Kapoho house rental - The house sits right on the tide pool, swim and snorkel right downstairs - view from the ocean, waves are a few hundred feet behind the photographer
The house sits right on the tide pool, swim and snorkel right downstairs - view from the ocean, waves are a few hundred feet behind the photographer
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2 - 4

Kapoho Makai has pristine natural views like no other rentals with over one mile of tidepool views on three sides, and from the dining room, living room and 1 of the bedrooms. A very private location with no neighbors and no houses and no lights in the view when in the house and on the Lanai (there's 1 neighbor but we never saw them more than once in a year)! Experience water on four sides when tides are 3.0 and above. Enjoy sun and moon rises and the refreshing ocean breeze with little or no flying pests. You can leave doors and windows open and not need the ceiling fans. This is the freshest air in the world and a most pleasant location to enjoy the sea and tidepools.

You can literally snorkel from the house in the famous Kapoho tidepool that are at your door step. We are located on the edge of the Tidepool Preserve so fishing is allowed to the east and daily locals try with nets and spears with occasional success. The preserve offers entertaining vistas both below and above the water.

Location Information: A five minute drive will take you to Ahalnui Beach Park with its amazing 90+ degree geothermally-heated tide-pool. This is a gorgeous place for the whole family. You are only 15 minutes to unique Pahoa town, which is a step back in time. You will find many very good restaurants to choose from and a ''Real Hawaiian'' atmosphere! You will love this place. We will provide a 'Welcome Letter' once you book so you could have very detailed info of the area as of what to do to have the most fun.

Additional Details for the Rental: Lanai: Great for dining, cocktail and wine happy hours, reading, or just hanging out there to enjoy the Pacific ocean view, sea breeze, or maybe whale watching if you are lucky. Broadband Internet: You may either go wireless, or using the cable modem. Remember to bring your own lap top if you have to work some during your stay; otherwise a smart phone is perfect since most major cellular carriers have connections there. Kid Friendly: The tide pools downstairs are kids' snorkeling paradise! they are not just for 'big kids'! One of the best snorkeling areas among all the Hawaiian islands since it's been the marine conservation area since 1960s.

The Unique Benefits at this House: The Pacific Ocean is right in front of the house, between you and the Pacific, there're the tide pools where you and your children can swim and snorkel in your backyard any time during the day, talk with the fish, swim with the turtle, it's heaven. We found this area is the best of Hawaii, unlike most everywhere else with sandy beach and resort one after another, this is the real and original Hawaii.

More Details
Hide Details

We love the real Hawaiiana, that's why we purchased our home here and turned it into a lovely and wonderful vacation rental home, so more people could enjoy the nice and unique setting of the house. With our own 30 year home furnishing business experiences, the house is very nicely furnished and decorated, yet comfortable for any age group of folks to have a great vacation and enjoy the Hawaiiana and aloha. And we are glad we could be able to share our home with folks from everywhere of the world.

We found this area is the best of Hawaii, unlike most everywhere else with sandy beach and resort one after another, this is the real and original Hawaii.

Susanna Zhao Billings purchased this house in 2005

We found this area is the best of Hawaii, unlike most everywhere else with sandy beach and resort one after another, this is the real and original Hawaii.

The Pacific ocean is right in front of the house, between you and the Pacific, it's the tide pool where you and your children can swim and snorkel any time during the day, talk with the fish, swim with the turtle, it's heaven.

48 Reviews of Property 362217 in Kapoho, Hawaii

Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 48 reviews
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
5

Kapoho water front deck house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our family had a great time at this location in Kapoho.
My sis from Hilo recommended it. We enjoyed having a few local friends over for cocktails on the spacious deck. Great deck furniture, awesome book collection and nice kitchen....plus an unbeatable view! Oh yea, the ocean creatures are incredible in the tide pools out front.
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
5

A Beautiful Place on the Pacific

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
On out first morning we were siting on the deck drinking our coffee and staring out at the blue Pacific when a humpback whale breached right in front of us. This was the first day of a beautiful stay a Kapohomakai. We had everything we needed in this lovely clean house right on the tide pools. We swam everyday, cooked our own meals in the well equipped kitchen and absolutely reveled in the fantastic view. We also enjoyed the nearness to Volcano National Park, where we took many hikes. And the nearness to of charmingly old school Hilo. There are so few tourists here you really feel like you're away from it all. This was one of the best travel values, (remember the breaching whale viewed from the deck?) bang for the buck we've ever had. No complaints at all.
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
5

Spectacular place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful time in this very well equipped house with just amazing views on the ocean! The Puna area where this house is located is not touristical at all but full of hippies ... we felt like in a movie from 1970! Don't miss the so called Space Market on Saturday morning - there, you will see them all!
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
5

Stunning house on the ocean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The setting is simply stunning. The ocean is right in front of you - just hop over the stone wall and you're in the tide pools! There's no traffic, very few people, and no noise - just the ocean, the stars, and the breeze.
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
5

