Russian Hill apartment rental - That's a real rainbow over N Beach, seen from our full-length living room window
That's a real rainbow over N Beach, seen from our full-length living room window
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Russian Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Elegant 1+ bedroom with amazing bay views and wonderful SF charm

5-night minimum for all stays, no exceptions. Stays of 7+ nights preferred.

Walking into our Hyde Street apartment at the top of Russian Hill will make you feel like the luckiest tourist ever! The unbelievable views, the amazing location, and a luxury apartment decked out with every amenity make our 'Hyde-Away' the perfect vacation rental in beautiful San Francisco. Friends literally gasp when they see our wall of windows and the spectacular views! Whether you’re whiling away an afternoon watching sailboats in the Bay or taking in the cityscape at night, you’ll want to pinch yourself that you’re getting to stay in this apartment—we still do!!

San Francisco is all about location, and our apartment is exactly where you want to be: safe, central, tree-lined Russian Hill, literally steps away from the Crooked Street (Lombard), and right on the Hyde St cable car line. Our apartment is at the back of the building, so miraculously quiet, and we have an East-facing view over the Bay Bridge, North Beach, Coit Tower, Treasure Island… A 10-minute walk can take you to tourist-heaven Fisherman’s Wharf, the nightlife of North Beach (Little Italy), shopping and eating in the Marina, lively Chinatown, or the classic beauty of Nob Hill; easy and central for public transit or driving, and a 20-minute cable car ride or walk to the financial district/downtown. A quick bus ride or cab to a night of ballet, opera, or the symphony! If you’re taking BART from the airport, you can hop on a cable car from Powell Street station or Union Square and get off a few meters from the entrance to our building! (Please note that we do NOT offer parking with the unit.) An elevator in the building eases the way back for legs weary from conquering hilly streets.

We keep the apartment stocked with maps, guide books, and detailed, personal information about the neighborhood and city from a couple who have lived here for many years (one of us was born and raised here!) We love this space and want visitors who stay here to respect and enjoy it as much as we do. For that reason, we can only accommodate up to two people at a time—we want to keep the apartment and our neighbors happy!

Our 'Hyde-Away' features a completely-outfitted kitchen with everything you could need, including a Keurig coffee maker; in-unit Bosch washer and dryer; open-plan living and dining areas; one sunny bedroom with queen-sized bed and luxurious linens; a separate office; Wi-Fi; and premium cable. Perfect for a business trip (this apartment will impress your clients!) or an extremely romantic getaway…

Some discounts available for longer stays. This is our weekend get-away now too, so we’ve set it up to offer the best, most relaxing vacation you could want! Email now for availability. Thanks!

Keywords: Bay views, designer-furnished, romantic, safe, elegant elevator building with in-unit laundry

More Details
Hide Details

We're a local couple who know and love San Francisco. We've got ties to the city and this neighborhood and we love to share our secrets with nice travelers! We've spent time living in Germany, France, Israel and China between the two of us, and can speak German and French. We are avid travelers and want to return the warmth and welcomes we've received in our journeys by hosting you with hospitality!

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2010

Russian Hill is the most beautiful, picturesque, safe and central neighborhood in San Francisco! From the breathtaking views from every street corner to the charming local restaurants, bars, and ice cream shops, Russian Hill is classic San Francisco in all its finest.

The views from our place are spectacular! The North side of SF, where Russian Hill is located, is known for its sunny climate, and in fog or blue skies that view is breathtaking! Watching boats go by or fireworks on holidays like 4th of July is so special, and being able to walk down to Zarzuela for the best Spanish tapas in the city and top it off with ice cream from Swensen's for dessert is just a dream come true for us.

17 Reviews of Property 361771 in Russian Hill, California

Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Manhattan
5

Breathtaking view in amazing neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Had an amazing stay in this apartment in Russian Hill. The views are spectacular.. the pics don't do it justice. Your breath is taken away the minute you step into the apartment. The owner was very helpful and easy to deal with, the apartment is very comfortable and equipped with just about everything you could need during your stay Best neighborhood in SF. I will definitely be coming back!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Exceded expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our kids and grandkids live in the Bay Area and this is about out 10th visit. First time in an apartment in the city. The view makes it a vacation every morning and evening, just by looking out.
The apartment is very comfortable and roomy. We could hear no city noise other than a faint barking of seals to remind where we were and how close we were to everything. We were there over two weeks and it really felt like home.
The location is fantastic- public transportation was unbelievable- 2 blocks in any direction and we could get to everywhere. Restaurants down the street, grocery, shopping a block away. The hill is high and a good hike, if you are into walking. We found it very doable both down and even up. The hill is what makes for the view and is a good trade.
We explored other neighborhoods for possible future stays but found that we were in the best area, Russian Hill.
We also felt like we were in one of the best apartments in the area and hope to stay here again on our next trip and could not recommend it more highly. We also suggest City Guides free walking tours.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Beautiful Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had the good fortune to secure this beautiful Russian Hill apartment for the week of 9/22-9/29/13. What a view, and what a location! We could watch the America's Cup race from the window. Everything we could possibly want was in the apartment. Maia was a pleasure to work with, and got back to us immediately if we had any questions. The kitchen was very well stocked. The neighborhood is lovely, and full of great restaurants. The cable car is right there, but we never heard it. We also have an apartment on VRBO, and have rented apartments all over the world, so I think I can say : A five star experience, and one I would like to repeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

