Monteverde house rental - Two story living room view from kitchen. Living room opens into Master Bedroom.
Two story living room view from kitchen. Living room opens into Master Bedroom.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Monteverde House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-8)

ABOUT THE HOME....

The Zabala house is nestled in a lush organic coffee farm called Finca Flor Mar. This 100 acre farm produces organic Arabica coffee, plantains, bananas, mangos, limes, starfruit, & avocados.

The home is shaded by an abundant Mango & Lime orchard that is buzzing with butterflies & native birds.

With 4 bedrooms (3 beds + loft) & 2 full baths, the Zabala house hosts a max of 7 people (4 adults with extra room for kids). It is the perfect couple’s getaway or family vacation home. The home has a fully functional kitchen and a maid that comes 3x’s a week. Your floors will be cleaned, and dishes sparkling =) Laundry service is an additional $5 a day.

The open floor plan boasts a rustic yet luxurious feel. It is comfortably furnished & tastefully decorated. The Zabala house features a large eat-in kitchen, wireless high-speed internet, two story high living room with a flat screen TV & DVD, a living room-like front porch, an expansive master suit with a spa-like hot shower, two upstairs bedrooms (one room with a twin bed, the other with a queen), and an open loft bedroom with queen bed & quadruple doors that open to a private patio. (The loft has an additional mattress nestled into the balcony nook that will sleep 2...great for kids.)

This is the only home of its kind in the area. It was hand-built by the community with local hard woods. All the doors, windows, & much of the furniture is artisan-made by the next-door neighbor. This house is the home of the Zabala family, who has temporarily returned to Atlanta. It has been called (with jaws dropping) a wonderland...the home is full of art, full of soul, and it is Costa-Rican gem like nothing else you can experience on the mountain.

ABOUT MONTEVERDE...

Monteverde is a largely bilingual town. It’s home of the Cloud Forest Reserve, stunning natural landscapes, world-class restaurants, local shops, a strong art community, & a bustling local economy.

The world-famous Cloud Forest Reserve is a private nature reserve listed as #14 on Newsweek's 100 Places to Remember Before They Disappear. The massive 10,500 hectare reserve draws 70,000 tourists a year. It is known as

the site with the largest number of orchids in the world, and houses 60 species of amphibians (including the near extinct

Monteverde-endemic golden toad) and the elusive bright Blue Morphos butterfly. This area is also a stop for 91 species of migratory birds. The famed quetzal resides here seasonally.

What is now considered Monteverde was founded by Quakers from the United States whose pacifist values led them to defy the American draft during the Korean War. These conscientious objectors blended well with the Costa Rican philosophy of peaceful living. The Cloud Forest Reserve was set aside by Quakers to preserve the Cloud Forest & protect the water shed. Monteverde & surrounding areas are inhabited by a blend of Costa Ricans, Americans, & families from around the world.

The Zabala house is located about 20 minutes outside of Monteverde, in a small town called San Rafael. San Rafael is usually a good bit warmer & less rainy than Monteverde. It is a 100% Tico town, outside of the residents of Finca Flor Mar. This active town is formed by a strong community of families, a tasty restaurant, a pottery pavilion, local bar, two pulperias (small general stores), and two public schools.

CASA ZABALA DETAILS

The Zabala house is THE most personal, unique, and authentic way to experience Monteverde, Santa Elena, &

San Rafael, Costa Rica. High-end hotels of comparable quality to The Zabala house are $150-$250 a night for a single room. The Zabala house offers 4 bedrooms for $125 a night. Our home is about 2,000sqft of Costa Rican hardwoods & rustic comfort. It is one of the largest, most unique houses in the area.

Finca Flor Mar is the birthplace of the Sustainable Coffee Initiative. Chelsea’s father, Ken Lander, is the founder of this community based organization that created a system which exponentially increases the farmer’s profits compared to Fair Trade. San Rafael is the center of an agricultural revolution for the coffee industry. The Sustainable Coffee Initiative’s practices & philosophy are being explored around the world. Come visit Ken Lander at The Common Cup (or at his home next-door to The Zabala House), who will take you through the ever-growing world of the Costa Rican coffee farmer.

We strongly recommend having a rental car when you stay at Casa Zabala. It is a 25 minute drive to Monteverde & 3 minutes to San Rafael's center. Sooo much to do...but you will need to drive there. The value of staying in our house verses a hotel or rental closer to Monteverde in incomparable.

Please email us for more pictures. We have lots! (Had fun taking them...our home is lovely!)

Keywords: coffee farm, secluded, family, couples, mountain home, relaxing home, tropical, cloud forest, costa rica, monteverde, rustic, open floor plan, full kitchen, orchard, authentic, farm, gardens, casa, finca, finca de cafe, espanol, honeymoon, family vacation, romantic getaway

More Details
Hide Details

We are a young couple with two kids (Cecilia, 10 & Eli, 4). Our home in Monteverde is our pride & joy. We lived there for 3 years and recently returned to Atlanta, Ga to spend time with our family.

Rafael owns an Interactive Online Marketing Firm where Chelsea is the head designer.

We are happy to share our home with you, and we ask that you treat it with love & respect. We consider this our other home, not just our vacation rental. We are in love with San Rafael & Monteverde, and will to return to our peaceful lifestyle & exquisite home when the time is right.

Chelsea Zabala or Kenneth Lander purchased this house in 2008

We moved to Costa Rica in 2003 to live on an organic coffee farm. We designed the home & hired local talent to build it by hand with local hardwoods. The home & plantation are one-of-a-kind. The community is tight-knit, diverse, and positive.

This property is not just a house....the tile floors extend out to a large front porch. Doors span the front of the home. Open up to the fresh air, gardens, birds, & butterflies and you are truly in wonderland.

21 Reviews of Property 360208 in Monteverde, Costa Rica

Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Coffee Plantation House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We absolutely loved the house, the farm and even more so the people. Ken the owner was away on business during our stay but his brother-in-law Alex was the most gracious host you can ask for. The place was stunning, unique and huge amounts of room for my family to finish out our Costa Rica adventure. We would definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
4

Rustic getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If you want a rustic getaway this is the place. The owner is friendly and helpful and the dog, Stella is very friendly. The beds and bedding really need to be replaced as they all sag in the middle. The bedspread in one bedroom is very worn out. The pillows need to be replaces as well. There is an odor to the entire house from being closed up. I would not describe the bathroom as being spa like. It is simply a larger shower area than most. Due to the fact that you can't flush paper products in the toilets there is a constant smell in the bathrooms that would be better remedied with trash cans that are closed more tightly. It is a place that is well suited for those who like rustic, unadorned and minimally furnished accomodations. I would suggest rewriting some of the description so that it is more representative of what it is. For example - flat screen TV makes one think that it is larger than a 22 inch screen. This is a quaint and rustic getaway but I think the description needs to reflect that. I would not necessarily recommend this place for couples trying to share a bed or the 55 plus set.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Louise,

Thanks for staying at Casa Zabala and for your comments. We have already placed an order for new mattresses and bedding pending delivery here on the farm.

As you and others experienced, we are off the beaten path, but I think many who have stayed here would agree that is part of the charm of staying away from the tourist areas. We are continuing to add, change, and update. This is the home of my daughter and son-in-law that we built for them and our grandchildren, and the house was designed for a family with open spaces and common areas.

Thanks for your comments, and we so appreciate your staying with us on the farm.

Ken
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
West Hartford, Ct.
5

As close to heaven......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our stay at the casa zabala was wonderful. The area is breathtaking as was the abode. Our only criticism are the roads but that goes with the territory of being in Costa Rica. If you have the opportunity to be in this area you have to stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Couldn't have loved this house more

Couldn't have loved this house more
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I rented Ken's house, along with two of our friends. It was comfortable, clean, beautiful, and an incredibly relaxing place to spend a few days. Ken was an amazing host and helped us with everything we could have possibly needed. The views from the coffee plantation were the best we'd seen on our entire trip. Absolutely stunning. We also LOVED having Ken's dog, Stella, around. This is definitely an amazing place to stay. Don't think twice about booking it... but definitely come in a car with four wheel drive. The road to Monteverde is the worst I've ever been on.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
Anaheim, California
4

Secluded getaway with wonderful views-four wheel drive required

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This gem is definitely off the beaten path. Spacious and rustic home near a small village in Monteverde. A 30 minute drive on a rocky road to Santa Elena-four wheel drive/SUV highly recommended. The owner is gracious and hospitable. Stella the friendly German Shepherd greets you every morning as do two parrots and a cat. The lush grounds are covered with fruit trees however; the coffee plantation, itself is quite a hike. Be sure to ask the owner for a tour rather than navigating it on your own. Wifi is hit or miss. The views of the gulf of Nicoya from the second floor balcony were a perfect way to greet the morning.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
St-Lambert, Qc, Canada
5

