Brevard cabin rental - Front from standing by river
Front from standing by river
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Brevard Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Log cabin on the East Fork of the French Broad River. This is our private 'National Forest'. It is nestled in a quiet, rural farming community about 9 miles from Brevard, NC. Our cabin is at the base of a mountain and is a stone's throw from the river. Our elevation is about 2500 feet and you can hike up our mountain out back much higher for some real nice mountain views. The setting is very private and secluded. East Fork Road can barely be seen way upriver and it receives light traffic from local residents and trout fishermen. Ask for our pictures of the surrounding valley of fields, meadows, mountains and old farmsteads.

Our gravel drive is about 1/2 mile in to the cabin on the river and you might spot a wild turkey or white-tailed deer as you head in. An SUV is useful, but not required.

Built in 2007 with 2 nice bedrooms and a loft upstairs. No children under 12 please for safety reasons. Rocking chairs and cot on the porch.

Please email us for more pictures of inside - bedrooms, kitchen, outside yard, the valley.

The Unique Benefits of this Cabin: Several excellent restaurants in Brevard. Out here- R&R is the key. 1st class trout fishing on the river. Sleep on the porch in peace with the river rolling on by. Venture out on the property to find the elusive wood thrush, see the passing osprey, kingfisher or herons that bedevil our trout, find the trillium, jack-in-the-pulpit, peppermint tree (black birch. Plenty of things to do nearby- tubing, kayaking, antiquing, shopping in Brevard, Highlands, Cashiers, or make a short trip to Asheville, about an hour away. See Biltmore, Pisgah National Forest, Jocassee Gorges, NC Gorges State Park, Dupont State Park or hundreds of waterfalls nearby. A mountain biking paradise, too! 5 minutes from Headwaters Outfitters for kayaking and tubing. Guided fishing trips from several nearby outfitters.

Why the Owner Chose Brevard: We fell in love with this property with long range mountain views and 2000 feet of rolling river. It is a wonderful place to relax and it gives you the true mountain feel. We will make it available for rental on a very selective basis, as we use it often ourselves. A map of the property is posted in the cabin to help you find your way around if you wish to hike the mountain trails or follow the trail down the river.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a wildlife biologist and forester, and my family and I love this property. Everyone who visits says it is an amazing "part of Heaven!". It is our family getaway and we live nearby in Brevard, NC. We take special care of this property for our personal use. We have only recently decided to make it available for rentals, on a part-time basis. The fishing picture is right out front and the river is perfect for flyfishing or light tackle.

Rosman is convenient to Brevard, Highlands, Cashiers and Asheville where you can find antiques, clothing stores, fly shops and plenty of local hospitality. The best deals are at the scattered Satuday morning yard sales, I am told.

Brevard's downtown tailgate market is open Tues. and Sat. mornings with fresh vegetables, nuts, fruits, organic meats, locally prepared breads, condiments, etc. fare. You can find anything from fried lobster to baked trout to the finest filet in the nearby restaurants.

Mark purchased this cabin in 2007

We fell in love with this property with long range mountain views and 2000 feet of rolling river. It is a wonderful place to relax and it gives you the true mountain feel. We will make it available for rental on a very selective basis, as we use it often ourselves. A map of the property is posted in the cabin to help you find your way around if you wish to hike the mountain trails or follow the trail down the river.

7 Reviews of Property 362286 in Brevard, North Carolina

Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Spartanburg , SC
5

Dads Birthday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Just got home from one of the greatest weekends of my life. This cabin is and our expierience there was everything Mark said it was and so much more. Its a beautiful place with plenty of trout in the stream .A great place to Fish and just relax. I highly recommend this location . We all did and were going back again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Russ: It was a pleasure meeting y'all and especially nice to have your Dad there for his birthday! What a nice gift.Take care, hurry back and thank you for taking time to write a review of the ol' cabin. Mark
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Sullivans Island, South Carolina
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We absolutely loved this cabin. Neat, clean, comfortable and spacious! We really hate to tell anyone else about this gem. Land is georgeous, quiet and the trout stream is well stocked. Fresh trout for dinner was the best!! Bring your fishing pole and some creek shoes. Mark provided great information about "in town" restaurants. Outdoor dining for lunch is awesome!
We'll be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Sutton, MA
5

PERFECT MOUNTAIN GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
A perfect place to relax, fish, and be still. Yet, close enough to shopping, hiking, outdoor activities, antiqueing and good restaurants.
The cabin is comfortable, clean, well stocked and just far enough away from it all to feel like you are in your own paradise.
Four adults stayed here comfortably with room to spare. We had so much fun grillling, laughing, fishing and listening to the rushing river that we had to make ourselves leave the cabin. It is soooooo relaxing that you don't want to leave.

We fished every day and caught beautiful trout daily. If you love to flyfish the river is easy to fish and it is private water!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can't say enough positive things about the owner----FRIENDLY, ACCOMODATING, HELPFUL, RESPONSIVE---SUPER NICE PERSON WHO MAINTAINS A BEAUTIFUL LOG CABIN.

Highly recommend "Hog Heaven" especially if you love the outdoors, fishing, want to be comfortable and close to other activities. Brevard is a short drive away and a lovely town; that is if you can pry yourself away from the peace and tranquility that this well maintained, clean and comfortable cabin offers!!!!

My party of 4 adults will be returning next month for another week of fun..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking time to say such nice things Susan! Please be careful on your trip. Looking forward to having you back in the mountains....and Fall is nearly upon us!! Thanks, Mark
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Atlanta
5

Wonderful, intimate cabin on great trout stream! A fly fisher's dream.

Wonderful, intimate cabin on great trout stream! A fly fisher's dream.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My wife and another couple spent several enjoyable days at the cabin. The girls read, hiked seven waterfalls in the area, and hit Brevard for an afternoon or two of in town culture. My fishing partner and I spent many productive and peaceful hours on the stream which flows right next to the cabin. The water was cold and clear, even in late April, and filled with healthy trout. My fishing buddy is relatively new to fly fishing and caught more fish in one morning than he had caught most of the last year. I have fished a bit more and had a great time as well, and we didn't even work the entire stretch of stream on the property! A great location, excellent kitchen and comfortable beds next to a productive freestone stream - what more could you ask for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Georgia
5

Fantastic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I had the extreme pleasure of staying in this magnificent riverside cabin from April 1st through 9th. The well built log cabin was spotlessly clean. The owner was always available to answer any questions we had but was kind enough not to be a nuisance.
I would recommend this wonderful cabin to anyone looking for a secluded getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Sumter, SC
5

Great Mountain Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We stayed at the lob cabin on the river and had a wonderful time! We found the owner had left us some goodies from the local bakery when we checked in. We found the cabin meticulously clean and cozy. We built a fire, watched the river go by and my husband had a great time trout fishing. The local restaurants were fabulous and it was a peaceful, wonderful weekend, well worth the money. The picutures do not do the little cabin justice, as it really is secluded and very private. I can't think of a better place to sit, relax, read my book and listen to the river. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Log Cabin on Mountain River - Very Private, Great Trout Fishing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362286
+1 828 577-5668
Brevard Asheville Area
Green Pond,SC
5

Robert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Everything advertised about the property is true. It is a high quality cabin within a very beautiful, private setting. The fishing is great and the sound of the nearby river is soothing. I can't speak about the nearby amenities because once we were there, my family didn't want to leave. The photograph of the view from the porch doesn't do justice to the proximity or beauty of the river. It is a wonderful place for a mountain getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway