Big Sur cabin rental - Come Relax, Rejuvenate, Rejoice, Rekindle and Remember - Big Sur, California
Come Relax, Rejuvenate, Rejoice, Rekindle and Remember - Big Sur, California
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Big Sur Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

We are only 23 miles south of the Monterey Peninsula, located on a private, electronic gated road. Perched 950 feet above the Pacific Ocean on the west side of Highway One, The Teapot view is unsurpassed. My father often said, 'You can see all the way to Maui.' Directly above Pfeiffer Beach, it is possible to see migrating Grey whales, Humpbacks, porpoises, sea otters, condors, plus an occasional hang glider landing below.

Keywords: Our exquisite home owns one of the most spectacular views in the world.

I grew-up working the ranches of Big Sur. I had the privilege of working for Walter Trotter a mountain of a man and a legend in Big Sur. Over 40 years ago, my parents were brilliant to buy one of the best 20 acres on the whole coast. I've always enjoyed playing sports. Professionally I run a company called Leadership Resources, LLC we coach and consult helping businesses hire and work together more effectively. I'm a social psychologist by training and my wife is a clinical psychologist. Patricia has transitioned to become an incredible abstract expressionist painter with a beautiful studio in Carmel Valley Village. Our son Kodiak loves to play sports too. It has given me the opportunity to coach soccer, basketball, football and lacrosse. All of his activities keep us from spending too much time in Big Sur, so we decided to share our property with a lucky few.

Owner purchased this cabin in 1972

Our family, led by my parents in 1972, have always loved and respected the incredible beauty and ruggedness of Big Sur. We sit on top of the ridge about 900 feet above Pfeiffer Beach. The road to our property is controlled by electronic gates. We have a gate by the entrance to Pheiffer Beach and a northern entrance just before The River Inn. Our view is one of the most magnificent views in the world. Our 20 acres includes a spectacular redwood grove and tunnels of wondrous oak trees. We are only about 50 minutes to Carmel and at the same time light years away from the hustle and bustle of normal life.

21 Reviews of Property 364925 in Big Sur, California

Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
NYC
5

Beautiful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I spent several days at this house in January 2013. It was absolutely perfect. The views are unbelievable, the house is very comfortable and well-equipped. It is very private, up a winding road. The caretaker was extremely helpful. I only wish there was another bedroom so that we could return with some of our kids. One of the most beautiful places I have ever been to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
Ruston, Louisiana, USA
5

The Teapot is "As Advertised"--It's great!

The Teapot is "As Advertised"--It's great!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is truly a great place to stay if you want the views from the top in Carmel. It is WEST of the highway and WAY up top. The view can only be described as magnificent. The home is very comfortable and has all you need. We spent the majority of our time on the deck reveling in the incredibly scenery. We hope to return...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
Mission Viejo, CA
5

Incredibly Awesome Place in one of the most Inspiring Places on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The property description was accurate the location defies words. The photos are nice but again, the actual property is just incredible. Very clean and well maintained and the Owner was very helpful answering questions and providing information. Our experience there was awesome and inspiring - we're already talking about our next visit to the Teapot. Highly recommended !!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
5

The Magnificent Teapot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
we loved it. well appointed place with a terrific view, as advertised.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
5

Quiet retreat.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The Teapot is an elegant but simple get away with great views of the Big Sur coast. It is perfect for a couple with everything you need provided. Access is quite easy is you are at all comfortable with dirt roads. There are spectacular views in many directions and the setting is very quiet. Many windows and sliding doors offer great natural views from almost every part of the house. Pfeiffer Beach located nearby is also very nice. Not too crowded and lots of interesting whitewater. There were large waves and a surfer one day we were there. The Teapot is an easy drive to most of the northern Big Sur attractions and even the Hearst Castle is an easy day trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
Newton
5

Memorable moments

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I keep wistfully perusing the photos from our stay at the Teapot: what a special place! It fully delivers on its description, and then some. Very comfortable, clean, well-maintained, and both owners and caretaker were so attentive and helpful. Loved the winding drive away from civilization---but also access to a phenomenal meal at Deetjen's when the mood struck us. Woke up to see four deer browsing out one window, and a spectacular pink-fingered dawn out the other. The Andrew Molera loop trail recommended by Doug was a great hike. Would love to go back in warmer weather to enjoy the decks and the outdoor shower. We felt so lucky to be there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
Carmel, CA
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Magical spot! Lovely home with beautiful artwork. Gorgeous views from deck, fully equipped kitchen, satellite radio, dvd player, wi fi. Short drive to beautiful Pfiffer Beach on private road. The ultimate Big Sur experience!

Big Sur Bakery, Henry Miller Library, River Inn, Nepenthe, Andrew Molera State Park all nearby.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
Chicago
5

Great Surprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife turned 40 on Sept. 12th. She was informed at her birthday dinner that we would be flying out of Chicago at 8:00am the following morning to a secret destination. She packed and hardly slept. Typically, she plays a big role in our trip planning. Therefore, her excitement was 50 parts pleasure and 50 parts anxiety over my choices for our extended weekend.

Everything was a surprise. It went fantastically. We flew into San Jose and she still wasn't sure of our ultimate destination. We stopped for a great lunch in Carmel and wandered the town, then back onto Hwy 1. Throughout, she smiled and soaked it in. However, nothing could have prepared her for the view from the Teapot. As we rounded the bend in the driveway with our car pointed out over the Pacific, all she could do was mumble in awe.

Thanks for being the cherry atop a wondrous surprise!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Truly inspiring, off-the-grid retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Having just spent a magical week at the Teapot, we have returned to our lives rested, inspired, and fully filled with the wild pleasures of Big Sur—mountains, redwoods, eucalyptus, ocea, whale-sighting from the porch, curving ocean roads, wildflowers, Pfeiffer Beach wind, fog, sun, moon...amazing.

To say the least, this cabin is the best vacation sport we have ever visited. To say the most, our lives in the desert pale in comparison to the natural wilderness of that awe-inspiring spot. But don't get the wrong impression: regardless of its natural splendor, the best cappuccino and ginger scone are just at the bottom of the hill at the Big Sur Bakery!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Most Spectacular View in Big Sur
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364925
+1 831 659-8580
Big Sur Central Coast California
5

Fantastic Views from in a Beautifully Appointed One Bedroom Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The Tea Pot sits high on a ridge top, exposed to the elements, overlooking Pfeiffer Beach and the mountains of Big Sur. The 15 minute drive from Hwy.1, down Sycamore Canyon and then up a steep and winding private road that is paved at the beginning and then continues onto a well maintained dirt road, makes it a bit remote and you will probably only want to make the journey up and down once a day. This works out perfectly if you plan for a morning adventure followed by a late lunch or an afternoon adventure followed by an early dinner so you can drive back to the Tea Pot while it is still light. If you plan your time this way you will have ample time to just enjoy the place and all it has to offer. Nicely decorated, fantastic views, well equipped kitchen, good books, big decks and cozy places to hang. You need to be OK with making a fire in the wood burning stove, as it is the only source of heat. Pros- fantastic views, privacy, spacious yet cozy. Cons- king size mattress a bit soft, no bathtub, no iron
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3