Splendide maison confortable et pleine de charme!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Lors de notre passage au Costa Rica nous avons eu deux coups de coeur: Monteverde...et la Casa Zabala. Unique en son genre, décorée avec goût, proposant une vue à couper le souffle sur les verdoyantes collines l'entourant et sur l'océan au loin, cette demeure laisse transparaître la joie de vivre de ses proprios. Toute de bois et construite par des artisans locaux, elle est confortable et comporte de grandes pièces. Amoureux de la nature, vous serez ravis. La plantation de café l'entourant, les différents arbres fruitiers, les perroquets, le décor, le chant des oiseaux, tout est absolument magnifique. Située à quelques minutes de Monteverde (certes les routes sont cahoteuses...mais ça en vaut vraiment le coup!!) elle est un havre de paix.
Ken et sa famille sont des plus accueillants, veillant à notre confort tout en demeurant discrets.

Nous recommandons chaudement cette maison, sans hésitations. Elle est encore plus jolie en vrai que sur les photos!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
Atlanta GA
5

I loved this House!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place was absolutely amazing!!! If you have EVER considered going to Costa Rica and haven't done it yet, I can promise you wont regret your stay here and you will come home convincing everyone you know they must visit! Now about this home...

You could not ask for a more authentic retreat than to stay tucked in to the lush green mountain side of Monte Verde. The views...my goodness. From the back yard - rolling mountains and valleys, flush with great vegetation against a mix of blue sky and clouds with an ocean view background!! I can see it now like I'm still there. The air and atmosphere are so clean, crisp, relaxing...whatever your worries where before coming here I assure you will be gone after spending one night here. The trip up to the house is an adventure - but one filled with a look at the common life of the native Tico's and some very nice people. After being lost a few times, everyone we stopped to point us in the right direction was more than willing to help us on our way. Be careful around those curves though!! 4x4 or traction control might be helpful along the way!! I promise one thing though: to finally arrive at the home is only a delayed trip to paradise!

You will meet more of the locals once you arrive at the home - a friendly dog, a friendly cat (that's more like a dog), some fire red ants who will entertain you with the massive green leaf movement, and some 8 legged creepy crawlers. I'm not particularly fond of the creatures BUT the view and the mountain air and the breeze and did I mention the view will SURELY occupy your attention and you cannot help but enjoy yourself here. I've been back to work for a week and all I have spoken to my friends, coworkers, and clients about is how beautiful this place is!

We traveled with 8 ranging from ages 6 to 45 and EVERYONE enjoyed themselves. The zip lining thousands of feet above the valleys, the horseback riding, the restaurants and local life, to the bars at night - it was all a blast. Not if but when I go back to Costa Rica, I will definitely be spending more time at this beautiful home in Monte Verde!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
Tallahassee, Fl
5

A perfect way to experience the real Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As first-timers to CR, we were a bit apprehensive about staying in a home versus the "sanctuary" of resort. We made the right choice. This place was perfect for our family of five, very accommodating and we felt, for a few days at least, like a part of the country we came to love. Alejandro took us on an amazing and very informative tour of the adjacent coffee farm and we learned abuot sustainable coffee farming that respects the farmers. We did all the usual stuff in Monteverde, but the coffee farm tour was the best (and it didn't hurt that the proprietor was an excellent bird watcher and we were able to spy some fabulous birds.) The host (Ken) was extremely gracious and we could not have asked for a better expereince.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
angola, IN
4

Very Satisfied

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Both my husband and I had a wonderful time while at Ken's home. It was very relaxing, and was every bit as beautiful as stated. It was no problem getting there with the directions provided.

Our hosts were very accommodating, the house was clean, very friendly, worth recommending!

Thanks again Ken to you and your wife for a wonderful week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Stunning Artisan Home on Coffee Plantation with Exquisite View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360208vbi
+1 678-500-9391
Monteverde Puntarenas
Calgary, Alberta
5

Very Unique Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Four adults and two kids (9 and 4) stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed a unique experience.

The house is lovely, rustic and very zen and a great place to get comfortable, spend time together and also have access to high speed internet and lots of things to do. We went into St Elena/Monte Verde every day for hikes, tours, zip lining, shopping etc. but woke up and went to sleep in this most unique space in the middle of the countryside in a valley high up in the mountains. The resident parrots, cat, dog, variety of ants and spiders were interesting company.

This is definitely a great place to stay if you want a unique experience while in the Monte Verde area. The roads, wind and changing cloud forest climate are challenging, but part of the overall Costa Rica experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1