Culebra house rental - Unforgettable ocean views from all areas of the property
Unforgettable ocean views from all areas of the property
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Culebra House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 10+

Pura Vida is a beautiful house overlooking Las Pelás Bay and the island of St. Thomas (US Virgin Islands). Unforgettable view of the greatest variety of ocean blue colors you have ever seen. One mile away from one of Culebra's most beautiful beaches: Zoní Beach. All rooms have inverter air conditioning and/or fans. Two master bedrooms with king size beds with private bathroom and balconies, both ocean and garden views. A third bedroom with queen size bed and a fourth with elegant comfortable bunk beds, both with ocean views. 58 foot lap pool with pool room overlooking the bay and ocean. Fully equipped kitchen in living area and second kitchen and barbecue at pool area. Comfortable living and dining area connected to balcony. Library. Wi-Fi connection, TV, DVD and i pod dock station.

My husband is originally from Puerto Rico but went to school in California where he and I met and now reside. We discovered Culebra on one of our trips to Puerto Rico. As it turns out, Carlos’ grandfather was a trader/explorer and sailed the Caribbean frequenting our little bay as a resting spot. (The history of his sailboat, the Pocahontas, can be found in the Culebra museum.) Carlos has had a deep connection to this magical place ever since he was a boy in Puerto Rico. Unique fact: our children all played competitive water polo and two of our daughters are gold medalists from the London Olympics; they chose to celebrate their win here in Culebra!

This property offers breathtaking views of Las Pelas Bay, Culebrita and St.Thomas. You will see the most beautiful colors in the water as the sun,cloud and occasional rain pass over, it is absolutely mesmerizing. Our peninsula is called Punto del Viento for the constant winds that keep it cool and refreshing even in the hottest tropical weather. We love to swim and love the large lap pool. We love to boat, kayak, snorkel, paddle board and our little bay is the perfect playground. Plus Culebrita is a quick boat ride away and Zoni beach just minutes away by car. Culebra is a beautiful wildlife refuge with mangroves and turtle nesting sites, and we are surrounded by trails for exploring. In this tropical island, who would have thought we could find cacti? Culebra offers so many treasures to discover.

We built our home to take advantage of these beautiful views, to provide a place of relaxation, healthy living and adventure. We have one of the largest pools on the island and enjoy refreshing after long day in sun. We love our porch for the mesmerizing views of St Thomas, for the constantly changing colors of the water and for the most amazing star gazing. We love our proximity to all kinds of nature, the envigorating walk to Zoni, the breezes during our yoga sessions on the porch, the quick boat ride to Culebrita and the peace and serenity that is Pura Vida.

15 Reviews of Property 365026 in Culebra, Puerto Rico

Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Gorgeous location, elegant house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved our stay at Pura Vida and are already talking about returning. We've rented quite a few houses over the years, but this one doesn't feel like a rental. It's a beautiful, bright and airy house with spectacular views that is perfectly equipped which everything from decent knives, to great linens to beach chairs and umbrellas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Lee! We love guests that enjoy the property as much as we do. Look forward to having you back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Great experience with professional attention.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This property is exceptional. There really aren't words for the quality and views you will find. The pool area is better than any high end resort. Grab your swimsuit, bring a couple of friends and have the time of your life.

How relaxing to wind down sitting on the porch reading a book and having total peace and quiet. Manuel, the property manager was wonderful. He was precise and to the point showing all of the property specifics. He was more than happy to help us with directions and suggestions to make our stay comfortable.

If there were more stars available than five, you can bet I would gladly give them. The owners of the property were wonderful to do business with. Perfection!
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests make our job easy! So glad you enjoyed our little paradise, hope to see you back again!
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Amazing Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our family loved everything about Pura Vida from amazing views, pool, immaculate clean condition, private setting to ease of making arrangements with owners. Great beaches, snorkeling,scuba and restaurants. Would highly recommend Pura Vida villa- cant wait to go back.
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Beautiful - both the home and the view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This home is one of the most amazing vacation spots I have visited. Everything has been remodeled beautifully and the view is absolutely to die for! If you are looking for a place to "get away from it all" while still having all of the "essentials" (and more!), then this is the place for you! I can't wait to visit again and I cannot recommend this as a vacation option enough!

The property was very clean and well-maintained. The customer service and interaction with the property owners was fantastic and very professional. I would absolutely recommend this to friends, relatives...everyone!
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

We totally enjoyed "Pura Vida"! It was amazing!

