Fort Lauderdale condo rental - Pelican Grand Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Fort Lauderdale Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Thank you so much for considering our unit at the Pelican Grand Beach Resort.

Steve and I purchased our rental in mid 2011, and have enjoyed spending family time at the resort with our children and grand kids.

*******************************************************************

Each year, we continue to make more and more updates to make your vacation experience the best it can be.

Some of the differences you'll find between our room and others (both the privately or resort owned units) are:

- Leather Lazy Boy couch, with recliners on both ends. (All other units have either the old original or recovered sofa, not anywhere near as comfy.)

- New Lazy Boy Loveseat, with a pull out twin bed. (All other units have either the original or recovered loveseat.)

- Two 46 inch flat screen TVs (for units like ours, the resort offers one 42 inch flat screen and another very large old standard hotel unit)

- Larger compact fridge (just replaced the small original 2 cubic foot compact fridge with a 4.4 cubic foot model)

- Larger microwave (just replaced the smaller original unit with a high end convection model)

- Better lighting (lights added to ceiling fans in both bedroom and den area)

- More seating/better chairs (got rid of two old rattan chairs and replaced with four smaller chairs)

- Plus, plus, plus more....

The reason for all the above differences is we really want our unit at the Pelican to feel like home for us and for our guests. I think we've met our goal.

*******************************************************************

The Pelican Grand Beach Resort is a Four Star Resort, located directly on the beach in beautiful Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The oceanfront resort is situated on 500 feet of sandy beach, perfect for tanning and swimming. The property is one of only two resort/hotels in Fort Lauderdale located directly on the ocean, as almost all other hotels/resorts are located across A1A.

From our 5th floor unit, the view is amazing. You can sit on the private balcony, look out over the water and hear the sounds of waves crashing onto the shore.

The upscale resort is ideal for:

• Couples for a Romantic Getaway, featuring Private Room with Private Balcony, Oceanside Veranda, Private Beach, Upscale Bar/Lounge, and Rooftop Patio

• Families with Children, as the Resort Property is directly on the Ocean, and featuring a Resort-style Pool and Lazy River, and an Ice Cream Shoppe

• Business Professionals seeking an Upscale and Relaxing Environment with High-Speed Internet Access, Business Center, Oceanside Restaurant ideal for Business Meetings, Upscale Bar/Lounge

FREE OF CHARGE AMENITIES

- Lazy River tubing ride (heated)

- Oceanfront Fitness Center

- Pool and beach towels

- Beach chairs and umbrellas

- Cribs

- Roller beds

- Mini Refrigerator and microwave

- Sitting area with a table and 4 chairs

- Room safe

- Coffee maker

- Iron and ironing board

- Alarm clock/radio

OTHER AMENITIES AVAILABLE AT THE RESORT

- Restaurant with oceanfront breakfast, lunch and dinner

- Poolside cocktail lounge

- Business services

- Old fashioned ice cream parlor and gift shop.

- Satellite TV with premium channels

- Concierge service available

- Underground valet parking - rate is $30/day, plus taxes

- Internet Access - rate is $19.95/day per device, plus taxes. (Consider using your smart phone as a 'hotspot' alternative.)

- Guest laundry

5TH FLOOR, Direct oceanfront resort room with private balcony and comfortable chairs. The Bedroom has 2 Queen Size beds with pillow top mattresses. There are two televisions (bedroom and den) with premium cable channels. Compact refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and voicemail. Perfect for enjoying the gorgeous beach at sunrise and sunset.

Resort activities: Veranda with rocking chairs runs the entire length of the resort, Oceanside restaurant and bar both have outdoor seating available on the veranda overlooking the beach for drinks or meals, Lounge chairs, Umbrellas and towels are available for the beach, Valet parking, 500-Foot Private Beach, Heated Swimming Pool and Lazy River, Poolside Cocktail Lounge, Oceanfront Fitness Center, Games, Ice Cream Emporium and Gift Shop inside the resort, Computers and Business Center in the lobby.

Recreation activities: Open Air Cafes and Shopping on Las Olas Blvd, Deepsea Fishing, Golfing, Tennis, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, Snorkeling/Scuba/Reef Diving

The resort requires that you are at least 21 years of age and have a valid credit card to check in.

Check-in 4:00pm, Check-out 11:00am

FEES:

o Valet parking: If you have a car, the resort charges $30/day, plus 11% tax, with in-and-out privileges. Unfortunately, there is no other alternative for parking in the area; however, there is taxi service and a city bus line that runs right outside the resort.

o Housecleaning: $75 Check-out Cleaning fee, plus 11% tax is required. If you wish to have additional cleaning during your visit, the resort changes $35 per occurrence, plus 11% tax. You must request optional housecleaning when you check in if you want your room cleaned and the Consumable Supplies replaced by the Resort staff during your stay. If you do not request optional housecleaning, there will be no replenishment of Consumable Supplies (for example, toilet paper, Kleenex, shampoo, conditioner, soap, coffee, cups, clean towels, etc.) during your stay.

o Internet Access: Effective January 23, 2014, the Pelican Grand began charging for Internet access for all privately owned units. The new policy is to charge $19.95 per day per device, plus 11% tax. This seems very high to us, but they claim this is consistent with pricing at other hotels in the area. As an alternative, we suggest you use the personal hotspots that are available on most smart phones as a more economical alternative to signing into the Pelican WIFI. Go to ‘settings’ on your phone and turn on the ‘hotspot’ button. It should show you the name of your phone’s network and the password for you to use on your other devices to hook up. Then go to wireless connections on your laptop, select the name of your phone’s network and enter the password. You can enter multiple devices at the same time on your hotspot network, i.e. I-pads and computers. Please note that if you use this to watch movies or other high data uses, you will want to keep an eye on your service provider’s data limit.

Keywords: Condo Hotel, Beach, Pool, Lazy River, Oceanfront, Balcony

More Details
Hide Details

We are a retired couple from Iowa who miss the ocean. When we first saw the Pelican Grand, we fell in love and knew we wanted to spend more time there.

Sue Morrison purchased this condo in 2011

The view!!! Being able to have breakfast, lunch and dinner looking out over the ocean. Enjoying a cocktail on the private balcony.

Short car ride to many fantastic restaurants, night clubs and shopping areas.

Close to cruise terminals of Fort Lauderdale and Miami.

124 Reviews of Property 363175 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
average rating of 4.9816513 based on 124 reviews
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
5

Wonderful condo right on the beach.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We recently stayed in this unit for a long weekend. There are 2 very comfortable queen beds and a pullout(which we did not use.) Loved having a coffee maker and a microwave. Also loved the balcony and spent several hours enjoying the view. Check in and out was very smooth. The hotel was wonderful. Loved the rocking chairs lined up on the deck. Had lunch at the hotel several times but went out for dinner. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
Chicago
5

Outstanding Location, View, and Room

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We were looking for a great relaxing getaway, with a view of the ocean (we were right on it!) and a nice place to stay. The owners were very responsive to our questions and the description of the property was right on. Clean, well maintained, had everything that we needed. Truly enjoyed staying at the resort, the staff was very attentive, the beach was great, wish I was sitting on the beach right now under the umbrella!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Email Received from Guest:

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was the 3rd Spring Break this guest and her family have stayed in our unit at the Pelican. This morning I received the following lovely email.

"We had a wonderful trip again. I love that resort!! The weather was perfect and I can't wait to go again. Thanks so much!"
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
5

Fabulous Vacation Location !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We recently enjoyed a terrific two week stint at the condo unit at the Pelican Grand. What an absolutely wonderful time. The unit is very nice and well maintained with an outstanding balcony view of the Atlantic. The beach and swimming was first rate. The personnel at the Pelican were very warm and helpful. We also liked the location as we were able to walk or have a short drive to many restaurants / shopping spots. Thanks for everything. We would strongly consider returning to this location. Best spot we have had since we started our annual trips to Florida four years ago.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Couple from Maine sent this review

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful time and the weather was awesome, didn't even get to the Galleria because the sun never went in (that has never happened on a vacation before). Then home to an arctic front and I just can't seem to warm up!!!

512 was very nice and especially liked the new sofa recliner, it reminded us of home! Would love to keep in touch and would definitely visit again, let us know when next years calendar is available.
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
Boston, MA
5

AWESOME VACATION!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The hotel and the room were by far the very best around! Between the spotless and very comfortable room and the exceptional staff this was one of the best vacations we have taken. Everything was very clean and well maintained, the fridge and the microwave in the room was also an added bonus! We will definitely be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
Dublin, OH, USA
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My family just returned from our stay in Ft. Lauderdale at the Pelican. The view is amazing, the accommodations are clean and beautiful and the service is outstanding. We especially loved the ability to walk right out to the beach/ocean! The pool and lazy river were relaxing and fun too. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
5

Gram and Papa D

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our stay was everything we could have asked for. The condo was beautiful and the weather was sunny and in the 80s all week. We would most definitely recommend this property to anyone who loves the ocean and luxury environs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
5

BEAUTIFUL Ft. Lauderdale Vacation at the Pelican!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My folks are the owners of this unit, and this year they treated my husband, son, and I to an amazing vacation at the Pelican. We didn't actually stay in this owner's unit, but we visited it several times during our stay, and we have to say-- it's amazing! We've always loved our rooms at the Pelican, but this unit has been updated with new televisions, extra lighting, new bedding, unique photographic artwork, and new seating area furniture. It is very cozy and more comfortable than the standard rooms we have stayed in at the Pelican. The owners are SO friendly and helpful and have put much time and energy into making their unit a most enjoyable experience for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pelican Grand-Right on ocean! 2 Queen Beds - Best unit in the Resort !!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p363175vb
515-864-6116
Fort Lauderdale Greater Fort Lauderdale
5

Fantastic family getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My family of four (two kids, ages 3 and 6) enjoyed our time at the Pelican Grand this January. My parents organized a family reunion at this resort, and it was truly a relaxed and worry-free time.
Even though we rented a minivan for the week, we only went off-property a handful of times-- mainly for the large group family meals (Greek Islea was a fabulous lunch spot). My children were completely satisfied flitting between the lazy river, pool (which was heated nicely, much appreciated as this January was a bit on the chilly side), beach and ice cream shop. My family has some dietary restrictions, and I was happy to note that the ice cream shop stocks soy milk for making delicious lattes!
We enjoyed the updates in our room (614), but have to admit that the comfy leather couch seating in 612 was far superior to the all-weather upholstery in the 'normal' rooms like ours. The unit was clean and the beds were so comfortable! My 6 year old admitted that she just wanted to "lie in bed and read" all morning, which gave my husband and I a few precious minutes to sleep in!
I was also jealous of the extra drying space 612 has. They've added an extra towel rack, which would come in handy when one is juggling swimsuit drying logistics! They also have a bigger, brand new mini- fridge. As my family always hits Whole Foods for waters, fresh orange juice and lunch/breakfast fixings (along with all our gluten free and lactose free goodies), we were also jealous of their extra cubic inches of refrigeration.
We love this property, the attentiveness of the staff and the casual but elegant surroundings.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2