Beautiful views on the water.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Enjoyed staying on and snorkeling in the tide pools. The property had all the amenties described and was very clean. Beautiful views and loved the deck.
Owner's Response: From guests' reviews we get to know what's going on at the house since we are not living there. Glad to know "the house is clean" - we know our cleaning crew does a great job but it's still special to hear it from guests who stayed there. Thank you, thank you and thank you for spending time to write this review.
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I had a wonderful time. Where else can you find an affordable ocean front home in Hawaii?
The view from the deck is stunning. With the tide up water is all around. Waves crash in the distance and provide a relaxing sound at night.
This may be the "rainy side" but we had great weather. We had some brief showers in the morning but nothing which distrusted our plans.
The property is very private. We never saw anyone at the house next door. There are neighbors across the street but the area was very quiet.
The house is as-advertised and very comfortable.
We hope to return to this property one day.
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
San Francisco Bay Area
4

A Nice, Peaceful Place right on the water

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is a nice place to stay in Kapoho, and is very quiet and peaceful. This house sits right over the Kaphoho tide pools, although the water only surrounds the house at high tide, and snorkeling close to the house is only possible at high tide, so you have to time it. And at high tide the road in one spot has several inches of water on it, so you must drive through it carefully.
There is a flight of steep stairs to get into the house, but the living quarters are all on one floor. The house is small but comfortable, and the furnishings are, by and large, of high quality. The lounge chairs on the lanai are the most comfortable ever! The large covered lanai is great because it does rain fairly frequently there. And the kitchen is well-supplied with dishes, etc. plus some staple items like oil, vinegar, sugar, salt, etc. But it is a long way to the nearest grocery store, so be sure to shop before you arrive. The water is good, because it is on the county water system, unlike some places in Kapoho which use rainwater systems. The beds were comfortable. There were screens on the windows, so we could have good air circulation, and were never uncomfortably hot. There are ceiling fans in the living room and bedrooms. It would be nice if the front door also had a screen. Three things to be aware of: the half-bath in the master bedroom is just a former clothes closet with a toilet and sink in it, and just the sliding mirrored closet doors for closure. And the second bedroom is set off from the living room by a thin wall that does not go to the ceiling, so sounds carry through the wall. Cell phone reception is limited to one tiny spot in the master bedroom next to the window. But there is a good wifi router for Internet, and there is a landline phone for local calls.
Food shopping is best at Malama Market on the north end of Pahoa, next to the highway. There is also a Long's Drugs there. We love going to dinner at Kaleo's Restaurant in Pahoa, where you can have a free dessert if you can dance a hula, and on Wednesday evenings there is a small farmers' market/food/crafts/music event at the end of the road in Kalapana. The drive down the coast from Kapoho to Kalapana is beautiful. There is a very large farmers' market on the highway just north of Pahoa on weekends with food and crafts, too, and a small area with petroglyphs there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
Seattle
5

Fabulous vacation property and the ultimate spot for relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Friends who used to stay at Kapoho Makai (and now own property nearby they loved it so much) recommended this property, and we were thrilled by our stay here. The ability to snorkel right outside the deck, some of the best fish diversity I've seen in Hawaii, and gorgeous views are just the start here. The kitchen is well-equipped and we cooked great meals for ourselves and our friends, were able to mix great cocktails with the equipment provided, and loved waking up and having coffee on the deck to a Pacific sunrise. We're definitely staying here again, and recommend it very very highly. You won't want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
Farmington, NM
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
You just can't describe the area in words and the pix don't do it justice. No negative surprises except some tiny sugar ants that loved the toilet paper one night. Weird! The view and the sea breeze off the lanai was incredible! The jungle was lush and we loved the narrow coast Red Road under the tree canopy. Snorkling at the Kapoho tide pools was awesome. DO NOT MISS THE NIGHT EXCURSION ON THE LAVA BOAT WITH CAPT. SHANE! It's a rough ride but no worse than prolonged bad air turbulence and they lay it on heavy with the disclaimers but don't let em talk you out of it. We also took a tour to the telescopes on Mauna Kea. Pricey as well but a must if you are an astronomy buff or REALLY wanna see the prestine night sky light up with stars. This is not the side of the island for you if you wanna lay on the beach every day. Little or no beaches on this side of the island except a nude black sand beach and its an all day trip to Kona and back where the nice beaches are. We never even went over there, as so much to see on the Hilo side. Atmosphere on the Hilo side is very laid back. Little town of Pahoa was quaint. Lots of true Hippies and youngster wannabes in the area especially down by the Kalapana lava flows a few miles from the house. Shops in Pahoa reflect that and are very interesting. Swap meets at Pahoa and the Kalapana Village Cafe on Sun and Wed were fun. Excellent Hawaiian breakfasts at the Kalapana Vill Cafe mile down the street on edge of the lava flow that wiped out Kalapana. Super food at Kaleo's in Pahoa for way less $ than you'd expect for the quality. Regrets? 1) My wife scared of helicopters or would toured the island and flown over the volcano. 2) Missed the whales by a few days. Maaaybeeee we saw one breaching way up the coast from house but couldn't see it even with the binoculars. There are two sets and a spotting scope at the house. Direct TV worked well for us a couple of nights. Rented a jeep with every intention of seeing Southpoint and green sand beech but rental contract forbid it EVEN IN A 4WD JEEP! Warning! Stay away from Lava Tree and Mackenzie Parks after dark or girls alone. Very secluded and often you are alone. Overall: Highly recommend! But remember, beeches scarce but snorkeling excellent. Aloha and Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Surrounded by the Pacific, sit on the tide pools, snorkel right downstairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362217
+1 805 878-0087
Kapoho Puna District
Topanga, Ca.
5

Wonderful vacation spot.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Great house great location. Best snorkeling on the island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway