Seattle house rental - View from the street of the large front yard
View from the street of the large front yard
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Seattle House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

Book your next Seattle stay in a 1930's classic family home that has been loved and cared for by 4 generations! This charming house is fully furnished, has a lot of personality and artistic charm; an elegant and relaxing family room, two comfortable and tastefully decorated bedrooms, a classic breakfast nook, a fully equipped kitchen and a gorgeous and large outdoor stone patio, with a built-in fire pit, BBQ gas grill and outdoor lounge and dinner seating.

This amazing house is ready to be your home away from home. The cottage feel and the art deco style of this cozy house would be the perfect place to retreat during your visit to the bustling Seattle metropolitan area.

Location: The house is also conveniently located close to many Seattle favorites. All while being off the main circuit, in the quiet and private neighborhood of North Matthews Beach, which is just blocks from the beaches of Lake Washington and only a 10-15 minute drive to the UW campus, University Village shopping, Children’s Hospital and Downtown Seattle.

The house is also just minutes from the popular Burke Gilman Trail. This paved bike and jogging trail is detached from most roads and winds its way from the north end of Lake Washington to just north of Lake Union; connecting you to other parts of North Seattle such as the U-district, Wallingford, Fremont and Ballard.

Extra Sleeping Accommodations: We would also like to accommodate larger families, so we provide an extra bed to be used in the living room (a very comfortable, adjustable air mattress) and extra linens for the air mattress and couch, which can also be used as a bed. Upon request, we will have a pack-n-play available for little ones as well as a basket of toys for their stay.

Nearby Attractions: Minutes away; public beach access at Matthews Beach Park.-Lake Swimming with a floating dock and diving boards.

10 min. walk to “Beaver Pond”, a local water conservation estuary.

15 min. walk to Meadowbrook community center with adjoining children’s play park and athletic track at Nathan Hale High

More Details
Hide Details

My husband, Rob and I grew up for the most part in the greater Seattle area. Rob actually spent much of his childhood in this home as it was his grandparent's house when he was a child. I grew up a Navy brat traveling around the world all the way from Italy to Texas until we landed in Port Orchard, WA when I was 13 and I haven't left since! Our paths crossed after college and we eventually were married and moved into our Matthew's Beach house. It is our great pleasure to be able to share this house with you, as it has been in our family since the 1930s. This home has brought us so much joy and we hope that it brings you much of the same joy, but also rest, relaxation and a home away from home.

Owner/Manager purchased this house in 2007

We chose to purchase our Matthews Beach home because we loved the quiet neighborhood but also loved being only 10 minutes away from the city. It is the perfect mix of town and city! It was also an easy decision for us because we wanted to continue our families traditions in this home by keeping it in our family. We knew this location would be ideal for our family and hope that it is also for you and yours.

21 Reviews of Property 363391 in Seattle, Washington

Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
4

No regrets. Absolutely charming!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We had a wonderful stay. House was true to the listing info and pictures. It's very cozy, furniture is very comfortable. Very easy to just put your feet up and relax. Very clean and nicely decorated. Owners are easy to work with and they made sure the house was well stocked. Lots of extra linens, blankets, etc. Very close to anything you'd want to do in Seattle. We shopped at nearby University Village which is always fun. We like easy access to activity but also like coming back to a quiet neighborhood. This totally fit the bill. We would have liked a separate dining room area but made do. We would stay again and would recommend to friends.
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
Rochester, MN
3

Great location and charm

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
There was a strong odor when we arrived of possibly some previous animal stay which seemed to dissipate with several days and burning of several Glade candles. We had hoped to have one person stay in the back bedroom but the heat vent had a significant rattle and we were there on cold days so the furnace was doing a good job. The tight bathroom was a challenge for us who use contacts with no place to set things down. Since we have done some renovations we observed that some re-doing of the flooring and some paint in the kitchen would make a huge difference. Wi-fi and TV worked well. I wished for a better can opener and a soup ladle. In spite of all, I liked the place.
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
Seattle, WA
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This well-maintained cottage provided a pleasant, comfortable base in North Seattle. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood yet minutes by car to shopping and restaurants and easy access to roads that lead into the city. Although not huge, the layout makes the cottage feel roomy and would be perfect for a family of 3 or 4. Would definitely recommend!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
Seattle, WA
5

Comfortable, cozy and quiet home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were having our floors refinished about 2 miles from this vacation rental, which is, at best, a very trying experience. The absolute saving grace for the hectic week was this wonderful "home away from home" where we stayed. Liz and Rob were very accommodating and direct with us, and we felt like we were staying in a well-equipped, very charming home. It is in a nice neighborhood in North Seattle on an incredibly quiet street. It is convenient to many places in Seattle, especially if you are interested in the University of Washington area. There are ample linens, bed covers, quilts, pillows and the kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary dishes, pots and pans, and utensils. There is also very strong wifi in the house for accessing the internet on a smartphone or pad. They also provide an ipod with a large selection of music (I appreciated the Radiohead and Okerville River). All in all, an almost perfect place to spend time in a true "home away from home."
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
5

Fantastic deal, modern space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The apartment is incredibly clean, quiet street, modern decor. Every room has a TV with cable/on demand. Free wifi. They provide you with the basics of everything you need for the kitchen/cleaning products/toiletries. Beds were extremely comfortable. Loved that the living room couch pretty much turns into a bed of its own. Covered parking for no additional cost. Lots of storage space. Awesome deal. Location is right off the 99 (but you can't hear the cars at all), which makes getting around the city SUPER easy. There were even chocolate truffles provided upon arrival. Delicious. Spacious with everything you need. Laundry in the building (was right next door to the unit which was SO convenient). Plenty of plates/cups/silverware. Bathroom has a tub. A great stay with zero hassle.
Owner's Response: oops! This was a review for another property that I manage. Our house unfortunately does not have cable tv in every room. Sorry. I am working to get this review removed. I hope you find the other reviews helpful though.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
5

Nice little cottage comfortable and cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had everything we needed in this cute house in NE Seattle. The owners are attentive without hovering. It is quiet and quaint, lots of 1930s Art Deco decor in the architecture. Not especially handicap accessible. 2 Bedrooms, good sizes & one bathroom. You have access to washer/dryer in the basement. The grounds are attractive with old very large trees. The Master BR bed is comfy! Would definitely recommend and would stay there again. The only thing I would change is more window coverings!
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
5

Perfect little house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We very much enjoyed our stay at this house, in the northeast area of Seattle. The house itself has a very warm, inviting feel. It is beautifully decorated, and with all original character and charm of an older home. You can tell the home has been well loved by this family for four generations! The master bedroom is large and has a comfy sleigh bed. The back bedroom is quiet and cozy, as well. Kitchen has been nicely updated, and the little eating nook is adorable. Liz was very helpful and easy to work with throughout this process. We hope to come back and stay again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
Melbourne, Australia
4

Peace & Relaxation

Peace & Relaxation
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This charming 2-bedroom house was our (2 related couples) Seattle home for 4 days after a 5 week holiday in the wilderness of Canada & Alaska. It was a great opportunity to relax and chill out, but at the same time take in the sights and offerings of Seattle (of which there are many) before making the long return journey back to Australia. The property is well located in the northern leafy suburbs of Seattle about 20 minutes by car for the Seattle CBD. We did not use the public transport facilities. Prior communication with the owner Liz was friendly and prompt and no issues were encountered during our stay. The house is very well appointed and very comfortable. We dined at two of the local restaurants within easy reach and on another occasion availed ourselcves of the BBQ facilities. Wi-fi internet is available and the local library offers free internet access for visitors for a set time period. We have little hesitation at recommending this property for a relaxing stay in Seattle, especially for 2 couples travelling together.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
5

Fantastisch!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Wij - man, vrouw en twee meiden van 19 en 16 uit Nederland - vonden het heerlijk in dit prachtige huis met grappige oude details. Sfeervol, aangenaam, schoon, van alle gemakken voorzien en in een zeer rustige buurt van Seattle. We voelden ons direct helemaal thuis. Bovendien zijn de eigenaren enorm behulpzaam, evenals de buren overigens. Het was een genot om na een dag in het overvolle Seattle vol verkeerslawaai, bij te komen in het huis. Met een vuurtje op de vuurplaats in de tuin. We hadden daar absoluut de 30 - 45 minuten in de stadsbus (halte om de hoek...) voor over! (we waren met het openbaar vervoer in Seattle). Een absolute aanrader!
Owner's Response: from google translation :) -
We - husband, wife and two girls of 19 and 16 from the Netherlands - were happy in this beautiful old house with funny details. Attractive, comfortable, clean, fully equipped and in a very quiet neighborhood of Seattle. We felt right at home. Moreover, the owners extremely helpful, and the neighbors also. It was a pleasure after a day in the crowded Seattle full of traffic, to come into the house. With a fire in the fireplace in the garden. We had absolutely the 30-45 minutes in the bus (bus stop around the corner ...) for about! (we were using public transport in Seattle). An absolute must!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Heritage Home in Quiet North Seattle Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363391
+1 2063752410
Seattle Washington
Altadena, CA
5

Charming Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband, son and I stayed in this charming home for a week in early May. We were there to spend time with my husband's ailing father. This immaculate and well-appointed cottage was a perfect place for us. It was a very sad time for us, but we always felt we had a warm and comforting home to return to after each visit my my husband's father. The cottage is sunny and roomy as each bedroom is separate by the large living room and kitchen. My husband and I could watch a movie without waking up our son while he slept in the back bedroom. The street is very quiet and we were able to access QFC and some of our favorite restaurants within minutes. The linens were clean and ample. My son loved the backyard and we loved walking around the neighborhood. And Liz was very helpful even when I managed to ruin one of the mattress pads! She replaced it at a very reasonable price. Everything we enjoy is a very short drive from this home: Mathew's Beach, Magnusson Park, the U Village. We would absolutely recommend this property to our friends and will stay again sometime in the future. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2