Jaco condo rental - View shows closeness to beach. Unit #4 is located by jacuzzi next to the pool.
View shows closeness to beach. Unit #4 is located by jacuzzi next to the pool.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay nights
 

Jaco Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

Costa Rica is the one of the most beautiful countries in the world. Costa Rica is often compared to Hawaii, but without the overpriced hotels and restaurants. Air fare is usually much less expensive since Costa Rica is closer. Costa Rica offers a superior quality vacation for far less money and you'll enjoy a new rain forest adventure or beach experience around evey corner. The Costa Ricans are very warm and friendly and welcome tourists from around the world. Jaco Beach is the most popular beach destination in Costa Rica. It is now only an hour and twenty minutes from the airport, now that the new road is complete. The new highway cuts the drive time from San Jose in half. I suggest rental cars, but for my guests who choose not to drive, I have an arrangement with dependable, safe driver from the US who knows my condo and my property manager. When you exit the airport and see all the drivers and Taxis it is nice to see a 'Gringo' with your name on his sign! He will take you to your front door in Jaco Beach Village (JBV) for only $80 vs $110+ for a taxi. It costs only $4 to take the public bus, but it takes the old road which can take over 3 hours. You can take a taxi to nearly anywhere in Jaco for $2.

LOCATION is the key to a happy and successful vacation. Realtors and JBV vacationers agree that this location is the finest Jaco has to offer. 5 star 24/7 security along with secure parking for your rental car is reassuring in a location which I feel is MUCH safer than my home in Dallas. It is a short walk to the major shopping district which ends a block away from JBV, That one block buffers you from the crowds, noise, and hustle of the numerous shops, restaurants, night clubs, and casinos...but they are just a couple minute walk. And what a beach location! The builder of JBV built a grass island in front of the beach gate, complete with benches, picnic areas, and lots of palm trees which make for the most dramatic settings you could ask for. Consistently beautiful sunsets right from the patio will be among the most spectacular you will see anywhere in the world! The pics you take from the back wall (chest high) of sunsets reflecting off the wet beach sand will be breath-taking, waiting for you to frame when you return home.

This is one of the few TRUE beach front condo locations in Jaco.Many rentals advertise 'steps from the beach', yet may be a block or two from the beach (BIG difference), or take an elevator which ruins the ambiance of being in a tropical paradise. You'll enjoy watching the surfers from the gazebo just outside your unit, by the pool as you sip coffee and check email on your laptop. The gazebo has wi-fi and electrical plugs . It is never crowded inside the JBV compound as most of the units are owned by foreigners who visit only a few times a year. The beach is rarely crowded except for holidays which brings out the San Jose families in droves...people watching at its best.

This is a ground floor, luxury 1 bedroom unit next to the jacuzzi, and only one unit back from the beach. There is a queen sleeper sofa in the living room. All bedding, towels (except beach towels), cookware, dishes, kitchen appliances, icemaker, coffee pot, toaster, microwave, etc. The two thermostat contrlled A/C units cool the unit within a couple of minutes.The ground floor location and excellent insulation make the A/C necessary only a couple of hours a day. The ceiling fans at night are adequarte and allow you to listen to the surf as you doze in the quiet and safe splendor of JBV.

Unit #4 includes a telephone (calls anywhere in CR or you can receive calls from anywhere), internet wi-fi for your wireless devices... access code is legend 11. The TV is a big flat screen with about 100 cable channels.Nearly 20 are in English. There is a safe for your passports and cash in the closet where the washer and dryer are located. You set the combination upon your arrival and leave it open for the next guest to set their combo.The area is safe, but I suggest you carry a copy of your passport and keep the original in the safe (Original required if you are driving) along with your return airline tickets. . I email a printable Welcome Letter which gives you internet acess codes, phone numbers for cabs, and many general tips. Most of my guests love my recommendations for tours, secret hideaways, and local restaurants that are still a bargain.

You need to bring your toiletries, sunscreen, beach towels, umbrella, food, and drinks. There is a big supermarket, Mas X Menos, just a few blocks away. A small version of Walmart, Maxi Pali, is a $2 cab ride away on the opposite end of Jaco. You can easily walk to 100 or more restaurants within a mile of JBV. Most eateries are excellent and some have tourist prices and aren't necessarily better. It is fun to walk down Pastor Diaz Blvd., looking at menus for the open air patio restaurants, watching the amazingly fit Costa Ricans who seem to walk everyhere they go...or take the bus. People watching at its finest.

Everone has their favorite places to eat in Jaco. I enjoy the nearby Cocal Casino dinner specials each night. Be sure to ask the attendant by the pool entrance for a 10% discount coupon which he'll pass out happily. Dinner specials average $15 to $20 before the discount. Villa Caletas Restaurant/hotel has one of the most spectacular views and offers food deserving of its 5 star rating....about a 5 minute drive from Jaco. It is worth seeing if nothing more than a drink at sunset just for the amazing view.

The many attractions in Jaco inlude horseback rides up a steep mountain trail (great views and a waterfall), Zip lines, ATV tours of the rain forest mountains and beaches, golf, fishing, diving, surf lessons, wonderful food and drink, and the best night life anywhere. Nearby 'Crocodile Man' and' Mangrove Monkey tours' are very worthwhile. ATV rentals are a block away. The jungle scenery is breath-taking. I recommend wearing shoes instead of sandals on the ATVs. You will get dirty, but the waterfall is a great place to swim and get clean.

Your experience at JBV #4 is likely to provide the memories of a lifetime. Once you stay here, you will come back and tell your friends about the 'speciall place' you found in Costa Rica.

Keywords: 1 Bedroom with Queen sleeper sofa. 4 year old Luxury condo. You can hear the surf from the bedroom. Walk to all the fun parts of Jaco, including restaurants, shopping, and night life.

More Details
Hide Details

I've traveled the world for many years and have been to many exotic desinations including Mauii, Tahiti, Bora Bora, Morea, Grand Caymans, Europe, and scores of trips to all parts of Mexico. I've been to Panama twice, Nicarugua, Columbia, Chile, Agentina, Uruguay, Jamaica and much more. I have been to Costa Rica 16 times, once for three weeks in 2011 to close escrow on my condo in JBV. I was there in 2008 to take a month long Spanish class in Jaco's School of the World. I achieved status as one of the country's top bass fishing professonals in the west for 30 years. I also operated my own insurance agency in So, Calif. I retired in 2002 and made my first trip to Costa Rica in 2005. I watched Jaco develop over the years and have returned several times since then. I have never had a so much fun traveling as I have in Costa Rica. I once thought Mexico would be a nice retirement place, but it has become far too dangerous! And that was before I discovered Costa Rica. There are beautiful parts of Mexico, but none compares to CR! I have truly found paradise! I chose to buy in Jaco Beach Village as I'm convinced it is the best location in Jaco . The combination of luxury, beach location, and a great town with lots to do, convinced me to buy here. I would live in Jaco full time if I didn't have two homes in Texas. If the US economy gets worse, I feel comfortable knowing I have a 'private paradise' in JBV.

My goal is just to pay the expenses like HO association dues, taxes, utilities, and maintenance with rental income. I've kept the rent down, and is priced below anything of similar quality and location. I want to provide you the BEST vacation experience possible. If you call me, I can tell you much more about places to see and secrets to make the most of your visit to beautiful Costa Rica. You can do a Google for Jaco Beach Village and see more photos and videos. You'll be convinced once you do a Google. #4 is by the jaccuzi, 1 unit from the beach.

Pura Vida

Dave

Dave Brittenham purchased this condo in 2011

One of the FEW TRUE beach front condos in Jaco! It is ground floor and only one unit back from the beach. You can hear the surf at night from the bedroom.

Location,,,,location....location.

Jaco Beach Village is the finest in Jaco!!! Only three blocks from the Supermarket.

14 Reviews of Property 362382 in Jaco, Costa Rica

Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 14 reviews
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
5

Enjoyed our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was a very nice vacation with lots to do and many good places to eat in Jaco. The condo is very well appointed. Dave was very helpful. We will stay here again in the future if possible.
Thank You
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
5

More than we hoped for!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our month stay at this condo was wonderful! The description makes it sound too good to be true--but it was true! Location, location! If you're looking for a beach experience with beautiful sunsest, this place won't disappoint. Plus, the city of Jaco is within walking distance. The condo is well equipped, bed is very comfortable, roomy shower, good laundry setup, The condo is clean. Maintenance needs some attention: We missed having a screen door off the living area and the condo is abit "tired-looking". But that certainly didn't affect our day-to-day living. Owner and property manager are extremely helpful and eager to help. The manager can arrange for any tours (our deep-sea fishing trip was exceptional!) and give any useful tips. The residents in the condo complex made our trip even more enjoyable. They included us in BBQ's, hikes, dining out,, but we never felt obligated to join. We have already recommended this property to friends/relatives and will continue to do so. We look forward to our return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Thanks for the fine review....and I look forward to your return. We have been trying to replace the entire screen as the runners have been corroded by the salt air. My property manager is trying to get an entire quality screen which has to be custom made which has caused the delayed maintenance. The granite counter crack is being replaced this week. Tell your friends...I'm lucky as I get the best guests!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Seattle, WA
5

