Kenmare cottage rental - Rusheens Cottage
Rusheens Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Kenmare Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sauna and shower, sleeps 4

Charming country cottage with sauna in the quiet Ballygriffin valley nestled between the famous Ring of Kerry and the Ring of Beara with the heritage town of Kenmare only 10 minutes away.

Sauna with fountain shower. Underfloor central heating. Open fire. TV, DVD, WiFi Internet access.

Use the Cottage as a base for hiking tours on the Kerry Way or the Beara Way.

An ideal location for cycling / motoring tours on the Ring of Kerry / the Ring of Beara.

Killarney National Park, Muckross House, Torc Falls 30 minutes by car. Blarney Castle and Cork City 90 min by car.

Adjacent to an artist studio and a yoga and meditation centre.

There are a number of activity and equestrian centres in the Kenmare area offering a wide range of activities including horse riding, water sports and archery.

10 Reviews of Property 362600 in Kenmare, Ireland

Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Wonderful cottage!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is a lovely cottage. It is very private and well maintained. The owners who live next door give you all the privacy that you want. We loved staying here enjoying the peace and quiet. The sauna was a wonderful bonus. The internet can be a little slow at times so if you are an internet junky, it might not be the place for you. But if you really want or need to get away from it all, this is the PERFECT place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We received two gifts during our stay. The first was a beautiful cottage that was delightful in every way. From the cozy fireplace in a lovely living room to the very comfortable beds in spacious, not a sound heard during the night, bedrooms from the great views and beautiful country location to the fully equipped kitchen. Add radiant heating in the floor and a lovely sauna and you will not want to leave. However, if you decide to explore, Kenmare is a ten minute drive and all of the joys of West Cork and Kerry are possible in a day trip from the cottage. Rusheens is in a most perfect location.

The second gift we received was the hospitality of the owners. Dhara teaches yoga (we took one of her very relaxing classes) and Marcus is a ceramic artist. We were greeted warmly and both felt like long lost relatives (the good kind.) They had the fridge stocked for what they called a start but it seemed like everything needed for a good first night and next morning was included and some of the "start" lasted the whole stay. Friendly hosts is an understatement.

You could not pick a better cottage or better hosts. We'll be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Wonderful, relaxing cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful stay at Rusheens Cottage! We loved the location about 10 minutes out of Kenmare - quiet and relaxing with the nice pond on the property and lovely walks nearby. Our children loved seeing the ducks, looking for frogs, and picking berries!
The house is very nicely furnished with a great kitchen for cooking and the washer and drier were great to have on hand. Comfortbale furniture and beds and great blinds so that the little ones didn't wake at dawn!
The cottage is in a great location to make day trips. We visited Killarney, Dingle, and drove around some of the Ring of Kerry from the house as well as visiting locally. We hope to be back to enjoy the cottage again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
Kaiserslautern, Germany
5

Love, love, love...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
As soon as we arrived at the Rusheens Cottage, I knew that this place would be perfect for our family holiday in Ireland. The house was cozy, charming, quiet, and relaxing. The kitchen is equipped with almost every possible item that you may need during a holiday. I liked having a washing machine and a dryer at our disposal as my little ones could make quite a mess while eating or become dirty from the wonderful trails in the area. The beds were so comfortable and warm and I enjoyed the sauna a couple of times in the evening.

My kids liked the pond on the property and Markus let them pick the raspberries. They could play outside and I didn't have to worry about traffic or them disturbing anyone. We were within driving distance of many sites and drove to Cork, the Cliffs of Moher, Dingle Penisula, and the Ring of Berea as well as farther down the road on the Ring of Kerry. I even took a yoga lesson from Dhara (I have always wanted to learn more about yoga), which was nice and relaxing, especially when you can listen to the nearby waterfalls and the sheep in the distance. Before we left to go shopping, Dhara gave me some shopping bags to use and directions to the local supermarkets.

I would recommend this cottage to all of my friends!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Ireland get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was the perfect way to end our vacation in Ireland with our twin 14 year-old sons. The house location was much better than we ever imagined. It was right on the Ring of Kerry and Ring of Beara and only 1 1/2 hours from the Blarney Castle. You do need a car as it is about 3km from the main road, not within walking distance to any of the local pubs and/or grocery stores. However, the drive was easy and the city of Kenmare had everything we needed. We spent our days touring the area and our nights by the fire watching movies, which were provided by the owner. The house was equipped with all the necessities and plenty of bonuses (dishes, soap, towels, washer/dryer, hair dryer, sauna, fireplace, movies, books, and wonderful scenery). We definitely hope to return one day.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Heaven on earth at Rusheens

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We came to Rusheens as a family of four and found a home away from home! The owners had left us milk, bread and eggs and they were so welcoming. My boys loved the property and I even took a yoga class, well needed after travelling. We ventured to Cork, the Ring of Beara and many other places from Rusheens. We loved the sauna and making fires at night as well as waking up to sheep. This is a very special property and I would highly recommend this property to anyone who would like to relax, cook for themselves, and enjoy the Irish mountainside. Kenmare is a lovely town with great places to eat and shop.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
Cork, Ireland
5

A very beautiful place in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Myself and 3 friends spent a weekend at Rusheens Cottage recently. The location is stunning, the property is just lovely - incredibly comfortable, beautifully maintained and very relaxing to spend time in. The sauna was an added bonus too.
Dhara and Markus made us feel very welcome. They live next to the property so local knowledge was always on hand if we needed it.
It really is an idyllic place, easy to find and with amazing views. We did one of Dharas yoga classes, which combined with the sauna afterwards felt very therapeutic. I would thoroughly recommend spending some time here and we will be going back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Lovely house with great view on the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We, Jean-Paul(23) and Manja(22) from Potsdam, Germany, were the first time in ireland and had a wonderful time there. The house made our holiday perfect. It lies in a gap, about 4km from Kenmare. It is furnished with lots of love, details and warm colours. The house is very clean, well equipped and has bright and friendly rooms. The chimney and the sauna are a wonderful opportunity to relax after a long day of vacation or on rainy days. Outside the house, you can hear nothing but a little brook, which thence behind the house.
Dhara and Markus are hearty hosts make us feel at home immediately. Already before the trip they've given us a detailed route description with photos, so it was no problem to find the house even in the dark. Moreover they sent us a list with their favourite walks, restaurants and supermarkets. They always had an open ear, many ideas and suggestions for our trip.
Our favourite places, which you should absolutely not miss: Kenmare itself with it's nice shops, bars and restaurants, Glangarriff Woods Nature Reserve, Killarney National Park, Dingle Peninsula: Dingle Town, Inch Beach and Slea Head and of course the Ring of Kerry!

All in all: a great, comfortable house with lovely hosts in a fantastic environment!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
5

Irland erholsam erleben

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Nachdem wir nach der guten Beschreibung das Cottage sofort gefunden haben, wurden wir herzlich von Dhara und Markus empfangen. Das Holz lag bereits fertig am Kamin und auch sonst war alles sauber, ordentlich und perfekt vorbereitet. So fühlt man sich wohl von Anfang an.
Die Küche war ein Traum und die gut funktionierende Heizung, die Fußbodenheizung im unteren Bereich, die Sauna und der Kamin trugen zum absoluten Wohlfühlen bei.
Wir hatten Glück mit dem Wetter und als radbegeisterte Irland-Urlauber kamen wir hier voll auf unsere Kosten. Wir starteten hier Touren, wovon man sonstwo nur träumen kann. Die Halbinsel Beara beginnt quasi direkt ab dem Cottage und ist bekannt für ihre einsamen Straßen an der küste entlang.
Aber auch der Ring of Kerry und Killarney mit all seinen Attraktionen sind nahe Ziele. Praktisch alle schönen Gärten im Südwesten Irlands sind von hier aus mit dem Fahrrad, aber natürlich auch mit dem Auto, gut zu erreichen.
Das schöne, kleine Städtchen Kenmare ist nur 4 km entfernt und bietet alles zum Einkauf (sogar Bioladen und Wochenmarkt) und Abendvergnügen (Pub's mit Live-Musik).
Wir genossen alles, unternahmen wunderschöne Radtouren und fühlten uns gleich wie zu Hause.
Markus und Dhara wohnen gleich nebenan, sind immer gleich zur Stelle und stehen mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.
Wir waren schon öfter in Irland und haben hier den schönsten Ort gefunden. Wir kommen sicher wieder zurück ins Rusheen's - Cottage.
Sylvia und Hans-Günter aus Deutschland
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Rusheens Cottage. Charming country cottage with sauna in peaceful valley.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362600
+353 646642031
Kenmare Ring of Kerry
Drieborg, Groningen, Netherlands
5

Two folk musicians stayed at Rusheens Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
'breathtaking, inspirational views and a warm welcome'

Inbetween our tour in Dublin and the UK folk singer Linde Nijland and myself rented a lovely house in the beautiful area near Kenmare, 'Rusheens Cottage' in Bellygriffin, a tiny village up in the mountains. A friendly road leads to the cosy cottage next to the house of owners Markus and Dhara, who warmly welcomed us. We were very happy to find a burning woodstove in the cottage, fresh teabags and flowers. We slept well, after a warm bath, with a choice of three bed rooms! No sounds, no cars, total peace and nature.

The next day we were amazed by the breathtaking views from the windows. An inviting sight, that lead to many walks up hill in the following days. With the nice and colourful village of Kenmare nearby for the necessary shops, we had everything we needed. Beforehand we planned to visit some west coast spots...but we ended up just roaming around the wonderful nearby area. Linde even wrote a song about a mysterious ruin that we bumped into on the mountain.

The sauna, lots of movies, the luxuous, good kitchen and the nice chats with the owners and the local people made our stay in Rusheens far too short. We will be back as soon as possible!! Be prepared ;-)

Bert Ridderbos
(NL)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2