We totally enjoyed "Pura Vida"! It was amazing!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Carlos and Peggy have a beautiful and secluded place, just what the doctor ordered. We totally enjoyed our stay. You need to sit outside at night and do some stargazing, there was an evening we saw dozens of shooting stars!!!
Carlos called to ensure our accommodations were OK and told me to check out the birds in the early morning, which I did while having a cup of great coffee. Everything went flawless. We will definitely be back! Thanks for making your home available to our family. God bless.
Annette Rodgers
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
Miami, Florida
5

Excellent time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The property is beautiful and well maintain. We were a party of four couples and everyone love it. Its a good ten minutes drive from Flamenco beach ,but only three minutes drive from less crowded Zoni beach. The owners are very easy to deal with and the property manager was very punctual. It's a place to relax and enjoy the good things on life. Manuel (property manager) could have a little more spark, but that is the way in Culebra. I could said this because I am Puerto Rican. I recommend this property for families and friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jose! We are happy your group enjoyed your stay and the beautiful beaches and views around Pura Vida. You were gracious guests and we hope you come back again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Excellent all around!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is the 6th property we have rented on Culebra. We stayed at Pura Vida for 4 weeks in the spring of 2013.

I'll keep this short and to the point.

First the listing, it speaks for itself, the pictures and descriptions are precise, it is described on HomeAway with no exaggeration or shortcomings.

Second, the owner/manager Didi. She was a pleasure to work with; she was reliable, professional, and accommodating. All contractual, and verbal promises were kept to without any concern or issues whatsoever.

Next the property. It is clean, rodent free, and without question impeccable. We opted to go with the weekly cleaning service. They were nonintrusive and pleasant. They attended to the property and our personal belongings with great care and professionalism.

If you are a large group looking for one of the best that Culebra has to offer, than this should be on your short list.

We highly recommend Didi and Pura Vida for a pleasurable vacation destination property, and look forward to a return visit in 2014! Thanks Pura Vida and Didi for everything, can't wait for next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
Austin Texas
3

Unparalleled view with coupled annoyance

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
First off, this is one of the best views you available on the island. This cannot be disputed! This in itself makes this property worth staying at! The island is also very small, so the lack of direct beach access isn't really an issue. We could get to Flamenco beach in minutes, and the incredible Zoni Beach in less than 3 minutes!

The owner is very helpful, but the maintenance guy is not. First off, upon arrival, he wasn't at the ferry terminal as promised. Then when he did show up, it was without the property key. I am not joking. It was all kinds of hot, and we are waiting for a guy with no key to the property.

Then surprisingly every room in the property has air, EXCEPT the living room & kitchen. This isn't a problem in itself, except for there is an insect unique to the island that primarily attacks between 5:00 & 7:00 PM. This insect attacked bite up a good portion of our group. My daughter was bite up so bad, we went to urgent care. The Doc advised we either use a lot of bug spray between 5:00 & 7:00 or spend those hours inside. Well, there is no air in the living room and kitchen. Not very helpful, and annoying at best. There is a bug lamp, and for some reason it was locked up. On the 3rd day after begging, the maintenance guy got it out.

One of the main bedrooms had ZERO hot water. There ought to be hot water in each bathroom. I called the maintenance guy and he really didn't care to come check it out. He just wasn't going to do it. Then the well pump was busted, and startd to flood the 1st floor of the property. Most people would rush over to check out the flooding as water is very valuable on the island. Instead, the maintenance guy spent a good 30 minutes with excuses and over the phone trouble shooting. He eventually showed up and fixed it. The busted pump was spewing water for hours & this guy really wasn't concerned at any level. For the most part, any problem or concern was met with denial & deflection.

The salt in the wound was that we weren't allowed to use the washer and dryer, and the maintenance guy wanted an extra $25 to wash the bathroom towels! Allegedly because water was expensive. So water is cheap when it spews from a busted well pump but expensive when washing bath towels? Hmmmm. They had a washer on property, it was just locked up with the bug zapper.

Lastly, there was a power outage. The maintenance guy said he knew it was coming but forgot to tell us. Really...
Helpful votes: 9/13
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
Austin Texas
3

Unparalleled view with coupled annoyance

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
First off, this is one of the best views you available on the island. This cannot be disputed! This in itself makes this property worth staying at! The island is also very small, so the lack of direct beach access isn't really an issue. We could get to Flamenco beach in minutes, and the incredible Zoni Beach in less than 3 minutes!