Jimmy's excellent adventure at Dave's

Jimmy's excellent adventure at Dave's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Most excellent location, secure, well equipped, congenial staff and gentlemanly owner - Dave. What more is there to say, than, the next time my travel plans in Costa Rica include a stay in Jaco, I only hope that Dave's place is available. Highly recommend to any and all. Feliz Navidad.

jimmy
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Jimmy
Although we've never met in person, I feel like I know you. It makes me feel great to see guests like you enjoy the many adventures I have found in and near Jaco and now can share through my secret rental hideaway. To me, it is like going on vacation vicariously through my visitors who I try my best to guide to the most fun things to do and places to dine.
Thanks for the wonderful review, and I hope to have you back soon.
Dave
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Dallas,Texas
5

Jaco Beach Village- Dave's Place

Jaco Beach Village- Dave's Place
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Ditto to all of the past wonderful reviews. Dave was terrific at providing a phenomenal experience from all of his travel tips, to his reliable taxi driver (Dave) and super fun property manager (Norm). The condo is in the perfect location to experience Jaco Beach...two blocks from the hustle bustle of town. We walked the town, rented beach cruiser bikes, rode to the zip line tour, went to a surfing contest, Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park. It was terrific to have a high end condo to call home for the week for such a reasonable rate. Have booked again for November b/c there was too much to see in one trip. Thanks Dave!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review. My property manager and driver take pride in providing my guests the added good service they deserve. I understand that the driver, Dave P, had to wait for a few hours due to a delayed flight. Always nice to see a sign with your name as you arrive in a foreign airport.Then Norm, the property manager, met you two gals at 1:30 AM due to the flight delay, to show you the condo and good Costa Rican hospitality. Guests who follow the tips on tours, places to see, and restaurants, which I provide in my "Welcome Letter" have all commented on how their vacation was the best due to the recommendations in the letter and also on my VRBO website.
Glad to have another satisfied guest!
Pura Vida
Dave
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Kelowna, BC, Canada
4

Location was wonderfull, great place for R&R!

Location was wonderfull, great place for R&R!
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We have just spent one week in JBV. The condo is perfect for a couple who want to relax & read under the gazebo. All the other guests and owners, immediately made us feel at home, inviting us to a pot luck and to the restaurants with them. This unit is steps away from the pool & jacuzzi and just across a lane way to the beach. (Never any traffic) The sunsets are beautiful! It was wonderful to have the washer & dryer plus the WIFI, there were english TV channels but we never had a chance to watch any. Another perk is also a phone in the condo. The owner was very friendly and helpful, sending us lots of tips about the area before we arrived. The manager was great, when I mentioned that I needed a salad bowl and baking dish for the oven, about an hour later he arrived with them for me. I had planned to do some cooking as we had been traveling for 7 weeks before our arrival at JBV, so we were ready for a home cooked meal. I understand the manager is looking into getting new pots & pans, which were needed as well. For those who want to eat out, there are lots of great eateries within walking distance. We loved our stay at JBV and hope to return to paradise. Pura Vida
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
United States
5

Everything you could want and MORE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our stay at "Dave's Place" was exceptional earlier in the month! We could not have planned or imagined a better place to have stayed in Jaco! We walked everywhere and could have spent 10 more days exploring everything in and around Jaco. Dave made great suggestions and recommendations which we followed and we were glad we did - lunch at Wahoos, Croc Man Tour, 1/2 Price Sushi Night, Taco Bar,Canopy adventures, etc everything was great!

The condo was so wonderful - very well appointed and it made our stay very comfortable. We loved the Friday Farmer's Market and the kitchen was great for cooking up our own local concoctions after a long day on the beach (or by the pool)!!!! The Jaco Beach Village was not very crowded so at times it felt we had the whole place to ourselves! Which was wonderful!

I would highly recommend Dave's place - we cannot wait to go back! Thank you Dave! What a wonderful vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I was hoping that all went well for you both. Your boyfriend (now fiance) called before your trip to ask me about ideas on where to go to ask for your hand. I'm so happy it all went well! Villa Caletas was a romantic choice. And CONGRATS! I have a great idea for a honeymoon!
Pura Vida
Dave
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Columbus GA
5

Great Vacation Spot - Very Pleased

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Jaco Beach than Dave's condo at JBV. Of all the properties that I saw walking on the beach, this is the place. JBV is a great property - well maintained, secure and convenient. Dave's condo is perfect for a couple looking to get away and there is a hide-a-bed if you have a 3rd. The condo has all you need for your stay. Walk 20 ft out the condo's sliding courtyard door and you are in the jacuzzi. Turn right and you're in the pool. Walk past the pool, out the property gate and you are on the beach. You cannot beat that. If you want quiet and privacy it is also ideal. The most people I saw in the courtyard area at any one time was about 8. I am sure that varies depending on the time of year but the bottom line is JBV is a fairly small property so the occupancy is far superior than some kind of high-rise, etc. The town of Jaco Beach is in walking distance and it's a good beach town with a lot of shopping and restaurants. If you are there on a Friday, make sure to visit the local farmer's market for some great local produce. There are two restaurants that my wife and I loved (although there are quite a few good ones). Within one hundred yards of JBV, there is Paparazzi - a great little Italian restaurant. Who says you can't get good pizza in Costa Rica!! Also, within walking distance down the beach is Bubba's Bohio Bar - a great casual beach front spot with one of the best ground beef soft taco's I've ever eaten. So that gives you a flavor of the property and the town. As for Dave, he is a great host. He provided very informative guidance on the town, the area and Costa Rica as a whole. If I had any questions, he was prompt to respond and thorough in his answers. On the back end of the trip, Dave was also prompt with the refund of the security deposit. It was back within a week of our departure from Costa Rica - speaks very highly of the quality of the owner. Would I recommend Dave's place to a friend - absolutely. Are my wife and I going back - ABSOLUTELY!! Thanks Dave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: OMG! I couldn't have paid to have such a great review. You absolutely made my day. I try to make sure my guests have the best experience possible. The feeling I get after reading your review makes me feel that it is all worthwhile. I guess I just enjoy sharing my little "secret paradise" with good people like you two. Welcome back anytime!
Pura Vida
Dave
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Florida
5

Right across from the Beach!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Me and My husband had a great time at the condo, it was directly across from the beach, so we were able to see the sunsets and take walks. Has a pool and a hot tub, but the hot tub was not hot (my only complaint). We felt very safe here, there were always security doing rounds, checking who was coming and going. the condo itself was clean, comfortable, nice TV, air conditioned, very homey, felt right at home, was able to make our own dinners, relax watch some TV, the bed was comfortable. The toilet had some issues, but i believe that's just Costa Rica's plumbing system. We loved it Dave, thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your condo, it was great, conviently located was able to walk to town. loved it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: LaVonne. I am in Jaco now and opened my email this morning. I saw a review and didn't know who it was from. IT MADE ME PROUD AND PUT A SMILE ON MY FACE! : ))
I was pleasantly surprised by all the kind words. I hear you bought a B&B in the area. It is hard not to fall in love with this special place! Christmas (yesterday) was 83 degrees f and to my amazement, most of the restaurants were open. I can't wait to see your B&B and meet you guys. It is such a close community, everybody cares about you.
Thanks again for the unexpected review!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Lancaster,SC
5

Amazing trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I stayed at JBV last week and it was an awesome experience. Everything Dave said about the condo and about Jaco was correct. The condo is spacious,convenient to all of our tours,to downtown and restaurants and shopping,and right on the beach.We watched surfers in late afternoon right outside the condo. The 24/7 security was nice too. Dave was soooo helpful with telling us the best tours to take,where to eat, etc! I plan to return to Costa Rica and would stay at this condo again!,!!!! Thanks for a wonderful vacation!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Elizabeth. I'm so happy that you and Joe enjoyed your stay in Jaco Beach Village condos. It does my heart good when I hear back from guests who followed my advice on tours, places to see, and restaurants. So far, 100% of my guests have commented that my tips and recommendations made their vacation in paradise, even better! I hope to have you back again soon.For anyone considering Costa Rica, staying at a place with 5 star reviews is a good start!
Pura Vida
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Affordable Beach Front Condo Right on the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362382vb
903 267-1360
Jaco Puntarenas
Eugene, OR
4

Fun vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
As advertized this is right on the beach and walking distance to everything in Jaco. Pool was great and we watched and photographed Scarlet Macaws almost every day! We managed w/o a car for two weeks and did just fine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the unexpected review. I was confident that you would quickly see what an exceptional location and value this is. I get excited hearing about the positive experiences of my guests. I get to relive my many great travel experiences vicariously through people like you. The scarlet Macaws have become regulars in the trees next to the pool. I have over 100 pics of them and maybe 500 pics of the sunsets off the back fence.
If you decide to return anytime soon, just remind me that you are a previous guest to receive a nice discount for your next trip.
Thanks for sharing my secret paradise.
Pura Vida
Dave
Helpful votes: 2/2