Three Rivers house rental - Welcome to Sequoia Alta Vista
Welcome to Sequoia Alta Vista
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Three Rivers House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

This colossal home sets the bar for premier vacation home rentals. It's only fitting if you're visiting the majestic giant sequoias, that you enhance your experience by spending your down-time at a home equally as spectacular.

The time is now if you want to reserve this home for your 2014 vacation. Please take a few minutes to read our past guests' comments. Their kind and comprehensive reviews speak volumes and endorse our commitment to providing you with an uncomparable experience.

You won't find any lodging that better showcases the beauty of this section of the Sierra Nevadas. With its one-of-a-kind 360 degree panoramic view, Sequoia Alta Vista is a destination in itself. As you make the climb into Three Rivers, this majestic home perches atop the highest hill, easy to spot from miles away. Its unique location offers its guests both privacy and breathtaking scenery. Step out of your car and you'll literally gasp at the unparalleled sweeping view looking up-canyon at the world famous Sequoia National Park. Hovering over the hamlet of Three Rivers, you can watch the Kaweah River as it snakes its way through the oaks and sycamores, disappearing as it empties into beautiful Lake Kaweah.

You can't get any closer to Sequoia National Park than Three Rivers, which is just a few minutes from the entrance to the park. As California's first national park, SNP boasts the biggest trees in the world and the highest peak in the continental U.S. Day hikes take you past rushing creeks, cascading waterfalls, picture-perfect mountain meadows (complete with wildlife), and into pitch black caves. You can hop a shuttle in town and spend the whole day on a guided tour if you prefer not to drive yourself. Whether winter or summer, Sequoia National Park offers abundant recreational opportunities to its one million visitors each year.

After a day's excursion, relax in complete privacy in comfy chairs on the bi-level deck; awaken your senses with the sweetness of seasonal fruit tree blossoms, the soothing white noise of the river, the refreshing down-canyon evening breeze, magnificent sunsets, or a rejuvenating plunge in the pool. Redwood trees offer a reprieve from the sun and promise complete privacy when swimming. Once the sun goes down, you and your loved ones can gather around the warm and glowing fire pit and just enjoy the peace and quiet of a country evening. If you are really in the mood to be pampered, slip into the luxurious over-sized tub in the master suite, enjoy a complimentary beverage and just soak up the beauty that fills up every window with a different portrait of nature's glorious landscape.

Your meals will be a joy to prepare in the spacious, sunlit kitchen, complete with all the essentials from spices and staples to cookware and utensils. Stainless steel appliances, opulent counter space, and vaulted ceilings add to the ambience of this room. The open floor plan of the house makes sure the cook isn't left out when the rest of the guests are lounging around watching TV, playing games, or hanging out on the deck. A grocery shopping service is available if, after a long drive, you would rather have the fridge fully stocked, slip immediately into vacation mode, and fire up the BBQ.

The bedrooms are located on opposite sides of the house, assuring guests total privacy. Bathrooms adjoin two of the bedrooms. An oversized glass shower and large jetted tub contribute to the elegance of the master bath, which opens to a view of Case Mountain and the south fork of the Kaweah River.

The little town of Three Rivers has long been known as a great escape from the city; only 3 1/2 hours from Los Angeles and 1 1/2 hours from the Fresno airport. Many of its residents visited here as children, camping with their parents, only to return decades later to raise their own families and live out their dreams. Spend your day gallivanting around town, visiting the art studios, museum, second-hand stores, award-winning candy store, and restaurants. There are several community churches, gas stations, grocery stores, a coffee house, fitness center, and a pharmacy.

Once you experience the tranquility of Sequoia Alta Vista, the down-home friendliness of the community, and the majesty of Sequoia National Park, you will feel refreshed and ready to tackle life back at home...but for now, let us be your home away from home.

Keywords: Home w/ a pool, with large covered & open scenic decks

More Details
Hide Details

In 2001, after 36 years of full-time work in Mental Health Administration for both the public & private sectors, I retired. My wife, Mary, and I purchased our 'dream home' in Three Rivers, CA. Upon retirement, I agreed to work an additional year, on a part-time basis, to help the new director make the transition. As it turned out, other small rural county mental health programs also needed financial help and now, 10 years later I have developed a full-time mental health financial consulting business and continue providing these services. This business requires many days on the road away from home, since much of the work is north of the Sacramento area, in the Sierria gold county, and on the Hwy 395 corridor on the east side of the Sierria Nevada Mountains.

Mary supported me in my work, while at the same time, raising three very active sons through childhood, the school years, and onto marriage. We now have nine grandchildren; seven girls, two boys, and another on his way in late July! For four years Mary also cared for her aging parents. Three years ago her father moved in with us and due to the need for medical care, we bought a home in Visalia and moved back.

