La Fortuna chalet rental - Spectacular Poolside Views
Spectacular Poolside Views
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

La Fortuna Chalet Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 4 comfortably, optional blowup bed for children

Our 'Castle in The Clouds' is just seven km from Volcano Arenal, perched 700m above sea-level overlooking the volcano, rainforest, pastures and Lake Arenal. Wake to the sound of howler monkeys, toucans and parrots and enjoy your first cup of locally-grown coffee on our enormous 25 sq. m. covered deck. At night, watch the lava flows or count the stars overhead. Our home features a splash pool to cool off after a busy day of eco-adventuring. You can walk to many attractions in the village, including several quaint local restaurants. The home features casual dining indoor or out, hot water throughout, and stunning views from every room. It is completely equipped with a full-sized fridge with ice-maker, gas stove, microwave and blender and includes twice-weekly cleaning service (more often optional on request). An optional personal laundry service is also available. Active or passive, this is the perfect home base for your Arenal vacation!

In the last few months, we've been busy landscaping our property. Although our small stretch of the road is usually in good shape it is steep and the road coming into El Castillo is very rough. We highly recommend a 4x4 vehicle for all your excursions in Costa Rica. We now feature a paved driveway, a separate covered Gazebo (perfect for al fresco dining) and the yard has been completely enclosed with a custom-made 5' stone and wrought-iron fence. You'll enjoy our garden paradise yard featuring a variety of local and tropical plants designed to maximize your Costa Rica experience.

Now-Book Local Tours and Attractions: John Divita (the famous Pizza John), our on-site host can now book many local tours and attractions for you on your arrival, saving you the hassle of running around. From zipline tours, hot springs spas and volcano hikes to a horseback ride to a real eco-farm, you can be as busy or as relaxed as you like, but you'll never run out of things to do in the area. Just ask John when you arrive and he'll be happy to make recommendations and reservations for you.

July 2011: If you catch the new reality show 'Love in the Wild' airing on CTV in Canada or NBC in the US, you'll experience life in El Castillo. They were filming the series when we visited in March and almost all of the scenes were shot in and around our little neighbourhood.

Read about 'Love in the Wild' here http://www.ticotimes.net/Current-Edition/News-Briefs/Love-in-the-Wild-host-Darren-McMullen-tells-all_Wednesday-August-03-2011.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 363932 in La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
average rating of 4.8 based on 31 reviews
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
5

Wonderful Oasis!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wonderful!

We stayed at El Castillo in March 2013 & loved every bit of it!

The property has everything you need. All updated & not just nice, but very nice with so many little touches that put it over the top. The views are amazing! The wildlife in the trees is just what you want when you go to a tropical paradise.

It is a bit off the beaten path, which was perfect for us. Yes the roads are a bit rough, but if you’re driving through the Arenal area you should already be prepared for that.

We met Pizza John at his restaurant which was a nice respite after a long drive. He led us to the property & we enjoyed his company so much that we asked him to stay for a drink. The owners knew we were coming from our Costa Rican wedding & had a bottle of champagne waiting for us – another very nice touch. We took advantage of the local convenience store & restaurant & had everything we needed. We had no problems getting to & from the property, just be aware that you need a bit more time, but it’s worth it to have your own oasis. Pizza John arranged a horseback ride with the local guy (meaning the guy down the street, a true local) who met us at the house in the morning with horses.

Our only regret is that we didn’t have more time here. We would absolutely recommend this property!
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
4

Great house with amazing views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Overall, a very good experience.

The owner was always friendly and has been very flexible with our requests.

The house was great, very clean and well maintained, with two beautiful rooms and bathrooms. The kitchen was nicely equiped. The swimming pool is not big but you really have a stunning view from it, as well as from the entire house.

But this wonderful view and environment can also be a drawback for some people and this is the only reason why we are rating this house 4/5 instead of 5/5.

The house is located far away from the first city (la fortuna). We were in the house with our parents, and this was kind of an issue. Local shops and restaurants are ok for one or two days but not for a week, and not (always) for persons coming from a main european city. Besides the distance and duration (40min), the road is difficult in the last 20min and can even be very uncomfortable during the last 5min (a 4x4 is a must have !).

