Jackson chalet rental - Winter view of Mount Washington from living room at sunrise
Winter view of Mount Washington from living room at sunrise
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Jackson Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3+ Bedrooms, with spectacular Mountain Views

Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of Mount Washington from our custom built, Smoke-Free chalet on scenic Jackson Highlands. Share a casual dinner with family or entertain guests for formal dining from the gourmet kitchen, all surrounded by views of the Presidential Range. Or just relax and enjoy the constantly changing views of Mt. Washington and the Presidential range during the day and evening hours.

The great room has a charming wood stove and vaulted ceilings with expansive glass and twin sliders that open onto the expansive deck with chairs and dining table. Hi-speed wireless internet and HD television for evening entertainment. Enjoy a relaxing jet tub after a full day of hiking, alpine or nordic skiing, or shopping and sightseeing. Relax and enjoy our vacation home in the heart of the White Mountains.

Enter to a terracotta tile foyer with vaulted ceilings and an open view of the living room and dining area. Upstairs enjoy two relaxing seating areas for entertaining or quietly reading a book or watching a movie on the HD flat screen cable TV and DVD/VCR player. Full gourmet kitchen with butcher block island for casual dining and a dining room table for family and guests.

Additional Information: Lower level master bedroom with Mt. Washington views has king size bed, TV/ DVD player, sitting chair and bureaus. Guest room with mountain views has comfortable queen bed and bureau. Bunk room has two bunks and a twin, with two bureaus and a TV/VCR for the children. Sleeping loft off the great room with queen and twin for private getaway.

Full bathroom with jet tub and shower downstairs and full bathroom with shower and large washer and dryer off the foyer. Storage/workroom for skis, bikes and sporting equipment.

Maximum occupancy is 10 guests. Come and enjoy the view!

Other Activities: Summer attractions - five minutes to Storyland/Heritage New Hampshire, Shopping and restaurants in scenic Jackson Village, Hiking and mountain biking - five minutes to Black Mountain or Jackson Ski Touring trails, 10-15 minutes to Attitash Waterslide and Alpine slide or Wildcat Mountain Gondola in Pinkham Notch, Mt, Washington Auto Road and Appalachian Trail along Presidential Range in the heart of the White Mountains, Rock Climbing - guides available, Extensive Outlet Shopping, Gourmet and Casual Restaurants

More Details
Hide Details

Our family roots in the Mt. Washington Valley go back to when my wife's father was one of the founders of the Wildcat ski area. We raised our sons skiing racing and hiking in the White Mountains, and built this house when a family home next door was sold.

Brad Kuster purchased this chalet in 2004

We were very fortunate to be able to build our house on a unique site, to take advantage of the spectacular views of Mt. Washington and the Presidential range. We also designed it to work for two couples with kids, so we could have other families visit.

9 Reviews of Property 361280 in Jackson, New Hampshire

Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Boston, MA, USA
5

Perfect mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We rented this chalet for a weekend away for 5 friends, and it was great! The chalet is just a few miles from the town of Jackson, which has a couple of nice pubs and restaurants (we ate at the Wildcat Inn and Tavern). It's also only 20 minutes from North Conway, which has all the amenities that one might need. Also within a few minutes are several trailheads that lead to Mount Washington - we didn't go all the way to the top, but enjoyed hiking up to some great vistas. In winter, there seems to be a lot of skiing resorts nearby - we went in the low season after leaf peeping but before the snow, so we can't really comment on the skiing.

The chalet itself is very accurately described in the listing. There is one huge common area with a well-equipped kitchen, a comfortable living room area, and magnificent views of Mount Washington. The two double bedrooms are great; the loft would be a bit claustrophobic as one can't stand in there, but probably fine for a kid. The room with the bunk beds is tight if you were 4-5 people there, but it does the job. The bathrooms were great - you don't feel like you're missing out on any amenities even though you're "away from it all".

We would definitely recommend this property to anyone - and in fact, we're already thinking that it would be great to go back later in the winter to try the nearby skiing!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Montreal, Canada
5

amazing view and chalet has everything you need

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
what a week end, we rent the chalet randomly but we were quite impressed. first, the view is amazing and in a very quiet place. kitchen is full equiped and the chalet was very practical. open kitchen and large living room. nothing to complain and we loved our stay at this chalet. we decided to clean the chalet ourselves and Brad sent us back the deposit without any delay. would recommend it for a week end or longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Richmond, Virginia
5

A delightful home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our family of eight greatly enjoyed our week in Brad and Ann's property. The property is as advertised and is truly a treasure.

Our two oldest boys loved the kitchen loft as it became their cozy hideaway. We found the house to be reasonably stocked with dishes, linens, cleaning supplies etc. The dehumidifier in the downstairs quickly cleared an initial dampness in the air when we arrived. The driveway, while steep, is typical for the area and was more than manageable in our 15 passenger van in both wet and dry weather. We very much appreciated the option to be refunded the cleaning fee if we chose to clean up at our departure, particularly as we are quite used to cleaning up ;)

Having lived in Berlin and worked for the MWO nearly a score of years ago, it was nice to visit with old friends and introduce my family to the beauty and attractions of the region that stole my heart so many years ago.

A few recommendations for future visitors:
- Yesterday's for breakfast just down the road in Jackson
- Old Village Bakery in North Conway
- J Town Deli for lunch
- Thorn Hill Maple for the best local maple syrup
- enjoy the Milky Way from the porch on a clear moonless night
- watch for the Fox Fire (Will -O- The Wisps) under the porch at night (with night adjusted eyes)

We would (and will) heartily recommend this very kid-friendly property to others.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
5

Couldn't ask for any more!!!

Couldn't ask for any more!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I cannot express enough thanks to Brand and his family!!!

My girlfriend and I were looking to get away over the long holiday weekend and do some hiking. I came across Brads Chalet and I can honestly say the views were as good as they come. The Chalet is located perfectly for anyone who is looking to hike, ski and or just relax!

We had planed 3 full days of hiking so most of our time was out of the chalet however we cooked dinner every night and sat on the deck relaxing while in amaze at the sights and sounds. During the evening we watched a little television while putting together a skiing puzzle that we purchased on our first day exploring in the town of Jackson.

The town was fun as it had many mom and pop shops which we enjoyed as well all the festivities that were going on being that it was the 4th of july.

The accommodations are exactly as listed and hope to rent again in the future for skiing and or another hiking adventure.

Thank you again Brad for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Virginia
5

Great accommodations for a wonderful week in March

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our group of five adults -- two couples, one single -- spent a wonderful week here in March 2012. Three of us skied while the other two visited nearby towns or else sat in the comfortable living room reading and enjoying the ever-changing views of Mount Washington and the surrounding mountains, valley and forest. We used the three bedrooms, which met our needs well, although it took us a while to find the right combination of blankets and thermostat settings for everyone. The furnishings, dishes, cookware, utensils, appliances, internet access, lighting and so forth were all clean, functional and/or of very good quality.

We made most of our meals in the kitchen and went out to Red Fox and the Wildcat Tavern (both recommended) for two dinners. The access is steep (all-wheel drive helps), but the incredible views were well worth the drive to us (if you want to see mountains, you have to go uphill). The loft bedroom off the kitchen would make a fun hideaway for many children and teens; it has lighting and a thermostat but the roof is too low for adults to stand.

This is a great rental home in a great location. We'd like to return every season of the year! The owner, Ann, was very easy to work with, answering our many questions promptly and fully. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Sterling, MA.
5

Great location & Views for any White Mountain Visit

Great location & Views for any White Mountain Visit
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Ann & Brad, we had a great time at your Chalet. I think I need a vacation from my vacation. We skied everyday (downhill and cross country). What a great location you have and of course the view is awesome.

We loved the Switzerland posters. My friend and I visited there back in
2000 and we went to some of the places on your posters. Brought back lots of memories.

