Dominical villa rental - Pool, lateral house view at dusk
Pool, lateral house view at dusk
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Dominical Villa Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Office/5th bedroom, 4 Full Baths (Sleeps 8 to 10+)

Casa Buendía is where modern architecture meets the rain forest above Costa Rica´s beautiful South Pacific coast. If you are looking for a contemporary home-base from which to explore and enjoy Costa Rica´s most amazing natural assets, look no further!

Spectacular coastal and mountain views abound in this 5,000 sq ft 4 bedroom luxury hideaway, which includes a large office with private bath (converting to a 5th bedroom if needed). Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and Palapa-covered terraces beautifully contrast the clean modernistic lines of the house. The main floor surrounds a small inner garden courtyard and fountain. Large, bright fully appointed kitchen has granite counters, gas stove, and wet-bar. Adjacent dining and living rooms boast double-height vaulted ceiling, accessed from a gallery-styled passage and stunning vestibule entrance.

Sleeping Quarters on Top Floor w/ Best Views!: On the upper floor, an elevated walkway separates the swank, private master bedroom from another VIP guest suite, along with two more bedrooms, each with balconies and breathtaking views. A giant 3-car garage, laundry room and storage area comprise the lower floor below.

Uncommon Combination of Nature and Luxury: Casa Buendía is located on 2..5 acres (1 hectare) of forested land, bordered by a mountain stream on the westernmost limit, accessible via a private footpath. Toucans, howler and white faced monkeys are common attractions. Just to the south lies Ballena National Marine Park and Corcovado National Park, while Manuel Antonio National Park is a short drive away to the North. Surfing, sport-fishing, diving, hiking, birdwatching, mountain biking, horseback riding, sea and river kayaking and rafting, are just some of the activities offered in the area. Spa treatment, maid service and gourmet food preparation are available on request.

More Details
Hide Details

We are an American-Costa Rican couple married for over 20 years. We are world travelers and active outdoor action sports afficionados. We bought land in Dominical after falling in love with the place during surf trip getaways, back in 1998. Ten years later, we decided to build our dream house and share it with family, friends, and guests!

Estrella Barrantes & Vince Ruddy purchased this villa in 2009

We are in Dominical because it offers so much to so many kinds of adventurers! We have been to Asia, Africa, the Middle East, a throughout North, Central, and South America, and we have yet to find a place that is so natural, wild, scenic, and fun. Amazing surf and lush forest waterfalls drew us in. Eventually, we discovered other options, including kayaking in the Savegre river, exploring Corcovado National Park (one of the most bio-diverse locations on the planet). It is far enough from the big cities and overbuilt tourist traps, but still close enough to make for a 2.5 hour drive on the new highway from San Jose.

37 Reviews of Property 364555 in Dominical, Costa Rica

Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
average rating of 4.962963 based on 37 reviews
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Luxury in the Jungle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Just returned from a week at Casa Buendia and it lived up to its promises of providing luxury, family-friendly accommodations in an undeveloped part of Costa Rica. We visited with six adults and three toddlers (3 years old) and everyone loved it. There was plenty of room in the house and the kids loved the pool. Also, Erick and Yelba were fantastic, giving us tours of the property and helping out with little questions.

The house is also well-located. After a five minute drive down the mountain (4x4 a must!), you're minutes from Playa Hermosa (wonderful swimming beach) and Playa Dominical (fascinating surfer town). Drive a little further south and you're in Uvita - great grocery store, health clinic, and home to beautiful national park with stunning beaches. We never lacked for things to do.

Quick tips - while the water in the home isn't potable, we had no trouble getting water from the local groceries and no one in our party ever got sick. Erick and Yelba were also able to provide air mattresses for the kids so they could sleep in the rooms with the parents - worked great. Finally, the house was an easy 3 hour drive from San Jose; however, on our trip there, the Caldera Highway was closed unexpectedly and it took about 4 hours and 30 minutes to get there (but we had a surprise tour of rural Costa Rica!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Holiday Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family of 10 enjoyed a marvelous New Year's week at Casa Buendia. The home was clean and spacious. The mountainside view of the ocean never got old. The pool offered hours upon hours of entertainment and relaxation. Many days, our grown kids were perfectly content to hang around the house watching toucans and searching for howler monkeys in the hills. Erick and Yelba were the quintessential hosts. They took care of all our needs, including late night luggage retrieval, laundry assistance and coconut cracking. Erick even offered a botanical tour of the property. Outings included a day trip with snorkeling/scuba diving at Cano Island, off shore fishing and several hikes into the forest (night hike). For world class wings, the Jolly Roger was an easy drive or a strenuous hike down the hill and worth more than one visit. Costa Rica and Casa Buendia allowed our family to create some mighty fine memories!
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
Phoenix
5

