Baddeck cottage rental - Front of Kildare Cottage facing the Lake with rooms of Waterfront Views
Front of Kildare Cottage facing the Lake with rooms of Waterfront Views
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Baddeck Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms with loft, 2 full bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms, easily sleeps 6

This charming getaway is located within walking distance of the village of Baddeck, and .3 miles from the Bell Bay Golf course and an easy drive to and from the new Cabot Links golf course!

World class views of the Bras d'Or Lakes are seen from every door and window. A private Cape Breton beach and dock are just steps away from the cottage.

Enjoy sightseeing and easy living- many local activities: golfing, sailing, swimming, kayaking, hiking, and relaxing! The property is absolutely beautiful and well maintained. It is spacious, lined with hedges,trees, gardens and a tall fence making it totally private and peaceful. The waterfront porch is an excellent place from which to view the morning and evening sunscapes and the restful mountainside across the lake.

This property offers a modern kitchen, cozy living area with original stone fireplace, large dining room, master bedroom with king size bed, upstairs loft bedroom with twin beds, a full size bed, and half bath. Also, a separate guest cottage: king bed, sitting area, and full bath with shower

Local Interests and Activities: This property is just a few miles from The Cabot Trail and easy access to daily Cape Breton Island sightseeing. Take a look at this link to view Cape Breton:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LDlIYRZGa3s

Baddeck is a major tourist destination: home of the Alexander Graham Bell Museum, as well as numerous restaurants, shops,The Bras d'Or Yacht Club, a government wharf with tour boats, and Bell Bay Golf course (rated the best new golf course in Canada)

There are many ways to be part of these activities-rent a kayak, sail off the wharf, charter a boat, or take a ferry over to Kidston's Island Beach for a local swim!

TV provided-use for DVD movies...if needed, on an occasional rainy day!

Wireless internet included

Sailors and Seaworthy Crew: Sailors and those nautically inclined, will feel right at home watching colorful spinnakers on boats sailing down the Baddeck Bay along with kayaks, paddle boats and windsurfers- all able to be enjoyed from our waterfront covered porch!

Choose from:

1) Sailboat and motor boat tours in Baddeck at the Government Wharf

2) Charter vessels for the day or week from local villagers and businesses

3) Rent kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats in the village center by the Government Wharf

4) Other nearby cruise options include Whale watching and Puffin bird watching tours

Celtic Colours October Festival: October features the Celtic Colours Music Festival. In Cape Breton, you'll also find interesting highland dancing and music all over the island. In cafes and restaurants, in concert halls, and churches, as well as on quaint street corners.

The change of seasons and beginning of the fall weather welcome visitors to experience all that the area has to offer!

When you've finished for the day, come back to our cozy cottage for a bit of quiet relaxation and beautiful waterfront views.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has been vacationing and enjoying Nova Scotia for over 20 years. We love the location, the sights, sounds and people of Cape Breton. Our extended family is here and we invite friends and relatives to visit this special spot as well!

This very special spot is located right near the Cabot Trail as well as the village of Baddeck. It makes for easy touring, golfing hiking and exploring Cape Breton by day- where ever you might plan travel- then returning to a welcoming cottage location in the afternoon or evening, with all the comforts and luxuries you need to relax while on vacation, enjoying the waterfront views across the Bras d'Or Lakes.

Consider staying on the premises for a day and take advantage of a 'day off' spent reading on the picturesque porch or down on the renovated dock area for a swim, kayak or sail! Water crafts can be rented in town for the day or the week.

Plan on staying here at least a week and look forward to memories that will ask you to return again..and again!

13 Reviews of Property 360787 in Baddeck, Nova Scotia

Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
Halifax, NS, Canada
5

Perfect home for a large family or 3 couples to stay on vacation or enjoy Celtic Colous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Three couples stayed at Kildare during the 17th Annual Celtic Colours International Festival and we all agreed it was like moving into someone's fantastic summer home for the week.
The property description is very accurate and the pictures do not due the views from the porch justice - a perfect pace for morning coffee or a quiet read. The unobstructed views of Baddeck Bay and the Bras D'Or Lakes is one of the features that make this property very special. The driving instructions were excellent as were the booking arrangements. The Owners are very responsive to emails and are genuinely concerned that your stay meets your expectations. The village of Baddeck is a short 2 km away and can look after all your needs re groceries, bakery, restaurants, liquor, drug , hardware stores , service station, etc. We had concert tickets in Louisbourg, Judique, St. Peters, Sydney Mines, Sydney River, etc. and used Kildare as home base.
The large, modern kitchen had everything - we all have stayed in vacation rentals previously but Kildare's kitchen topped them all with modern appliances, dishes, glasses, flatware to feed an army and everything needed to cook a big family meal or look after your own breakfast or late night snack. The large island had bar stools for five and lots on counter space as well as the dishwasher.
The recycle chores were also made simple with very clearly labelled separate bins for garbage, glass, plastics, paper, compost, etc. There is a comfortable living room with books, games,TV, stereo, DVD player and the fireplace for cooler mornings and evenings or a for a nice place to read. The wifi worked flawlessly.
The large separate dining room has a large table that seats 8+ and also has a fantastic view of the lake.
There is lots of bedding, towels, etc. and a stacked washer/dryer in the kitchen. Everyone slept well. Bathrooms are all modern, bright and shiny. Soap and shampo
The separate cottage with a king size bed and full bath works well with 3 couples sharing the property. While the loft has no shower it has a half bath and access to the other two showers/tub did not seem to be a problem.
Parking is adequate for at least 2 vehicles with only a few steps to the kitchen door, loft or cottage.
For a summer rental the lawn leads down to the edge of the lake with the dock for swimming and the outside shower after a swim.
Staying at Kildare made the Celtic Colours experience very special - no surprises only great memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

Heaven's gates aren't "pearly"...they're green!

Heaven's gates aren't "pearly"...they're green!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
It is impossible to overstate the beauty and charm of Kildare Cottage. When we stepped through the green gate, our first view of the property was magical. It literally took our breath away. As others have said, as pretty as the photos are, they don't do it justice. My husband and I desperately needed a few quiet days away to decompress, unwind, and rest. Kildare was everything we'd hoped for and more. Our usual style on trips is to race from one attraction to another to make sure we don't miss anything. At Kildare we had very little interest in the outside world. We did manage to drive the Cabot Trail, take a sail on the Amoeba, and visit the Bell Museum for a couple of rainy hours, but mostly we just wanted to hang out at the cottage. Kildare itself became the main attraction and we didn't want to miss an inch of it. We spent hours exploring every nook and cranny both inside and out, marveling at the attention to detail throughout. It's not possible to create such an amazing atmosphere by accident. Jan and her family have outdone themselves. It's truly a special place.

As wonderful as the rest of the property is, there's something magnetic about the porch and the view of lake. We repeatedly found ourselves out on the porch, drawn to the beauty of the lake with Beinn Bhreagh in the distance. We had morning coffee out there. We ate meals out there. We read out there. We sat and talked and did nothing at all out there. We had no desire for televisions, computers, or telephones. For the first time ever, I came home from a vacation feeling like I'd had an actual break and feeling restored by it. I can honestly say that Kildare taught me the value of doing "nothing" and that sometimes "nothing" is everything.

Book your stay at Kildare. You won't be sorry.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
St. Louis Missouri
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I can affirm all of the previous reviewers' comments. Kildare is even more lovely than pictures can convey, immaculately clean and well-maintained. The large modern kitchen is completely equipped and the washer/dryer are right there. Four could eat breakfast at the kitchen island, but we never did since the views from the porch are breathtaking. The dining room has a table that seats eight but we preferred the picnic table on the porch, except one evening that was too windy.The porch also has large, comfy adirondeck chairs, perfect for curling up with a good book. The living room has a very cozy feel with a sofa, comfortable chairs and many helpful travel books. The guest house and the upstairs loft with separate entrance gave everyone in our group of five adults the "space" they needed.
Jan was very helpful in answering questions before the trip, and Norma, the caretaker, called us after we arrived to make sure everything was fine.
Baddeck is a charming town, within walking distance, with a grocery store, bank, post office, liquor store and of course gift shops and restaurants. It is a good home base for driving the Cabot Trail and seeing the many attractions of Cape Breton. We went on an amazing whale-watching cruise in Cheticamp, hiked the skyland trail in Cape Breton National Park, visited the Alexander Graham Bell museum in Baddeck, attended a ceilidh at the Gaelic College (they also have a ceilidh every night in Baddeck) and watched the full moon rise while sitting around a campfire on the beach.
I wholeheartedly recommend a Kildare vacation, but caution you that you will never want to leave.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

Outstanding Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
A true home-away-from-home is the best way I can describe what Kildare was for me during the week I had the pleasure to stay there. The property exudes warmth and uniqueness on every level and you can feel it the moment you enter the green gate that runs along the border of it. I literally gasped at the beauty of the place when I walked through that gate—from the setting directly on the lake, to the big sky over head, to all the greenery and plantings, to the distinctive cottage architecture—it didn’t end and I wasn’t even inside the house yet!

And the wonder and delight of Kildare just continued as I made my way into the main cottage. The house is spacious, flows well, and each room has interesting details including obvious ones like the gorgeous stone fireplace and wall of books in the living room, to more subtle ones like the diagonal latticework in the windows of the master bedroom or the tree trunk beams that are used on the ceiling of the deck. Whether large or small, attention to craftsmanship and quality have been paid to everything in the home. On top of all of that, Kildare is immaculately clean and tidy. It is obvious that a great deal of love has gone into both the building of the home and the maintenance of it.

In terms of functionality, Kildare is top notch. The kitchen is so large and has everything you could possibly want in it to make big meals for a big family. The washer and dryer are new and work great. The windows and doors are easy to open and shut so bringing the air and sounds of the outdoor world in is a breeze. There is a beautiful deep tub in the master bathroom that is pure luxury, but I can say hands-down that Kildare’s outdoor shower is the best one I have ever been in. The setting, water pressure, spaciousness, and cleanliness make it absolutely perfect.

And finally, in addition to all of the outstanding features of the home, a special note must be made about the deck that runs along the entire length of the cottage. There are different areas on it for doing different things—tables for dining, chairs for lounging, a bench for reading, a grill for cooking—but whatever the activity, the space is so inviting and allows one to truly take in the amazing beauty of the Bras D’Or that is steps away. On my final day at Kildare, over the lake I saw three amazing sights—a rising sun, a giant rainbow and a rising nearly full moon. Heaven and earth are available at Kildare. Go now.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

"Kildare" is a Out of This World!

"Kildare" is a Out of This World!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
It is hard to do justice to this property in words! Go through the green gate to “Kildare” and you enter a place of beauty and peace. This traditional log cottage has been lovingly maintained, restored and enlarged. It is right on the shore of Baddeck Bay, looking straight out to Bienn Bhreagh (Beautiful Mountain) where Alexander Graham Bell built his Baddeck home. A wonderful view in any weather! We stayed here for a week in September and enjoyed every minute. The well set-up kitchen, the view from the porch and the comfortable chairs and picnic table led to more meals on-site than we expected. Who wanted to drive out to find a restaurant when you could eat looking at a splendid view? The water continually changed, the sailing cruise boat Amoeba passed by several times a day, sailboats passed, seagulls soared overhead! At night, we slept with the sound of the whispering waves in our ears. We wanted never to leave! We were a couple on our own, for what amounted to a retreat from the world, but this property can accommodate a group in comfort. Because of the loft upstairs and the beautiful guest cottage it is well suited to a get together of friends; an extended family; or parents, children, and grandchildren. For children there is a big lawn, nooks and crannies to explore, and for everyone a wharf for swimming. The pretty town of Baddeck is great to explore. The location is convenient for scenic drives along the coast and into inland valleys.
The property is well maintained. The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished. It is even nicer than it looks in the photos. Everything was sparkling clean. The linens are of high quality. It’s just like staying in someone’s well-loved home! Jan gave us lots of good advice before we arrived, and the caretakers were very helpful. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

Delightful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a charming place to have a reunion with friends. We come together yearly to share activities, celebrate birthdays and renew our friendships and Kildare was the perfect setting for 2012. The rustic exterior belies the beautifully finished interior. We loved morning coffee on the porch and dinner together in the spacious dining room. The kitchen is beautifully appointed and more than met our needs for group cooking! Everyone especially appreciated their lovely, comfortable bedrooms and baths. Truly we felt we were guests in the owner's home. Our days were spent shopping in Baddeck, touring the Bell Museum, golfing, visiting the Celtic College, whale "glimpsing", visiting Louisbourg, and just relaxing. Lots to do in the area. Jan was MOST helpful, as were the caretakers, to answer our questions and meet our needs.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
Halifax, Nova Scotia
5

Amazing week...I think we've found paradise!

Amazing week...I think we've found paradise!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
After years of renting cottages, we have finally found paradise. The moment we stepped into Kildare we were astounded by the beauty of the surroundings, the peaceful view, the charming cottage and the town of Baddeck. The kids spent hours playing in the water and off the dock while the adults relaxed on the veranda and sipped coffee. The cottage itself outdid our expectations. It was clean, modern, superbly equipped all while remaining authentic and comfortable. The kitchen has everything you may ever need. The kids loved hanging-out in their "apartment" (ie the loft). The view of Beinn Bhreagh is spectacular especially with the songbirds adding to the chorus.

Jan was very helpful in answering my many questions via email (both before and after we decided to rent Kildare). I will hopefully return to Kildare soon (and often) and I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a quiet getaway in an amazing location.

I hated to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

Magical home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This is one of the most beautiful cottages you'll ever find. Facing Beinn Breagh, this historical home has been lovingly modernized, so that the balance of late 19th charm, and modern comfort is perfect. Wonderfully clean, prompt and helpful service, great swimming, an easy walk to Baddeck, it completely captured us. A perfect spot for day drives, except we never wanted to leave. This is one of those summers you will remember, forever. Great sailing, friendly people, enchanting cottage. Great for kids and adults. Although the pictures are lovely, it is actually even more beautiful. This was enchanted.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

Truly Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We've been to Baddeck 4 years ago to enjoy Celtic Colours Festival and decided to return this year. For us, location is everything and the Kildare House is amazing. With 600 ft. fronting the Bras d'Or (the Baddeck Bay section), we felt secluded in our own little world yet less than a mile from the charming town of Baddeck and fine restaurants, shops, and activities. The views from the porches and from every window brought instant relaxation. We found ourselves waiting for the arrival of the Amoeba as it sailed by daily.

Pictures do not do justice to the warmth, beauty and quality of the house. Being just two, we used only the main house but did take a look at the beautiful guesthouse and the loft bedroom. Everything - the furnishings, window treatments, kitchen appliances - had a decorator touch but still retained a comfortable, cozy feel. Nothing was lacking - this is definitely the best appointed and stocked house we have seen.

The house and grounds were spotless and meticulously cared for. Many rental properties are what we call "rental worn". It is hard to imagine that this is a rental property - it was like stepping into someone's beautiful, loved home. Norma called upon our arrival to see if there was anything we needed, etc. She was very helpful and cheerfully gave us several suggestions when asked.

Thank you for sharing your lovely Kildare House with us. We appreciate the history of the house and what you have done to preserve a treasure.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Waterfront Cottage and Guest House in Baddeck with Own Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360787
+1 6106881589
Baddeck Cape Breton Island
5

A Beautiful and memorable Kildare Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Let me first say how memorable our families stay at Kildare cottage was! We had an awesome stay at one of the nicest vacation properties ever!!

My family and I spent a week overlooking the beautiful Bras D'or lakes on a georgeous property minutes from a championship golf course and the quaint picturesque town of Baddeck, Cape Breton.

The main house was modern but had a quaint rustic feel...a brilliant combination! The views of Beinn Bhreagh mountain from the spacious veranda was our favorite while sipping coffee in the morning to visiting with friends and relatives in the evenings.

I could not recommend enough this rental property to anyone wanting a little slice of heaven on beautiful Cape Breton Island.

Kildare was an outstanding property which we did not want to leave at the end of our stay. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for beauty and relaxation!

...a must stay!.....and one that will be remembered for ever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5