Waipio house rental - king bed in master bedroom
king bed in master bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Waipio House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Centrally located to most fabulous Big Island attractions, world renowned beaches, mountain biking, world class golfing, star-gazing with astronomers atop majestic Mauna Kea, halfway to Hilo, the gateway to Volcanoes National Park, this 2 bedroom, 1 bath house with full kitchen provides affordable accommodation for the adventure traveler.

Situated at a cool 2700' elevation in the saddle between Mauna Kea and the Kohala mountains, amid the Historic Parker Ranch, this cute downstairs duplex with separate 2 car garage for your use, sleeps 2-4 comfortably, private and quiet in a rural, working class neighborhood (no parties or loud noise please). Great for couples, friends, families, perfect for neighbor island or mainland kamaaina coming home to Big Island for family, sporting or other special events. If you would like to see the whole island, this a great location for you.

We are located about 20-30 minutes from the Kohala Coast beaches and resorts, an hour from both Hilo and Kona towns. The weather in this part of the island is similar to New Zealand in that it ranges from blustery tradewinds and rain to Idyllic, warm and sunny, with night time temperatures sometimes dipping into the 50's in the winter months. The surrounding landscape is lush, pastoral rolling hills and fields, complete with horses, cows and sheep.

The property is a quarter acre, 3 bedroom duplex, 2 bedroom/ one bath house with a 2 car garage for guests downstairs, separate upstairs apartment in the back, owners on site, available to help out with any questions you may have, but very private and quiet. We take care of cleaning and maintenance, thus keeping prices most affordable.

The house is 900 square feet, tucked away behind the front garage, large yard, with a king bed in the master bedroom, two twin beds in the second bedroom, full kitchen for dining in after a fun day adventuring, 5 miles from Kamuela town featuring a full range of culinary delights from finest dining to local deli style and everything in between, local produce from the farmers'markets, Zumba and fitness centers, yoga available for those in mind of a healthy vacation experience.

Our neighborhood is small, working class, kid friendly so we just ask for your respect and careful driving.

Should you have any questions regarding activities, sights to see, just ask, call or email. We've been living and playing here on the Big Island for 30 years, love it and happy to share any information to enhance your vacation experience.

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 362671 in Waipio, Hawaii

70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Vancouver, BC
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family of 3 (2 adults and a toddler) had a great stay at this property. It was accurately described, clean, and well-maintained. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay: a great kitchen and living/dining room, high quality bath towels and bed linens, and even beach towels, beach chairs and umbrella, fins, snorkels, and masks, boogie boards, and a cooler for going to the beach! The location, in a quiet neighborhood a few miles outside of town, was close to a good grocery store and several restaurants (about a 10 minute drive). It was also easy to get to anywhere on the north part of the Big Island. During our stay at this property, we went to several beaches and a couple historic sites on the west coast, Hawi (up north), and the Waipi'o Valley on the east side. We had a minor issue with the washing machine, and the owner fixed it before we left (so we could still do our laundry), and also gave us a gift certificate to a local restaurant to help compensate us for our trouble. I especially appreciated that we could just pay for the one bedroom we needed to use and the reasonable cleaning fee. We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay that is a bit off the beaten path but still in easy reach of a lot of attractions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
5

Great location, great accomodations, earnest host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
If you are looking for a great place to stay right in Waimea, this one is worth considering! This two bedroom cottage is located on the "wet" side of Waimea, meaning farther away from the coast and more on the Hilo side of town. It's only a 5 min. drive to the heart of town and less than 30 min to the great Kohala coast beaches.

Not only is the location great, but so are the accomodations. Neat, clean, nice to hang out in when not out and about. And the hosts give you all these nice little touches that make things special, like Kona coffee for your coffeemaker and directions to a great snorkel site on the coast. We even had access to a washer/dryer, a BBQ grill and beach gear including a cooler and beach chairs!

Our family would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Hawaii
5

Happy Customer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place is so great! Quiet and comfortable and everything you need is right there in the house. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Honolulu, HI
5

Kamuela Guest House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Very nice, comfortable place to stay. Our family (2 couples) found the guest house to be in a convenient location to visit Waipio Valley, Mauna Kea, Hilo, and even the Kona side. We were pleased to find extra amenities that we did not bring or forgot such as beach towels, a cooler, spices for cooking, a toaster, coffee maker and the owner even left us some welcome coffee and nuts which we enjoyed our first morning. We highly recommend this home and would love to stay again our next trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
5

ron

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Great vacation rental. The house was clean and well maintained. The description and photos were accurate.Great location for north island exploration and Gemma was VERY helpful with suggestions as to places to see and dinner recommendations!
I would definately reccommend !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
austin, texas
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay in this place. The location is very convenient for going to beaches and for hiking in the Pololu Valley. There's a good natural foods store and grocery store about 10 minutes away. The house was spotlessly clean. We would stay here again in a flash.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Volcano, HI
5

Perfectly suited our needs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed for two nights at this home in Waimea on Hawaii Island. The property was clean and spare in its decorations, which perfectly suited us. We appreciated the privacy the property owner afforded us, though she was always responsive when we contacted her for information. The kitchen was clean and well-appointed and, for Waimea's cool winter weather, we had lots of blankets to keep us warm. The heater in the living room also provided some warmth. As described in the listing, the home is located in a working class neighborhood where the neighbors are somewhat close but not intrusive. We walked down the road a bit and found a lovely area that abuts ranch lands and where we had a stunning view of Mauna Kea.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
5

Great central location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
It is the best place to explore the island. You can easily reach any area on the island, because of the convenient location. The friendly and helpful owner will make your stay very comfortable.

Laura and Igor
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
Germany
4

A good place !

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
It is a good place to reach all the Highlights in th region of Kohala Coast, North Kona Coast and the Honokaa Coast. The description and photos are exactly how it is. The property is clean and well-maintained, the owner is very helpful. In the neighborhood there loud dogs. If you use earplugs it is no problem.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
70/Night ...2BR/1BA House in Rural Kamuela
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362671vb
(808) 885-5401
Waipio Hamakua Coast
1

problem stay

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This place was musty and moldy to the point that we had to shorten our stay, due to the fact that my husband was experiencing bad sinus problems because of said mold/mildew.
The owner did refund us for the nights we did not stay. She said that she was getting cleaners in to deal with the problem.
Also we found that there was a fair amount of noise from neighborhood dogs barking, and roosters crowing.
Owner's Response: I'd like to thank David and Maggie for letting us know about these issues, we are so very sorry for their experience, and yes, we have scheduled the maintenance to correct the situation, thank you for your honest feedback. We are also working with our neighbors, they recently got a new puppy, and we are all on board for peace and quiet in our neighborhood.