We LOVED the apartment - the PERFECT place to stay in SF!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We cannot say enough great things about our experience here. Maia manages the property for her family, and her upfront communication was clear, professional and friendly. And when we arrived, we realized that the apartment is so much BETTER than any photos can communicate. It is truly a magical view, and a perfect place to enjoy the nightly mesmerizing show of the Bay Bridge lights (as well as the wild parrots of Telegraph Hill, who swoop by throughout the day, and a cool little hummingbird who lives next door). And that rainbow in the picture - beautiful, but maybe not so unusual. We saw one as well - incredibly dramatic lighting just as the sun was going down (we had friends over and we had to delay our dinner reservation so we could stay and gawk). For our taste, this is the best neighborhood for a feel of what is special about SF - Russian Hill is convenient to everything, right on the cable car line for rides downtown, easy walking to Russian Hill restaurants (try Frascati's for a special meal - or Za Pizza for something memorable but less formal) or to the fun and delicious restaurants and cafes of North Beach.

We found ourselves thanking Maia and her family everyday of our stay for the thoughtful touches and provisions in this unit. We had several small dinner parties during our month here, and found the cooking supplies and equipment, the spices, and the various accessories, to be well thought out and generously supplied. You can tell that this place is put together and maintained with intelligent attention and real care, and all of our surprises were good ones (as in "wow, they thought of that, too"). We felt like valued guests, not the tail end of a business arrangement.

Everything was clean and inviting when we arrived - there were lots of extra towels, sheets, blankets, etc. Their little stereo + our iPod made an excellent team and allowed us to make the place feel like home.

For me, the best way to really understand how someone does business is to see how they handle problems. When we first checked in we noticed a small issue with a vent - no big deal, just something that needed attention. Maia responded cheerfully and immediately, scheduled a repair time at our convenience, and the item was expertly and quickly taken of the following day. Hat's off!

We already love SF - that's why we were here. But this apartment gave us one more reason to smile whenever we think of this truly special city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
London, UK
5

An excellent option in a great neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I was just telling a friend last night about my recent trip to SF, and realised what a key role this beautiful apartment played in making it one of my best trips there since I moved away. From the furniture and artwork to the fully stocked kitchen, everything is tastefully appointed and well maintained. And the view never got old.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
-
5

Fantastic views and convenient to everything !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I have been to San Francisco many times, but have never stayed in a place that approached the quality of this apartment. The view of the bay, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, and the Bay Bridge is awe inspiring. The apartment is also very well furnished with high end appliances and furniture, and is perfect for a couple's getaway. You are a 10 - 15 minute walk from so many of San Francisco's attractions; we could only hit the highlights during our 5 night stay. Finally, Maia is extremely friendly and easy to work with. We will definitely be back !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
-
5

Fabulous Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The views from the apartment, especially at night, are jaw-dropping. Beautifully furnished and well-equipped, this was a very comfortable place to spend a week. The Hyde Street cable car runs right by the front door and two bus lines are a block away so it's easy to get around the whole city without a car. Cute neighborhood with several wonderful restaurants. When we return to San Francisco this is the only place we would stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Nashville TN
5

Beautiful apartment, fantastic location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We really enjoyed our stay here. The Russian Hill location made it easy to get to downtown, Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, the Marina district, Coit Tower, and so many other places we wanted to go! The fantastic view and the fabulously-equipped kitchen just add to the package. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Calgary
5

Dream condo in San Fran

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We have rented many condos through VRBO and none have been as well-equipped as this one. We had everything we wanted and more. The kitchen is very well-stocked and the bathroom has everything you would need. You'll have no need to pack soap, shampoo, hair dryer/straightener, lotion, etc. The condo has a wonderful feel - great books to read, comfortable bed, gorgeous light, high quality finishes. The condo was very clean, quiet, and as you can see in the pictures, has a gorgeous view! We watched boats in the harbour, parrots flying around the hills, and fog rolling through the city. If you're able to walk hills, you can easily walk to many good restaurants and sights. If you don't want to walk, a cable car runs right in front of the building. Maia was very helpful and accommodating. We could not have asked for a better experience!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing Views! Gorgeous 1BR in Picture-Perfect Russian Hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361771vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Assiniboia, Saskatchewan
5

FABULOUS CHOICE!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My husband and I visited San Fran for an adverturous 6 days and could not be more satisfied with our choice of accommodation. The view is as breathtaking as described. We would wind up our touring day with a glass of wine and admiring the view. We found the apartment fo be very quiet and the bed and linens extremely comfortable. Maia has it well stocked with essentials and it is spotlessly clean. We did encounter 4 days of pouring rains so the washer and dryer in the unit was appreciated. Maia was very easy to communicate with and left great information in the apartment for touring. We did find we taxied a great deal as the walking can be challenging with the inclines but also we were dealing with rain. If you are searching for a great place to stay, you can stop your search on #361771 as it is wonderful. My touring tip would be to definitely take a helicopter tour - well worth the money.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway