Kailua Kona house rental - Comfy king bed with pillow-top mattress
Comfy king bed with pillow-top mattress
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
Spacious bedroom-living room, large bath, well-appointed kitchen, sleeps 2

OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise

$125/night or $850/wk. + FREE Kona Coffee!

Come home to this spacious and comfortable ohana (in-law unit) with garden views and its own entrance. A NON-smoking property. Lounge in the large bedroom-sitting room, fully furnished with pillow-top king bed, glass-top table and chairs, recliner, TV with expanded cable, and free wireless internet access. Large bathroom has slate shower, shelving, and lots of fluffy towels. Full kitchen is well-equipped with everything you need to create fabulous meals when you don't feel like dining out, and its conveniently stocked with basic foods, spices, & condiments.

Awake to the sounds of tropical birds. Sip Kona coffee in comfy chairs at your glass-topped table on the patio outside, surrounded by palms. Pick tropical fruits from the garden in season.

A comfortable elevation at 900', great for relaxing after trips to the beach or town. A short trip to everything, yet a world apart in a quiet neighborhood setting. Off-street parking, washer dryer available for your use.

Affordable, with Breakfast in Your Time Zone: Our ohana is a fantastic value. Why settle for a cramped hotel room or studio or a 'Continental breakfast' when you can enjoy a great, affordable ohana (in-law unit) with tropical fruit and Kona coffee. Since you may be coming from the Mainland, and might be hungry long before we awake, we fill your ohana with plenty of goodies, available when you're ready to eat, like papaya, banana, star fruit, cereal, oatmeal, and soy milk. You are welcome to pick fruits from our trees in season, including lemons, oranges, papaya, mango, and star fruit. Use the washer/dryer.

We fell in love with Hawaii because of the Aloha spirit. We want others to enjoy the spirit of Aloha, too. Many of our guests have toured the island and returned to us before leaving Kona. All have raved about our comfortable, clean, affordable ohana, our home and hospitality. They say this was their favorite place to stay in Hawaii, and a better value than other places they stayed. They vow to return and to send friends.

All the Comforts of Home - Well-equiped Ohana: You'll find everything you need in our well-equipped kitchen to prepare fabulous meals when you don't feel like going out or want to save money for adventures. Our full kitchen includes full sized refrigerator-freezer, 4 burner gas stove and oven, and all major appliances: Grind and brew fresh coffee to sip on the patio or lanai. Use our great collection of pots and pan, salad spinner, rice cooker, and cooking utensils to cook at home, including toaster oven, toaster, microwave, blender, rice cooker, coffee mill and pot, extensive glassware, wine glasses, pitchers, and utensils.

Prepare snacks and meals for day trips and take along goodies in baggies and totes. Use cold packs in the cooler. No need to buy all of the things you need only a little bit of. We stock the fridge with condiments, salad dressings, soy sauce, jams and syrup, peanut butter, mayo, soy sauce, oils and vinegars. We stock cupboards with coffee, teas, sweeteners, spices, herbs, rice, pastas, cereal and soy milk.

Going to the beach? Boogie boards, fins, chairs, umbrellas, cooler, beach towels are all available.

Nowhere Else on Earth - Hawaii's Unique Offerings: The Big Island, the most exciting island in Hawaii, has 11 of the world's 13 ecosystems, from snow-capped mountains in winter, towering 14,000' above the ocean, to tropical rain forests. All this on an island almost 200 miles around. Kilauea Volcano adds land to the island daily, as lava flows into the ocean. See Thurston Lava Tubes in Volcano National Park, a short walk through a primordial forest of towering ferns. Star-gaze at Mauna Kea Observatory. Visit ancient heiau (temple) where King Kamehameha united the Hawaiian islands. Watch migrating whales and spinner dolphins at Kua Bay. Paddle out to Captain Cook's monument in Kealakekua Bay where the first known Europeans met Hawaiians. Meet Hawaiians, a truly diverse culture. Hula. Go to a real luau. Enjoy the sport of Alii (royalty), surf the waves. Swim with gazillions of colorful fish and sea turtles at Kealakekua Bay. Lie on a black sand at Punalu'u. Go coffee tasting at Kona farms. Discover your own secret treasures. Live aloha.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 364072 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Wonderful Stay !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first visit to Hawaii and our hostess and host made it very memorable! We absolutely enjoyed our stay and their hospitality, friendliness, and recommendations for places to visit during our week there. Caryl and John were easy to communicate with and very approachable; we felt truly welcomed. Whenever we travel back to Kona we will stay with them. Being 1000 feet above sea level made it 10 degrees cooler, we watched the birds, and listened to them singing in the morning. Many thanks!
Wayne & Carol - Portland, OR
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
5

Best ohana in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had been staying in Mountain View in a yurt. It was cold at 3000 ft with lots of vog. Caryl and John had a cancellation and we left for sunny, warm Kona. They were wonderful hosts. Provided us with fresh local fruits, coffee, kitchen supplies and condiments. They were so warm and welcoming. We were away from the tourist crowds downtown but only minutes from anything we needed or wanted. Very short drive to the best beaches on the island. We were supplied with snorkel gear, boogie boards, towels, coolers, beach chairs and umbrellas. They gave us tips and directions to out of the way beaches and great restaurants. The ohana is beautiful...king sized bed, beautifully appointed and supplied bath. We sat on our private lanai each morning with kona coffee and listened to tropical sounds in a quiet residential neighborhood. They even invited us to their deck to watch the sunset.

Definitely check out A Bay at Waikoloa and Beach 69. Thank you Caryl and John!!! We we definitely return.

