Beverly Shores house rental - 1930 vintage house in the middle of the woods
1930 vintage house in the middle of the woods
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Beverly Shores House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 5 comfortably

Spend some quality time at Atwater Beach Cottage this fall or winter. Our house is centered in the

Indiana Dunes Nat'l Lakeshore. Get away from it all in style and comfort. Just short 3 block walk to the lake. Many great trails in the colorful fall wooded dunes. Cozy up to a beach bonfire this fall. Cross country ski in winter.

One bedroom has queen bed, the 2nd bedroom has a twin & a full size bed. Perfect for a family.

Beverly Shores train station is 15 min walk from the cottage, just 1 hr drive from Chicago or 1.5hr train ride.

Full kitchen: range, fridge, microwave, blender, coffee maker, waffle iron. Yes wifi internet and dvd player/local tv too. Gas grill on back porch.

3 Adult bikes, tot bike trailer, a trail bike (ages 4-7) , and 3 kid bikes and a big wheel.

Beach toys, umbrellas & beach chairs

Washer/dryer. Extra queen mattress for extra guests

By Mich City Zoo, outlet mall, Bartletts Gourmet Grill, Chesterton,

Park and tennis court, fishing or ice skating pond.

History of the area: In May 1927, Chicago real estate developer Frederick H. Bartlett purchased 3,000 acres of lake front lands from the estates of local owners. The development, which included five miles of shoreline on Lake Michigan, stretched from Michigan City to Dunes State Park. Bartlett's concept was to create an urban resort community. In 1933 Frederick H. Bartlett sold all of his northwest Indiana properties to his younger brother, Robert Bartlett. Robert touted the community and its attractions with the promotional flair of a born salesman. He constructed a school, a hotel with botanic gardens, a golf course, a beach front casino, a riding academy and a theater. In 1935, Robert Bartlett purchased 1933-34 “A Century of Progress”, Chicago World’s Fair and barged 4 homes to the beach front community. These 4 homes are still standing and they are in various states of renovation at this time. Our house was built in 1933 with a combined style we have named, 'Mediterranean Tudor'.

Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore: We love this area because it is surrounded by a national park. There are many great trails to bike and hike on. Along the Lake Front Drive, and then meander through the swamp trails searching for birds, foxes and snakes on Beverly Drive. On the other side of Kemil Beach Rd is the Indiana State Park with more miles of trails, and quiet beach.

The Beach: The beach is sandy, stretching for about 10 miles from Indiana Dunes State park to Mt Baldy in Michigan City. One of my favorite things to do is bike along the lakefront in Bevelry Shores for about 3 miles without houses to block the view. I love swimming on a hot night while watching the sun set over Chicago.

More Details
Hide Details

We instantly fell in love with this 1930s Mediterranean -revival Tudor like house. After a few years of renovations and projects, we are pleased with our hardwork. We love the area, with th natural swamps and the long beaches.

The house is colorful, and lots of windows. You can see deer sitting in front yard sometimes, you can swing on the hammock under the stars, you see the birds clamoring for bird feeder. On summer nights, we love to have a bonfire on the each or in the backyard. In winter, we like to climb the icebergs, or go cross country skiing.

12 Reviews of Property 364089 in Beverly Shores, Indiana

Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
4

Long term rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It's a very charming home, very close to the Dunes National Park trails and the main beach in Beverly Shores. We actually live in Beverly Shores, and needed a home while extensive work was done to our house. This was home away from home for almost 3 months! We have 2 dogs and a toddler, and it was immediately cozy and comfortable. John and Tricia were very responsive to the (very few) issues that came up, and it was a great opportunity to stay in a Bartlett home (one of the original homes in the area). They had lots of great toys for my little one, and the nearby trails were heaven for the dogs. It's also walking distance to Lithuanica Park, where my child loves to play. I can imagine in summer it would be grand to be so close to the beach! Thanks to the owners for really making our time there so pleasant.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is a wonderful home with lots of character. We truly enjoyed our stay here. It is a beautiful home and a beautiful area. Tricia was great to work with and answered all our questions. She even sent us a list of things to do around the area. We really enjoyed the beautiful fall scenery. The home has everything a person could want to make their stay a great one. We loved the sunroom to set and read in.
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Fall is very peaceful in the area and quite pretty, if I may say so myself! thanks
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
5

Good Karma in the Storybook House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our adventurous week in Atwater was a celebration of our childhood, 50+ years ago for my brother, sister and I. The house was the perfect storybook haven for us to temporarily pretend ownership and enjoy the unique features of an old house with personality. I particularly loved the creaking of the floors, reminding me of my grandmother's house.

We took advantage of the fully equipped kitchen and BBQ to enjoy family meals at the table and the homey alcove off the living room with its comfy sofa. Downstairs, we played ping pong just like teenagers. We only imagined what the attic was like.
Bike tires were pumped up and we tooled around the lakeshore together, exploring rocks and driftwood collections. On the walks down to the beach, we absorbed the Indiana dune grasses, landscapes and ambiance. It was a treat to open up the doors and windows and take in the vibe.

Everything was as promised. My dealings with Tricia were straightforward, honest and prompt. If you are looking for a quiet place to transcend to, this is the one. This house will take you in like an old friend.
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit with your family. I also love the sunroom to take in all the trees. I am glad you got to use the bikes! I think it is a fabulous way to see the area. There are about 3 miles along Lake Front Drive where you can bike without houses blocking your view of Lake Michigan.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
5

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family of 6 had a wonderful time. It was a quiet neighborhood with just a minute walk to the beach. The bikes and trailor in the garage got us easily to a beach of our own and the house was packed with fun things for the kids to do before and after the beach. We watched the sun set right over Chicago each night and enjoyed an "adventure" to the huge park just a few blocks away. We will definitely try to made this an annual event for our family - it was the perfect getaway!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit to our house. I agree, the bikes, with trail bike and bike trailer are perfect for loading up your chairs, umbrellas, towels, and small cooler and carting your family further down the beach to a quiet spot you can call yours for the afternoon. That is one of my favorite activities with our children as well!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
Chicago, IN USA
5

Lovely Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was a lovely place to stay. We have stayed in other places in the area, and found this house is our new favorite. The layout is smart for both function and comfort. And there is plenty to keep one occupied indoors or out -- with games, toys, bicycles, beach nearby, backyard fire pit, etc.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
5

An easy escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This cottage was the perfect place to bring the family for a easy escape.

The house was adorable and had a real cozy vibe. The decor had an artistic touch with lots of collected art adorning the walls and cool furniture throughout. The kitchen looked like it had been recently rehabbed and had just enough supplies to be comfortable without clutter. My kids also loved the board games and the art supplies in the sunroom. Overall the house was clean and well-maintained but still had a lot of soul.

During the day the kids were busy catching dragonflies and exploring. In the evening we sat around the firepit in the backyard and made smores. It was real simple stuff that you never take time to do, ya know?

I had never been to Beverly Shores before and didn't realize what a cool place it is. We took the bikes out for hours of exploring and never saw more than a handful of cars all weekend. We were able to bike down through the marsh to go bird watching and saw lots of deer, raccoons, ducks and even a turkey.

We also found a working farm (Gladstone's?) where we could pick apples, peppers, tomatoes, and pumpkins. There were horses and tractors and all the stuff my city kids are fascinated with. I was happy they could see where real food comes from! It was about a 30 minute drive but well worth it.

We went on a windy weekend so the beach was not usable for us but I can't wait to plan another trip when it is warmer. With the beach only two blocks away I think that could be an entirely different vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
4

Nice stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
+
A beautiful house!
A nice place to stay and relax!
Very quiet!
The furniture is set up practical!
The equipment for the beach was perfect!

Everything great, except:
-
Apartment was not very clean! So I would have cleaned itself!
Cleaning fee is too expensive!
Bicycles was partially defective!
The establishment and garden of a bit neglected!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are certain to do a thorough cleaning before each stay. We'll try to make certain to address these issues. On the listing, it says 3 adult bikes, sorry you used the 4th one that is scheduled for recycling. Each year we are making improvements to the house, although we tend to prefer a smaller section of the yard remains natural, as we are surrounded with the National Park.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
5

Highly Recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Perfect location, owner is very friendly and provided maps/suggestions for dining and other activities. The house is fully furnished including bicycles...there are multiple grocery stores within 10 miles and the beach is RIGHT THERE. A train ride to Chicago is a must. My wife and I went on our honeymoon and had a great time. Just a note: the water is COLD in June.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time. Yes, unfortunately, May of 2011 brought cooler temperatures than normal, but usually we can swim comfortably by mid June. This summer in 2012, it was cool, but swimmable by Memorial Day/ early June.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
West Lafayette, Indiana
5

Great cottage!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The cottage’s location is perfect! We have three young children and we walked to the beach every day while we’re there. The house is well equipped for indoor and outdoor fun. Not to mention that it is beautifully decorated, clean and well taken care of! We cooked, grilled outside, rode bicycles and played games, Tricia even made sure that our kids will have toys to play with and crafts to do. The area is super fun. The beach is close, clean and not crowded. Beverly Shores is very quiet and peaceful little town. It is perfect for a relaxing vacation. We loved our escape there!!
Thank you!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming vintage house in the woods, 3 blocks to Lake Michigan beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364089
+1 7738483265
Beverly Shores Indiana
5

Adorable cottage with lots of extras

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We felt so lucky to have stumbled across this beautiful cottage for our family's beach holiday. It is nestled in the woods a mere 2 blocks from the beach. One morning we watched a doe and two fawns from the Sun Room. We also enjoyed all the extras that made us feel at home: bikes, toys, books, dvds, and a beautiful art collection. Our 2 small children were not difficult to entertain, both in the house on our 1 rainy day, or out of the house... the beach, a park with a pond, a train ride to Michigan City, Mt. Baldy, biking, and Prime outlets 10 minutes away (for those flip-flops Mami forgot to pack). The owners were easy to communicate with and provided a crib for our daughter that allowed us to leave ours at home. The only thing that was only slightly less than perfect was the house having no a/c units in the bedrooms. There were big fans provided and with windows open, it worked out well for us. We honestly wished we had had more time to spend in this lovely home. It felt like a real holiday.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a nice time. We have added another a/c unit to the bedrooms and are adding ceiling fans this week!
Helpful votes: 1/1