We'll definitely keep your place in mind for other trips to the Whites. We go up that way a few times a year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Westborough, MA, USA
5

A Great House with a Spectacular View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We have rented this wonderful chalet for several years during February vacation time. The house is comfortable, clean, and well maintained with an everchanging, and spectacularl view of Mount Washington. The upstairs has an open floor plan (kitchen,dining area, living room) that is both expansive and cozy. One could easily spend the day watching the changing light and views of the majestic mountain! The bedrooms downstairs are quiet even when activities are going on in the living room. Our kids love the sleeping loft off the kitchen which is their special hideaway. There is ample room to store your ski/sports gear. Excellent xc and downhill skiing (Jackson Nordic Ski Center, Bear Notch xc ski, Black Mtn., Wildcat Mtn.) are closeby, as well as, skating, winter hiking the White Mtns., and outlet shopping in North Conway. Our times here have always been filled with superb skiing, books, family games and great food! A place for both exhilirating outdoor activities and quiet relaxation. Highly recommeded!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
Rapid City, SD USA
1

RENTERS BEWARE! PROPERTY DESCRIPTION VERY MISLEADING!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was our second VRBO rental and we were very disappointed with it. First, I would recommend that any potential renters ask the owners to see additional photos of the property before committing to rent it. The limited photos on the website do not give an accurate picture of this property. The driveway to the property is very steep and hard to get up with your average car (our tires really spun out trying to get up it). I would strongly recommend a four-wheel drive vehicle.
The bedrooms are located in the basement and they were all very damp and musty smelling. Cleanliness was at a bare minimum. The carpet and furniture were very dirty. The main bedroom had a very low platform bed (two twins put together) and was very uncomfortable. The sleeping loft off the kitchen was advertised as having a queen bed and a single bed. To access it you have to crawl through a small opening and it contained a mattress (with no box spring) on the floor. It had no window and you had to crawl on your hands and knees. They also advertised a large washer & dryer, when in reality it was a small stacked apartment sized washer & dryer.
When we opened up the dishwasher to use it, it was full of stagnant water and emitted an extreme odor. We called the caretaker for the property and she said the dishwasher had been broken for awhile and did not know when it would be fixed. She also said that we could use some dehumidifiers to eliminate the dampness in the basement. I called the owners directly advising them of the situation and they told use we could have a full refund for the remaining days of our stay should we seek lodging elsewhere. We ended up only staying one night of the original three planned. When we returned home I contacted the owners about the refund. After more than a month I received a partial refund check for our stay. I contacted the owner again about the balance of the refund and was told they had no further obligation to us. We were extremely disappointed that they did not honor what they originally told us. It was quite obvious to us that they were more concerned about the income generated from our stay than honoring their previous word.
Before renting this property I would suggest that any potential renters thoroughly research it & know fully what they are getting in to. We felt that their website was not a true representation of the actual property. For the above reasons, we caution all future renters to beware!
Owner's Response: Brian and his companion rented our chalet for a 3 day weekend during prime foliage season last October. Unfortunately, they arrived during a period of heavy rains with more forecast for the weekend. After the first night Brian called to request a refund as they wanted to change plans. We informed them that we had had numerous rental requests for that weekend, and our policy is to not give refunds based on disappointing weather conditions. They began to raise other “complaints” about the property, and renewed requests for a refund. They then informed us that they would be moving out that day (Saturday), and requested a refund for 2 of the 3 nights of their stay. He subsequently called in the early evening to inform us that they had finished moving out. We had no opportunity to obtain another renter for either the second or third night of their stay, but did provide a refund for the third night. We received a demand for refund of rent for the second evening, suggesting legal action if we did not agree, followed by this review.

We have rented this property on VRBO for more than 6 years without encountering these kinds of difficulties. This is our second home, where we spend as much time as we can. We then make it available for rent through VRBO during those times when we are not able use it. Two guest books are filled with the wonderful experiences shared by many of our renters over the years. A professional cleaning service cleans the home before each rental. We stand by the description of our home, and are more than happy to share our home with people looking for the unique location and amenities it provides in the mountains of New Hampshire. More pictures are available on request. We encourage prospective renters to call with questions, and often answer detailed questions from renters who call ahead of time. We do ask that our renters carefully consider whether our home is the type of rental they are looking for before making a decision.
Helpful votes: 9/11
business
Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361280
Jackson White Mountains
San Diego, CA
5

So Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We stayed at this beautiful house several years ago. It was in the Fall. I was just looking at the many photos I took on that trip. It was a photographer's dream! We have many great memories from when we stayed here. The house was very comfortable, had everything we needed, and is ideally located for sightseeing in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5