks, an extended tour and guide of the area so that we could streamline the places of interest. We were able to feel safe and relaxed all while having the time of our lives. I have told everyone I know from home, and I will continue to do so. I cannot wait to go back, and my friends and I have decided to make this an annual festivity. Thank you for everything you did including accepting me into your home early after my long drive. Every aspect of Little House Nashville was filled with beautiful memories and great anticipation for our future vacations.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You and your friends really made the most of our central location! You shopped, listened to live music, went site-seeing, and ate out at some of our favorite places! So glad you enjoyed your "girls getaway" weekend! We look forward to seeing you next year!