Cherokee Sound house rental - 'Captains View' beach house in Cherokee Sound ,Abaco
'Captains View' beach house in Cherokee Sound ,Abaco
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Cherokee Sound House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

Captains View is a cozy two bedroom beach house overlooking the Southern Bay of Cherokee Sound. The 14ft Boat and outboard is and optional high light . The front porch is definitely the most frequently used area of the home partly because of the view but also because it provides a shady, secluded, breezy spot to relax during your vacation. It is the perfect place to have your morning coffee, read a book in the afternoon, or retire after a long day of deep sea fishing.

The House is situated only a few footsteps away from the Long Dock where all types of activities can take place. There are many flat sand bars to walk on during the low tides; they are great places to find beautiful shells. Early tides bring fish including the allusive 'Bonefish' that room freely along the shallow bars of Southern Bay. 'The Long Dock ' and its uncounted wooden pieces have with stood many Hurricanes with sometimes little reconstruction. This dock is a pillar of the fishing town that once allowed for contact from the outside world .

All the community and its residents, as well as non residents , both old and young, have helped maintain its condition giving all who visit here a pleasent stay . There is loads of history is the Cherokee area so make sure to bring your hiking shoes and max the experience ! There are networks of uncharted paths from several hundred of years ago to be explored . Wooden boats and smacks building was an art done for years on the shore of the inner creek. You can learn more stories about this era by meeting friendly locals of Cherokee and hearing about the history of this place.

Guests have access to Watching Bay beach, on the Oceanside through a private development 'The Reserve at Watching bay '. This is all within walking distance, but the bicycles are great for this, and riding through town, . You can also rent a vehicle in Marsh Harbour beforehand to get to the house and sight see the island wide towns .

The uniqueness of this home is not only what it does have but it doesn’t have. By separating yourself from cable television and land line phones(which we do not have in the home!)you can find other ways to entertain yourselves. However, keep in mind that there is wi-fi internet access available so you can bring your business with you if you insist! We hope you will come enjoy a peaceful vacation with the ones you love at Captains View in Cherokee.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 364761 in Cherokee Sound, Bahamas

Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Columbus, Ohio
5

Everything about this rental and this part of Abaco was spectacular

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Cherokee Sound is a special place and Glenn's home is absolutely perfect. Our family of five had no troubles here as we splashed and played in the sound all week.
The kitchen had everything you'd need and the kayaks and fishing rods were a big bonus. The Long Dock is a great place to hang out by day and watch the stars by night.
The Food Fair in Cherokee is well stocked but load up on staples like beer in Marsh Harbor. Everyone was very nice to us in Cherokee and we received lots of ripe mangoes from the trees of locals.
We took 3 kids 8-13 and they all had a blast. The short hike to the nearby Ocean beach was fun and worthwhile, we felt like Robinson Caruso.
Yes, Pete's is close by and very tasty (saw some dolphins swimming nearby in the harbor there while we were eating) we also made the trip to Marsh Harbor for dinner out a couple times, lots of good choices. We took day trips to a couple cays and they were fantastic for snorkeling and hanging out. If you go somewhere with a pool and restaurant on the beach you're set for the day. Pay attention to ferry schedules and ask about departure times to be sure.
Our favorite times were at the house, hanging out or fishing on the dock, in the sound, on the kayaks or admiring the views at low and high tide from the front porch over coffee or Kaliks.
Glenn is very helpful, responsive and all the descriptions and reviews are accurate. The house was super, we wanted for nothing. I would definitely recommend Captain's View and Cherokee.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This summer vacation was well chosen for you and your family .It was a pleasure to have you'll stay .
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Lee, MA USA
5

A little Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay in Cherokee was amazing and Glenn's house, with all it's amenities made it spectacular!
Modern, comfortable, everything you could need to enjoy a quiet beautiful beach front vacation.
A rental car is a must!
The little convince store in Cherokee is well supplied. I would suggest taking advantage of the modern, clean supermarket (Maxwells) for your supplies in Marsh Harbor. This is 30 minutes away from Cherokee, but easily accessible as you leave the airport.
The nearest restaurant/pub is Pete's Pub, it is back towards Marsh Harbor about three miles on the paved road then a mile and a half or so down a dirt road, great place! Try the Conk Fritters!
I personally would not bring kids here unless they are content with swimming, fishing, sunning, biking or kayaking. Not much else to do here except relax and enjoy one of the most beautiful water fronts in the Caribbean!
The residents of Cherokee are wonderful.
Highly recommend Captains View! We can not wait to return.
Thank you Glenn!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: At your arrival there was a joy about both of you . It was a pleasure to have you and your are welcome to return . My neighbor will have coconuts again for your return . You made a friend .
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful time at your place. What a great location and a great view!!! The house was very nice and clean and had everything we needed. The kayaks and bicycles were also nice to have available. Thank you for letting us stay at your place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks , and you're very welcome .Glad that you had a great time .
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Little Rock, Arkansas
5

A Quiet Quaint Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I were looking for a relaxing place where I could do some bonefishing and we could get away from it all for our honeymoon. We looked all over VRBO and based on the reviews we settled on the Captain's View. We are so glad we did. We had the best time, the place was very clean and nice, and there was nothing we were missing from our trip. Glenn was very helpful and great to work with. The town of Cherokee is nice and all the people were the friendliest out of anywhere in the Bahamas. The bonefishing was great and I saw tons and hooked up with many while I was there. We had fresh coconuts every day we picked from the trees while we were there and we found multiple legally aged harvestable conch on the flats while we snorkeled. We rented a car which was very nice so that we could run into Marsh Harbour if we needed anything that the local grocer did not have. We also took some ferrys to the surrounding cays to visit Hope Town and Man-O-War. It was the best secluded and relaxed atmosphere we had hoped to find. Don't hesitate to send Glenn an inquiry with anything you might be wondering about the house/town/island, he is very responsive. Very highly recommended and are already saving up to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the photos you sent .They are evidence that you'll had a great time .The bonefish also say you put up a good fight and didn't give them a break .LOL See you again .
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Conway, SC
5

Cute beach front cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Captains View in Cherokee Sound. The cottage was the perfect size for the us and another couple and had everything we needed to make our stay feel like home. Plus, you can't beat the location right on the water nor the access to the 770 ft long dock right in front to enjoy even more water views!
We flew into Marsh Harbor and rented a car and from there the drive was about 25-30 minutes but the house relatively easy to find and once we were familiar with the area, ventured out up to Treasure Cay by car (1 hour) and to Hope Town/Elbow Cay/ Lubbers Landing by boat which we rented in Marsh Harbor.
Overall it was an easy trip to make and we'd love to go back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you'll stay and see that you enjoyed the house .
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Mpls, MN
5

Wonderful, beautiful, magical rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family of four is just returning from a week at Captains View. We fell in love with Cherokee Sound, the quaint village, wonderful people, daily bike rides, bone fishing, kayaking, swimming and endless walks in the sand and on the long dock. Captains View is a delightful rental. The cottage is extremely well appointed, charming, and very clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a picture perfect post card setting, well removed from the hustle and bustle, where you can unwind and take in the immense island beauty, especially that of Cherokee Sound, then this rental is highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great to see your family enjoy my house and I welcome you back again .
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
5

Our Captains View Experince

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We already had the feeling that our holiday was going be be a good one as our host was very helpful even before we had left home. We found the accommodation to be very clean, well maintained and just as pictured on the website and therefore no surprises.The beds which are usually one of our biggest concerns very comfortable. We got exactly what we were after and that was time to relax and get away from it all for a short period of time: riding bikes, kayaking and swimming. We didn't experience the pub & restaurant 8 miles away but did visit the little community there and it too was pleasant. The nearby beach was really good, the local people very friendly and the local store quite adequate for our basic needs. We enjoy cooking so we did all of our own meals in what was a very nicely equipped kitchen.We therefore would have no problem recommending Captains View for a vacation. Thank you Glenn.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you'll stay .I was glad that i got to meet you'll and would have liked to walk over the sand banks talking together but ... maybe the next visit we can do just that .
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Canada
5

Charming House and Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a very charming small two bedroom house. We were personally greeted by the owner. The place was immaculately clean. The location right on the sound offers a lovely perspective and view, and the community itself is delightful with very friendly people. People do walk by the house on their way to the pier so this isn't the most private house but we would recommend it. A daily walk through the shallow waters as the tide goes out is beautiful, and the nearby Winding Bay Beach is lovely for swimming with very few people on it. This house is great for a couple and those with kids. The village store is quite well stocked with all the basics and the staff is friendly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: My daughter and i were glad to meet you and are very happy to see such a great review from you .We wish that your memories last a life time .
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
Elkins, WV
5

Memorable Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I stayed at Captain's View in Cherokee Sound for 2 weeks. The home is lovely and just as it is described. Cherokee Sound is a small settlement and we rode around on the bicycles. We made use of the local grocery store and coin laundry. We used the kayaks to paddle to Duck Key to explore and we spent alot of time near the long dock and snorkeled when the tide was high. All the local folk were welcoming and helpful to us.
We spent some time going in and out of Marsh Harbour. We had lunch at Snappas and Jaime's and both were very good. We took a day trip to Hope Town and climbed the lighthouse to be rewarded with awesome views. Lunch at Captain Jack's was delicious.
We were on Abaco during October and unfortunately, this is considered "off season". We had wanted to scuba dive and found that all of the dive shops were closed. Many shops and restaurants were also closed including nearby Pete's Pub. We should have done more research before scheduling our vacation dates. But, none the less, it was very relaxing and we found plenty to do by the house.
Our one other problem was Hurricane Sandy. Glenn was good about staying in touch with us and telling us what to do, and Stephanie found us a place to stay at a resort in Marsh Harbour at a reduced rate. That was very kind of her and much appreciated.
We really enjoyed our vacation...in spite of the hurricane. Glenn is easy to work with and gives promp responses to questions . Stephanie and Sabrina were also very helpful. We definitely recommend Captain's View at Cherokee Sound!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad that Hurricane Sandy 2012 will only be a small memory of your stay having to weather it out .Cherokee is unique in that the "off season " doesn't effect its charm but many of the other towns are effected .
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Captains View Nestled on the Beach / Optional Boat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364761
+1242 367-2486
Cherokee Sound Abaco
5

Captains View.......Gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband, son and I stayed at Captain's View for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The cottage is very clean and decorated nicely. It is perfectly situated on a stretch of beach, where the water is very shallow and calm.....perfect for small children. The kayaks that come with the rental were used almost daily.

Cherokee Sound is a very quaint small village that only has 1 small store....so if you are looking for wild nights out......this is not the place for you. But if you want quiet, safe, relaxation........definitely come!

Marsh Harbour is about 25 minutes away, where you can do grocery & souvenier shopping, rent a boat or take a ferry to a neighboring island.

The people who live in the village of Cherokee Sound are very nice and even gave us some freshly caught lobster. Our son played with some of the local children and had a great time.

We would definitely stay here again.....hopefully soon,
Owner's Response: You'll touched the hearts of many on your stay .I saw the lobster ( crawfish as we call them ) you recieved fresh from the fishermans wife at the Bridge Creek ,they were very nice .You'll are welcome again anytime .
Helpful votes: 2/2