Captain Cook estate rental - Infinity ocean and sunset view from lanai.
Infinity ocean and sunset view from lanai.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook Estate Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 1 Bedroom 1 Bath. Ask about additional bedroom availability.

KAI EA 'BREATH OF THE SEA

Welcome to a place where the vastness of sea and sky seemingly meet in endless horizon. It is ideal for couples and honeymooners wanting total privacy. Get away from it all at KAI EA. Kai meaning sea joined with Ea (a ah) meaning breath. This awesome home is upstaged only by it's extraordinary ocean views.....and the 'breath' of the sea below. Situated on five gated acres for total privacy.

A tasteful Asian theme defines this contemporary cliffside home on five private and gated acres. The upscale home celebrates, and was designed to capture, the breathtaking views of the wide open Pacific Ocean, miles of coastline and white water all the way to Maui, magnificent sunsets and moon rises filling the sky and reflected on the glistening sea, backdrop of clouds hanging on the mountain with stars and distant houses lit up at night. The ruins of an ancient Hawaiian village is seen on the coastal plain below. The home has multiple levels, with a handful of steps, to capture the view in every direction. There are many sunny or shady lanais to decompress and meditate and take in this vista. There are no other rentals or occupants on the property for your complete privacy.

A recent local magazine (At Home) featured this amazing home and praised: 'A view so high, so spectacular, so sweeping, making it an apt lair for native owls and hawks'. The panoramic view, yet closeness to the sea and nature's displays, make KAI EA the perfect place to forget the hassles of everyday life. The incredeible vistas have a calming and grounding effect.

Situated for the perfect climate at 800' with warm sunny breezy days and comfortable nights. The home is perched above unique Pebble Beach (black polished pebbles) and in winter it is a birthing and mating cove for migrating whales. It is common for the call of whales and flapping flukes to break the silence and treat the eye. Crashing waves up and down the coast reverberate when the surf is high. Be sure and bring your binoculars!

The newer fully appointed home is large, open and spacious. It is accentuated with high ceilings, superior craftmanship and furnished with many Asian antiques and artwork. Lending to the ambiance are oversized Italian tile and Brazilian cherry wood floors, roomy well equipped gourmet kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. There are many ceiling fans, huge soaking tub and a private tiled and enclosed outdoor shower for after the beach. A totally separate bedroom available also (please ask about extra guests) with choice of plush top queen bed or slightly more firm Serta Spinal Logic queen bed. Master has it's own private sitting area and walls of glass.

With all this, you are in the peaceful country yet close to a variety of great beaches for excellent snorkeling and kayaking and just the right distance from nightlife in Kailua-Kona. A variety of restaurants and shopping dot the way.

An excellent grocery store and small mall is about 20 minutes away with smaller convenience stores closer. South Kona is our local 'breadbasket' for fresh produce, fruit, Kona coffee and macademia nuts. There are abundant coffee plantation

More Details
Hide Details

The most awe inspiring view of coast, sea and ocean is hard to duplicate.

Many native birds soaring overhead, feral goats on the distant hills and sounds of the sea and whale sounds and sightings. As well as the full display of weather changes, clouds and stars!

20 Reviews of Property 362208 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 20 reviews
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Alberta
5

Definitely "As Advertised"!

Definitely "As Advertised"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I were fortunate to stay for one month in this breathtaking home. The photos are accurate but can't convey the "feel" of the place adequately. After two weeks it was as though this was our new home, and we almost forgot the snow that was falling on our actual home. In spite of the many wonderful beaches and other Island attractions some days we preferred to just stay home. We ate almost all meals at home and some days just sat on the lanai and read or napped. It was a very restful vacation in a spectacular setting.
We recommend this rental for anyone who wants comfort and seclusion as well as convenience. We hope to return next year.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Port Townsend, WA
5

Serene Big Island Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our week was wonderful--very relaxing. The Asian decor is lovely, and the patio and view are outstanding. We were amused by the wild goats and occasional wild turkey. The landscaping is beautiful. Quite close to the Painted Church, the City of Refuge, and coffee plantations. We spent one night at the Volcano House--highly recommended while the current activity in Halemaumau glows in the dark.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, Wa
5

Breath of the Sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at Breath of the sea 2 weeks. What a wonderful escape! It was more than we expected in amenities, peace and quiet.
We stayed 1 week prior in Kona. We had a condo right on the ocean. It was loud, crowded and traffic was a constant.
Kai-Ea was wonderfully quiet and private. We could easily access everything we wished but it did take some driving. Then we could come back to a private sanctuary with beautiful views and perfect solitude.
Dennis was great to work with. He asked several times if we needed anything or had any issues.
Whether you do any ocean activities or not, I highly recommend the outdoor shower. Standing in the sunshine, looking out at the ocean and occasionally glimpsing a dolphin or whale isn't a bad thing.
As I am sure others have said, there are a lot of steps! If you have an issue with stairs I would not recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Bellingham, WA
5

True relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We completely enjoyed Kai Ea! Everything everyone else wrote in these reviews is true. This is one of the most amazing places we have ever stayed. So I will simply add this. I thought we would be on the road every day of our 6 day stay, exploring the beauty of the island. We ended up spending three on the road and three on the lanai reading, listening to the doves, watching the birds line up for breakfast at a nearby bird-feeder, attempting to spot the goats as they grazed below us, attempt to guess where the fishing boats were going, and reading. We woke early add enjoyed the sunrise.

Honestly, what amazed me most was that we found ourselves whispering to each other: it was so wonderfully peaceful we didn’t want to make noise!

Oh, we didn’t even turn the TV on once.

Please read the others for great comments on groceries, etc., etc., etc.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We loved every minute of it....

