Uvita house rental - Villa Kristina Maria
Villa Kristina Maria
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights
 

Uvita House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 9)

This craftsman inspired tropical Villa is nestled on 3.75 acres of private paradise in the rainforest jungle of Bahia Ballena. The panoramic views of the ocean, Isla Ballena, Cano Island, Tres Hermanas (Three Sisters rocks), Osa Peninsula, and the rainforest will take your breath away!

The Villa is ideally located at a comfortable elevation of 200 meters, approximately 5.7 miles south of the town of Uvita in 'Perla de Ballena' - a private gated wildlife reserve surrounded by 100+ acres of rainforest.

Built in 2008, Villa Kristina Maria sleeps 9 people in 4 spacious bedrooms (including two master suites), 3.5 bathrooms, over 2250 sq. ft. of indoor living space plus 1500+ sq. ft. of covered wraparound decks with lounge chairs and rocking chairs for relaxing and soaking in the scenery.

The Villa offers a truly unique and private location with a spacious open floorplan designed for indoor/outdoor living, lots of windows with screens, and ceiling fans in every room and on the decks.

Relax as you sip a margarita on the palapa covered deck adjacent to the sparkling tiled swimming pool that features a serene rock waterfall surrounded by lush tropical plants and flowers. The palapa deck has a wetbar with a bar refrigerator, 4 bamboo barstools, 2 bamboo lounge chairs, a loveseat and arm chair, and a ceiling fan. You'll never want to leave!

The Villa is tropically furnished with locally crafted bamboo furniture and beautiful artwork by Costa Rican artisans. Each of the four bedrooms has a queen sized bed, pillowtop mattress, bamboo headboard, armoire wardrobe and chair, and a covered deck with a ceiling fan, a rocking chair, and views of the ocean, islands and jungle.

The kitchen features stainless steel appliances including a dishwasher, tropical designed dishes, a breakfast bar, and is fully equipped with a toaster, electric coffee maker, blender, pots and pans, linens and cooking utensils.

The dining room has an oval bamboo dining table that seats 8 - 10 people, or dine al fresco at the bamboo table on the deck, or at the palapa bar.

Enjoy the sights and sounds of nature: Howler monkeys, white-faced capuchin monkeys, white-nosed coati mundis (raccoon family), agoutis, iguanas, toucans, parrots, many other exotic birds, beautiful butterflies including the spectacular blue morpho, frogs, lizards, and other jungle wildlife.

Hike to nearby waterfalls in the 'Perla de Ballena' eco-community and private reserve, relax in a lounge chair and enjoy the tranquility and sounds of the rainforest, or read a book in a comfortable bamboo rocking chair on the deck.

Minutes to beautiful tropical beaches where the jungle meets the shore, and the ocean temperatures range from 80-85 degrees year round!

Convenient to delicious restaurants in Uvita, Ojochal and Dominical, banks, grocery and convenience stores, gas station, and a multitude of nearby activities that include swimming, surfing, horseback riding, whitewater rafting, fishing, boating, kayaking, snorkeling, zipline canopy tours, hiking, exploring ocean caves and rainforest waterfalls, ATV tours, learning about jungle flora and fauna on a guided hike at Hacienda Baru Wildlife Refuge, Don Lulo's horseback riding tour to Nauyaca Waterfalls, visiting Reptilandia (a reptile zoo), and shopping for souveniers at beachside stalls on Playa Dominical, or at the Community Market in Uvita on Saturday mornings.

Ballena Beach Club access is included in this rental. Ballena Beach Club has a restaurant, swimming pool, bar, restrooms, beach parking, and a private access to the beach (Playa Ballena in Marino Ballena National Park).

A separate and private studio casita (Casita Kristina Maria #369661) may be rented separately, if available, for 2 additional people.

To take a virtual tour and view more photos of the property, see the 'Links to more information' below, which includes a link to the main house Villa Kristina Maria, and a link to the Casita.

Inquire about Discounted Rates for less than 7 occupants.

