Otis house rental - The house is surrounded by woods on 3 sides on a quiet road with a pond nearby.
The house is surrounded by woods on 3 sides on a quiet road with a pond nearby.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Otis House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Our home in Otis is a short drive from those well-known Berkshire towns…Lenox, Stockbridge, and Great Barrington, BUT it is in the middle of the woods in the southern Berkshires. It offers something that many of us don’t get enough of – serene quiet, nights filled with stars, a peaceful haven away from the world and a beautiful locale no matter what the season.

The house, a truly relaxing retreat, fits in beautifully with its surroundings, a wooded setting on 13 acres. Although only 4 years old, this new Colonial has a farmhouse feel with wide plank pine floors & natural wood moldings throughout. Soft colors adorn the walls & the furnishings are comfortable yet stylish. Each room features multiple windows & doors that bring the outdoors, forest views & streaming sunlight into every corner of the house. We think you’ll agree that it feels like “home.”

The layout of our home allows for room to be together & enjoy each other’s company or have some alone time. Living room has plenty of seating with two sofas, two leather armchairs & a recliner, all within view of the slide-out flat screen TV (with satellite TV & DVD player) & gas fireplace (for winter use). Sliders lead out to a very private deck that overlooks the yard, surrounded by woods on 3 sides. French doors at either end of the living room open onto the spacious screened porch with vaulted ceiling, ceiling fan & wood-burning fireplace (year-round use if desired). Comfortable porch furniture makes this a great place to hang out & read or have meals “outside.”

The expansive kitchen & dining area are perfect for one of the most important parts of a vacation….eating & drinking. The kitchen will charm any cook with its granite counters with lots of prep room & new appliances. There’s room for friends to sit on stools at the peninsula counter and keep the chef company. The open floor plan provides a large dining area with windows & natural sunlight on 3 sides. Meals can last a good long time when you’re in such comfortable surroundings.

Three private rooms offer quiet, ideal spaces for peaceful, restful sleep. Two bedrooms are on the 2nd floor, with queen-sized beds, windows on two sides & ceiling fans. The den/bedroom on the 1st floor has a queen-sized pull-out sofa bed, TV & DVD player. There are pillows galore, crisp white sheets, fluffy comforters & quilts in each room…..all to make sleeping here a wonderful experience. The two bedrooms upstairs share a beautiful bathroom with shower & tub with marble surround. The den/bedroom on the first floor has its own bath just outside the door with glass-enclosed shower with river rock floor.

Off the kitchen is the convenient entrance to the garage (with automatic door opener) & there’s a new washer & dryer for your use. One bay of the garage is vacant & you can house your canoe, kayaks, skis, & sporting equipment or one car.

Even though our vacation home is on a VERY quiet unpaved road in the woods, you can still be connected to the world if you wish. We have a landline phone for free local calls & friends & family can call you at the house (bring a calling card for long distance, please). There’s Verizon cell service coverage (better in some areas of the house than others) & Verizon internet coverage if you have a data modem (much faster than dial-up, not quite as fast as a cable modem which isn’t available in our area).

All you need to enjoy our vacation home is your suitcase. Everything else is provided for your comfort & entertainment. You’ll find lots of DVD’s, CD’s, stereo system with iPod dock, games & puzzles, kitchen & bathroom staples.

The Neighborhood: Just .7 of a mile from the end of our driveway is Hayes Pond, a beautiful crystal clear pond that is perfect for swimming, canoeing, kayaking, fishing (10-min walk, 2-min drive). Our favorite walk, no matter what the season, is down the road & around to the back of the pond….isolated & beautiful. Our road is the definition of “the road less travelled.” Houses are scattered here & there back in the woods, pretty much how you would imagine a country road should look, wildflowers & nary a car in sight.

The Town: From the Otis website, “Otis is a town nestled quaintly along several lakes & ponds, against gentle slopes of the Berkshire Range, & in the Farmington River Valley. This Town is a haven for outdoor recreation having pleasant forests, open fields, cool streams, deep ponds & lakes, & nurturing wetlands. Along with natural elements the Town has a ski resort, several campgrounds, & State Forest Preserves. The natural setting, the small town laid back attitude, the small business enterprises & recreation opportunities makes it a good place to live.” We agree. It’s also a great place to visit!

The Surrounding Area: No matter the season, the Berkshires offer something for everyone. For the culturally inclined, there’s music, dance & theatre, museums, galleries & historic places. For outdoorsy types, there’s amazing hiking, swimming, boating, skiing, berry-picking. Shopping anyone? Lee Premium Outlets, unique boutiques & farmers markets abound. A fantastic array of restaurants (rustic diners to bistros to fine dining) are a short drive away & offer a wide variety of dining experiences no matter the time of day.

The Berkshires is truly the heart of canoeing & kayaking country with 75 lakes & ponds. The serene smaller ponds & rushing streams also make for great fishing (Green River Guide Service & Fly Shop right down our road). Wintertime recreation includes cross-country skiing, snowboarding & downhill skiing. Butternut Basin, Bousquet, Catamount & Jiminy Peak are all nearby.

Whatever you’re looking for in a vacation, it’s probably in the Berkshires….and all within easy access of our vacation home in Otis. Being at our Berkshire Woods House helps us restore our spirits, our minds and our souls. We hope it will do the same for you.

More info/photos - website: BerkshireWoodsHouse

Keywords: Private, screen porch, fireplace, quiet, Berkshire vacation getaway, wooded property, walk to pond, quiet country road, central air

More Details
Hide Details

We both have our own businesses and don't have regular business hours but seem to work all the time.....unless we take some time to enjoy our home in Otis. So our Berkshire Woods home is our haven away from home.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

We love what the house and property, our location in Otis and the southern Berkshires have to offer us....serenity and a chance to appreciate the world around us. It is a reasonable drive from our home in Yonkers whether we stay for two days or an entire week. It's only a little over 2 hours away but a world away from our everyday lives. Most of the homes in our community are also weekenders who share our love for the area and for the solitude it provides. And everyone waves to everyone...how nice and unexpected!

The great thing about where our house is located is that you can do as much sightseeing, dining out, shopping, going to the movies or a concert, outdoor activities as you like...all minutes from the house.... or you can simply do nothing and have a wonderful time. Although the house is in the middle of the woods, we still enjoy the conveniences of new construction: a super high-efficiency heating system (in winter), central air (in summer), well-lit rooms, and the latest appliances. There's no 'roughing it' in our vacation home. But you've still got the 'country' right outside the door. Our favorite walk is right at the end of our driveway, down the road and around the pond....quiet, solitary, beautiful.

12 Reviews of Property 364974 in Otis, Massachusetts

New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
5

Lovely late summer retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a lovely and restful week with friends and family. The house was comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. It was like being at home. We made a number of meals in the kitchen, and enjoyed having pre-dinner drinks at the kitchen counter or on the screened porch. The evening fires on the screened porch were very special -- like being around a civilized campfire! Friends who came to visit couldn't believe what a find this was!

The area was wonderful to explore: Berkshire Museum, downtown Lee, Lenox (free jazz at The Mount), the Bidwell House, Naumkeag -- we explored and relaxed and had a good time.

This is a lovely and special home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the nice words about your week at the house. Having all the activities of the nearby towns is a big plus, but always with the option to just hang out and relax with family at the house.
We hope to see you back again soon.
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Yonkers, New York
5

Our Week in the Berkshires

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A very cozy, clean, wellstocked home in just a peaceful and beautiful setting. Just a few miles away to visit the historic towns of Lee, Lenox and Stockbridge which we so enjoy. Norman Rockwell Museum and the Red Lion are just two of our many favorite attractions. Plenty of antique shopping and clothing outlet in Lee is nearby. Great bargains and a quite a few retailers to visit. For leisure time in the house, many DVD's to watch and CD's to listen to. The home was well equipped with plenty of linens, towels and condiments for your needs. We stayed during the summer time (swimming pond nearby) but anytime of the year would be perfect. Toby, the owner was more than helpful in handling all the details and questions we had. We would definitely recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Gloria,
Thank you for your nice words! What you liked about the house and its location are just what we enjoy when we spend time up there. We also always work in a visit to Great Barrington for restaurants, shops, the Triplex Movie Theatre, and in summer, the farmer's market. We look forward to having you visit again anytime.
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
United States
5

wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It was one of our best vacations! I have to say that the house was a big part of it. So comfortable, so clean, so nice. I've been renting houses via vrbo for the past three years and it was by far the best one we stayed in!

We have been, my husband and I, working so much lately, not spending so much time as a family and it was the perfect get together with our two boys! We loved the Otis Ridge ski area. It was perfect for us as our boys never skied before, so the small family style ski lessons worked perfectly for them. My husband skied the last time 20 years ago so it was also perfect for him. As for me, I don't ski anymore as I went through many knee surgeries, but I loved spending my afternoons at the lodge with very friendly people.

My occupation is being a chef, so I fell in love with your kitchen, cooking for long hours after a ski day! The only comment that I would have is that, with such a beautiful kitchen, you should add one or two pans, like frying pans.
Anyway, we had a blast!

Thank you so much for everything, we are surely coming back!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and it's especially nice to hear that the Otis Ridge Ski area and the Grouse House restaurant suited you and your family so well.
Since it's less than 10 minutes from the house, it's the convenient alternative to the big mountain at Butternut and the other nearby ski areas that are more challenging for experienced skiers.

And we loved hearing from a chef that you enjoyed cooking in the kitchen at the house. We will be sure to have a few more skillets for you on your next visit. Thanks again for your nice words and for taking such good care of the house while you were there. Come back for another visit anytime!
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Minnesota
5

T & J, Minneapolis

T & J, Minneapolis
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at this beautiful home. The home was super clean and had everything we could possibly need. Everything at the home was as advertised and is very well maintained. Toby was very easy to work with. He responded promptly to our request and he is very detailed, providing easy to follow directions to the home, providing suggestions of things to see and do and instructions on how to operate the television, washer/dryer and thermostat. The location is quiet and very picturesque, especially in the fall and is convient to many attractions, including the Norman Rockwell Museum in nearby inStockbridge, the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield and several boutique shops throughout the area. The food at Fratelli's is delicious and has an extensive menu. We highly recommend this home to anyone who seeks a quiet retreat in the woods to relax and enjoy the view.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, T&J. We're very happy that the house was a great place to celebrate your 25th anniversary! Fratelli's, right in town, has good food, with Great Barrington and Lee a short drive away for more dining and good shopping. We were sure the house would be the perfect place for you to get away from it all, yet be in the middle of so many things to do, in the fall or any season. Come back and visit soon!
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Fair Lawn, NJ
5

Wonderful Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What an amazing vacation we enjoyed in this beautiful house! The weather--somewhere between summer and fall--was glorious, and the house welcomed us with charm, warmth, and the little touches that cheer the traveller: country bedspreads with afgans, travel books, music, magazines, and marvelous details throughout the house. We loved the little notes and instructions on "techy" things like washing machine, TV, etc. Even the photos and maps on the walls were designed to inspire and guide our days. In the mornings, I walked for hours along country roads, meeting new friends,learning about the area, and catching glimpses of frogs, foxes, and turkeys. In the darkness of night, which is far deeper than the darkness where we live, we marvelled at the glittering stars. My husband set up his easel and painted every day, capturing beauty on small canvases to take back to NJ. We spent an evening at Tanglewood, saw a wonderful play at the Barrington Stage Co. in Pittsfield, and visited (one more time) the Norman Rockwell Museum to see the Howard Pyle exhibit. We shopped, ate, and explored...and always, happily, returned to our home away from home, set in the beauty of the Berkshire woods, waiting to welcome us back to its porches and decks, its sunlit rooms...Toby and Jane, thank you for making this vacation so memorable. We plan to be back next year, if you'll have us, and we thank you again for offering us a glimpse of your artistry and hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice words, Linda. It was great to be able to help you enjoy your week in the Berkshires. It sounds like you took advantage of a lot of the great things to do in the area while enjoying the amazing peace and quiet at the house when you wanted to relax. We look forward to your visit next summer!
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Oshawa Ontario Canada
5

Quiet in the Forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a thoroughly relaxing and comfortable week at the house in the forest. We especially enjoyed the peaceful and quiet setting, broken only by crows squabbling and coyotes howling at night. The house was fully equipped with all conveniences, including top of the line appliances and linens. We also appreciated all the information regarding events, restaurants and attractions in the Berkshires. Toby was extremely easy to deal with and very obliging. Though the house does not have Wi Fi we enjoyed our daily visit to the Otis Library lawn where we we watched the village scene along with other computer fanatics. The house location was perfect for our excursions to various theatre performances and dance at Jacob's Pillow. Highlights of our visit included the Bidwell House in Monterey, hiking on Tyringham Cobble and Melville's Arrowhead. Highly recommend Chez Nous, Cafe Adam and Farmington River diner -- all three unique and good food. Great place to rest and enjoy the Berkshires.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Brad & Charlene for your nice review and suggestions on area activities. We haven't even been to all the places you visited but plan on some outings and new restaurant tastings this fall to check them out. We're always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed the house as much as we do. We look forward to your visit next summer!
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Harrisburg, PA
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Ideal house for a family vacation. Private (but not isolated), children could safely play in the yard. A short walk (or 1 minute drive) away from a lovely pond. The house was sparkling clean, welcoming and relaxing. It is stocked much better than the average rental, and the owners have done a terrific job in providing all the information (about the house itself and the surrounding area) that a guest may need.
The area has so much to offer: the children loved the beaches of Big Pond and Monterey, visiting the Old Sturbridge Village and enjoying an ice-cream at SoCo in GB. We loved the availability of many short (and long!) hikes, discovering local farms and art studios, and being so close to Jacob's Pillow and Tanglewood. Truly a unique location.
Definitely a place to go back to, and recommend to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! This is exactly the experience we hope people have at the house: private and quiet while there, but with many, many things to do and places to go right nearby. We are so happy you had such a good time. And thank you for taking such good care of the house during your stay. We really appreciate it.
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Brooklyn, NY
5

A truly relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a very enjoyable stay at the lovely Berkshire house this past week. Your home is so warm, inviting and comfortable and immaculately clean! We especially appreciated the attention to detail. Every time we needed a little something that we didn't think of packing (like a rubber band or a pair of scissors), there it was. The kitchen was well stocked, and it was easy to serve in the nice selection of dishes and platters. We went out for several delicious dinners, including one at the Dreamaway Lodge (a hidden treasure). We hiked, went bowling and enjoyed walking around town. But we had the best time relaxing in the house, enjoying the seclusion and quiet and the wonderful views, doing jigsaw puzzles, listening to music and catching up with our friends in front of the fire.
The owners have truly thought of everything, from an extensive information book to a large selection of CDs and DVDs, from cleaning products to extra chairs and pillows.
The grounds around your house are beautiful, and we can only imagine how gorgeous it must be in the snow. Looks like we will need to make a return trip to enjoy the serenity of the seasons (and to get in some skiing and snowshoeing!).
Thank you for making our vacation so memorable. We look forward to returning soon!
Happy New Year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Even with the unusually mild and snowless weather we had in late December this year, we're glad you found all the things to do in the area, and also enjoyed time at the house to relax with your family and friends. We'll hope for some "winter wonderland" weather for you on your next visit. Thank you for the nice words!
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
Boston, MA
5

Great weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had a lovely weekend at this house in the fall. The home is new and fully equipped without being cluttered. We enjoyed walks from the property, easy access (via car) to more substantial hikes, and reasonable proximity to restaurants when we wanted to eat out. The weather was cold that weekend, so we didn't use the fireplace on the screened porch - but found the indoor gas fireplace to be cozy. The owners have taken care to make the house comfortable and easy for renters to navigate. The house is on a quiet road, and the neighboring houses are far enough away to be un-noticable. All in all, it was a great weekend destination and I hope we'll have an opportunity to return. thanks!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review of the house! Your description is perfect: near enough to activities and restaurants, but also a private, quiet and cozy place to hang out with family and friends. We look forward to having you back!
business
New Secluded Berkshire Woods Vacation Home on 13 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364974vb
914 423-1836
Otis Berkshires
NYC
5

November, 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your wonderful vacation home. We ordered our Thanksgiving meal in advance from the Stop and Shop in Winsted and had an effortless time setting a great feast with the help of your beautifully supplied kitchen that included a table cloth and cloth napkins. The kids loved playing in the yard and chatting with other visitors on our walks down the road. We took special advantage of a little piece of the Appalachian Trail on the way to Lee which was even suitable for a 3 (and 5) year old (the lower section at least). This is such a gorgeous area and we'd love to come back and see it in every season - the height of fall must be particularly special. Your home is so warm and comfortable that it makes city life feel like a million miles away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We’re so happy you and your family enjoyed our vacation home and the surrounding area over Thanksgiving. We hope you’ll come back during the warmer months when you can enjoy nearby Hayes Pond and all the summer activities in the Berkshires.