A major part of our life centers around our church family, which at this time is at Parkside Community Church in Visalia, CA. After Mary's father passed on, we decided to stay in Visalia, since all three of our sons and their familes live there. Also, since I am out of town a good share of the time, it seemed more practical for her to be close to family. In the meantime we put our 'dream home' up for sale and for two years tried to sell in the worst economic time. A year ago we leased the home and as of June 2011, at the end of the lease, decided to try the vacation rental business. This hopefully will provide us the best of both worlds by bringing cash flow and allowing us to continue to use our 'dream home' during vacancies.

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Since 1967, we have lived in Visalia, located thirty minutes from Three Rivers. We rasied our three boys there. For activities we enjoyed water skiing, fishing, tent camping, hiking, backpacking, and bicycling. Since Three Rivers and the Sierria Nevadas were literally in our backyard, we spent most of our time getting to know the great water skiing times, the best fishin' holes, and some of the most beautiful remote mountain areas, all within a half hour to an hour from home.

After church the boys & I would take off for short afternoon trips through Three Rivers to find new adventures and places where we could go later for longer times. We would often talk about finding a place in Three Rivers to live! But because of my work, it was never practical to make the move.

Nowadays, we do some of the same trips with our grand kids. Mary says she did her thing with the boys so, ' tell Grandpa to do some week-end hikes and fishing with both the grandgirls and boys without her.' They all like sleeping under the stars.

The many beautiful crystal clear creeks & rivers make for fun exploring with the grandkids for fishing and snorkling, especially in late summer and early fall. Grandpa can take a 5 minute drive to the river or lake with the grandkids, take along some cold drinks and some snacks and set the lawn chair in the cool water and watch the kids play for hours!

During the spring time and the early summer, the rivers are just as beautiful, but very fast and cold with the snow melt! So that's the time to head up into Sequoia National Park where the crowds haven't shown up yet for the summer and we have the grand park pretty much to ourselves! The giant trees, the patches of snow still lingering in the shady areas, hiking up on Morro Rock and take in the awesome views and you can almost see our house from there, since we can see that same rock from our 'dream home'.

54 Reviews of Property 360711 in Three Rivers, California

Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
average rating of 4.9814816 based on 54 reviews
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
5

great family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great time at the house - everything was clean, we had plenty of room for all 8 of us, and the kids loved playing ping pong and going through the movie collection. It was an easy drive to the park and a great house to come home to at the end of each day. And there was even fresh baked bread waiting for us when we arrived!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Chris and family, We are glad you enjoyed your time at our home. Hopefully you can come again and stay longer and get to enjoy the pool. Glad you enjoyed the homemade bread, Robin has become quite the baker. Thanks again for choosing to stay at Sequoia Alta Vista. Mary and Gary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
5

We stayed here on our trip to Sequoia National Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family stayed here for three nights over the Holidays while we visited Sequoia NP and relaxed in the area. This house is clean, like new, and very well maintained. It is located at the top of a hill and has 360 degree views of the entire area of Three Rivers in the Sierra foothills. The house and property looked great in the pictures but it was even nicer in person. The house has huge windows facing the Sierra mountains and a back deck with a fire pit. We didn't use the pool because it was too cold but this place would be awesome in the summer months when you want to see Sequoia N.P, go river rafting or just relax for a few days in a beautiful setting.
There are small grocery stores and a few restaurants very close to the property. The owners supply many staple items in the kitchen as well. Based on this experience, we're sold on renting houses rather than staying in cramped hotel rooms.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Chris and family, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. Sounds like your time spent in Three Rivers and our home was a successful visit. Thank you for your kind words about our home. We try our best to keep our home clean and well maintained for our guest. We would love it if you and your family could come again and enjoy the pool. It is a great place to spend time in the summer while enjoying the Sequoia National Park and other great places to visit. Again thank you, Gary and Mary (owners)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Great place for your weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place is great. The house is nice and clean, the views are spectacular, and the kitchen has everything you need if you want to prepare meals for your family. The weekend we stayed was the coldest weekend of this year so far. Robin the property manager checked the heater for us and make sure everything are in working condition before we arrived. My family appreciate that because we have three kids with us. I highly recommend to people who planning a trip to Sequoia National Park. This is a good place to stay and to enjoy your vacation with your friends/family.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Tim and family, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. I think people do take the time to read the reviews and that can make the difference of who they book their vacation with . Sounds like you had a good time on your vacation to the Sequoia's and your short stay at our home. Hopefully you can come again and stay longer. Again thank you. Gary and Mary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Excellent place to stay and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I had to book this weekend because all other lodges were fully booked on Thanksgiving weekend. I'm glad that I've found this gorgeous house! This house has EVERYTHING - it's a family- and kids-friendly. It's very neat and clean. If you open all the cabinets, drawers, and pantry, you could find everything that you need. And if you need food, the market is a just a mile or two away from the house - very convenient. Oh, did I mention the views? Absolutely breathtaking! If the weather doesn't seem to friendly outside, you could just stay inside and find a lot of stuff to do like ping pong, board games, or watch dvds. We absolutely loved the house and we really wished that we could have stayed there longer. Staying at this house alone has become one of the best vacation we have ever had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Elly and family, We are so glad all the other lodges were full and you ended up booking with us at Sequoia Alta Vista. Sounds like you all had a great vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our home. We hope you can come again and stay longer. Thank you for taking the time to send such a great review we greatly appreciate it. Thanks again Gary and Mary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
Marina Del Rey, CA
5

Thanksgiving week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We just returned from a wonderful Thanksgiving week. I can not tell you how amazing the views are. From everywhere in the house. We went with our children and my in-laws for the week of Thanksgiving. The kitchen had everything we could have needed and more. We had great weather and used the deck and fire pit often. We grilled and also used kitchen a lot. Great location for going to Sequoia National Park which we did on three different days. I would highly recommend this house. The communication with Robin the property manager was wonderful. She was always willing to answer our questions and offer nice advice.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Jason and family, We were so glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving. The views are something that is very special about our home. We would love it if you could come again but maybe in the summer so you and your family could enjoy the pool. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. We appreciate it. Hope to see you again. Gary and Mary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
5

four NY friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved the house - inside and out. The views were spectacular. The owners left us a loaf of fresh baked bread and cookies - delicious. They were in contact with us to ensure we were problem free. One small complaint from the 2 tenants who still read print books - no good reading lights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mary, Thank you for your nice comments about our home. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed the bread, cookies and the views. Robin does a great job with trying to help keep our guest stay as problem free as possible. I will get on the ball and find some reading lamps and create some great spots to enjoy a good book. My sister-in-law is an avid reader and she made the same comments guess I should have listened to her. Again thank you for the nice review we appreciate you taking the time. Gary and Mary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
michigan
5

sequoia adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This property is probably the best in the area. Warm, friendly feeling staying there. Comfortably sleeps 6 with additional inflatable floor mattresses. Well stocked with soaps, condiments and paper products. Location is a beautiful setting with gorgeous decks. Only minor problems with Jacuzzi inoperative and unheated pool. Would highly recommend this property. Restaurants in the area are pricey and recommend bringing supplies to grill on the deck. We were affected by park shutdown but found other things to do on the river and in the national monument and national forest areas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Terence and family, Thank you for the very nice review. We really appreciate you taking the time to send one. Thank you for the lovely comments about our home. I'm very sorry about the jacuzzi not working during your stay I will have that repaired as soon as possible. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. It was touch and go for awhile with this government shutdown. But sounds like you were quite adventurous and found other fun things to do in our area. We hope you will come again. Thanks Mary and Gary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
New Jersey
5

Spacious home with all amenities included

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was a fantastic house for a vacation. It is stocked with everything that you could possibly want and more. It is quite spacious and very comfortable. . . so much so that it made it hard to get out to explore the local national parks. I would highly recommend to anyone thinking about staying in Three Rivers. A steal at this price compared to any of the local hotels/motels/etc.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lehn, Thank you for staying at Sequoia Alta Vista and for your kind review. It was nice to read the word comfortable used to describe our home. We strive to make our home comfortable and relaxing for our guest. Thank you for recommending our home to others and we hope that you will be able to come again. Thank you, Gary and Mary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
Los Angeles, California
5

Albert Canche

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This place was amazing, the view is beautiful. My family and I had a great time, we were able to go swimming at the pool and BBQ as well. The weather was perfect, we are returning again next year for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Albert and family, Thank you for the kind review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to send a review. Sounds like you had a great time and really enjoyed our home. We would love to have you come back next year. It was nice to visit with you that short time on the phone. I don't get to do that very often. Thanks again Gary and Mary (owners)
business
Hilltop Home W/ 360° View of Sequoia Park, Lake Kaweah & River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360711vb
559-9368666
Three Rivers Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It is with some trepidation that one books holiday properties via the internet, however, rest assured that this property is exactly as described by the owners and also previous renters. The whole rental process from beginning to end was made very simple by Robin who also offered lots of tips/local knowledge and was available for any questions prior & during our stay - along with fresh bakes on arrival. The property was well equipped,very clean, comfortable and very spacious.The most outstanding feature of the property is its amazing views, which we spent hours gazing at as it changed throughout the day .We witnessed amazing sunsets from the front porch and some wild weather and big skies from the back porch. A wonderful stay, thank you Robin.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Loraine, Thank you so much for your kind review. It is greatly appreciated when guest take the time to send a review. Sounds like Robin did a great job in setting up your booking and giving you some local information. I'm lucky to have her as my manager. We all work hard at keeping the house clean and well stocked for our guest. I understand while you were visiting you got to see a fantastic light show in the sky. The picture you sent was beautiful, thank you for sharing it with us. Yes we have some amazing sunsets and sunrises up there the colors can be so unreal looking. Makes you stop and think about the beauty of creation. I know you came from along way to visit our little town, glad to hear you made it home safely. Again thank you for the review. Gary and Mary (owners)