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Dennis,
We absolutely "hated" that we had to leave today! What a beautiful home and beautiful view!! I feel like my family and I got to experience the "real" Hawaii!! I am so happy with this trip and we so enjoyed the house!! There are no words to describe waking up to this view, enjoying the peace, enjoying the silence, watching the breathtaking sunsets and remembering how important it is to feed your sole with beauty as often as possible!! We loved every minute of it!! Thank you for allowing us to have this experience! We will never forget it!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Uxbridge, MA
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What a place! We were stunned! The pictures on VRBO are great, but multiply that by 10!! We have always had good luck with VRBO, but this place has to be THE nicest place we have stayed in on many trips to Hawaii. It's really a private villa with fabulous views, meticulously cared and prepared for guests to enjoy.

To add to other comments of recent reviews, I agree that the multi levels can be tricky, especially after dark where I tripped more than once on the lanai. Watch it after a Mai Tai or two!

I would highly recommend this property to those looking to get away from it all. For us it was a bit remote, i.e. 30+ minutes to Kona. Dinner one evening at Mauna Lani Resort was a 3 hour round trip in the car. The main road to and from Kona and finding the entrance to the house, can be challenging after dark and when its raining. As for nearby beaches, they are beautiful, but rocky. We did not attempt to swim there. If you are looking for a white sand beach, plan a day trip.

Overall, Kai Ea was a wonderful and enchanting place to enjoy a stay on the Big Island! Thank you Dennis.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your comments and glad you enjoyed Kai Ea. I did want to stress that there are a variety of great beaches for swimming nearby. And also many fine restaurants within a short drive (Keei Cafe) or even Kona (Huggos on the ocean) with 30 minutes. But, it is a Big Island and it is all good! Dennis
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

My Favorite Place!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Hi Dennis,
We had a great time, the house is my favorite place that I ever stayed. Right now we are staying at a house on a cliff close to Waipio Valley with an amazing view, but my heart is at Kai Ea! Thank you very much....we hope to return....
Note: This is Rich and Marnita's second stay at Kai Ea and he wrote a great review last year. So, mahalo nui loa! Dennis
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Perfect get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed at Kai Ea for 8 days, and couldn't have been more impressed! The first thing we said to each other when we arrived was that we wished we could share the place with our friends and family!
I've stayed in several vacation rentals on the Big Island over the past few years, and this is the first one that I've felt compelled to write a review of.
First off...the pictures don't do the property justice. It is spacious, and airy, with lots of natural light. The kitchen, dining room and living room constitute the main living area, all with amazing views down the hill to the ocean below.
The master bedroom has amazing views as well. You can see the water while laying on the bed!
There is one other, cute, smaller bedroom on the back side of the house that doesn't have a view.
The property is very private, located at the end of a long driveway off of the main highway. The only sounds we heard were the many birds that start chirping as the day began.
Everything was well maintained and clean... stocked with towels and kitchen utensils/appliances.
Unlike some of the places I've rented from, there were no beach supplies. We left a couple of body boards that we bought at Costco for the stay.
Overall, it's an amazing, peaceful place to stay while on the Big Island. We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent just relaxing "at home"... eating breakfast on the patio and lounging around, reading.
Keep in mind, the location is fairly remote. You will need to drive 20 minutes to get to the nearest grocery store or restaurant. It is close to some of the Island's best snorkeling and The Place of Refuge.
Buy groceries in Kona on your way from the airport.
All in all, this place is amazing! If the Captain Cook area interests you, I would highly recommend staying at Kai Ea.
One caveat...The living room and bedroom are "sunken," and there are steps that need to be navigated. It looks nice, and isn't an issue... except at night. If you are one that gets up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, leave a night light on someplace. The steps from the bedroom into the bathroom can be particularly hazardous!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to write such an extensive review of Kai Ea and glad you enjoyed the home and the natural beauty. Sorry you missed the beach equipment that is stored outside. We do try and make clear about "trade off" of the steps that are necessary to capture the incredible views. We do have an abundance of nite-lites also that can be moved to where there are needed.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Tokyo, Japan
5

Paradise found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I stayed at this property for 10 days over the Christmas and New Year holidays. It is an amazing place just as the owner describes it on the VRBO website. It is a large, beautiful, well-maintained property perched on a cliff overlooking a huge expanse of the Pacific ocean. It was very quiet during our visit with only the sounds of birds singing and the occasional bleating of some of the wild goats roaming through the vast lava fields below the property. We spent most of our time sitting outside on the huge lanais which wrap around the property just looking at the ocean and listening to the crashing of the waves. The owner took care of every aspect of the rental transaction in a prompt manner and returned our deposit within a day or two of our leaving the property. I recommend this place if you want to relax without the hassle of Kona and the other tourist areas. Pebble Beach is at the bottom of the hill in Kona Paradise as well as another deserted black sand beach a 10 minute walk north from there. There are also hiking trails through the lava fields with some amazing views to the south of Pebble Beach. I took about 2,000 photos during the 10 days I was there. Captain Cook is about 20 minutes away by car over a road with little traffic. There are numerous restaurants, a farmer's market on Sundays, a nice supermarket, used bookstore, and loads of interesting shops and beaches to visit nearby. This was the best place I have ever rented on any of the Hawaiian Islands.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kai Ea 'Breath of the Sea' Sweeping Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362208vb
+1 808 328-7338
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Fairfax, CA
5

Sitting on top of the world

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I spent four nights at the "Breath of Sea" and there are no words to describe the beauty, peacefulness, serenity that captures this lovely home. We spent hours sitting on the terrace, morning and evenings, watching the skyline, the sunsets, reading, playing ukulele and taking numerous photos every five minutes. My dream is to stay there for a month! Please keep this our secret, Dennis, and don't change a thing! Mahalo, and Yours truly, Barbara Plaut
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1