A 4-wheel drive vehicle is necessary. We would be happy to refer you to a reputable and reasonable rental car company that gives our guests a discount, as well as provide you with contact information for making reservations for nearby activities and excursions.

Keywords: House,Villa,Resort,Home,Pool,Swimming Pool,View,Ocean,Jungle,Rainforest,Casa,Beach,Monkeys,Birds,Tropical

More Details
Hide Details

We live in San Juan Capistrano, in Southern California. Kathy is a real estate broker, and Steve is a general contractor working for a local structural steel company. We have a daughter in her mid-20's, and 3 dogs and a parrot. Two of the dogs, 'Perla' and 'Ballena', we brought home from Costa Rica. Steve surfs, and we enjoy nature and hiking. Our favorite beaches are Playa Ballena at Ballena Beach Club and Playa Ventanas, both in Costa Rica. Our favorite restaurant is Exotica in Ojochal, Costa Rica - their Chicken Exotica is Kathy's favorite, and their 'Devil's Fork' dessert is delicous.

Kathy Divel, Owner purchased this house in 2006

We fell in love with the spectacular views, the gorgeous scenery, private location, and abundant wildlife in the gated private reserve of Perla de Ballenain on the South Pacific region of Costa Rica. The Costa Rican people are so warm and friendly, and made us feel welcome.

Perla de Ballena, the private wildlife reserve in a gated community where Villa Kristina Maria is located, reminds Kathy's mother of Jurassic Park because of its lush landscape and natural environment. Being surrounded by nature is a peaceful and renewing experience.

We purchased the property in December of 2006, designed the home in early 2007, started construction in mid-2007 with Ecomaderas, a local Tico contractor, and completed construction in early 2008. We are proud of the way the home blends so seamlessly into the rainforest.

Relax to the sound of the river cascading through rainforest. You'll be lulled to sleep by croaking frogs and the sounds of the jungle at night. Awaken to the distinct roar of howler monkeys as they traverse through the jungle, and the squawking of green parrots flying overhead . At lowtide, and when the surf is big, you can hear the waves crashing on the beach.

Included in the vacation rental is access to Ballena Beach Club. Ballena Beach Club is a beachside restaurant and bar, swimming pool, shower, restroom facilities, free beach parking, and a palm-lined trail to Playa Ballena. Playa Ballena is a beautiful tropical swimming and surfing beach In Marino Ballena National Park, with views of Tres Hermanas rocks and Isle Ballena. The ocean water temperature is a warm 80-85 degrees year-round.

Villa Kristina Maria is located in Perla de Ballena, which is a private, gated, and protected wildlife reserve. It is an ideal setting for viewing the flora and fauna of the rainforest with more than 100 acres of primary and secondary rainforest, streams, waterfalls, and hiking trails.

19 Reviews of Property 360199 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
San Juan Capistrano, Calif. USA
5

My favorite place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our third stay at Villa Kristina Maria, so I guess you can tell we love it ! This is, however, my first review. First of all the description of panoramic ocean , island and rainforest views is so true but you not only see the rainforest your saying in it. No house
, hotel room or condo next door. Your neighbors are Toucans, Monkeys, and a variety of other animals. If you would rather be awakened by a troupe of Howler Monkeys talking to each other than traffic noise this is the place for you. The house itself is beautiful, with huge , comfortable outside living spaces which is where we spent most of our time. My favorite is eating breakfast on one of the large decks overlooking the ocean- island view, or maybe preparing our barbecue fish for dinner sitting around the covered outdoor wet bar , oh yea next to the pool. (Its great to jump into when you get home from a days adventure hot and sweaty)
The setting of the surrounding area
is way less hectic than typical tourist areas but there is no lack of beautiful beaches within very short driving times. In fact this last trip we didn't have time to visit our favorite beach from the last two trips because we went new ones to us. Also the local restaurants are numerous and very good. My wife's favorite desert of all times was at the restaurant Exotica in Ojochal (great food and gets rave reviews on other social media). We have enjoyed hiking in the rainforest, white water rafting, zip lining in the canopy, hikes and horse back rides to beautiful waterfalls and snorkeling at one of the islands. All of which were recommended by the owners as some of the best places and activities close by in a book that they have created at the house. All of the things we have done or places we have visited at their suggestion were great. ( Experience counts)
All in all a great vacation place which I highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Houston, TX, USA
5

