Kapaa condo rental - Sunrise from lanai
Sunrise from lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kapaa Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

One bedroom AIR CONDITIONED beachfront condominium with glorious sunrises. King sized bed with pillow top mattress in bedroom. Lanai is perfect for whale watching. A newly remodeled full size kitchen with new cabinets, appliances, and granite counter-tops. New furniture package just this year. All dishes, silverware, utensils, pots and pans are provided as well as a coffeemaker, hand mixer, blender and a toaster. Murphy bed in living area with real queen sized mattress. New paint and tile flooring. The living area has an entertainment center with 40' LCD TV, DVD, VCR, Cable TV, CD Stereo. There is also a wall safe located in the unit and it is. The Pono Kai Resort is located on the island of Kauai in the quaint town of Kapaa, and situated on 12 beachfront acres. Unspoiled tropical beaches cascading mountains and the 'Grand Canyon' of the Pacific are some of the highlights that make Kauai unique. Surrounded by swaying palms, you will find your own Hawaiian Paradise at the Pono Kai Resort.

Glenda and I have been married for 37 years and are now retired which really gives us time to travel and do the things we never had time before.

Dean May purchased this condo in 1999

On our first visit to Hawaii, we fell in love with it. We decided to purchase a condo so that we could visit as often as we wanted.

The Pono Kai resort is located in the village of Kapaa and is contently located about equal distance from the rainy North side of the Kauai and the dry South side. In addition, Kapaa offers shopping, dining and night life within each walking distance from the resort. There is also a public walking/bike path that passes in front of the Pono Kai resort and follows the beach for about 23 miles with breath taking views along the way.

23 Reviews of Property 360974 in Kapaa, Hawaii

Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Ramona, CA
5

Another Month in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just spent a month at this lovely condo. The Pono Kai is very well maintained and is centrally located. It is walking distance to shopping and restaurants and is situated on the walking/bicycle path that follows the coastline for several miles. It’s an easy, scenic walk or you can rent a bike next door and just cruise. The condo has everything you need and then some. Brenda, the housekeeper / handyperson / vacation facilitator etc., is a wealth of information. She has lived on Kauai her entire life and is full of interesting information about the island and is more than happy to answer questions. Everything was clean and well maintained. We never adjusted to the time change and were up every morning at 6 to have coffee on the lanai and watch the sunrise. We have stayed at the Pono Kai before but this was the first time in this unit. It was our favorite. A couple of new discoveries we made this trip were the Anahola Cafe and the Anahola Farmers Market, both of which had good lunches and are well worth the 5 minute drive. Anini beach park is nice but if you continue past the park, the road dead ends at a quiet little protected beach with plenty of close parking. Over the years we have done most of the tourist attractions but this trip saw one that we hadn't tried. The Kipu Ranch Adventure was a "must do" for all ages. You get the opportunity to see areas of the island only accessible via ATV. Check reviews on Yelp or Tripadvisor for Kipu Ranch, the Anahola Cafe, and the Anahola Farmers Market for more details.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Placerville, Ca.
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our second stay in this beautiful condo!, very clean and so comfortable! Whether you just sit on the lanai and watch the ocean or leave every day on a new adventure, you won't be disappointed. The condo is well appointed with everything you might need. It is centrally located, so you are never far from any destination. We enjoyed visiting the local sunshine markets. The tasting dinner at the Hukilau is fabulous, paired with excellent wines! We miss having our monrning coffee and fresh papaya on the lanai. Something to look forward to for next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Dayton OH
5

Fantastic Choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I did a lot of research before this trip as to what island to visit, when to go, where to stay and I am happy to say, this was a fantatic choice! The owners are great to work with and the condo had everything we could possibly need.

The resort grounds are clean and quiet. Pictures really don't do them justice! The location is wondering. Loved the walking/bike path, great places to eat within walking distance (loved the fish taco wagon on the beach!) and lots of great shops with freindly owners (personal fav was Hula Girl!)

This condo had privacy since it was on the third floor and offered a great view of the ocean. How wonderful to hear and see the ocean in the morning when having our coffee and in the evening with a glass of wine after a day at the many beaches on the island.

I will recommend this condo to all my friends and family! I hope to stay here again too!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Winnipeg
3

Good but not great

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We spent a month in Kauai the island has a lot of beauty , so when here go out and see it all.
This condo was in a good location to go to all sides of the island.
Dean the owner was great to deal with and all questions were dealt with.
We felt the complex was nice but in January the pool should be heated, the weather is cooler then expected with many days of high winds and cloud.
Deans condo fit our needs very well, the only problem was not enough cutlery and dishes to have any guests over for dinner, our sister and brother I law were staying in same complex so. Would switch nights for dinner and had to constantly be washing dishes.
The ice maker did not work very well and the stove is getting a little worn.
But the bed was so comfortable so we tried not to sweat the small stuff, also could have supplied better beach chairs as hard to use such small ones.
The manager at the complex was great but front staff not to interested as we were private renters.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear from our guests. In response to your comments concerning the cutlery and dishes, we do have place settings for eight in our condo. Considering we have a maximum occupancy of four and normally accommodate two, we feel that the eight place settings are sufficient. Yes, you might have to wash dishes often but that is what the dish washer is for and we do provide free dish washer soap. Yes, the stove is showing its age but as it turns out, we are planning on replacing the stove on April 16, 2013 so future guests will have a new stove for their use. And I was a little surprised about the comment on the beach chairs because we do not provide beach chairs for our guests. However, whenever we spend time in our condo to take care of the little things that need attention, we notice that previous guests have sometimes left us with things. I am sorry the beach chairs were not to your liking but we had nothing to do with them. Glenda and I try to make our condo as comfortable as possible so our guests will have a relaxing and wonderful time on Kauai.

Dean May
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Byron Center MI
5

Pono Kai Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our 2nd time returning to this beautiful condo. The owners have made even more improvements since our last stay. They've stocked it with everything we could have possibly needed and it was very clean. The sound of the ocean waves and the beautiful sunrise each morning make me miss it already, and we've only been home 2 days. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and 3 grocery stores in Kapaa, if you feel like cooking. Wireless internet was free and you don't have to pack as many clothes 'cause we had access to washers and dryers. The entire complex has many things to do and they keep the place up continuously. I strongly recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Yakima, WA
5

Great 2 Weeks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and I wanted to go to Hawaii for our 40th anniversary and I happened on this condo. The owner, Dean, contacted me personnally and helped with setting it up. The condo was exactly as advertised EXCEPT - this was probably the best provisioned condo we have ever stayed in. It literally had everything we could have possibly needed. Every time my wife would say "I wish we had this" I would look around and find it. The Knig size bed was very comforatable and the AC made the more warm and humid nights comforatble. The walkway along the ocean front is 7 miles long and great for walking, biking, and picture taking. We found we could walk to shops, walk to restaurants and that the location in Kapa'a is central to all the spots on the island. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Placerville, Ca.
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The condo is very clean, and extremely comfortable. The view is great and the sound of the ocean so calming. The beach in front is quite nice, and the sandy bottom, no rocks, makes for an easy entry. The grounds of the Pono Kai are very well kept, and the location is great, close to major grocery stores and many great restaurants. The best gas prices are at Costco, if you are a member. This was our 6th stay at the Pono Kai, but our first in C 305. We just booked a return visit. This is the best unit we have stayed in.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Placerville, Ca.
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Great views, the sound of the ocean, excellent accomodations, what is not to like ! The unit was very clean and had everything you might need. This was our 5th stay at the Pono Kai, but first in unit C 305. We are talking about booking again for next year. Nothing else compares!
We can highly recoomend this very comfortable home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
Huntley, IL
5

Loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We just returned from a week stay at your townhouse and I must say we had a great time! The home was just as described and we thought it was lovely and very clean! We were there with my parents as well so the four bedrooms and three full bathrooms was wonderful! My daughters loved the large private pool and used it everyday, even in the rain! The property is in a great location and so close to shopping and restaurants and Disney is a short 5 minute drive as well! The owner is so great to work with and answered all my (many) emails right away. I will be recommending this home to all my friends and family and look forward to a return trip someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Watch the Whales Frolic from Your Lanai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360974
+1 8155440215
Kapaa Kauai
San Francisco, CA
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The condo was wonderful~ it felt like a home away from home. The owner (Dean) stocked so many important items that made our trip so easy and comfortable. We had beach mats, snorkel gear, towels, a large cooler plus the small insulated bag that we used almost every day. Trust me if you had to rent or buy these things, not to mention take them back home, it would cost a fortune and be such a hassle. The convenience of having so may things at our disposal was really great! We loved the abundance of travel books for Kauai and used them to get around and book our excursions. The condo was clean, the kitchen well stocked with spices and condiments, the bathroom had everything you may have forgotten to bring. The bed in the living room was so comfortable and the sound of the ocean lulled us to sleep. This is a great location, with a great view and the owner put a lot of thought into what would make guests comfortable. Thanks Dean, we had a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2