My sister and I arrived at Il Pozzo in October. I must say that from everything I had heard about Sorrento, I was excited to explore the area. Sorrento is BEAUTIFUL and I would not hesitate to go back there for a second, however I would stay elsewhere.
Upon our arrival, we were met my Massimo, whom I can honestly say is one of the nicest men I met in Italy. He explained how things in the flat worked, where the closest grocery store was, and how to get around.
The flat is not how it is portrayed on VRBO. The pictures that you see are from multiple suites. The room we had, there was no terrace, and there was only one bed and a sofabed. The shower in the suite was small, and difficult to take showers in.
There was also quite a bit of noise in the morning and evening from the streets below. Being city girls though, it wasn't too bad - but we had less noise at our flat in Rome across the street from the Colosseum.
Later on the night of our arrival, my sister and I realized that we needed to cut our stay short by one night. I immediately emailed Teresa and let her know asking if there was a problem with this. She said that was fine, and I asked if I was to be charged a cancellation fee. I received no response (the whole time we were there) in regards to cancellation fees. Upon our checkout, Massimo once again arrived and explained that I was to be charged the WHOLE amount for the night. He referred to the cancellation policy which stated: "There will be no cancellation charge if a booking is cancelled before 00:00 hotel local time 15 days before your date of arrival. If the booking is cancelled later, or in the case of a no-show, the first night will be charged."
As you can see, nothing is mentioned about once you arrive. I have paid the first night... So I should be able to cancel... right? No. I let it go, as we needed to catch a ferry, but emailed Teresa upon my arrival back home. She was quite condescending, saying that since we didn't have any other complaints about the residence, she was unable to refund the whole stay. I explained that I wasn't requesting a full refund, only for the one night did I think we were unfairly charged, but she insisted and sent a voucher for one free night's stay in the next year.
The lack of communication by Teresa before we left the flat, the incorrectly worded cancellation policy, the fact that the flat was not as advertised, and the small shower really soured our stay in Sorrento, and I would NOT stay here again.
Owner's Response: Point 1: The cancellation policies are correctly indicated on VRBO. For the stay we apply always a policy of minimum stay of 3 nights. In this case, the customer has booking for 3 nights, paid at the arrival the total amount and for personal reasons was leave one day before. Point 2: As indicated on VRBO, we offer different apartments and someone with terrace, like correctly indicated on the voucher sent to the customer the apartment offered was a studio apartment, without terrace, with double bedroom and double sofa bed (not only bed and sofa bed as wrongly indicated)of 35 square meters, kitchenette and bathroom with standard shower in accordance with the Italian and European Standard references. The Owner Luigi Cozzolino
Helpful votes: 1/3
Did you find this review helpful?