Exceeded our expectations! We will definitely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our Thanksgiving trip was a multi-generational family gathering with my 15 year old son, 21 year old daughter, my husband and I, and my parents who are in their 70's and 80's. I cannot say enough good things about the provisioning of the house. Everything we thought we might need was there. We loved sitting on the porches and watching the toucans and occasional monkeys. We could have easily spent all of our time there. The pictures (especially inside) do not do the house justice. The house is much nicer than it appears in the pictures. We especially loved all the decorating touches found throughout the house. The frog chorus around the pool at night was great as well as all the beautiful flowers around the property.

If you are traveling with someone elderly (i.e. with knee problems such as my Dad) they will find themselves house and porch bound unless they are leaving by car. As others have said, the house is accessed by a steep incline without any level or gently sloping trail areas.

We did have one issue with some of the ceiling fans that did not work independently of the lights. In the upstairs master suite it got rather warm once the fan/light was turned off at night. I'm sure property management would have taken care of it if we had notified them, which we did not. Other than that we were completely in awe of this beautiful home and were so happy to have gotten to stay there. The house is a real bargain compared to other places we stayed while in Costa Rica!
Thank you Kathy & Jaguar Properties for a great stay! We will certainly stay with you in the future!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Villa Kristina Maria. We designed the house to work well for multi-generational families. The downstairs second master bedroom is ideal for older guests that do not want to climb stairs to the upstairs bedrooms. Kathy's 84-year old mother loves staying in the downstairs bedroom with its own private bathroom when she visits.

Each of the four bedrooms has its own deck and bamboo rocking chair to relax in while enjoying the views of the rainforest jungle, ocean and islands.

All of the ceiling fans have a wall switch for power, and should have two separate pull chains/ropes - (one for the light, and one for the fan). Sometimes if a guest pulls a chain too hard, it breaks off. We have brought this to the attention of our property managers and asked them to check and make sure all ceiling fans have both pulls chains attached before each guests' arrival so that all fans can operate when the light is off.

We look forward to your next stay at Villa Kristina Maria.

Sincerely,
Kathy and Steve
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Christmas & New Year's in Paradise

Christmas & New Year's in Paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What an amazing location. It's a beautiful drive up the jungle mountainside to a secluded paradise with spectacular views. The driveway offers a little "theme park" ride feel and the pool is simply perfect. The house is well designed and extremely well appointed. We certainly the Tiki Bar to good use:) While the BBQ location is a little questionable, we didn't overly concern ourselves with snakes, just used caution when in particular areas. We had a exciting visitor to the pool one night when a large green iguana made a splashdown from the waterfall. He was about 3 feet long and we fished him out since he seemed content to lie at the bottom of the pool. We saw toucans each day, white-faced monkeys on a regular basis and got used to the howler monkeys each morning at 5am. At night, a star-gazers delight, especially lying in bed in the upstairs master. Lots of room for 4 teenagers, us and my parents, all of us whom had a ball...surfing lessons, horseback riding, ATV tour, standup paddleboard & kayaking through the mangroves. There is so much to do but most of all we enjoyed coming back to the house and lazying about the pool. Andres was very helpful as property manager "go to guy"during our visit and the rest of the Jaguar Property Team & owners are most accomodating and helpful. Overall, a 5 star, once in a lifetime experience for our whole family in a setting beyond belief!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Canada
5

You have to see it for yourself

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
For those who want to get away from the pampered life this is great. There is no caretaker on site but assistance is just up the road or a call away. The Casita is 100 ft away so there could be a neighbour if it is rented. For us privacy was very important in order to truly just relax. Rain or shine it is a great view and a perfect temperature. If you want to be off the beaten path just a little you will not find a better place. I wish I could attach a video from the deck. It is like living in a postcard.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have already booked the Villa again for an entire month next year!
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
California
5

