Spokane apartment rental - Truly a Home Away from Home
Truly a Home Away from Home
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Spokane Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 and 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sofa Beds/Futons, Sleeps 4-7

We have charming one and two-bedroom apartments in an historic home available for LONG and SHORT TERM rental (Artfest, Bloomsday, Hoopfest, Ironman, Pigout, Wedding guests, Ski Vacations, Holidays). Both units are connected by a common porch, which makes a 3 bedroom, 2 bath suite with 2 kitchens, living rooms, etc.

We made sure that the beds are comfortable. In our 2 bedroom there is one full bath, a sitting room, large kitchen, VIEW of downtown, a treed yard and VERANDA.

The 2 bedroom is fully furnished. It has a queen bed in one bedroom and a full bed in the other, a Futon in the charming kitchen/family room with view. Twin and Queen inflatable mattresses with bedding are available.

The 1 bedroom has a queen bed and inflatables available that can be set up in the living room. It has its own entrance and deck with a great view.

Porta-crib and high chair are available.

Super clean!

Dishes, cookware, utensils, linens, DVD player, Free High-speed secure Wireless Internet Access.

Rent includes ALL utilities and laundry facility.

FAMILY FRIENDLY (Small Pets Considered with fee.)

THE GARLAND DISTRICT: The Garland District is an historic neighborhood just three miles north of downtown Spokane.

You will be one block from the Art Deco Garland Theater and these other Garland Neighborhood businesses:

*Bon Bon Martini Bar

• Rocket Bakery- Spokane’s friendliest coffee spot with wireless internet and yummy pastries.

• Milk Bottle Café-a Spokane Landmark with the best ice cream in town.

-Ferguson’s Café where Johnny Depp danced the dinner rolls in Benny and Joon.

• The Brown Derby-The classic neighborhood bar with a great history

• The Blue Door Theater-comedy improv

• Tinman Artworks gallery and book store-You can get lost in here.

• Discovery Shop Thrift Store

• Zipperz women's and juniors' resale boutique

• Mark’s Guitar Shop

• Sew Easy Too- Independent fabric/craft store.

• Bead Addict’s Attic

• The Monroe Street District-Antique stores; Thrift shops; Art Galleries

CONCERNED ABOUT YOUR CARBON FOOTPRINT?: From this location, you won’t need a car to get around in Spokane.

Easy access to all of Spokane: near Monroe St./ Garland bus routes

Just quick walk down the hill to historic Corbin Park.

2.4 mile trek to downtown Spokane, Spokane Veterans Arena, Riverfront Park, Riverpark Square shopping and theaters, and the Spokane River/ Centennial Trail, Spokane's new Central YMCA.

3 miles to Browne's Addition and Artfest; Museum of Arts and Culture, Joe Albi Stadium. Direct and flat bike ride to Riverside State Park with its multi-level mountain bike trails and paved Centennial Trail.

3 miles to Downriver Golf Course and Disc Golf course.

1.3 Miles to Northtown Mall and Regal Cinemas.

2.5 miles to Gonzaga University; 5 miles to Whitworth University; Centrally located to all local hospitals.

About Us: I am a retired middle school Social Studies teacher, and John is a retired teacher. We moved to Spokane 23 years ago to paddle the rivers, cross-country ski, and enjoy the amenities of our beautiful city.

John and I are suckers for great old houses, and we were so lucky to find this one in our own neighborhood. It has been furnished with antiques, collectibles and is perfect for small parties. Our goal in furnishing these apartments was to make them the type of accommodation that we would love to stay in when visiting northwest cities.

Our guests tell us that the restful ambiance, the porch and yard, and the walking neighborhood make this a true home away from home.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 364417 in Spokane, Washington

Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
Oak Harbor, WA
5

Christmas in Spokane

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We spent 5 nights over Christmas at this charming Garland home. We needed a couple of extra bedrooms to make sure everyone would get a good night's sleep while visiting family in the area and this home filled the bill perfectly. The location is great - central to the north side of town with easy access to the main streets. The home is exceptionally well-stocked, too. The kitchen is cute and has pretty much everything one might need to prepare full meals.

Mary was wonderful to work with - responsive and helpful in all ways. The house was warm when we arrived and the Christmas lights on the front porch were charming. We'd recommend this home to anyone looking for an alternative to a hotel room when visiting Spokane.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
4

Home away from home.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was our second opportunity to stay at this property. In August, I rented the 1 bdrm apartment for myself when dropping our daughter off at college. This trip back was to visit her so we rented the 2 bdrm unit. It is in a fabulous location with easy access to most of city. The owners were delightful and accommodating each of our visits. The kitchen is more than adequate. ( I prepared a meal for 30 hungry college kids easily enough and just had to take it to my daughters house to serve it.) The property is located on a corner and the traffic was more noticeable in the 2 bdrm unit than the other, but was not bad enough to deter me from staying again. I imagine we will have several more visits to Spokane over the next few years and this will be our rental home of choice each time. Thank you Mary for such a homie place away from home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

Homey, comfortable, great owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The house is in a quiet neighborhood just off a large street, so it's easy to find and walking distance to restaurants, stores and a bus line. The apartment is clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It feels like a home. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, the bed is comfy. The only minor inconvenience is the wifi signal isn't strong in the living room, so I ended up usually working in the bedroom.

The main reason to love this place is Mary. She's easy to work with and very responsive by email and text. I had car trouble while staying here and her husband spent a morning helping me try to fix the issue and then found a garage to tow and repair it. They both went above and beyond to help me and were exceedingly generous and gracious. This is my home away from home whenever I need to be in Spokane.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

Great Place for family with Kids!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I (5 total, 3 kids, aged 7, 5 and 1) stayed here for 3 nights while visting my wife's brother. Great place. Clean, great kitchen, neat sitting area, had a box of toys for the kids, great outdoor sitting area. If you are travelling and have kids, this is much better than any hotel. Plenty of room. Only downside is the house is on a corner of a major road, and you can hear the cars going by. Not a big deal though. Totally recommend and will stay here again if we visit in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

Charming, roomy and squeaky clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house was perfect for our Thanksgiving stay in Spokane. We rented the two-bedroom portion of this delightful older home and were treated to comfy beds, eclectic decor, a sweet kitchen and every detail accounted for by Mary prior to our arrival. We highly recommend this spot for anyone looking for a cute, clean, roomy, well-located spot to stay in Spokane!
Owner's Response: We look forward to hosting you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while vacationing in Spokane. Super-clean, very comfortable and perfectly located, just minutes away from downtown and a couple blocks away from the Garland business district. It is obvious from the minute you step through the front door that Mary has thought of everything to make this home away from home a delightful experience. We will never stay in a Spokane hotel again. :)

Thanks Mary (and John)
Owner's Response: Your lovely family is always welcome!
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

Truly a home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a great place to stay. It was clean, comfortable and quiet and best of all it was way better than a hotel room. It is a very easy commute to great places for dining and shopping. I would recommend this rental to anyone staying in the Spokane area. If me and my family are in the area again we would not hesitate to stay here. Thanks for providing such a great place for people to stay while on vacation.
Owner's Response: What a lovely family you have. I look forward to hosting you again.
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

PERFECT FOR OUR WEDDING PARTY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This home was absolutely perfect for my friends and wedding party to stay at while in Spokane for my destination wedding. All of my guests who stayed there loved it! The porch was nice and relaxing for them and all the awesome shops and restaurants in walking distance was fantastic. We would definitely recommend this house to anyone vacationing in Spokane!
Thank you Mary!!!
Owner's Response: I am so glad we could accommodate you and your friends for this special event. I hope to see you the next time you visit from Alaska!
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
Duvall, Washington
5

Great Spokane Getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay at the Garland Guesthouse was an incredibly enjoyable experience. We were in town for a baseball tournament and wanted more space than a hotel room with a 17 year old boy. This lil bungalow fit perfectly. 2 bedrooms, a family room with tv and a seperate kitchen eating area was plenty of space for the whole family. Siting on the veranda every night enjoying beverages in the warm weather was a highlight and that alone was worth the drive from the west side of the mountains! Our host Mary was incredibly helpful in suggesting places to eat and to go, it was a perfect! We will be back!!
Stacie Ballweg
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you back, Stacie.
business
Spokane's Historic Garland District - Charmer- A True Home Away from Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364417
+1 5099537347
Spokane Northeast Washington
5

Best Place in Spokane

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We can not say enough about the home. We had 9 of us and it was just super!! Ample room, great kitchens and 2 1/2 bathrooms were a true home away from home. The whole place was clean inside and out. The yard and front porch made a great getaway from our hectic schedule. We have been sharing this terrific experience with everyone at the convention we attended and I must admit they were a bit envious of the wonderful setup. The house was close enough for the convention center to make a short commute depending on convention center parking. Mary met us personally and was just super to work with. The only two difficulties we found were not having big enough garbage bags but then 9 people can generate alot of garbage. Also we were competing with Hoopfest and the last 2 days and night we could not park out front but thankfully the garage pad in back was available for us. We were very pleased and it made our vacation a possibility in grand style. On the way home we extended our stay and stayed in a motel; which everyone felt was such a let down after our time at 'our house' in Spokane. Thank you again for this great service!!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the heads up about the larger garbage bags. I will make sure there are some big ones!