The owner is very helpful, but the maintenance guy is not. First off, upon arrival, he wasn't at the ferry terminal as promised. Then when he did show up, it was without the property key. I am not joking. It was all kinds of hot, and we are waiting for a guy with no key to the property.

Then surprisingly every room in the property has air, EXCEPT the living room & kitchen. This isn't a problem in itself, except for there is an insect unique to the island that primarily attacks between 5:00 & 7:00 PM. This insect attacked bite up a good portion of our group. My daughter was bite up so bad, we went to urgent care. The Doc advised we either use a lot of bug spray between 5:00 & 7:00 or spend those hours inside. Well, there is no air in the living room and kitchen. Not very helpful, and annoying at best. There is a bug lamp, and for some reason it was locked up. On the 3rd day after begging, the maintenance guy got it out.

One of the main bedrooms had ZERO hot water. There ought to be hot water in each bathroom. I called the maintenance guy and he really didn't care to come check it out. He just wasn't going to do it. Then the well pump was busted, and startd to flood the 1st floor of the property. Most people would rush over to check out the flooding as water is very valuable on the island. Instead, the maintenance guy spent a good 30 minutes with excuses and over the phone trouble shooting. He eventually showed up and fixed it. The busted pump was spewing water for hours & this guy really wasn't concerned at any level. For the most part, any problem or concern was met with denial & deflection.

The salt in the wound was that we weren't allowed to use the washer and dryer, and the maintenance guy wanted an extra $25 to wash the bathroom towels! Allegedly because water was expensive. So water is cheap when it spews from a busted well pump but expensive when washing bath towels? Hmmmm. They had a washer on property, it was just locked up with the bug zapper.

Lastly, there was a power outage. The maintenance guy said he knew it was coming but forgot to tell us. Really...
Owner's Response: As property owners we would like to address the review that was posted in Homeaway in reference to our property. The property has been in Homeaway for over a year with an excellent rental record and with this exception, only positive comments have been received about the property and service of our Property Manager.


Ferry arrival: The Property Manager was not in the ferry for the guests arrival, since they indicated via e-mail that they would confirm if they were able to catch the 9AM ferry. The manager was informed of the arrival once the guests arrived. He went to the ferry and started to back their bags in his van, since 2 of the guests were getting the car rentals.
The Manager directed the guests to the supermarket and went to his house to get the keys. He did not have the keys with him, since they had not confirmed their arrival time. He came back to the supermarket to direct them to the property.
As indicated in Homeaway, there is AC in the bedrooms. The Manager explained that there are just a few homes that have AC in the living room and kitchen, since there is usually breeze. Guests should always ask to confirm for living area AC.
There is occasional presence of insects in Culebra. Regarding the bug lamp, the Manager provided for the lamp the same day it was requested. In the House Rules we make reference to an area in the kitchen where there is a first aid and repellents.
Regarding the hot water, the rules specify that if the 3 showers are used at the same time (we have line heaters) you might run out of hot water in the middle bathroom.
The extra towels were provided at no cost. For rental of 6 days or less we do provide 2 bath towels and 1 beach towel per person. There is no access to the laundry rooms for rentals of 6 days or less, which is specified in the Homeaway site.
As to the water pump, yes accidents happen. Since the house has two water pumps the guests called at 6PM and the manager was there half hour later to fix the same.
In Puerto Rico, there are occasional power outages, but we never do we know when they are going to happen or how much they are going to last. The power outage lasted about one a half hours. The Manager never said that he knew about this and forgot to tell the guests. The guest were told that it could be that the Power Authority was doing work.
The owners
Helpful votes: 9/12
business
Pura Vida Culebra; breathtaking ocean view luxury property Special Winter Deals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365026
+1 925 786-8077
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Wicked Pure Life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Last year i spent 7 of the most incredibly relaxing, stress free days at this paradise. The house has amazing views, gorgeous sun rises and views. The island locals where very friendly, the house clean, secluded and overall perfect. I need a stress free vacation to recharge and boy did I. You will be missing a vacation of a life time not to spend some time here, in this home.
Owner's Response: The property is one of kind in Culebra and we make sure that all guests enjoy their vacation to perfection. Pura Vida at Culebra is truly a great stress free vacation home with the most beautiful view.
Helpful votes: 7/7