Uvita villa rental - You just found Paradise. Where the ocean and sky blend into one.
You just found Paradise. Where the ocean and sky blend into one.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights
 

Uvita Villa Rental Photos and Description

Welcome to Casa Aracari...Let your imagination soar where the Sky meets the Sea, located at a comfortable 500 meters above the coastline of Punta de Ballena in Costa Rica. This ideal tropical vacation home is nestled in the jungle on one acre of Paradise. Its unique architecture and original design by Eva Powers offers a spacious open-air indoor/outdoor floor plan. Walk in and pinch yourself to make sure you are not dreaming!

We take pleasure in sharing the beauty of Costa Rica by using materials manufactured locally and incorporated in the design throughout the house. Construction was completed in December 2010 by local craftsmen/artists Wilberth Acuna and Dagoberto Mora. The spiral teak staircase at the heart of the home, wraps itself around a locally grown Guanacaste tree. The railings are artistically handcrafted with local Mangrove roots and Bejuco vine. The ceiling is lined with grass mats made by skilled Mayan Indians especially for Casa Aracari.

The fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances and beautiful custom wood counters is the social center of the home. For an extra special treat, create your own gourmet dinner and serve it in the dining room while enjoying the sunset views. Sit in the living room, open the tall folding glass doors, and create a large indoor/outdoor living space with panoramic views of the pool, jungle covered mountains, ocean, Bahia de Ballena, and surrounding bird life.

Relax under the covered deck in a hammock or lounge chair, go for a swim in the beautiful infinity pool, or enjoy an ice cold drink made from delicious fruits of the region while sitting on one of the four bar stools at the table shaded by the palapa covered umbrella in the pool.

So many beautiful scenes will delight you as you sit on the upstairs balcony and watch in awe as the sunrise and sunset transform the sky! Watch from the balcony for the many varieties of wildlife in the area... the jungle surrounding the house promises an abundance of tropical sights and sounds that will continue day and night. Be sure to have your camera ready! Howler Monkeys, Toucans, Parrots, and Dart frogs are frequent visitors.

There is a Casita on the property which offers a charming bedroom for two with Queen size bed and full bathroom, a small kitchen and dining area. There you can enjoy sitting on your own covered porch, swinging on the hammock and tune into the sights and sounds of the surrounding jungle.

The Casita is optional and can rented in addition to the Main house rental, but the Casita cannot be rented without the Main home. You will always have the use of the entire property to yourselves, not sharing with others you don't know.

The road up the hill to Casa Aracari (4x4 vehicle is required) will take you on an Adventure passing by waterfalls, small bridges over streams, tree ferns, tropical flowers, surrounding jungle life and ocean views. You will see Costa Rica at its best!

Neighboring towns of Uvita, Dominical and Ojochal offer some of the most pristine beaches in Costa Rica as well as fabulous Restaurants to delight your taste. As a guest of Casa Aracari you are also welcome to enjoy the special cuisine at nearby Kura Boutique Hotel. Please contact Kura directly for your reservations.

There are many thrilling and educational activities in the area...Something to please everyone. Our staff is available to assist with questions and bookings. See list of Activities below.

We hope you enjoy planning your trip to Casa Aracari in beautiful Uvita, Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

We plan to continue with the beauty, theme, and traditions of Casa Aracari, just as the previous designer and owner had intended. Please see below for Reviews of the fabulous experiences from guests of Casa Aracari.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 3650680 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
average rating of 4.75 based on 21 reviews
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
4

A Vacation Like No Other

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The drive up was an understated adventure but let me tell you, it was worth it. After entering through the baboo gates, opening that front door and seeing the beautiful ocean right before our eyes, we knew we made the right decision. Claire is incredibly responsive to your emails and questions. The house is fully stocked with kitchen tools and appliances. The gardens are impeccable. You will have difficulty finding a favourite place to take pictures. We did miss more comfortable lounge chairs outside though, but other than that it was spectacular! The natural woodwork only adds to the Costa Rican experience. We loved the waterfall, walking down one day to have a well-deserved margarita! Rent a good 4X4 for sure and let your adventure begin! If you want to test the Costa Rican experience, this is the home to launch it from. It is safe and secure and tranquil and BEAUTIFUL! Make sure you stop at the grocery store in Uvita and stock up on your food supplies - the salt and pepper can be moist from the humidity and we brought our own spices from home. The water is safe to drink and there is tons of bedding and towels. Again - it felt like paradise from day one to day 9!
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
I live in a rural area of southeastern Ohio, Guernsey County
5

Very well maintained and landscaped

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Casa Aracai was everything advertised. Lots of wildlife up close and far enough from the bustle of Uvita to allow solitude and privacy. Wonderful house with more than adequate furnishings and appliances. Perfect for relaxing and reading a good book or doing a day trip to San Isidro or Golfito. Bank, grocery,bakery,pharmacy, pizza shop, and tire place close enough by for comfort. Definitely get your 4wheel drive from reputable company and check the tires before you leave the car place.The mountain is formidable . Also Marvin the grounds keeper is a jewel and will give you hot tips on the area. We look forward to returning next winter.
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
I live in a rural area of southeastern Ohio, Guernsey County
5