Outstanding!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Nestled in the beautiful rain forest, up near the clouds... This lovely home is surrounded by gorgeous flowers blooming everywhere, butterflies and colorful parrots soaring through the trees, Howler monkeys and tiny frogs croaking... With the many sights and sounds of the jungle by day and night, we experienced the best of Nature. Staying here was just like being transported into a live movie! Villa Kristina Maria was designed to enjoy this environment while being pampered in luxurious accommodations. There is plenty of space with 4 bedrooms and 3 1/2 baths. A grand room built to flow outdoors onto expansive decks with magnificent ocean views, for relaxing and dining, as well as cooking in the fully equipped kitchen. It is an incredibly beautiful & comfortable villa. Often the nights would bring panoramic flashes of bright lights across the sky then booming thunder... even the sky was alive followed by sounds of rain hitting the metal roof... I loved every minute from the cool refreshing dips in the pool to the walks around the decks and neighborhood. The drive up to the house is an adventurous ride... A strong 4WD vehicle is highly recommended. At first it was challenging, but after a few times up the road, it became a fun trip, especially looking forward to arriving at this fantastic home in the jungle. We have stayed there three times and will definitely be back soon... This is a very hard place to leave!!!! I highly recommend a visit to this property for anyone who desires the most enjoyable and memorable experience of a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Carmel, CA
5

Amazing property, unforgettable experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I was lucky enough to stay at Villa Kristina Maria for about two weeks in early July. Everything about my stay was incredible. The house has everything you might need to make your stay comfortable. I will never forget waking up the sound of howler monkeys in the morning and sipping my coffee on the porch as I listened to the sounds of the rainforest and looked out at the ocean. I could have stayed the entire time at the house, just enjoying the pool and the porches and the lounge chairs. However, there is plenty to do and see in Uvita, including waterfalls, caves, beaches, horseback riding, zip lining, and plenty of restaurants serving both Costa Rican food and food from all over the world. Even with all of these attractions, Uvita is a very small town and definitely makes you feel as though you are far from the typical tourist spots in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend Villa Kristina Maria to anyone, and I hope to return someday myself! Thank you Kathy and Steve for a truly unforgettable experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
New Jersey
5

Stunning views, amazing house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We are a family of 4 with two small boys aged 2 and 4. We shared Villa Kristina Maria with another family of 4 who have two girls aged 1 and 3. This house was a dream for us. This was our 5th trip to Costa Rica, and our best so far. The house had a lot to do with that, as it is really the kind of place you’d be perfectly happy to never leave. It is really well located, extremely private but close to all the beaches and great restaurants of Ojochal.

It’s on a very well-maintained dirt road that is gated and locked – but in no way has the feeling of a housing development. I really love the Craftsman design of this house which is unlike other Costa Rican rentals you’ll find. It’s absolutely stunning.

The pool is heavenly – though it appears small in the photos, it was the perfect size for us and we loved that it had a ledge all the way around that our kids could sit on. The porches are lovely and the views are amazing. In particular, the upstairs master suite has just breathtaking views, and the huge windows make laying in bed and looking at the stars a very unique experience. The open plan downstairs was perfect for making dinner and keeping an eye on the kids – there was plenty of room for us all to spread out, and the table was big enough for us all to sit together.

We heard howlers every day, had some capuchins visiting by the end of the week, and plenty of toucans. The giant toads are always fun – watch out, they leave dog-size poops by the pool : )
I would stay in this house again in a heartbeat. The only warning I’d offer is that the driveway is extraordinarily steep. Not for the faint of heart and I would recommend an automatic transmission (4x4). Our friend almost rolled down the mountain when she stalled in the middle of the driveway and it was terrifying! But don't let it deter you...this house is totally worth it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy, We're happy to hear that you and your family and friends enjoyed your stay at Villa Kristina Maria. The driveway can be daunting until you get used to it. We have found that using low gear in 4WD is the best and easiest way to navigate the driveway. We have a manual transmission and no shifting is required when we use 4WD in low gear. Alternatively, an automatic transmission in low gear 4WD is fine as well. Pura Vida! Kathy and Steve Divel, Owners
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Beautiful in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a great experience staying in this wonderful home with our 2 boys (12 and 8)! It is everything it says and more. Waking up in the jungle with the howler monkeys and the toucans outside to greet you is an experience everyone should have at least once, and you get it everyday you are at this home. The couple who manage the house are the best! They will help you with anything you need while at the home as well as some great recommendations of things to do while in the area. We have been to the area 6 times and this is our favorite home by far! We highly recommend Villa Kristina.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Seattle, WA USA
5

Amazing home in an amazing place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We were four adults and three teenagers, stayed here for two weeks. The house and property were even more amazing than the pictures. Not only was there great attention to comfort (plush towels, big bathrooms, convenient kitchen), but the entire house and rancho were artistically decorated with Costa Rican furniture and beautiful art that we could then try to find and take home, mostly found in Dominical. We loved it all. The connection to Ballena Beach Club and Cliff's jungle restaurant were a definite plus (we ate there four times, including Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve, superb Ahi tuna, and went to the beach from there, showering and using his space to store our things). Two of us were senior citizens and spent time in his bar, while the younger ones went to the beach. We got over our intimidation of the steep drive up to the house quickly. Appreciated the landscaping and pool which is bigger than in pics., enough to cool down in when it's hot. Saw two kinds of monkeys, coaties, toucans from the decks. Ate in Ojochal three times (Exotica, Ylang and the Bavarian place) went to San Isidro to see how Ticos live, several waterfalls, Hacienda Baru ziplining, explored other beaches, Ventana for one. Uvita had everything: two supermarkets, Sat. market, Sonia at the Tourist Office was great for cars, and tours., as was the owner. It was all perfect, best exotic vacation ever. This is where the rain forest begins; further north, as we drove down from San Jose, it looked dry compared to Uvita's lushness. Really got to appreciate the rain forest and its beauty. We were so happy with our choice. Anyone would like Villa Kristina Maria and its location and amenities. Met many expats, but few tourists which is all to the good. Hope to be back to explore the things we missed and will definitely stay here when we do. The road from San Jose was all paved and good. Next time we will drive ourselves instead of being driven from the airport, though that was also nice and fairly reasonable. All the Ticos we met, though few, were incredibly friendly and nice. Cliff, though American, has lived there 18 years was super friendly, would stop by the house or leave notes. Interesting to see the lifestyle available there and have a pretend experience at the Villa. Internet connection was fixed without us calling anyone, everything functioned as intended. Loved the spacious decks and rancho, spent most of our time out there. Wonderful pineapple, breakfast on the deck, fantastic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean, Islands and Rainforest Views - Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360199vb
949-496-5675
Uvita Puntarenas
Portland, OR
5

Beautiful House! Amazing jungle and ocean views!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is a beautiful house with beautiful grounds. You are on a private secluded lot with not a neighbor in sight. The open floor plan inside and out is great for a large group of people. (we had a group of 8) We rented both the house and the casita. Both locations exceeded our expectations. Fresh flowers inside upon our arrive was a nice welcoming touch and it brought a taste of the beautiful jungle inside. We saw toucans, white faced monkeys, poison dart frogs, toads, katydids, coatis, walking stick bugs, humming birds, butterflies, geckos.. and much more. The house was safe and secure. The pool is larger than it appears in the pictures. The driveway is pretty steep so a 4x4 is needed to get in and out, but there is a parking spot above the driveway if you didn't have one. The kitchen was modern, clean and fully stocked with all cooking pans and dishes. Bathrooms were spacious. I would definately recomend this locations to people who want to relax and soak up the noises and sights of the jungle.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2