However, we enjoyed our stay tremendously and would recommend this house.
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
5

Trip of a life time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
There isn't enough space in this review to share with everyone the experiences we shared while staying at this amazing location!
First, Joe is the best owner we have rented from. He is very timely in his responses and does a fantastic job getting you to his location and providing you a ton to do if you opt to venture out.
The home is stunning. The drive to alone is an adventure! The views are simply breathtaking. The home is equipped with EVERYTHING you will need to make your stay comfortable.
The village is so welcoming! We were invited to both a Xmas Eve and Xmas day dinner by locals we met as we ventured out! Our caretakers were incredibility helpful. Make sure you have a lunch with them, their food is incredible! The quality of their companionship will go unmatched.
If you desire to get away from the masses and to avoid tourist traps, this is the place to come. There certainly plenty of those placed to visit however, if you are into sustainable living, local feel, and adventure, this is the place to come.
I would highly suggest taking the hike up the volcano, go horse bike riding, sit in the hot springs, and most importantly RELAX at their home.

Thank you Joe for making your home available for others to use! We have used homeaway several times and this was by far our best experience!
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
5

Remote location that feels like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This beautiful home is located in el Castillo, which is about a 30 min drive from the nearest town, la fortuna. It had a beautiful view, modern house, fully furnished, lots of space, kitchen is fully stocked even with spices and coffee. The pool is really pretty. There is a little outdoor sheltered area that is amazing for breakfast as well as an beautifully thought out panoramic viewing room on the second floor. We were very comfortable for our 3 nights and didn't have problems with any Mosquitos or other bug bites!

Be warned though that the location is very remote. We arrived in the evening and had to drive on a very bumpy road at nighttime for about 20 minutes. You really can't go much faster than 20 miles/hour on it. There are a few restaurants in the area but I'd recommend this place if you want some time alone and feel like preparing a few meals of your own. Would be great for 2 couples or a family.

We loved arenal, be sure to do the cerro chato hike!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad you had a great time. We fell in love with the community and the views on our first visit and building the home here has been a labor of love. The photos were taken before we enclosed the second floor to create a panoramic sunroom which gives the home much more useable space without detracting from it's best attribute-the views. This is now our favorite room.
As you know, we strongly recommend that all our guests rent a 4x4 for travel within Costa Rica as roads are steep and rough once you leave the main highways and it's only when you leave the highways that you get to experience the authentic "Tico" lifestyle.
Once again, thank you and we hope you come back to Costa Rica soon!
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
4

The views are absolutely breathtaking!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The pictures don't do the views justice and they are why I chose this house. It's definitely off the beaten (paved) path. Do not try to find this house when it's getting dark and raining! We had not been give the updated contact and found Pizza Johns place closed and for sale! After the long, winding, crazy drive from San Jose all we wanted to do was get to the house and relax. Once we finally arrived it was more than we could ask. Nice clean house, beautifully landscaped gardens and outstanding views of the Volcan Arenal, Arenal Lake and the countryside. Definatley need a 4x4 vehicle to reach this lofty palace. Everything you could need was in the house. We were a bit concerned that it did not have A/C, but the cool breezes at night were refreshing, especially after enjoying a dip in the pool. I definately recommend trying to get up early enough to see the sunrise over he volcano, these are my best photos of the entire trip!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Simply Awesome!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The views are fantastic! The amenities in the house are greatly appreciated. Everything we needed is here. So glad we picked this beautiful house. It was worth the long drive. If we come back to Costa Rica, we definitely will come back to this place.
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What a beautiful palace!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was by far the most spectacular point of our trip in Costa Rica. Waking up to see the volcano was awe-inspiring. Spectacular setting and your house is perfect-warm and inviting. Pizza John did not let us down with great pizza and great stories. We enjoyed meeting Hannah and bought some art, including a painted snake by 11-year old Freddie. Your oneness with the local community is admirable. Keep doing what you are doing!
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thanks for awesome off-the-beaten-path experience!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We loved the fantastic view of the countryside, lake and Arenal and even got to see the top of the volcano one morning. Pizza John and Taco were a real treat to know. Sky Adventures was some of the best zip-lining my family has done. Unfortunately, we're leaving today so we don't have time to experience the many other things Castillo has to offer. Perhaps that means a return trip in our future??? We're gonna miss the cows!
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
5

Breathtaking property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The property is a little out of the way but well worth the drive. We were stunned at the beautiful house, beautiful views. We had everything we could ever need in the house it was fully equipped with every imaginable thing we could possibly need (even leftover food in cupboards). We really enjoyed havng coffee out in the balcony every morning enjoying the breathtaking views of the volcano & lake. In the evenings we enjoyed our glass of wine out in the gazebo. Only draw back the road to get there is rough & far from civilization but for the views it's worth it!! Will definitely recommend staying there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Arenal-Stunning views of the lake, volcano and jungle.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363932
La Fortuna Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Perfect Way to End Our Costa Rican Journey!!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Wow this has been an amazing journey across Costa Rica! What a perfect way to end our journey with a fabulous stay at this house. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends and family. If you're reading this....Leelander and his horses are AWESOME!!

Pura Vida!!