Very well maintained and landscaped

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Casa Aracai was everything advertised. Lots of wildlife up close and far enough from the bustle of Uvita to allow solitude and privacy. Wonderful house with more than adequate furnishings and appliances. Perfect for relaxing and reading a good book or doing a day trip to San Isidro or Golfito. Bank, grocery,bakery,pharmacy, pizza shop, and tire place close enough by for comfort. Definitely get your 4wheel drive from reputable company and check the tires before you leave the car place.The mountain is formidable . Also Marvin the grounds keeper is a jewel and will give you hot tips on the area. We look forward to returning next winter.
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
5

A touch of adventure and a lot of tranquility!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it blew our minds. Casa Aracari surpassed our expectations! It all started with the drive up the mountain…wow! Be prepared that although the instructions are good, you will be speechless and grip the edge of your seat quickly, especially on your first time up. The road is gravel/mud, very steep with many twists and turns, and usually wet and slippery from the tropical rain showers. You will need a STRONG 4x4 and every time you arrive at the top afterwards will become the greatest accomplishment of your day, though it does get easier and more fun with practice, LOL.
Once you get to the house though, the road becomes a distant memory. Casa Aracari is located in a private, serene setting with immaculately groomed gardens and breathtaking views of the valley below, the Whale’s Tail and ocean. The house itself is a gem with great design and layout, exceptional local arts, crafts and decorations cleverly placed about. You never tire of looking at the view whether you’re sitting in the sparkling infinity pool, eating in the dining room, or relaxing on your balcony off the master bedroom. The kitchen is fabulously equipped and provides everything you will need to make this your home. We went to sleep with the sound of the rainfall and the chirping of the house geckos, and awoke to the screams of howler monkeys followed by the singing of toucans and aracaris that greeted the sun as it came up and revealed the perfect weather every morning . We have seen capuchins in the trees, parrots, lizards, dart frogs, falcons, butterflies, and hummingbirds. The casita on the grounds with its own kitchen/bathroom is the perfect place if you want some privacy, and has its own patio overlooking the jungle.
We booked the ATV tour through ATV Motorsports in Uvita and had a fantastic time with our tour guide Diego, who took us into the heart of the jungle, passing by coffee plantations, and many waterfalls. We visited the Playa Hermosa and the Whale’s Tail beaches which were strikingly gorgeous and surprisingly bare of people, which made for excellent photo opportunities. The ocean waters were hot, as was the sand, so be sure to go early in the morning.
Overall, our stay and the experience were priceless and unforgettable. The new owners Claire and Bud provided excellent information about the house and area, and were quick in responding to anything we needed and dealing with any hick-ups. The pictures don’t do this property justice.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Amazing Place!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband, our two-year-old daughter, and I loved our stay at Casa Aracari! The place is even more beautiful in person! We woke up every morning with the howler monkeys, ate breakfast while watching the toucans fly from tree to tree, swam in the infinity pool after the sun came up, and checked in on the dart frogs by the gate each day before heading to the beach or whatever activity we had planned. The house is fully stocked with any kitchen items you could need, and the grocery stores in town had everything we needed. We loved stopping at the Waterfall Café on our way back to the house each day to have ice cream (we heard their chips and guacamole and fish tacos are fantastic too) and see the beautiful waterfall. We loved the Uvita area as well. Our daughter was a big fan of the beaches so we checked out quite a few. Playa Hermosa is the "free" beach just on the north side of Uvita where you can park in the shade and walk 20 meters down to beach any time. (The other closest beaches charge $6 a person because they are part of national parks, though this entry fee is good for all of them in the same day once paid.) We also loved walking out on the Whale's Tail beach, it's so unique with waves crashing on both sides. We ate at La Casona several times, which is the restaurant in the same shopping center with the Uvita information center where you pick up the key. The food was very good (we liked the "typical dish" and the chicken and rice). We also walked the nature trails around Hacienda Baru (just north of Dominical) and saw monkeys there. We had lunch in Dominical, which is a fun and unique little "surf" town on the beach. If you want to see crocodiles, stop by the crocodile bridge on the drive down to Uvita. It is north of Jaco, and you will probably see people standing on it looking down. As our guide on the mangrove tour told us, "You will see crocodiles, 200%." Getting to the house does require 4x4, our little loaded down Jimny was up to the task no problem (Alamo rental from airport was great with very transparent charges… the 3rd party liability insurance is required at $12/day, the CDW can be declined if your credit card covers it; most Visa’s do cover CDW including collisions off a paved surface, not the case for MasterCard). The instructions are mediocre, but they worked. Know that the house is 5km up the mountain; this will keep you patient as you follow the directions. So glad we got to experience this slice of heaven!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great home, terrific ocean views and lovely pool