Tom and Rose
Owner's Response: Tom and Rose,
Thank you for your warm words. You were among our favorite guests to date.
Thanks also for the lovely bottle of local wine. We will toast you on Valentine's Day.
Mahalo nui loa,
Caryl
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Wonderful Stay in Kailua Kona

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
From the minute we arrived, Caryl was extremely welcoming, generous, and full of information. We had absolutely everything we needed. Because of the full kitchen, we were able to cook dinner a few nights with all of the pots/pans provided to help save a little money. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and we were able to sleep with the doors and windows open every night. There are plenty of stores and restaurants within driving distance (we had to stop at Target a couple of times for some necessities). Caryl had home-grown papaya waiting for us in the fridge. I would absolutely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Lovely vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The apartment rental was clean and provided all the services and amenities described in the listing and more. The owners are very informed about the island and gave us great tips of things to see and do. It was a bit far from the beaches, so be sure to rent a car, but the place made up for that by being far enough up the slope to be at an elevation where sleeping was very comfortable. We had a perfect vacation in large part due to the comfort and convenience of this rental.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Lovely vacation spot1

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The apartment rental was clean and provided all the services and amenities described in the listing and more. The owners are very informed about the island and gave us great tips of things to see and do. It was a bit far from the beaches, so be sure to rent a car, but the place made up for that by being far enough up the slope to be at an elevation where sleeping was very comfortable. We had a perfect vacation in large part due to the comfort and convenience of this rental.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Good

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We stayed three nights and checked in to a clean and sufficiently equipped apartment. The shower head was terribly blocked with limescale but after a short talk to John (the owner of the house) he replaced it right away. The kitchen is simple but well equipped. There were many left-over sauces and spices from people who previously rented the place. Though I believe that John and his wife would like to give others the chance to use all the spices etc. it makes the fridge look very messy and the first impression could be affected (my advice - keep salt and pepper and toss the rest). And please clean the mini oven. The kitchen equipment, stove, oven, fridge is good and worked well - we cooked great food (Ahi, Mahi Mahi etc. there and enjoyed it very much). A sliding door between kitchen and living/bedroom would not only block the kitchen smell but also avoid the sometimes noisy fridge from disturbing sleep (honestly I was not bothered at all by it but my fiancé woke up when the fridge started to cool).

The bed is very big and comfy. Unfortunately the left side of the bed (facing the bed) is sunken (maybe someone very heavy slept there before) - I could still sleep well though the other side (where my fiancé used to sleep) is more comfy.

The bathroom was very clean and apart from the small issue with the shower head perfectly equipped. Many towels (also beach towels) there. Outside the backdoor in the bathroom there's a washing machine and a tumble dryer - we used it twice and it worked well. John provides detergents etc.

The outside area is nice. There's a terrace with a table and chairs where one can spend lots of time. The entrance area to the Ohana seems a bit crowded. Lot's of storage boxes (my advice - hang towels or cloths to cover them). By the way - it did not really disturb us or our stay in your house!

It's an extremely quiet neighborhood and we enjoyed that a lot! Still it's close to Kailua-Kona and all the restaurants, beaches etc.

Summary:
If you are looking for a reasonably priced stay not too far from Kona then this place is a good deal. Good kitchen facilities and a clean, big living/bedroom with ceiling fan and terrace make the stay enjoyable. John is a very nice host and will definitely help you out whenever you need his assistance.

Unfortunately we could not get to know John's wife in person - according to all the email conversation she is an extremely polite person and for sure a great host!

Mahalo
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
olive branch, ms usa
4

spacious relaxing residential accomodations

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This property is in a residential neighborhood and was as relaxing as it gets for our taste. We had plenty of room for our stuff and to lounge around. We were away from the hubbub of the tourist section, but we were not far away if we wanted to go there. They kept the kitchen stocked with most basics, and even offered to pick up specific items before we arrived so they would be waiting for us. The owners were very helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive. It is not luxury accomodations but for us, you cannot beat the value and what you get for the price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
olive branch, ms usa
4

the property description says it all

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This property is in a residential neighborhood and was as relaxing as it gets for our taste. We had plenty of room for our stuff and to lounge around. We were away from the hubbub of the tourist section, but we were not far away if we wanted to go there. They kept the kitchen stocked with most basics, and even offered to pick up specific items before we arrived so they would be waiting for us. The owners were very helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive. It is not luxury accomodations but for us, you cannot beat the value and what you get for the price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
bay area
5

An Island Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Overflowing with aloha spirit, I felt so welcomed in this little ohana on the hill. Close to the airport, downtown, beaches but far from crowds of downtown. I had such a wonderful stay, the ohana had everything I needed, breeze, privacy, lanai, beautiful garden, washer/ dryer, full kitchen, sunscree, shampoo, towels, snorkel...a great guidebook...really all i need was my swimsuit! My hosts were so kind aand gracious, the bed so big n fluffy, I ended up staying an extra day..wished I could have stayed longer. I honestly wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. It felt like home. =-) love love loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
OPEN April 10 on at Spacious Retreat in Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364072
+1 8089388165
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
bay area
5

Bountiful garden,plush bed and aloha spirit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Having had a not so aloha previous trip to the big island, I was a bit apprehensive about this trip. Little did I know what an amazing time awaited me! John could not have been a more gracious host, both he and Caryl were so kind and helpful. In fact, I was able to come to the ohana directly after my flight at 9am, to be greeted with fresh picked papaya and bananas! I loved having my own kitchen to cook up the garden tomatoes and kale! The hillside location was perfect as the lanai offered a wonderful breeze and privacy. There was a shelf of great books and a wonderful Hawaii book that gave so many awesome tips. I actually ended up staying an extra day, and wish i could have stayed plenty more. I will definately be back, with my mom in tow, and would consider staying anywhere else. It kind of felt like I was "under the tuscan sun!" =-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3