Sea Ranch house rental - 'Compass Rose' the ocean side of the home.
'Compass Rose' the ocean side of the home.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Library, Sleeps 7

The ''Compass Rose'' is a truly unique ocean front home located on the northern end of the Sea Ranch, just minutes to the town of Gualala. One visitor referred to this home as ''The Crown Jewel of Sea Ranch''.

The reverse floor plan allows visitors some of the most dramatic ocean front views of the Pacific available anywhere on the Ranch. You will feel like you are on the bow of a two story cruise ship, yet within the comfort of a spacious and pleasing Obie Bowman designed home complete with barn doors, wood floors, and fully equipped gourmet kitchen, comfortable living room with gas fireplace and flat screen TV with Blu Ray DVD player and Playstation Two, and Direct TV for when the sun goes down. A private library with its own picture window on the ocean, sun room, fully dedicated office, free WIFI throughout the home, and a hot tub overlooking the ocean, no place better to watch the sunset.

To view a Video of the Compass Rose go to http://www.vimeo.com/8464347

The master suite is in its own private wing of the home, features views of the Pacific, a small fish pond, and its own private jacuzzi tub.The other two bedrooms are off the sun room and both feature queen beds.

The changing moods of the sea, which can be viewed from every room, will surprise you. The lulling of the surf's sound is the best relaxation one can get.

The parade of wild life you will witness include whales, dolphins, seals, fox, deer, pelicans, raccoons, and even an occasional bobcat.

The Sea Ranch also offers 3 separate swimming pools, a 10 mile long bluff top trail along the ocean, several beaches, tennis courts and many miles of trails both on the ocean front and in the redwoods and along the river.

Gualala has two grocery stores, a video rental store, several restaurants, and many art galleries.Our hope is that you enjoy this unique home as much as we have. Be sure to visit the bench in front of the home, many a problem has melted away at this site.

You will leave renewed and refreshed. Our home is your home, we look forward to your visit. Have a most wonderful time.

To view a Video of the Compass Rose by Jessie Tarnoff copy and paste this link to your browser http://www.vimeo.com/8464347

To view a film of The Sea Ranch by Jessie Tarnoff copy and paste this link to your browser http://www.vimeo.com/8375291

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 364513 in Sea Ranch, California

Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
average rating of 4.5 based on 20 reviews
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco, California
4

Unforgettable Visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Compass Rose will always be unforgettable for us because it was the last Sea Ranch house we stayed in with our beloved Tibetan terrier, just two months before she passed away at age 15. We had stayed in various houses over the years with her, but most of them on the streets near Compass Rose, so that area will always be special to us. Our elderly little dog loved your house--especially the nearly floor-level living room ventilation windows, just the right height for doggies to get fresh air!--and she loved being able to walk right under the kitchen counter from the living room to see what I was preparing for lunch or dinner. All the stairs were too much for her, but I will always have wonderful memories of carrying her up and down, to and from the front door, and to and from the master bedroom. Here are some suggestions for you, some things I would do to make Compass Rose more practical if I were the owner: install a door between the upstairs bathroom and the door to the little deck, to make it possible to close the master suite off from the living room area, to make it quieter and more private; consider building a glass or plexiglass wall or fence to close the central courtyard--to protect it from the ferocious winds and make it more useable for humans and pets; put in a bigger kitchen sink! We own our own Sea Ranch house now, but I will always look forward to walking past Compass Rose, the scene of some joyous and unforgettable days in our family's life.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Livermore, CA
5

JB

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wonderful home, Amazing views, Great place to relax and take long walks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

WOW! Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
WOW! The Compass Rose far exceeded our expectations. The view is breath taking. The ocean in all its awsome power pounding on the rocks along the shore. The sound of the waves like distant thunder as they crashed on the rocks. Sitting by the fireplaceand looking out the windows and watching is mesmorizing. Walking along the cliffs and feeling the spray of the ocean or watching the seals laying on the rocks asthough nothing is happening. Seeing the dear and turkeys as you go for a walk or watching the sunset from the hot tub this place has it all. The home is a great place to kick back and relax and enjoy. We found the home is spacious and clean, equiped to handle all our needs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

A Retreat from Our Crazy Lives

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We've had a wonderful stay! Five women on a retreat from our crazy lives! This has been an amazing 5 days and 4 nights. Visited up a storm as women will do. Relaxing, soul searching, even read a book. There is nothing like this! Thank-you Thank-you for sharing your home.....There are no words...The view...The energy is so peaceful...I will never forget the Compass Rose... This has moved to the top of my list of favorites, Thanks again.

PS. WE'LL BE BACK!!!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Special Occassion

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Today we leave the Compass Rose. What a beautiful stay it was! We were here a few months back, and this time we came to celebrate my birthday, and get together with my family. There were 21 of us scattered around the Sea Ranch this time! Lots of walks, games, laughs, food, and wine.
My boyfriend and I got here Wednesday night, and most of the family came in on Thursday, so we had a single night alone. That night he surprised me with a proposal!! We got engaged in your hot tub under the stars. What a magnificent trip.
We look so forward to visiting your beautiful home again.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Waves and Whales

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
WHALES and WAVES, OH MY! I have never sat on a couch or cooked in a kitchen while watching whales a few hundred yards away....I highly recommend it. I may even take up gourmet cooking now if my husband promises to bring me back here. I loved the stars at night, and wine tasting in the hot tub. I never knew you could watch waves crashing by moon light, Everyone needs to experience this, you need a full or close to full moon, outstanding I can still see and hear it in my mind. Thank you Thank you....we will be back, very soon hopefully.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Manteca, CA
5

Breathtaking View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our stay at the Compass Rose was one of the nicest vacations spots around! Not only were the accomodations very nice, the home was clean and well stocked with everything we needed, it was like a home away from home.
The exquisite view was breathtaking, as I found myself literally staring at the waves as they hit the rocks. Just Beautiful!! I cannot wait to return to the Compass Rose.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Manteca
5

Compass Rose vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The time my family and I spent at Compass Rose will be forever cherished and memorable. The views are extraordinary from almost every room. The home, itself is exceptional with every amenity that one could possibly want.
I would recommend this property for anyone who wants to get away from it all, romance, adventure (rock climbing, sports, abalone seekers).
We were all very pleased with this property and this trip was one that will always be remembered!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
woodside
3

Great Location and View.....but so needed cleaning....

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Recently stayed at the house. Great design and well maintained except it was incredibly dirty. Contract requires renter to pay $160 for cleaning services but I really don't think anything had been cleaned for quite some time. There were cobwebs everywhere. The master closet had so many cobwebs that just walking in you got covered. Don't look under the beds or furniture because there is about 1 1/2 inches of dust, dirt and pet hair, not to mention more spiders and some food. If the renter is required to clean up, empty trash, clean and put away all dishes then there is not much left for the cleaners other than sinks and toilets so what is preventing them from vacuuming under beds and furniture if you are paying them $160? Pretty disgusting. When I told the management company their reply was that they needed to tell the owners that it was time for them to pay for spring cleaning. Really pathetic answer.
Lastly, all of the small steak knives in the butcher block were cracked and broken so that when you attempted to use them they would pop out dangerously. I had three 13 year olds all with cuts on their hands. I gave them to the management company upon checkout and they acted like it was no big thing. Again, great house but unfortunately really badly managed.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our home, we appreciate your input and have contacted the management company, who has in turn spoken to their house cleaners. Any time our property does not meet or exceed your expectations please let the management company know as soon as possible, their responsiveness to any situation, including being locked out, power outages, or questions on the home or spa, or even a good place to eat has been excellent in the past. I have been assured that this issue will not happen again and welcome you to come back and visit us again. The steak knives were replaced immediately, your enjoyment of our home is very important to us. We have had such wonderful healing times here, and wish the same for our guests.
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Dramatic Ocean Front Views and Sounds Encompass This Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364513
+1 800 785-3455
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2007
Thank you for sharing your home with us. We will be back because this was the best house we have rented at Sea Ranch. The views (180 degrees) were just gorgeous! All we wanted to do was sit in front of the windows and read or watch the ocean. We saw whales out in the ocean. Thank you again and we hope this house is available to rent for many more years.
Helpful votes: 6/6