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Eva and Warren, Casa Aracari is incredible. We loved your house and the location. The house is beautifully designed and built with every attention to detail. High-end appliances and fully equipped; from the kitchen to all the linens one would ever need. The towels and sheets are what you would find in a luxury hotel. The pool was a great relief after a day of exploring, especially with a slight coolness when you first get in. The view from the house and pool is breathtaking. We spent much time just gazing out over the ocean, whale’s tail and jungle. There was a beautiful visitor to the tree in the distance (a black and yellow toucan) surprisingly about the same time each day at lunch that we enjoyed watching from the table. During a short walk down the road we spotted a group of monkeys in a tree. Uvita is a great location that offers many activities and adventures to keep you entertained. The drive up to Casa Aracari the first time seems to be an adventure in itself, but is very typical for Costa Rica and the amazing views and jungle wildlife make it worth it. We definitely give your place a five star rating.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Luxury in a heavenly rain forest

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
A heavenly rain forest indeed... Filled with flowers, butterflies and beautiful parrots soaring thru the trees... Staying here was just like being transported into "Avatar" land of amazing natural wonders. "Casa Aracari" was perfectly designed to enjoy this environment while being pampered in luxurious accommodations. It is an incredibly beautiful & comfortable villa with every detail thought of with an artistic eye. Even the dishes and linens were fabulous! I especially enjoyed the lovely touches like the hand painted sink basins in the bathrooms and the custom lounging day beds in the loft that were so relaxing during a rainy afternoon with sounds of rain coming down on the metal roof... I loved every minute of my evening walks with the fireflys and awaking at sunrise to parrots flying across the horizon with soaring views of the pacific. The drive up to the house is a fun adventurous ride complete with a conveniently located road side waterfall to shower under! I will definitely be back... soon I hope and perhaps next time with a car full of groceries, supplies & a stack of books so I will never have leave the leave property... This is a very hard place to leave!!!! I highly recommend this property to any one who expects high standards and loves nature.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

My Costa Rican dream

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Spectacular! This unique truely Costa Rican Casa is a dream come true. Beautiful, breath taking views. Amazing jungle and wild life experience. So peaceful and accomodating. Great retreat for honeymoon or couples. But just as fun for family and friends. Love the location, fun experience to travel too. So much to do close by, scuba, snorkel, fishing, zipline, river rafting and gorgeous pacifc coast beaches. Yet such a relaxing home to return to. If you want to experience the true Costa Rica this is the location and home for YOU! Owners host and hostess are fantastic to work with.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful Home - I want to go back next year

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have rented homes in the US and other countries for vacations many times. This was the best home we have ever rented. The pool was fabulous, the view was magnificent, and the home was well decorated. Our teenagers loved the separate little house as their accommodations. The kitchen had more items and appliances than we do at home. I would recommend this property as a wonderful place to stay.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
business
Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3650680
949-492-0796(US)
Uvita Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Month in Paradise

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My girfriend and I stayed at Casa Aracari for a month in July 2011. Being a meticulous planner I contacted many homes and asked many questions and Casa Aracari was definitely a great choice. Driving up to the house the first time was a thrill in of itself; you definitely need a 4X4. The home is beautifully decorated and modern. I had to work while in CR and the USB internet stick at the house got the job done although not very fast (Cant complain too much considering the location of the house). The home is definitely luxurious both inside and out and very comfortable, which is even more impressive because you are literally in the jungle. We were woken up around 5am by the howler monkeys followed by the birds at 5:30. The ocean view and whale's tail is amazing and you never get used to it (even after a month). We saw toucans daily and howlers a few times week in trees in front of the house. Also saw dozens of unique insects and birds around the house. The staff was also great. The gardner Marvin is one of the nicest people we met in Costa Rica. Massi and the property management staff were also responsive and took care of any issues that came up (just email them). The new washer and dryer at the house were very useful. Kitchen was stocked with more conveniences than mine at home. I thought not having an A/C would be an issue for me but the house's altitude and the way it is built makes so you do not need one. The fans in the rooms were more than enough. Pool was clean and refreshing. Lots of places to eat in Uvita although it doesnt look like it from the road. Favorites were chicken and pizza at La Fogata, breakfast at Soda Viajero, and check out NY Deli in Dominical if you get home sick for an amazing philly cheesesteak. Check out Ojochal for French inspired food. The best restaurants were there (Exotica was best meal). Your are about an hour and 15 min from manuel antonio door to door. Def check out the Osa Peninsula to the South for the amazing wildlife. We did encounter many bugs because the house is up in the jungle. We found keeping lights off in the bedroom at night til you are ready to go to bed minimized any inconvenience. Another issue is you may have to stay at home if there is heavy rain because it is difficult to go down the mountain in bad weather. Fortunately that only last a few hours.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing