Sydney CBD apartment rental - View to garden from patio
View to garden from patio
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Sydney CBD Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bed Studio, (Queen bed sleeps 2) 1 x shower/basin/WC

SUMMARY:

Self contained one bedroom water view apartment. Common entrance shared with house.

IF YOU COULD WALK ON WATER IT IS 1 KM TO THE CITY. IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE STUDIO. If, like us, you can't walk on water the following will help.

• Bus stop on corner. 10-15 min to City

• Ferry: 12 minutes to city centre which takes you under the SHB & past the Opera House. WOW.

• 10 minute peaceful walk to ferry.

• TAXI's always close by

• Quiet and tranquil. you would never know you were so close to the City.

•AIRPORT 20 min by Taxi

• Easy parking - no traffic problems

• Sydney Harbour views to City Skyline, Darling Harbour and Anzac Bridge.

• Direct east facing, sunny, balcony onto views, east and south.

•Located on a corner with no other houses to the right. Just garden and more Inner Habour views.

• Equipped with all necessities for modern studio kitchen

• Shower / toilet mosaic tiled white.

• Area: 30m^2 (interior) + 4 m^2 balcony. Spacious.

• Fast free internet

• Experience Sydney and Sydney Harbour at its best.

• Floor to ceiling sun block roller blinds.

FULL DETAILS.

Just 15 km or 20 mins by taxi from Airport. Transport is virtually at your doorstep; to take you anyway you wish, fast and easily by Taxi, Ferry, Water Taxi, Bus, or an easy bike ride. Buses run every 15 mins. Ferries run every 20 mins to Darling Harbour & City (Circular Quay/Opera House, & North Sydney. Water taxi service also available. Close attractions include: Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Casino, Aquarium, Chinatown, Fish Markets, Barangaroo, Cruise Terminal, Balmain Village atmosphere. A brisk walk to the Ferry Wharf would take you just 9 minutes, while a walk to the nearest bus stop would take 2 minutes.

A 12 minute direct ferry ride to the City takes you past two of Australia’s and the World's most recognized icons. Under The Sydney Harbor Bridge and right past The Opera House. From the Opera House you can take a spectacularly scenic walk along Sydney Harbour or through The Royal Botanic Gardens.

The studio faces due East allowing you to enjoy the morning sun and a folding arm awning to control the sun on those hot summer days. Are you ready?

The apartment is 30m square. Free WI-FI and phone.

Converted from garage to studio just recently with polished concrete floor it is completely self-contained, with washing machine, 2 induction cooktops, fridge size to suit the apartment , crockery and cutlery. It sleeps two comfortably in a new fold away memory foam queen sized bed. You choose if you prefer it left out or fold it back to the wall during your stay. It is always in the down position for your arrival, ready and made in case you wish to sleep. (Everyone leaves it down). Lots of room either way. Quality white cotton linens (flannel for winter) and towels are hotel standard and it is so comfortable with great City and Harbour views from the bed or from the patio bifold doors. The doors have reflective film on them, just like City High Rise offices, so that during the day no one can see in but you can see out. At night though, if you wish to maintain privacy we advise clients to draw the blinds when the lights are switched on. Two large custom made cupboards allow ample space for you to unpack your things and stow your bags out of sight and out of the way behind the floor to ceiling curtains. The open WC, hand basin and shower are all high quality fittings mounted on classic white Italian mosaics.

Set in one of the world’s most beautiful cities we are located very close to The Sydney Opera House, The Harbour Bridge, TheAnzac Bridge, Darling Harbour, and Sydney’s CBD. All in fact visible from the house. Balmain has an enviable lifestyle due to its location on Sydney Harbour.

Formally a waterfront working man’s suburb with traditional Victorian Terrace houses and cottages and proximity to the City. It also boasts some of Sydney’s finest views.

This architecturally designed and decorated one bed studio apartment sits at the back of a fabulous Victorian Terrace house and though often rented to clients who rent the house itself, it is also sometimes available on a stand alone basis with common entry and garden. It is set up similarly to places I have enjoyed in other parts of the world such as France and Italy and is clearly inspired by those experiences.

Restaurants, cafes, providores and bars, elegant architecture, boutique fashion and home wares abound in this suburb all within very easy walking distance so popular with visitors and celebrities alike.

Keywords: Apartment, Studio, Unit, Granny flat,

Self-contained,

More Details
Hide Details

I have worked in the airline industry for the past 31 years travelling overseas every 7-10 days. My expectations for accommodation and the price you pay for it are well measured by the countries I have travelled to. You will not be disappointed with the facilities on hand in this apartment.

Technically I live in Sydney Australia but travel constantly. I think it is fair to say I have an idea of services and appointments required fot the regular traveller without having to pay through the nose for it. I hate that. If you do too then give it a go and register your interest and someone will get back to you. Concerned about renting online? I am too so do what I do and check the testimonials...it always helps with reassurance and gives an insight to expectations meet.. I am contactable by cell phone. You must ask if you want my number as I change sim cards to suit the country I am visiting....or I can skype you or you can skype me.

Lyn or Giacomo Latella purchased this apartment in 1983

22 Reviews of Property 360717 in Sydney CBD, Australia

Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
average rating of 4.9 based on 22 reviews
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
4

Cosy studio

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the studio apartment. The studio is as described with washer, kitchenette and patio doors that open all the way across to a lovely patio that faces the Sydney skyline. There is more than enough room to spread out with lots of closets and drawers if you are there for a few days which is a nice option when you have been living out of a suitcase on an extended trip. The location is good and within walking distance to the East Balmain Ferry terminal, restaurants and stores for supplies such as groceries and wine. As a rule we are not fast walkers so doubled the times mentioned in the information package and found them quite comfortable. The public bus service on Darling street is about every 15 - 30 minutes and cuts the walking distance in half. We utilzed the Senior Concession Rate to purchase Transit Tickets and for $2.50 you can ride the system all day, a great deal considering that every trip out of Balmain involves a ferry or a bus (assuming you don't have a car.) Lynn and Giacomin have done a good job of renovating the studio but one area one should be aware of is the shower / toilet facilites which are minimal and if your travelling partner leans to the high modesty range it might be a bit uncomfortable at times. The owners were terrific hosts and between them they have a wealth of information on the area and are more than willing to take the time to explain or suggest ideas. Not that there is any shortage of things to do in Sydney. So in summary the studio is as presented in the information provided, Balmain is a nice residential area but there is pretty much a bus or ferry involved in getting to and city centered destination or activities. The bathroom / shower facilities are limited but, given the room layout, functional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the studio to other travellers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

An ideal spot for a couple visiting the Sydney area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent a total of 6 nights in the studio and it was perfect for our needs. The garage-turned-into-a-studio was done very creatively and it is obvious that over the years Lyn and Giacomo have made changes to continually improve the experience for their guests. The easy access to both Balmain itself and all over Sydney via either bus or ferry makes this a unique location. While we were expecting the studio to be functional based on the description, the stunning views of South Sydney and the lovely yard and charming hosts were all bonus elements that we will remember the next time we visit the Sydney area.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

The perfect little getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I count myself lucky to have found this rental property. It was perfect in all respects.

For a studio apartment it offered plenty of space and amenities. And not just enough space but quality space with attention to detail and comfort. The kitchen area offered everything we needed, from a clothes washer, to a small induction stovetop, fridge and all the cooking gear and dishes we needed. Storage was abundant and well designed. A full glass window wall opened to a lush and inviting garden with a tremendous view of the city. I just wanted to spend time there, but there was lots to see in the city and in the surrounding neighborhood. The neighborhood of Balmain is quaint and bohemian, offering a pedestrian scale in contrast to the downtown. It was a quick ferry ride to Darling Harbor and only slightly longer to Circular Quay, the main transportation hub. We enjoyed all our ferry rides as much as the sites - what an enjoyable way to get around.
Our hosts were gracious and attentive, offering advice and answering questions. In just a few days of interactions, I felt I'd made some new friends. I can't say enough about our experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks R. It was a pleasure to have you here too and we were very pleased to have you reaffirm your thoughts about the studio in the review knowing that as an architect, who better to judge.
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

Wonderful location, hidden gem.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This studio apartment is very well located in a quiet and safe neighborhood. It was my first trip to Sydney and we were able to take in the December 31st fireworks. We could even see them from our studio!! It is well appointed and makes efficient use of the small space. A beautiful herb garden is also available for cooking. We had a small issue upon arrival that was expeditiously handled by the owners in a professional manner. They understand the importance of customer service. I will definitely recommend this rental (and the larger house). Thank you Lyn and Giacomo. Happy New Year and all the best for 2014.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your open, honest and frank comments. We are so glad to have been able to resolve the unexpected problem with your understanding and co operation. It made such a difference.
best regards
Giacomo and Lyn
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

The perfect Sydney Oasis!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I spend one month traveling through Australia. By the end if our trip, our favorite memory was at Balmain East! Our studio apartment was in a perfect location with access to the ferry system and buses. As you walk in the gated area, the stairs to our place was lined with heral gardens. I used their fresh lettuce for our salads at dinner time. The view of the harbour was beautiful from the upstairs patio. Giocomo and Lynn, the owners happened to be there ( usually they are traveling). We were privileged to spend time with this wonderful couple. Steve and I highly recommend staying here, we guarantee it will be the highlight of your trip.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Winnipeg, Manitoba/Canada
5

