Glen Arbor condo rental - Your Foyer
Your Foyer
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Glen Arbor Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Charming and cozy rustic two bedrooms plus a nice spacious loft on Lake Michigan in the Homestead Resort. Very private location, gated private parking, and beautiful sunsets.

Mid Century Modern Style, with vaulted ceilings throughout, which make it seem more spacious than it is. A million dollar view overlooking beautiful Lake Michigan enjoy spectacular evening sunsets. Teak built in cabinets, ceiling, and baseboards. The condo was built in the 60's and is still 'original' in many ways. There is one full bath with original tub, and one half bath. Kitchen has been somewhat updated, but very small. Small bar style counter with two short stools, perfect for kids. Pull out kitchen table in living room that will seat up to 6.

Electric Perkolater Coffee Maker, Electric Frying Pan, basic utensils, dishes, glasses, silverware, all quite eclectic. You provide your own paper products, although there will be a 'set' in place on your arrival.

Nestled in the woods in a discreetly gated property. Your stay will remain anonymous, with us. No public check in required. Your identity will never be known. Great for people who want a little R&R without the hustle and bustle of a typical tourist destination.

Despite the location on the water, the condo is nestled behind a small dune which provides which is very peaceful and quiet, yet your Lake view is unobstructed. There is a warm small river which gently runs behind and into the Lake. This is wonderful for small children to play in, as well as adults to float in during the summer months.

There is a luxurious king size bed in the master bedroom, a set of twin beds in the second bedroom and 2 sets of bunk beds in the large open loft. One full bath on the main floor and and half bath in the loft.

Although the condo does sleep 8, it is truly only suitable for a maximum of 4 adults and 4 children.

Our condo is on the top floor of the building and it is not handicap accessible. There is a small spiral staircase that leads up to the loft. The loft is great for the kids.

Note: Although the condo is located inside the Homestead Resort, it is not a resort owned property, it is privately owned. The Homestead Resort Pools or Tennis Courts are not available for use. Although the Resort restaurants, grocery store, spa, skiing, and salon are open to the public.

Check out Christmas Holiday Specials. Long term rental available during 'off season'.

Keywords: Lakefront Loft has a kitchen living room combo overlooks the Lake from small porch/balcony. King bed in master, twin beds in 2nd and two sets of bunk beds in the open loft. Privacy. Half bath in the loft, full small bath on the main floor.

Wifi, free long distance, cable TV, TV with DVD in Living room and Master bedroom. Shared coin laundry available in lower level. Gated parking and private beach.

More Details
Hide Details

We have 6 grown children, 4 grandchildren, and 1 great grandchild. We were fortunate to be able to bring our young children up during the summers to get away from the city, enjoy the beach and simplicity of charming Glen Arbor. During the winters, we'd often ski at the Homestead every chance we got. As the children have grown and gone their separate ways, we seldom use our lovely little getaway, so we have decided to share it with other special families and people.

Debra Williams purchased this condo in 1996

It is one of the most beautiful places in the world. It is quiet, cozy, relaxing, and a perfect place. Once you experience it, you will understand. If you like and enjoy Midcentury Modern architecture, you will enjoy this.

There are many things to do here. So, it really depends upon your style and taste. I am a writer, so I enjoy the quiet solitude of the area. I am not a cook, so we enjoy the fine restaurants, the local merchants, and shopping. There is a fabulous spa that overlooks the Lake where we enjoy massages. We go Morel hunting, hiking, and sun bathing. There are several art galleries and unique shops in town. The knit shop is my favorite and every year I purchase a hand made sweater or scarf that was created over the winter by the local ladies who sit together and knit. The Cottage Book shop is also a favorite. I think Glen Arbor and The Homestead is a 'magical' place. Quite Serene, secluded, and rustic. Far from - a 5 star hotel- but the experience makes up all the difference if you are looking for something different and special.

9 Reviews of Property 360443 in Glen Arbor, Michigan

Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 9 reviews
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
3

Read description carefully

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I think the owner changed her description after our stay. It is important to know that you are NOT part of the Homestead resort even though it is located there. The location is amazing and the beach is beautiful and easily accessible. As seen in the photos, the unit is dated and has a stale smell. The TVs are up to date, but nothing else is. The master bed TV has an annoying error message that won't go away no matter how hard I tried.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very clear and upfront that our property is NOT a Homestead Property. The photographs are accurate. If you have any trouble with using the TV's you can always call and obtain assistance. This guest, never once called for assistance either related to TV or the 'stale smell'. We have a housekeeper who will assist as well as a property manager. This guest never once complained or asked for assistance with anything.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
United States
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"We had a wonderful week at this lovely condo! The setting is wonderful and condo was perfect in every way. It was rather cool, so we spent a good deal of time exploring the town and staying in the condo. They had free wi-fi and cable- which was great.
The sunsets were magnificent and our daily walks on the beach wonderful. They definitely have a 'million dollar view'.
The owners gave us excellent instructions so we had no problem finding it and getting in. The place was very clean and fresh.

We will definitely return! We highly recommend their place, it is in a perfect location. Thanks for a wonderful week!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves, despite the cold weather! It is not usually that cool during this time of year. You are welcome anytime! According to our housekeeper, you left the condo in perfect order and we can use us as recommendation anytime.
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
United States
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This a a beautiful high quality condo with a great view and spectacular sunsets. The owners gave us excellent instructions so we had no problem finding it and getting in. The place was clean, fresh and the beds were very comfortable, The weather was cool, but we had a great time there and in the surrounding areas. The Tv and wi-fi worked great. Glen Arbor has everything we needed and several good restaurants. We were right on the Crystal River with the lake and sandy beach just over the small sand dune. We drove north to Leland which had a number of nice stores, a marina and fishing village with all kinds of fresh fish. Both the Cove and Bluebird restaurants had very good food. We plan to go back and give it our best recommendation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
La Grange, IL
2

Stunning area, Very tired condo

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The two stars are because Glen Arbor and The Homestead are stunning and filled with wonderful opportunities for vacation memories. However, this condo was quite lacking in providing the retreat that we had hoped for our vacation.

The condo needs many updates and is very “tired – “ it is dusty, has peeling wallpaper, a broken refrigerator that barely kept items cold, no automatic coffee maker, and the carpet needs a good cleaning. It would be very difficult to cook a meal in this small kitchen. There were barely adequate plates and bowls for our family of five. There were no amenities – no extra toilet paper, hand soap, bath towels, or garbage bags – that we have found with other vrbo rentals over the years. We left a day early for our own cabin on the other side of the state because we were so uncomfortable.

Aside from all this, however, it must be said that this owner rewards positive reviews on vrbo.com. A few days before arrival, the owner sent rental instructions that include future discounts in return for positive reviews on this site. I have never received such incentives from past vrbo rentals and can’t help but feel that the positive reviews for this property aren’t genuine. We do not feel this was worth the premium price we paid. We will not be renting this property again, although we will vacation at The Homestead.
Owner's Response: Of course, we are always sad to get this type of review. But, we are very open and honest about the condo size and what amenities it includes and does not include. We are not able to offer the 'amenities' which may only be gotten by renting directly through the resort.

Nor do we offer 'incentives' for good reviews. We do offer discounts for repeat customers and most of our guests are 'repeat customers'.

There are plenty of dishes and glasses for a family of 5, but of course, you must wash them between meals.

The condo is completely and thoroughly cleaned, between each guest and plenty of towels are left for the guests. There is a washer and dryer in the building, and this is not a 'hotel' service. Where you receive fresh towels each day.

Yet, still, there is a maintenance man on site and housekeeper, which you do have access to and may call if something is not working (such as the refrigerator) or you need extra towels, or would like additional cleaning.
These guests did not call on the housekeeper for extra towels or the maintenance man for the refrigerator.

The photos in the condo are recent and so we truly suggest, you carefully look at the photos and ask questions prior to renting. It is a rustic area and it is not a modern fancy condo. It offers peaceful respite from a busy world.

The coffee maker certainly is a perkolater style and works just fine. But, there are multiple 'coffee' speciality shops nearby.

If I am correct about these people, I told them that the condo is not meant for '5 adults'. It is too small and the bunk beds are child size. Moreover, there is only one full bath and one half bath. So, 5 adults are unlikely to be comfortable for any period of time. They 'insisted' they would be 'fine'. But as we can see- they were not.

It is difficult for our housekeeper to provide anything to guests, if they don't ask.

If you want a nice Lake Michigan Vacation, on the Lake, with magnificent sunsets each evening- you can't find them anywhere in our price range. If you ever need anything, all you have to do is ask us.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
4

great location and clean

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I along with our 3 children spent 3 nights here. The beds and towels are very clean. There are sufficient plates, cups and silverware for our family. Dishwasher is another nice thing to have. Just remember to bring your own coffee, hair dryer and toilet paper. The coffee maker in the condo is a very old one. I don't know how to use it.
The condo's location is at the end of the river mouth in the homestead resort on the second floor. It is a very easy walk to the best part of the beach. The sunset view from the condo balcony is just amazing.
We don't have access to the resort facilities such as swimming pool, tubes and kayaks since we are private renters. But we have really enjoyed walking the trails inside the resort every morning. I would definitely want to come back to the homestead resort again, but will make sure we have access to the resort facilities. There are 3 nice TVs, with excellent choices from Live TV to Netflix ect. Just make sure you know how to operate Tivo.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review! It is unfortunate, but private owners are not able to allow their guests to use the Homestead Beach Club and Tennis Courts. I highly recommend using booking your stay wiht the Homestead Resort- they have many lovely properties, if use of the pools are important to you. They are a fantastic Resort! But, we do make it clear on our website, that we are not able to offer this.

It truly is a great location and the best kept secret of vacation spots in America! Your business is greatly appreciated by the local community, so please tell your friend and do come again to Glen Arbor!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
2

Condo very outdated and dirty

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This will be the first negative review I have ever posted on VBRO but feel it is only fair to other people that we do so. We wish others would have pointed out the things we can upon.

Our family rented this condo for a week for our summer getaway and boy were we disappointed. While the location and view of Lake Michigan is wonderful, the condo you are in while looking at it is not!

When we arrived at the rental we were disappointed to find it very dirty and outdated. There were cobwebs everywhere inside the condo. The balcony was filthy. It was covered in cobwebs, pillows and empty beer cans . We spent 2 hours cleaning the balcony and the condo ourselves before unpacking. There were other people's clothes in the drawers (men's underwear for example). The dishes and pots had burnt food on them and we could not get them clean to use. There was someone's food in the kitchen cupboard and no room for any of the food we brought. The fridge had a bowl in it from a leaking freezer which we had to empty on a daily basis, the freezer didn't even get cold. The dishwasher is so loud that you can only run it during the day while you are gone.

The only positive was that the owners gave us pool passes for us and our 3 children. If we didn't have that day we probably would have left early! The beach was nice but it is very rocky so bring some water shoes.

To sum it up we felt like we were staying at someone's home while they were gone but they left in a hurry and weren't able to clean it or make room for our stuff. Worse rental we have ever stayed at and it was not cheap!
Owner's Response: Our condo is professionally and thoroughly cleaned between each guest. Moreover, each renter receives a Welcome Package which includes the name and number of our cleaning staff and an onsite handyman with whom you may call upon during your stay if anything is not quite right, something breaks or won't work. These renters never called upon anyone once during their stay. Nor did they email or call me with any complaints or concerns.

In stark contrast, upon their arrival I received an email that everything was in order and "beautiful". We had several emails during their stay raving about their time. Not one time, did they mention any dissatisfaction with any aspect of their stay. These people never called housekeeping, nor did they call the maintenance man to request help or report a problem with the refrigerator or dishwasher.

However, when our cleaning crew arrived to clean up after their stay them immediately sent me photos of the damage and disaster they left in our home. These people somehow managed to literally slit open the center of the freezer door, which means we must replace it.

In addition, according to my crew, they completely "trashed the place", which meant taking them extra amount of time to clean.

It was not until I sent them an email asking about the damage to the refrigerator, that they voiced any of the complaints which they state here. Had they done so, it would have been handled at the time. Basically, they don't want to take any responsibility or pay for the damage they caused. It is too bad there are these types out there.

All of the photos on our website are accurate and current. Our condo is professionally cleaned between each visitor from top to bottom. If there is ever a problem during your stay you may always call on our housekeeping staff and they will come and take care of your needs.
If there is ever a problem with any appliance or anything at all, there is an onsite maintenance person whose number you have and he will immediately attend to it.

We've used the same professional cleaning service for years and they are excellent. We have never once received a complaint about them. In fact, the opposite is true. They are very attentive to all renters requests.

Our guests comfort is our top priority. We go out of the way to make your stay a fine one.
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
Michigan
4

Wedding Week in Northern Michigan

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our 4 generations traveled to Northern Michigan for a family wedding and had the PLEASURE of staying at this property. There was plenty of room for all of us and the view of Lake Michigan was awesome.
We hope to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks!!! Your Family is always welcome!
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
Michigan
5

Fabulous Homestead vacation experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family enjoyed an Up-North vacation of a lifetime in this spacious lakefront condo. It is extremely clean, comfortable and well-appointed. It offers breathtaking views with amazing sunsets that rival those in the Caribbean. The Homestead has many great amenities. You can also walk along the beach to Glen Arbor,our favorite town in Northern Michigan to enjoy excellent dining and shopping. Add this one to your bucket list!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Gloria!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Michigan Homestead Resort Beachfront Cozy Comfy 3 Bedroom Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360443vb
Glen Arbor Northern Michigan
Saint Louis
5

Best Place Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We decided to take your place for just the two of us and we loved it. It is sort of like the ‘rustic’ feel of being up north with all of the perks. You have the most desirable location in the resort. Wi-Fi was a nice touch and it even worked on the balcony! We barely left the beach. I think this is the best secret in the U.S. The view over the lake- well it looks like the Caribbean! The little town of Glen Arbor is a real treat…very charming.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks!!
Helpful votes: 2/2