Remote Tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2312
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is the haven if you want to get away from the hustle and chaotic pace of the rest of the world, and if you don't want an "Americanized" resort, but yet have all the comforts of home. You will need a 4 wheel drive vehicle and patience to get to the Villa, and don't plan on having the convenience of a quick trip to the store. One time out and one time in each day is enough. Learn to enjoy the 4 KM drive up and down the undeveloped road to a rare piece of property. The privacy, comfort, and peacefulness of Casa Buendia is so relaxing. It's a great refuge to connect with family and friends outside of worldly distractions. But if you must stay connected to the your own world, the Villa has Wi-fi. One surprise, however, is that we found no DVD player to watch a few of our Christmas classic movies. The house is magnificent, the views are astounding, the sunsets are nothing short of amazing, and the memories are forever. The daytime ocean views are obvious, but not to be overlooked is the spectacular star-filled nighttime sky. The caretakers were more than caretakers. They are so friendly and genuinely good people who gladly do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. The village of Dominical - located about 25 minutes away - is a simple, laid-back, relaxing community with some great small businesses for coffee, ice cream, breakfast and a brew. Groceries? Head south to Uvita, about 25 minutes from the house. The grocery store will have most everything you need. But don't forget to buy and grill fresh-caught fish from the fishermen in Dominical. The caretakers will help you make the purchase and prepare the fish. You will have your choice of many activities to do in Costa Rica, but of all the things we did, the horseback ride to Nauyaca Falls was the best. Absolutely Marvelous!
And if you choose not to partake in the recreational activities in the area, simply chill in the hammock or the poolside chaise lounges and enjoy the toucans, geckos, and the howl of the monkeys. We planned and anticipated this vacation for nearly a year - it did not disappoint!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
Portland, OR
5

Beautiful House and Excellent Staff!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great two weeks this was for us at Casa Buendia! Monkeys right outside our door, a great pool, and Erik and Yelba took great care of us! Will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
Idaho
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was quickly one of my favorite vacations of all time. The house is beautiful and the sights are amazing! Monkeys in the morning and Toucans in the afternoon. Eric and Yelba were great. They showed us lots of great places. waterfalls etc. And they took great care of us. I cannot wait to come back! Thanks for the experience!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
Boston, MA
5

2nd Time; Still Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our second time to Casa Buendia, and it is truly is a magical house. We decided to spend half of our trip outside Montezuma, and half returning to the Dominical area. This trip confirmed that Casa Buendia is such a special place, and there is really no reason to look elsewhere. We will continue to return to this house each time we visit Costa Rica.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
Lino Lakes, MN
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Amazing home with beautiful view, from every room in the house! We enjoyed the pool, and the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. We also enjoyed hearing the howler monkies at sunrise. Perfect family adventure! The meal we had cooked on our arrival day was delicious. Enjoyed Eric taking us to waterfall early in day on last day of our stay. Eric, Yelba and Luis were all helpful and friendly.None of us wanted to leave and we will definately be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
5

The Dream House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a wonderful holiday with a family of 5 adults and 2-year-old. The house was spacious enough for all of us to have own privacy, pool was perfect also for our small child and everything was just like in the pictures - no surprices there! The garden was full of life - birds and monkeys- and much more in a short drive away.
In the house description 4-wheel-drive is recommended, but from our experience it's a must. Even during dry season it would be a real challenge to dry driving up there with normal two-wheel-drive.
Surrounding area is quiet and not suitable for party seekers. Fun & tasty Jolly Rodger's bar was a short walk/ drive away, so if you don't want to make your own dinner every evening, their chicken wings and burgers are excellent choices! We also booked Luis to cook for us for the first evening, which was a perfect start for our luxurious holiday.
Me and my family warmingly recommend this house to all! We had a wonderful holiday with great thanks to this lovely house!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
5

AWESOME RENTAL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
THIS HOUSE IS AWESOME , COMFORTABLE WITH SPACE FOR A LARGE GROUP.. YARD IS WELL LANDSCAPED WITH FLOWERS AND FILLED WITH BIRDS AND THE SOUNDS OF HOWLER MONKEYS EVERY MORNING.THE ROAD UP IS A LITTLE HAIRY THE FIRST TIME AND THEN NO PROBLEM. ONSITE CARETAKERS ARE GREAT , FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. I WOULS RECOMMEND THIS HOUSE TO ANY GROUP. A GREAT PLACE TO SPEND XMAS!!
business
Posh Rainforest Villa Overlooking Costa Rica's Pacific Coast: Casa Buendia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364555
+1 703-244-9186
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Incredible View Awesome Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed in Casa Buendia for 5 nights and it was absolutely incredibe. The house was gorgeous and the views were even better. For those who enjoy wildlife, there was a Tucan that visited us every morning and there was a yellow frog who visited us at night. I would higly recommend Casa Buendia to those who are looking for paridise in a tropical paridise.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway