Kyoto apartment rental - Exterior View (entrance to the lower level)
Exterior View (entrance to the lower level)
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kyoto Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 4

The Gion House is a ninety year old wooden, traditional-style ''machiya,'' located on an atmospheric side street in the awe-inspiring geisha quarters of Gion, in the heart of old Kyoto. It was fully restored by renowned Kyoto-based architect Geoffrey Moussas. It has been shown in two national architecture/interior-related magazines, and has been shown on a program on NHK (Japan's national TV station.)

The Gion House Lower Level is the entire ground floor, which has it's own entrance, and is completely independent from the Gion House Upper Level. The Lower Level was extensively renovated in March 2010, to make it suitable for vacation rental.

This unit has a large, traditional 'genkan' with stone step, which is typical of Japanese machiya. After removing your shoes, you step up, into a warm and cozy environment, with many architectural features that are particular to a traditional Japanese house. Whenever possible, natural materials are used...wood, paper, tatami, glass, and stainless steel. Upon closer observation, one can see that modern elements have been integrated with the old ones...there is radiant heating under the floors, to keep the place warmer in the Winter's than your typical heating system. There is a fully equipped kitchen with high quality utensils and ceramic dishware made in Kyoto.

There are two bedrooms. One is Japanese style, a double futon on the tatami mat floors and ceilings of washi (traditional Japanese paper.) The other is bedroom has wood flooring, with a very solid and comfortable double bed. Both bedrooms have ample closet space.

The living area is adjacent to its own small garden. There is a sofa, and there is also a dining table placed over a traditional Japanese 'horikatsu,' an open space in the floor, which allows for comfortable seating.

Throughout are antique lighting fixtures and sliding doors, in addition to antique tansu chests and intricately handcrafted woodwork, which is also antique.

The location is superb in terms of being central and being steeped in atmosphere. This property is actually located within the very heart of what is considered to be ''Gion.'' There are numerous temples, restaurants, and shops located nearby, with walking access to major tourist sights such as Kiyomizu Temple, Chion-in, and Maruyama Park. The downtown shopping district and Kamo River are also just a ten minute walk away. Nearby is easy access to public transportation and taxis.

The Gion House is just five minutes' walk from Hanamikoji Street, one of the most traditional and preserved sections of Kyoto, where you can find old 'machiya' style wooden houses in abundance. You can also find geishas scurrying down the alleyways on their way to work in the evenings.

You'll enjoy the luxury and ambiance of the Gion House, and the location can?t be beat for a memorable Kyoto experience in the very special part of town called Gion.

More Details
Hide Details

66 Reviews of Property 361801 in Kyoto, Japan

The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
average rating of 4.969697 based on 66 reviews
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
5

Feel as though you live here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Thank you, Curtis and Jungko, for such a lovely stay here at Gion House. The apartment is cozy and warm, super clean, very comfortable, well-equipped, lovely (we noted with delight how the sliding closet doors echo those in the tea house at the Katsura Imperial Gardens!). Heated floors and the shower and tub were fantastic. We loved being in a neighborhood and exploring outwards from here--including "our" temple, Kennin-ji, and the various local restaurants. The notebook of local information was invaluable, and Jungko and Curtis were very generous with information and reservations beforehand as well. Convenient to everything, and walkable. Will absolutely recommend this place, and we hope to come back here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
5

Great experience for machiya stay in Gion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our party of 4 adults and 1 toddler stayed at the Gion House (lower level) for 6 nights in Feb 2014. The owner and management team were very welcoming and accommodating to our special requests (including helping us with our restaurant reservations). The door-to-door transport service to and fro Osaka airport that was recommended by the management team was convenient, fuss-free and reasonably priced.
The machiya was very clean, cosy and comfortable. As it was really cold during our stay (it snowed briefly!), we were glad that the floor heating was working very well and kept the house warm. We especially enjoyed our time in the bath and shower room which was equipped with heated floors and very good water pressure.
The location of the Gion House is perfect for exploring the Gion area with many amazing restaurants and eateries within 5 to 10 min walk. The Gion-Shijo station nearby is great for exploring the Fushimi area which is a short train ride away. There were plenty of cabs in the vicinity as an option to travel to venues that are further away (the cab option at times made better sense for us since we had 4 adults in the group). We would love to stay here again when we re-visit Kyoto in future!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
Singapore
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our party of three stayed at The Gion House in December 2013 for nine nights. We had a great time. The location is perfect, smack in a beautiful historical area and also walkable (about 12mins) to the train station. There are loads of restaurants in the area, reasonably priced too, especially for lunch. Takashimaya department store is also walkable (15 mins) and you can get lots of choices at the food hall. Beautiful temple grounds just next door, and more temples in the area. The house (we stayed on the lower level) is very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and very well equipped (tip: the hairdryer is behind the bathroom mirror.) Appreciated the recommendations inside the folder at the table, and tried them out too. Good choices! Definitely recommended for anyone visiting lovely Kyoto.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
Brisbane, QLD, Australia
5

Perfect family accommodation in Gion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children) loved our 4 night stay at Gion House. The location was ideal, being in such a delightful part of Kyoto and within easy walking distance of public transport options for sightseeing further afield. We also found plenty of restaurants close by.

It was great to have such a warm and comfortable retreat to return to each evening. The kitchen and laundry facilities and extra room were very welcome after our hotel accommodation in other parts of Japan. The kids loved having their own private onsen experience in the fantastic bathroom each evening. The comprehensive file and guidebooks in the house were very much appreciated.

We would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone looking for very clean, well-appointed, comfortable, convenient and charming accommodation in Kyoto. While it was wonderful for our family with young children, it would be equally appealing for any visitor to Kyoto.

We were very glad we took Junko's advice and arranged the door to door shuttle from the airport to drop us at the door of the house. It would have been a real challenge to locate it on our own on arrival. However, once you know where it is, no problems!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
Charleston SC USA
5

Outstanding in Every Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our stay and experience was outstanding. Was concerned about getting the right rental as our stay was long term (6 weeks) and we had various friends visiting during our stay.
It was all fantastic - the house is beautiful and convenient. Everything about the design is traditional Japanese, yet has the modern convenience of everyday living. We even met the architect who did the remodel. A Japanese relative visited who said most Japanese don't get to see the inside of a machiya. They were very impressed with the house and where we were staying.
The location was spectacular - in the center of Gion. Close enough, yet away from the crowds. Sightseeing, restaurants and groceries all within walking distance and the buses and trains are very close and easily accessible. We traveled both within and outside of Kyoto. Curtis and Junko have made it very easy by providing easy access to taxis and maps and many tour books. Be very clear to taxi dispatch about where you are going so you don't go to the wrong place. Always ask for someone who speaks English if you don't speak Japanese. We used our railpass a lot when traveling out of Kyoto, but not much within the city as most travel is on the subway and buses.
Curtis and Junko are real gems, helping in innumerable ways. For long term stay was worried we could not read Japanese, especially in places like grocery stores, maps, etc. Whenever we had a question, both were quite helpful as are most Japanese in places such as a department store, on the street, in a grocery. If you can speak a little Japanese, it is helpful when speaking to a stranger. We tried not to bother Junko or Curtis much, but when we called or emailed about directions, reservations or other questions, they were always extremely caring, accommodating and responsive.
Keep in mind when traveling to Japan is that luggage delivery is very cheap. We took the Shinkansen from Narita to Kyoto and had our large luggage delivered to the house. Each piece was < $20 and delivered the next morning (I had one large piece over 50 lbs). Going to Narita, you take your luggage to the delivery company - there is one right around the corner from the house and we just rolled our suitcases there. You must take the luggage two days before you leave. It is so convenient not to have to deal with your luggage in and out of taxis and trains, but to just pick it up at the airport before departure. Highly recommend traveling this way and we highly recommend this house!
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
dubai
5

Lovely house in a very convenient location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We really enjoyed staying in this house and ecperiencing real Japanese spirit. Location is so close to most visited sites, we actually walked or cycled eveywhere. There is everything in the house including washing machine with a dryer so you can actually refresh all your stuff before moving on to another destination. I highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
5

Great place, even with children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at the Gion House in March. Two adults and two young children (2 and 7). The house was very clean, the location is ideal (close to shrines, parks, river, shops, restaurants) and it was nice to feel at home after several weeks away from our place. The house had everything we needed (but a toaster !) and the children loved sleeping on futons. It was well heated, good Internet access, charming bathroom with a shower and a traditional bath tub. The owner was very welcoming and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
San Jose, CA
5

A true Kyoto machiya experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This wonderful machiya living experience. Our party of four stayed in beautifully restored modern, clean accommodations. There are numerous advantages of staying here as compared to a hotel stay - including having our own cooking area, sleeping in either a tatami room or Western style bed, tranquility of a little private zen garden, and the overall feeling of traveling back in time. The location is absolutely perfect for walking to Gion, the Pontocho restaurants, Kiyomizu-dera, as well as the serenity of having Kenninji Temple almost as a backyard. There is the convenience of a small grocery store nearby. The management team is extremely helpful and efficient. As stated in other reviews, there is a binder with a wealth of information for things to do, places to eat, bike rentals etc. We even took advantage of a massage, whereby the masseuse came to our machiya and gave 3 of us the BEST massage (pressure point and stretching) for our travel weary bodies.
We hope to return very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
5

Quiet and Beautiful House for Kyoto Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Gion House (lower) was EXACTLY as described and looked EXACTLY like the pictures. What you couldn’t tell was how warm and inviting it actually is. We immediately felt at home. We stayed there for five nights with our son and his fiancee. Our son is a student of Japanese studies (he and his fiancee currently teach English in Japan through the JET program) and was thrilled to be staying in a traditional machiya in Gion. There was plenty of room for the four of us and suited us very well. The neighborhood is very quiet, the bedrooms comfortable and the bathroom shower/soaking tub is truly amazing. We used the kitchen to cook a few meals, although there are several good places to dine in the immediate area and even more choices a short walk away into the heart of Gion proper. The Kennin-Ji Temple next door has the most amazing Zen garden. The location was perfect. If you couldn’t get there by walking, it was convenient to bikes, buses, taxis* and trains. Dealing with Curtis was completely professional and while we didn’t actually meet his on-site associate, Junko, we knew that if we needed assistance, it was only an email or call away. There was a binder chock-full of information and suggestions from Curtis and other guests which was very informative. If we ever come back to Kyoto, we would definitely love to stay here again.

*The only “negative” was that the taxi drivers had a tough time locating the home. The map provided was helpful, but even that resulted in many furled brows, a variety of routes and sometimes settling for a nearby intersection. Perhaps having an available map with Japanese writing to download and show would be helpful. On the positive side, Curtis does provide a number for a local taxi service which has the house phone number programmed in for recognition, and they had no problem finding the house for pickups.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Gion House 'Machiya' (Lower Level) in prime Gion location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361801
(415) 990-6716 (California, USA)
Kyoto Japan
Singapore
5

Perfect stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This machiya was a perfect stay for our family with 2 small children. It was the last place we stayed in our 3 week trip in Japan, and just perfect to our needs. After 3 weeks of hotels, it is so relaxing to have a cosy place with all necessary facilities on your own. Upon arrival the owner left us a welcome note, which made us feel at home immediately. The bathroom is beautiful, delicious shower, and the children loved the bath. Very tastefully and convenient designed. Toilet is high tech, with even a dryer function! Kitchen modern and convenient. And washer/dryer for laundry was a bliss. One can tell this Machiya is renovated with a good eye for aestetics. Very nice Western style breakfast place just around the corner towards main street, owners talk fluent English. The nicest Geiko and teahouses street just around the other corner, with Gion Corner located too. There's a folder with all sorts of information and sight seeing tips. Very useful. We all loved staying here, and would certainly book this again when coming back to Kyoto. Last but not least, owner is very flexible and responses quickly to questions. Best stay in Japan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1