Our home away from home East Balmain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We arrivied in Sydney after a repositioning cruise from Honolulu and took a taxi from the cruise ship terminal at Circular Quay to our studio appartment in East Balmain. Upon arrival at the studio appartment we could not believe our luck. The layout of the courtyard leading to
the entrance of the studio was enchanting and the view from the little terrace was breathtaking. The studio itself was very efficient, comfortable, clean and roomy. Plenty of closet space, beautiful windows
that opened right up and all necessities in the kitchen to make simple meals. Transportation from the studio to all of Sydney's beautiful sights, was easily done by Ferry from East Balmain, approximate ten minute walk from studio to the ferry. The ferry took to you to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay where you could then connect to other ferries taking you to Manley Beach and many other stops or connect to busses. After a day of sightseeing we were delighted to return to our little studio, with its extrodinary view and quiet, peaceful surroundings. East Balmain is a delight to explore with its cozy homes, restaurants, boutiques, unique stores and markets. We felt safe at all times and are grateful to Lyn and Giacomo for their helpful suggestions and gracious hospitality. We always looked forward to start our day with the ferry ride, easing us peacefully into a day of adventure and beauty. We will return to our home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Connie and Karl , we agree, the location and comfort is unbeatable..you are always welcome.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Wellington
5

Love this Balmain Gem!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were fortunate to have stayed at this wonderful accommodation in Balmain during mid-September. The property is charming and so well appointed (we didn’t want for anything). When we arrived, the studio was clean and inviting with a beautiful garden to enjoy just outside your door. We viewed it as a sanctuary each night that we came back (just so peaceful). The landlords were amazing!! They were friendly and communicative from the moment we enquired about the property until the end of our stay (they even had us over for afternoon tea!!!). The studio is located in Balmain East, which is a lovely neighbourhood and well worth exploring. We frequently had meals in Balmain East, as well as just ambling through the neighbourhoods and taking in all of the interesting and beautiful architecture. There is also a great Saturday market just a quick bus ride away. The location of this property is so convenient to everything you might want to do. A quick 10 minute walk to the ferries had us jetting off on our daily adventures (only 10-15 minutes by ferry to CBD). A quick stop for lunch at Euforia will allow you to have a picnic at the lovely park near the ferry terminal. All in all, I can’t say enough good things about this property. It certainly ticked all of our boxes (and more)!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. As
we are usually travelling ourselves, it was
a real bonus to meet you whilst completing
renovations to our house next door.
Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope
to welcome you back to Balmain one day. cheers
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Denver, CO, United States
4

Perfect for what we needed- friendly landlords!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
First off the owners are extremely nice and made us feel very welcome, we had a small issue the first night and they took care of it right away. The studio was good- had the basic amenities and lots of storage for bedding & clothes. The only thing we wish it had was a dryer- the washing machine was nice but didn't dry our clothes. Also a word of advice when taking a shower open the door a little bit too because even with the window cracked it fogs up all the mirrors. Wish there was more shelving in the actual bathroom part but sitll nice. Would stay there again definitely- liked the location of Belmain and the accesibility of Sydney without being in the heart of the city. Felt very safe- the dvd player is a little finnicky but worked well for us once we got the hang of its idiosyncracies. Stay here & you won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your suggestions we will take them on board. As for there not being a dryer; that is a facility not selected as available on the VRBO website but there is a portable drying line provided. There was no space to include a dryer during construction. In Australia it is accepted common practice to hang one's clothes out to dry in the sunshine. If that is not practical for out clients we have a laundry just 5 minutes walk away which is noted in the guests information book. We realize too that in some countries and most States in the USA, it is illegal to hang your clothes out to dry in your own home. Not so here.
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
5

Funky, fun, quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed in this studio apartment for 5 nights in April of 2013. It was perfect for our purposes. It was clean, well equipped, had great wifi, and allowed us quick access to a comfortable 10 minute walk to the ferry followed by a beautiful ferry ride to Circular Quay, the city heart. Our trips to the Opera House, Zoo, Manly, the north shore and CBD were convenient and enjoyable with our $44.00 weekly ferry passes.

One great surprise was the vibrant village centre of Balmain, about a 10 minute walk. Great shopping, every convenience and a wealth of great restaurants at reasonable prices. We tended to avoid eating in the The Rocks and Circular Quay areas as they are tourist rip offs. In Balmain, you feel you are living as a Sydneysider and more value for the dollar.

Our communication with Lyn prior to and after booking was always prompt, courteous and clear.

If you like a Hilton or a Sheraton this is not the place for you. If you like personal service, a funky but very comfortable use of space, a patio with a great city view and beautiful flowers then you will love this apartment.

One small word of caution is that Balamin is not flat and if you find walking a challenge it might be a bit tough. We are in our mid 60`s and love walking and love some elevation so it was perfect.

Enjoy life as a Sydneysider. This is Sydney at its best.

Many thanks, Derwyn and Nora, Stratford Ontario Canada
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Balmain is a great place as you say. Like you and Nora most clients prefer to walk however if walking is a challenge we recommend our clients take the short bus ride (3 stops)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360717vbi
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Canada
5

Spectacular Views!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had the most wonderful stay at Lyn & Giacomo fabulous studio apartment in Belmain. The weather was very wet during our stay but that didn't stop enjoying the spectacular views from this great location. Only minutes from the shops along the mian street of Balmian and a quick stroll to the ferry and 10 mins later your in the heart of Sydney. Lyn & Giacomo made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed the cake & cup of tea on our arrival! If your looking for a great location to stay during your visit to Sydney you'll be hard pressed to beat this little jem in Balmain.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway