Downtown - Washington DC house rental - Washington Capitol
Washington Capitol
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Downtown - Washington DC House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathroom, sleeps 6 comfortably with WIFI, Cable TVs and Parking

Minutes from Washington Reagan National Airport, Close to Chinatown, National Mall, and all other Historic DC Attractions......Washer/Dryer Included, Full Kitchen, Front and Rear Private Entrance....Front Porch....Wireless Alarm System, Central Heating and Air Conditioning, Wireless Internet Access and Flat Screen Cable TV.

Valid Identification Required: Passport and Visa for international guest and state ID for US citizens.

Grew up in NYC, been in Washington, DC since 2001, frequently uses Homeaway.com for lodging alternative especially when traveling with family and friends. Went to college in Atlanta, GA and completed Graduate work at Georgetown University. Very meticulous due to my military background.

Colin Powell purchased this house in 2001

The property offers you historic perspective with a modern decor. Centrally located in NW Washington, DC with easy access via Metro to all the tourist sites. Few minutes to Verizon Center and the Washington, DC Convention Center.

Spacious and central location is definitely a plus. Also like the fact that the neighborhood is growing and offers great local coffee houses, restaurants, and bars.

41 Reviews of Property 360795 in Downtown - Washington DC, Washington DC

Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 41 reviews
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Gorgeous home, you'll be spoiled!

Gorgeous home, you'll be spoiled!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Colin's place is absolutely incredible - this apartment/home really exceeded our expectations. It seems newly remodeled and has a gorgeous kitchen and bathrooms and the rooms are wonderful. We were very comfortable here and Colin was quick to reply to any of our needs. Definitely recommend.
Owner's Response: Jennifer thank you for choosing the Guest Suites at Rhode Island Ave NW for your corporate and pleasure lodging.
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
4

My stay on Rhode Island Avenue

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I enjoyed staying in a residential neighborhood. I could really see how the citizens lived. The apartment was well represented in the photos. Having the washer/dryer was very convenient. The unit was meticulous and centrally located. The bus stop was on the same block. Colin was exceptional and accommodated any requests.

This was my first experience with HomeAway. I wanted to have the feeling of living in an apartment and not a hotel. I was not disappointed. I would recommend this website and I will use it again myself, Cheryl.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you chose Homeaway.com and enjoyed your stay in Washington, DC.
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
4

Very comfortable stay in a convenient location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I stayed at this location for a weekend in June. It is few blocks from the metro and walking distance from the U street area. Very clean and well kept rooms with nice modern furniture, comfortable bed and a beautiful kitchen. Taste of classy and city living with a very reasonable rate. The owner was also very helpful.
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.....please comsider us when traveling to DC in the future.
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

An incredible place to stay at a awesome price!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was my first time in DC and I was impressed by the warm welcome of my host. The place is perfectly located just a few minutes away from the metro station. The apt is very clean and well equipped. I had fantastic experience aboard that open top bus that takes you around all the monuments throughout the city. I definitely recommend that destination and that place for an unforgettable experience!
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing to stay with us from Martinique. Have a safe flight home and enjoy the rest of your holiday!!!!!!
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Nice affordable place near DC attractions

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I was visiting DC for the second time, this time with my parents so we decided to rent an apartment so we can spend good quality time. We did exactly what was planned :). Over all very nice convenient apartment close to DC attractions. We found this apartment well maintained and exactly how it was described. Lot of food options available close to this place. Also
Union Station is very close ($8-10 by taxi) from where you can take city tour. It is also very close to all the major museums.

I will recommend this place to anyone who prefer apartments over hotels.
Owner's Response: I'm glad your family (parents and 3 little ones) enjoyed your stay at the Guest Suites on Rhode Island Ave, NW. Please make sure to pass the word on to any friends, family, and colleagues traveling to the Washignton, DC area.
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Comfortable, Clean, and incredibly convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I stayed in the beautiful condo during our visit to Washington DC. The apartment was immaculate and comfortable. It exceeded our expectations. The manager was incredibly accommodating and was an absolute pleasure to work with. We are looking forward to our next visit to DC and would absolutely recommend this property to anyone going to stay in the area.
Owner's Response: Thank you all for being a valued repeat customer.....
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Wonderful stay in DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Colin was a gracious and responsive host. The condo is well equipped for 3 to 4 people with a fold down futon in the front room that my grown daughter and her boyfriend slept on very comfortably. We were very close to the Metro and to a number of excellent restaurants, including the famous Ben's Chili House! Very minor inconvenience with the bathroom located off the bedroom but otherwise Colin and the condo get my highest possible recommendation.
Owner's Response: Thanks for an honest review, I appreciate your business. Please have a safe trip home.
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Great Apartment, Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My sister and I were planning a trip to the DC area for a short stay and happened upon this listing on the HomeAway website. We found the unit comfortable, clean, affordable and convenient to all the sights in the DC area. The unit is well appointed and the owner has stocked it with everything you would need. He is also very accessible if you have questions. It is close to public transportation which made getting around quite easy. The neighborhood has that home feel and we felt safe going out and about. I would definitely recommend this unit for a stay in the DC area.
Owner's Response: Thanks for chosing the Guest Suites at 216 Rhode Island Ave, NW please pass on the word and come again. Be Safe,
Colin
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
4

positive, but...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
First, the bad:

1) cockroaches -- we had one per day over three days of our stay. They were a big gross-out, and the first time we saw one we considered moving out to a hotel. They're huge. :(

2) the neighborhood is marginal. While there were plenty of pricy cars parked all over (in fact Colin keeps his Mercedes in the alley), we were a bit unsettled walking home at night (family of four). Note that you must pass through five solid, new locks to get into the front door (!)

3) the walk -- it's a 20' walk to the nearest Metro stop, at Howard Univ.; not horrible, but not what I'd call close, especially after being on one's feet all day.

4) the apt. -- it's chic cheap; while the coffee maker, TV, futon are bargain basement and it's hard to turn on the shower without getting soaked (the faucet's at the far end of the large shower), it's a colorful apt with a bright feel to it with art, etc.

the good:
1) Colin is a gracious host; his driving us to the grocery store on our arrival was great. He repeatedly asked us to contact him if we needed anything. The fact that he lives upstairs is a definite plus.

2) Colin quickly took action re: the roaches. I texted him the morning after finding roach #1; one day later the place had been visited by the exterminators. The following day (the last of the three roach days) found one sickly roach that couldn't scurry out of the light in the hallway.

3) on two occasions (incl. my wife's getting home from a quick trip to NJ to Union Station close to midnight, and not wanting to be walking from the Metro stop) we decided to use a cab service and on searching for a good one found Uber which far exceeded our expectations -- do consider this if you need safe, quick service without needing to deal with cash or a tip.

Would we return? My wife would, but I'm thinking we'll likely try someplace else next time; DC's a big city. However, at this price point I feel the place was a good buy.
Owner's Response: Unfortunately DC is one of those places that when it rains, water bugs try to escape the outdoors and seek refuge in dry places. I immediately called terminix to remediate the issue. Since, then we have not experienced the issue.

I take my guests comments seriously and hope that they feel free to communicate with me to address any improvements that would make their stay more enjoyable. I will therefore address those things that the guests mentioned that can be addressed. Our main point is ensuring guest safety, comfort, and affordability in terms of pricing.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern - NW Washington DC - Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360795
+1 2024898956
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Great Location in Bloomindale Neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you Colin for your gracious hospitality! Your unit was perfectly located for my wife and I in the Bloomingdale neighborhood...just a mile from the Capital building with the charm of living near great little restaurants, pubs and bakeries! The Metro stop is a short 5 block walk to get us anywhere we wanted. The unit was modern, very well decorated, clean and had everything we needed. The Big Bear was our favorite little coffee shop for breakfast every morning..just 3 blocks away at the corner of R St. and 1st St NW. The Boundary Stone Public House is only ONE BLOCK away and is a great little pub with very good burgers!
Needless to say, for the price, location and neighborhood, this is a great value. We have been to DC 2 or 3 times a year since 2000...always staying in a hotel. This is by far, a much better experience of living in the District and being located so close to everything you would want to do.. We will definitely return to stay with you whenever we visit!
Thanks again to Colin who went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect!
Helpful votes: 2/3