Sea Ranch house rental - View of Sailfish from Sea Ranch Trail
View of Sailfish from Sea Ranch Trail
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-3)

'Sailfish' is a one bedroom home located on the West Meadow of The Sea Ranch. The Sea Ranch is about one hundred miles north of San Francisco and about 55 miles south of Mendocino.

This ten mile stretch of land is an internationally famous vacation spot known for blending architecture with nature. The land consists of majestic bluff tops and accessible sandy beaches, coastal ocean meadows and redwood forested hillsides of approximately 3500 acres. Fifty percent of the land is dedicated to open space, which is shared by all property owners and guests. The Sea Ranch concept is to”live lightly on the land”, with landscape playing a major role in housing design. Architectural review takes place through The Sea Ranch Design Department; There are currently 1778 homes (1/2011). Many activities are available, such as to play a round of golf on a Scottish-style course, hike on the fifty miles of maintained trails, fish, swim, whale watch or kayak. The Sea Ranch has 3 recreational centers, each with a tennis court, a pool and sauna. The Sea Ranch also has a dog park, children's playground called 'One Eyed Jacks' and equestrian barns (no rentals but will board horses for visitors). The nearby town of Gualala provides restaurants, supermarkets, medical facilities and other amenities. For More Information on 'The Ranch' please see the website link.

'Sailfish' was built in 2002 with the idea of bringing a sailboat to land. It is a unique structure architecturally and has the utimate privacy from the 'commons (open space)' that exist on three sides. It perches on the side of a slope and has views down & across a thicket of vegetation to the rocky shore beyond . 'Sailfish' (Gilbert House) was one of approximately thirty homes featured in 'The Sea Ranch', a book written by Donlyn Lyndon & Jim Alinder, (2004). It is also included in the 2013 edition entitled, 'The Sea Ranch:Fifty years of Architecture, Place and Community on the Northern California Coast'. The houses they chose to include in this 300 page book demonstrate the Sea Ranch 'vision'. 'Sailfish' was described in it as a 'diminutive shingle castle'. The 2004 edition sits on a shelf in the bedroom and the 2013 edition sits on the blue shelf in the entry, so please take a look. Trail access is just below the house . . . some trails are designated for biking and horseback riding. TSR trails map is also available for guests and will be found in the Guest binder on the blue entry shelf. From the house you can walk to Stengel beach in about 10 minutes and to Ohlson Recreation Center in about 15 minutes. 'Sailfish' has many artistic touches throughout and includes original mosaic wall murals. For those interested in preparing gourmet meals, it has a fully-equipped galley kitchen. The downstairs living area has a sofa that makes out into a very comfortable bed. The downstairs area is open to the loft-style bedroom above, so the house is ideal for a couple and a well-mannered dog, not for young children. 'Sailfish' has a 'No Shoes Rule'.

'Sailfish' has been described by previous rental guests as . . .

'A special place for re-awakening the senses and the passion that lies within each of us, all too often submerged under the pressures of day-to-day life. A retreat designed & conceived, it seems, for lovers like us to know each other a bit more, surrounded by all that nature has to offer along this spectacular coast.' (Don & Brigitte)

'We have stayed in many places up here and yours is one of the best maintained and equipped that we've had the pleasure of renting. We loved the clever use of interior & exterior space and would recommend this house to other couples'. (Shawn, Susie & Ruby, the dog)

Keywords: beach house

ocean view home

Sea Ranch Getaway

Coastal retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Christine was born and raised in Sacramento. She received a B.A. in Art/English and a M.A. degree in Educational Administration from California State University, Sacramento. She retired from a thirty-three year career in education in 2007 after working the last 16 years at Folsom High School in Folsom. Once earning a real estate sales license in 2002, she worked part time in both resale and new home sales in the Sacramento area. Following retirement, she moved to The Sea Ranch and into the house she built in 2002. Christine has worked for the last 4 years in real estate and still has an active license with Coldwell Banker Pacific Real Estate in Gualala. I will be traveling extensively in the next year thus making 'Sailfish' available to renters. I have a yellow lab named Salty Dog (pictured) that travels with me.

Christine Gilbert purchased this house in 2002

I bought the lot in 1999 and participated in the design & building of the 850 square foot 'Sailfish'. I chose the lot because of its privacy & white water view.

3 viewing decks, hot tub viewing of the stars & sea; close access to trails, beach, town & recreational center, wildlife everywhere!

20 Reviews of Property 362101 in Sea Ranch, California

Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful visit to Sea Ranch. "Sailfish" is a lovely, cozy, comfortable place for two people ( our dog agrees, even if he wasn't allowed on the couch), spotless and richly decorated with the owner's paintings and mosaics. It felt like a home, which it is, and not like a "rental." The location was ideal for us, not right on the beach but close to a hiking trail and sited for privacy and views of the ocean and sunsets. We hope to return some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

Sailfish

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I have been renting homes at the Sea Ranch for more than thirty years. This home is by far, one of our best. The home, albeit a bit small, is well-appointed, with a fully-stocked kitchen. I mean fully stocked. The setting was private, peaceful and a lovely view of the Pacific from the deck and hot-tub. Everything was clean, with clear instructions for appliances and TV. The only exception was the TV is a little quirky and probably could use some updating soon.
We felt as though we were visiting the home of friends; very inviting and cozy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: A new flat screen TV, sound bar and Blu-Ray Disc/DVD player are to be installed in early February.
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
United States
5

Top Notch, Attention to **EVERY** detail - Artists Paradise !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Such an amazing attention to detail...from sparkling cleanliness, to beach friendly true art everywhere you look, to comfy/cozy bed w high quality linens, high quality cookware and super sharp knives that really bite! This 1 bedroom cottage was so comfortable for us we wish we'd have stayed longer!! We'll be back for certain. Thank you for having a keen eye for lovely & warm details that makes a home away from home... well, a home! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Reno, Nv
5

A special place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I have stayed at many homes on TSR and in Gualala for the past 30 years. None was as comfortable, private and clean as Sailfish. The views are great and the house is well designed and well equipped. The owner has thought of everything. It has a beautiful hot tub with a great view. A very special place.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

Perfect House for a Couple and Two Dogs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home is so beautiful and unique. The view is wonderful. We loved that there are decks with furniture out every door. Our dogs enjoyed playing in the fenced yard. What a bonus!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Birthhday Celebration for two....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Perfect...everything was just perfect! Exactly as described. Quality furnishings,beautiful artwork and mosaics....a well loved home. Comfortable and FULLY equipped with the best of everything. We enjoyed our week. Quiet! the only visitors were the quail family and deer.....We enjoyed the lazy mornings on the deck and soaking in the hot tub. Range of dinner options in town met our needs. Our weather was perfect. I would love to stay at Sailfish again. Thanks. Go early to TWO FISH BAKING CO for the sticky buns! Worth getting up for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Santa Rosa
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I and our dog spent the most beautiful weekend at the Sailfish. The house is beautifully designed, decorated and immaculate! We felt so comfortable and were the most relaxed we have been on any previous vacation. Our dog, Miko, was so happy and blissfully tired from all the trail walks and beach fun we had. The views from every deck are gorgeous and the hot tub is perfectly situated, very private and also with an ocean view. The fenced yard and trail access very convenient, easy walk to beach. Saw lots of wildlife and we can't wait to return for our next getaway which will hopefully be for a longer stay. Thank you, Christine, for sharing your piece of heaven with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Brooklyn, NY
5

Special Sea Ranch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house is a charmer. the location is magnificent. Loved the hiking trails and the hot tub under the stars. Owner's artwork makes the house unique and special. It is a bit remote, but that is also part of the appeal. Would definitely recommend it. Hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Petaluma
5

Beautiful spot on the coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Sailfish. The house is located in such a way as to provide great privacy. Right next to a trail that leads to a wonderful ocean front hike. Views are wonderful from every room and all three decks provide sea views. The house is equipped with more than you will ever need! Sailfish is comfortable, spotless and the tiled mosaics are really special. The hot tub is placed in just the right spot to soak up the ocean view.

Christine the owner was friendly and easy to work with. We were so happy to find a dog friendly property and the fenced in yard was a great bonus. All the Sea Ranch trails are open to dogs as long as they are leashed.

We enjoyed lunch at the lodge, dinner at Saint Orres and days of hiking on both sides of highway one. I'd go back to Sailfish in a heartbeat. This cozy house is perfect for two people and their furry companions. Five stars and big recommendations for this lovely spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Serene Sailfish Retreat with White Water Views of the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362101vb
(707) 775-8027
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Folsom, CA
5

New Year Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This home is a wonderful example of coastal living. Sailfish is perfect for a couple and the accommodations are excellent. We loved using the hot tub and looking at the waves. Would highly recommend this place and the owner was very easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2