Cranberry Isles house rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Cranberry Isles House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps 5

Your vacation home awaits you on Great Cranberry Island, just fifteen minutes off the coast of Mount Desert Island, with magnificent views of the mountains of Acadia National Park.

Experience life as it should be on a remote island paradise. Kayak, sail, bike, hike Acadia National Park or just spend the day walking the Cranberry beaches hunting for sea glass, swimming in the ocean and catching glimpses of eagles, osprey and an occasional deer on a leisurely hike.

You will find within walking distance a grocery store which will provide your needs, including beer and wine, two Cafes, a Museum, Gift shop, Church and Library. You can order lobsters from local lobstermen to be delivered to your door.

You will arrive on the island by the Mail boat from the Northeast Harbor Town Pier. Transportation from the dock to the house upon arrival and departure will be provided by the owner. You can bring bikes for transportation around the island if you like.

4 Reviews of Property 363806 on the Cranberry Isles, Maine

Charming Country Home on a small Maine Island near Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Charming Country Home on a small Maine Island near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363806
+1 207 479-0005
Cranberry Isles Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Just as lovely as we remembered it

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our second stay at Sonja's lovely home on Great Cranberry Island, and it was just as amazing as our first. Our kids maximized every minute, going everywhere there was to go and doing everything there was to do, with Dog in tow. Because of the intimate nature of the island, they also had a fair bit of independence, which they loved. Our youngest enjoyed it so much that she is constantly asking to go back. As for the adults, tired kids + tired dog at the end of the day = peaceful idyllic evenings on the deck, watching the stars.
business
Charming Country Home on a small Maine Island near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363806
+1 207 479-0005
Cranberry Isles Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What a fantastic way to get away from it all, while still having the comforts of home. Island life isn't only for the tropic!. Close to hiking, bike trails, and a simple ferry ride to town and Acadia. Sonja makes you feel right at home, providing everything and more to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Country Home on a small Maine Island near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363806
+1 207 479-0005
Cranberry Isles Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

The Perfect Maine Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We are fortunate to have stayed here during our vacation in the Acadia region. Really a cut above your typical "vacation cottage", this place provided the comforts of home as well as an intimate window into the history of Great Cranberry Island. Our children loved it. First, they traveled on the ferry to get there, which was exciting in itself. Once there, they could play independently in the abundant yard without worry (there are few cars on the island). Berries of all types were growing there for them to pick. Even better, the local playground was only a short distance away by foot. Also within easy walking distance was a cafe serving ice cream, a museum, and a small gift shop with toys. Our older child enjoyed walking down the lane to the shore to hunt for rocks and sea-glass. Probably the best part for the children, though, was that our dog was able to enjoy the vacation with us. (Our host was kind enough to allow her.) This home has a lot to recommend it from the grownup perspective too. It is well kept and comfortable with attention to detail, both aesthetic and practical. Old stills showing life on Great Cranberry are artfully framed on the walls, and a vintage bookcase is filled with Maine histories and fiction. The stove is fabulous--if you like to cook, you won't be able to keep your hands off it. There is also a fine grill outside on the patio for casual meals. The sofas are cozy, and so are the beds. Best of all for us, however, was the view from the patio on a full moon night. You can see the sea sparkling through the trees in the moonlight. Very romantic! There is decent shopping and dining a ferry ride away in Northeast Harbor, and Acadia National Park is very accessible from Northeast Harbor as well. Our host provided parking in the harbor so we could easily access our rental car and explore the park. We really appreciated this, as well as other kind gestures on the part of our host, such as meeting us upon arrival and arranging assistance with our departure. We all enjoyed our stay immensely, and definitely plan to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Country Home on a small Maine Island near Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363806
+1 207 479-0005
Cranberry Isles Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

An excellent host with a very pleasant home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We spent a week in August 2011 enjoying this home and the Great Cranberry Island. The listing describes the property well, it is very clean, and the facilities have been updated, while the antiques and charm remain. We were looking for a quiet place to enjoy nature and visit Acadia National Park, and this place was perfect for us.

Sonja gave us details on where to leave our car in Northeast Harbor and how to take the ferry. She also arranged to meet us at the dock and transport all our luggage to the house. At the end of the week she helped us again to get everything back to the ferry. At the house she gave us helpful brochures for the area, information on getting fresh lobsters and a telephone number where she could be reached if needed. We were so happy that she offered us the fresh lettuce and herbs growing in her pots for our meals. We were also pleased that the bed had a great mattress - a priority for us. The deck is just as pleasant as it looks, and we used the grill often.

This was our first vacation without our car, so we learned to plan our activities around the weather. When it was beautiful we used our kayaks and visited the shops and museum on the island and also nearby Little Cranberry Island. When it rained solidly we relaxed indoors with books and puzzle. When it was changeable we went to Mount Desert and toured Acadia with our car.

Although "The Pool" is nearby, it is not a beach area. It did allow us to launch our kayaks as long as it was close to high tide. We were able to carry our kayaks the 100 or so yards down The Lane to the shore ... while not ideal it worked for us.

Ferry rides were part of the fun, especially the times we spotted dolphins or a seal in the ocean. This also provides a wonderful view of Acadia and nearby islands that you can't get from land, plus you get to chat with both tourists and locals each trip. The community offered several activities every day so we took part in a few. The residents are very kind, willingly answering our questions and inquiring about us as well. The history of the island is very interesting and well documented in the museum. The boardwalk through the cranberry bog and forest ecosystem is well worth seeing. A week just wasn't long enough to do everything we wanted to!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3