Elkins house rental - Fine and comfortable furnishings, LED TV, satellite, blu-ray, cozy wood paneling
Fine and comfortable furnishings, LED TV, satellite, blu-ray, cozy wood paneling
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Elkins House Rental Photos and Description
Secluded House, 3 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Enjoy your own private beach with no other houses in sight. Open meadows, trees, river and stream -- this secluded yet accessible cabin has it all. Warm and welcoming three bedroom, 2 full baths, sleeping porch, open kitchen with modern appliances, hot tub, gas grill, outdoor fire-pit, and fine furnishings throughout.

Listen to the sound of the babbling brook within 50 feet of the house while lounging in the sunroom or relaxing in the outdoor hot tub. In addition, the property has 27 acres of private beach access to the Shavers fork river. The house is engulfed in a narrow band of trees and surrounded by meadows and glades for walks (bring long pants and socks to explore). It is also situated just 1/4 mile upstream from the one-million acre Monongahela National Forest.

The house features natural wood-plank paneling and a well appointed kitchen, wireless internet, 2 televisions with satellite TV and DVD players, and a stereo/home theater system. The kitchen is open to the dining area, perfect for social cooking. The sunroom has seating for dining or board games with a full view of the stream so you can enjoy the outdoors even in inclement weather. Enjoy year-round the six-person hot tub on the back deck overlooking the stream.

This cozy ground-level home sleeps 8 in beds and 10 including the living room pull-out and sun porch (the latter in warm months or for the polar bears in your group). There is a MBR w/ Queen; BR #2 w/ Queen, BR #3 w/ two sets of Twin bunks, Livingroom w/ Queen pull-out sofa, and (unheated) Sun Porch w/ a queen futon

For fall or early spring visits, the house features electric heat and a wood-stove (a modest amount of firewood is provided).

In winter months, be prepared for snowy road conditions by driving a 4WD or suitable vehicle. The cabin is remote, so its narrow mountain road can be concerning to those not experienced.

Please be aware of the close proximity of the stream to decide if the risk is too great for your toddlers or other children who might leave the house unsupervised. Our other VRBO listing #317752 has a larger land buffer between the house and the moving water.

Pet friendly -- dogs only please, and no more than two dogs per reservation unless owner exception is offered.

Owners provide all paper products, bathroom soap, and laundry/dish detergent. Personal toiletries are to be provided by Guests.

Provisions:

• This is a NON-SMOKING rental with steep penalties for violations

• Receipt of 50% of total cost is required to hold your reservation

• Final 50% payment and damage deposit are due no later than 15 days before check-in.

• Full refund if greater than 60 days of stay, and within 60 days your payments will be returned to you if the property is re-rented for the period of your reservation (less cost of processing).

• Minimum durations apply -- 3 night minimum for holidays, plus see rate structure for details

• All reservations are subject to availability; terms can change without notice until deposit is paid.

Damage deposit is $250 and is fully refundable within two weeks of departure if rental agreement terms are met.

Keywords: Augusta Festival, Forest Festival, cabin, river, woods, Canaan, Showshoe, Durbin Greenbrier scenic railroad train, Polar Express, fishing, boating, kayaking, hiking, camping, Appalachian Mountains, Davis and Elkins College, D&E

More Details
Hide Details

Carl and Larisa got married and moved to Elkins, WV in 2000. Larisa moved from DC, and Carl moved from VA. Each had prior roots in WV and longed to return. They now live in Elkins just 20 minutes from the 'All Get Out' riverside vacation rentals.

Larisa purchased this house in 2001

The location is ideal -- just far enough out to be immersed in the natural surroundings, but only 25 minutes from a full-service grocery store, movie theater, Davis and Elkins College, Randolph County Community Arts Center, antique shopping, and a YMCA. It is an hour from highly-rated golf or skiing. Spring and summer bring wonderful fishing, swimming, floating, and boating in the river; winter is great for cross-country skiing on the property or nearby, and alpine skiing is less than an hour's drive. Fall's foliage is not to be missed as the house is engulfed in trees and adjacent to the 1 million acre Monogahela National Forest, wonderful for hiking right out your door. Don't miss nearby Elkins to dine at a variety of restaurants, enjoy free exhibits at the Community Arts Center, and ride the scenic trains on the Durbin and Greenbrier Railroad. Davis and Elkins College is just 20 minutes away where you can enjoy live music and Appalachian arts at the internationally renowned 5-week long Augusta Festival. The Forest Festival every fall is a big draw, with carnival rides and almost two weeks of activities.

In 2001 Carl and Larisa were fortunate to have the opportunity to buy this lovely acreage on the banks of the Shavers Fork River from a family friend, just next door to the cabin they've owned since 1995 (VRBO #317752). Since that time they have made several improvements, while keeping the original character that the builder, a mill owner, had created in handmade wormy chestnut kitchen cabinets, exceptional stonework, and plank poplar paneling throughout. You can easily hear the creek flowing behind the house as the summer night breezes keep you cool.

17 Reviews of Property 360447 in Elkins, West Virginia

27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
5

Lovely cabin getaway in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a cozy, remote, and relaxing getaway. The host is very responsive, and helpful. Great for pet owners and those with kids!
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
5

True Relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The entire experience couldn't have been better. The owner was super quick with responses regarding our last minute get away to their beautiful house. The property was even better than expected. It was so peaceful, quiet and relaxing! That was all we wanted for our Christmas vacation! My husband (and our 2 dogs), packed the car with way to much stuff because all the stuff I was worried wouldn't be there, was all there ready and waiting. We have stayed at other properties and have regretted not bringing our own sheets, towels etc.....but this place has it all and they are super comfortable. It was just the 2 of us, but I felt like I could have entertained our entire family! They have tried to think of everything you could need, all the way down to the camp chairs for the whole family!
Its hard to pick our favorite thing from the week we spent there, but one of the best was sitting in the hot tub looking up at the mass quantities of stars. True relaxation!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
Elgin, SC
5

Very nice accommodations for a couple with dogs. Accurate property descriptions and photos.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I just returned from renting this lovely accommodation and were very pleased. The home was clean and comfortable and was perfect for us and our two dogs. The property had lots of wide-open spaces for exploring and exercise. The owner's directions were spot-on and many informational pamphlets were found in the kitchen drawer. Although we did not have good cell service at the property, we had access to a landline phone with plenty of minutes. The washer and dryer were nice so we didn't have to pack so many clothes. My only concern is that I may have gone over the daily wi-fi limit -- I couldn't figure out a way to determine how much I was using each day. If you want to go out to eat, be prepared to drive about 20 minutes into Elkins. This was not a problem but may be a consideration to someone interested in renting this property. Once in Elkins, there are plenty of places to eat and shop. My only other comment is to forget the restaurants in the campground. We couldn't get anyone to wait on us and it was very smoky. Overall, this property/accommodation was great; I would highly recommend to anyone interested in the Elkins area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
5

Wonderful trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our first trip to Elkins. We loved the property and our dogs did as well. It was wonderful to be able to let the dogs run around on the property. We used the GPS coordinates which took us almost directly to the property (our GPS showed we had arrived about 100 feet before the driveway.) Larisa was very responsive and easy to work with. Everything we needed was at the house which was great, it was nice to not have to worry about chairs, firewood, etc. The location was great for us - we had family from Ohio, West Virginia and Virginia. We are already planning our trip to the house next fall and look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
Stillwater, New Jersey
5

A True Vacation Away from it All!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had never been to West Virginia before and didn't really know what to expect. First of all on a holiday weekend (Labor Day), the ride was beautiful and if you don't want to sit in traffic, this is the place to go! When we arrived, we loved it immediately. Our dogs loved running the property and being free to roam, swim and go on walks with us off-leash. They also loved the sleeping porch with the windows at their eye level. We thought about going places and seeing other things but enjoyed walking the property, hanging in the yard, the hot tub and just relaxing so much that we stayed put all week. Thanks for providing such a great house with everything you need right there! A peaceful, quiet and relaxing vacation. Just the way it's supposed to be. Get your food and drink supplies for the week and you are good to go. And thanks to Larisa for being so helpful! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
4

Rainy week on the Shavers Fork River

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had such high hopes for our time at the cabin on the Shavers Fork river-days splashing in the water, riding the riffles, letting the dogs enjoy their freedom in the stream. However, the weather was cool and rainy, so we found other things to do. The cabin was comfortable and well furnished, and the toys were thoroughly enjoyed by our Grandson's (1.5 & 3.5 yr). In spite of the rains we had camp fires 2 evenings; was nice to enjoy their embers from the enclosed porch as the evenings progressed. We actually managed to visit Spruce Knob between showers and enjoyed the view from this high point of WV. We visited the nearby fish hatchery, and the attendents let the boys hold the fish and let them feed them. We found the opening to a large cave and talked with a group that had just spent 3 hr 'spelunking' in it, and we visited Seneca cave which was exciting for the boys-a good rainy day activity. Just walking to the low water bridge and floating sticks and leaves was an adventure for the little ones. The rain broke Sat AM for our trip to scramble at Bear Rocks, pick blueberries, and hike in the Dolly Sods. And although it was chilly and the river running high, we did finally get onto it Sat evening. A beautiful spot, close enough to Elkins for all those things you forgot to bring, and there were no problems with the cabin. I would highly recommend it; however, use the owner's directions NOT your GPS, as ours took us in via County road 9 which was marginally driveable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
Ripley wv
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Had a wonderful time, inside the cabin is wonderful, hot tub was amazing, river was beautiful. Had a great family stay
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
Beaumont, Texas
5

Dogs haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We enjoyed our visit and found the property to be very cozy and comfortable. The sleeping porch afforded a great view for daytime activities and the living room was a cozy retreat. The owner was helpful and accomodating, and the people in nearby Elkins were friendly and welcoming. Our two dogs loved the freedom to roam and explore. I would definitely recommend this property as a great retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
canal fulton, ohio
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The cabin was clean and comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with cooking utensils, beautiful tableware, plenty of newer cookware and newer appliances. We could have cooked a feast. The surroundings were more beautiful than the description on the website. I wish we could have stayed longer and explored more of the area. Elkins is a very friendly town. We would recommend Wayside United Methodist Church on Isner Creek Road for a friendly place of worship. Overall, nice cabin, nice area, plenty to do!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
27 Secluded Acres of Serene Wooded Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360447vbi
Elkins West Virginia
NYC
5

Great Summer Gateway to WV mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house was awesome -- well maintained, exactly as described in the write-up, in a great location away from any crowds. We had a great time; hiking and biking in the area; tubing and swimming in the river. But I must admit, it was the first summer vacation where we were hoping FOR rain so the river would rise and we could tube again! The owners provided excellent information about activities, restaurants and the general area and were very responsive to any of our questions or issues.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2