Reykjavik apartment rental - The building
The building
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights
 

Reykjavik Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Luxury At A Low Price - Spectacular View - Mobile Phone And Mobile Wifi Provided

The apartment is on the top two floors in a new building on laugavegur, the main shopping street. The apartment is 75 m2 or 800 sq ft in size. Downstairs is a bathroom with a bathtub and shower, kitchen, a living-room with a 3-seat sofa, large tv and and a large window facing south towards hallgrimskirkja. The bedroom is upstairs along with a balcony providing excellent view to the south over the city centre (see photo on top of the page).

The apartment sleeps 2-4 people. It is fully furnished with all utilities, such as refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, dish-washer, tableware for 6 persons, bathtub/shower, washing machine/dryer, 37' flat-screen tv, dvd player, apple tv, mobile phone with a local number, mobile wifi hotspot, high-speed wireless internet connection, baby cot and a bo-concept double bed with a visco-elastic foam mattress (similar to tempur-pedic). There is an elevator up to the 4th floor and then a staircase inside the apartment between the two floors. A parking space in a closed garage within the building can be provided at only eur 15 / usd 20 per day.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Jon and i have been living in Reykjavik for over 20 years. Before that i lived in my old hometown of Akranes. I studied Computer Sciences at the University of Iceland and later did an MBA program at Reykjavik University. I currently work for CCP, a large online gaming company in Reykjavik, Iceland. I have rented this property to travellers since 2008 with great success. I live in the same building which allows me to respond quickly to any request my guests may have.

Jon Thorvaldsson purchased this apartment in 2007

This is a unique property and one of the few modern buildings in the central part of town. The location is ideal with all sights and attractions in the centre within walking distance and yet the area is relatively quiet.

Some of the unique benefits of this property include the spectacular view from the top floor in all directions. My guests are provided with a mobile phone with a local number as well as mobile wifi hotspot which allows you to share your digital memories instantly, wherever you are. The apartment is also equipped with an Apple TV, iPhone docking station, exceptionally large bath-tub and other amenities, all aimed at making your stay as convenient as possible.

7 Reviews of Property 3643404 in Reykjavik, Iceland

Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
5

An amazing place in an amazing location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
An amazing place in a perfect location! Right downtown great places to eat, shop, and find trips right across the street! Thank you Jon we will be giving you a ring the next time we are in town!
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
5

"Can not fault anything about our stay."

"Can not fault anything about our stay."
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The apartment is in prime location in Reykjavik on Laugavegur street. This street is teaming with shops, restaurants, bars and also right opposite a tourist information center. Everything you need is in walking distance and there is even a supermarket next door if you cook yourselves. The website explains that this is a "Luxury accommodation at a low-price!" and that is exactly what you get. The apartment is kitted out with an extremely comfortable living room with apple TV, a neat kitchen, a balcony with a view of the mountains and the sea and at the top of the spiral staircase is a luxury bedroom with a memory foam mattress and another balcony with views over the town. The price is very reasonable and hard to beat. I would recommend booking this place in advance to make sure you do not miss out on staying in such a fantastic apartment in prime location at a reasonable price. Additionally and most importantly Jon is an extremely helpful individual. He made sure he was at hand to help prior to our trip during our stay and after we had left. He recommended some fantastic restaurants which specialize in traditional Icelandic dishes and advised us to visit the main attractions such as the waterfalls, Geysers, local swimming baths and the hot springs. He also provided us with a mobile phone with a local sim card which came in handy and he was always at hand to help and give advice if we needed. I really can not fault anything about our stay.
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Attractive, clean, well appointed perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A great apartment in a perfect location, we stayed for 3 nights. We could walk everywhere from the apartment, and easily pop back during the day when we wanted to. Near many sights of interests, coffee shops, stores, including a grocery store. Also 1 ½ blocks from a hotel where you can be picked up for sight seeing tours. There is an elevator up to the apartment, so you don’t have to haul your luggage up 4 floors. There is a flight of stairs between the main floor and the bedroom.
If we come back to Reykjavik we’ll return to this apartment – everything is as advertised and the only surprises are positive ones. The apartment is clean (and I’m picky about this), and well appointed, it had everything we needed. It has a BIG bathtub and a comfortable bed. The apartment is a good size, with a nice kitchen. The main floor has big windows that open up and feel a bit like a balcony. The bedroom level has a balcony. We enjoyed breakfast looking over Laugavegur.
Jon is professional, organized and helpful. He made good restaurant recommendations for our specialty diet. He provided a mobile phone and mobile hot spot to use around town. He has a shelf of travel pamphlets including a number of travel guides.
What a great stay. Thanks Jon.
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
Winsted, CT
5

Above it All!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I am feeling very greedy. I am afraid if I tell you how absolutely blissful my stay was at this property that my chances of renting it over and over again will be lessened! From the moment I booked the property I was in love. I had been eyeballing it for awhile and was just waiting for the perfect opportunity to stay here. I am a frequent traveler to Iceland and like to stay in different places but now I have found my permanent home. The owner is so attentive and accommodating. The apartment is perfectly located and loaded with every amenity you could possibly hope for. A lovely kitchen..Amazing bathroom (you could do laps in the tub)..Jon even provides you with a cell phone. The views are glorious. For a nominal fee a garage is even provided for you. Incredible attention to detail! I could just wax on and on..but honestly...why would you stay in a hotel when you could live like a local in this utterly beautiful apartment in the most charming capital in the world?
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
5

Impressive apartment in ideal location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This apartment was in a wonderful location in the heart of the area we were most interested in exploring. The apartment was spacious, well equipped, clean and well organised. We were provided with a local area map guide, access to local phone, and used the great kitchen for some home-cooked meals during our stay.
Highly recommend the apartment and its operated very well with friendly service and spot on location, and view.
Supermarket, bakery, cafe and shopping on your doorstep.
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
South Yarra, Australia
5

Stunning views and a gorgeous penthouse apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very comfortable and beautifully equipped apartment, perfectly positioned to explore this lovely city. Close to everything including the Sondholt Bakery, supermarket and lots of great shops. Cannot recommend too highly. Jon and Unnur very welcoming and helpful landlords.
business
Fabulous Penthouse Apartment in the heart of Reykjavik
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3643404
+354 7700077
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Perfect flat for a Reykjavik holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here (4 adults) for 4 nights in august over the Cultural Night / Marathon weekend and do not have 1 bad thing to say about this flat. From the pre-booking communication from Jon to the last minute changes we requested, he looked after us all with the utmost professionalism and hospitality.

The 4 of us were very comfortable in this apartment for the 4 nights and there were ample supplies in the kitchen and bathroom for us to use. The TV/Apple TV, stereo,wifi and cable were a very nice touch and we even got more channels than at home. The bed was very very comfortable and clean too.

The views are out of this world and the location is perfectly in the centre of Reykjavik for exploring but also getting out of the city quickly to explore the Circle Route and surrounding countryside.

Jon went above and beyond with this accommodation providing alternative parking, washing facilities and even a local phone to use if needed. If anyone has a bad thing to say about this flat I can't imagine what it would be. The shower and bathroom were impeccably clean and the strong Icelandic shower was just what we needed after running the half marathon!