Woodstock chateau / country house rental - Dramatic architecture up in the trees (summer)
Dramatic architecture up in the trees (summer)
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Woodstock Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Four Bedrooms, Two Full Baths, Geothermal, Solar, Radiant, Ultra Modern

As you drive back into the woods and first come across this beautiful home prepare to be awe-struck. I don't think you'll ever find another one quite like it. This is a virtually new home with all the bells and whistles. Winner of the 2009 American Institute of Architects design award, the house is very unique, very modern and very green. Known as a tree house, it has floor-to-ceiling glass and is 30' off the ground so you're in the tree canopy. This home is Net Zero and was built with very sustainable systems and practices that include Solar PV panels and geothermal heat pumps for heating via radiant polished concrete floors.

The house sits on a secluded 7+ acre lot with multiple streams. Luxury finishes including walk-in glass shower with glass tiles. Wide open floor plan that includes a chefs kitchen to drool over with an induction cook top and stainless steel appliances. Over 1,000 sq ft of decks surround the home. There's even a screened in solarium for out door dining. The house has 4 well appointed bedrooms and can sleep 6-8 comfortably. Physically located inside of the town of Woodstock on a road with hundreds of acres of state land nearby, including some serious mountain biking trails. We're right on the line with Saugerties and Kingston. In a few minutes you can be in eclectic little towns like Woodstock or Saugerties. So much fun to walk around there and window shop. You'll find so many fine restaurants and you just might see somebody quite famous. Skiing at Windham, Hunter or Bellayre is only 30 minutes away. This is a unique home combining the best aspects of modern amenities and country living.

Our house is a weekend family home we use as a get away from NYC. We built it so that one could experience the open spaces and appreciate our natural surroundings. This modern home won the 2010 AIA award for design. This tree top canopy home will make you feel like you just stepped into an issue of Dwell or Metropolis magazine!

Andy Breen purchased this chateau / country house in 2009

We found ourselves regularly coming to the Woodstock area in all 4 seasons. This area is full of natural, arts and cultural benefits and has such a great balance of sophistication without pretense. From the Woodstock art, movie and music festivals to the wonders of skiing or hiking in the Catskill Mountains to the HITS shows in Saugerties to the many NYC quality restaurants there is simply not another place like this.

We built this house with a passion to realize our vision of an escape in a beautiful wooded setting while being responsible and respectful to the impact that new construction has on the environment. We used sustainable materials and systems that include solar, geo-thermal, triple pane glass and recycled timbers. We wanted light and great views so we built a huge wall of windows in the main room 30 feet up into the tree canopy. We love to cook and entertain and you'll find the kitchen to be top end and very convenient. The open plan main room allows us to be with our family and friends as we prepare those great meals. Extensive out door areas as well allow you to be one with nature at all hours of the day. We even screened in an outside eating/solarium area. We're located on 7 plus acres and your neighbors will be the wild life all around you.

10 Reviews of Property 3592050 in Woodstock, New York

WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 10 reviews
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

beautiful, beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Absolutely incredible property, you'll never get over the drive up to the house, seeing the large glass living space jutting out of the hill. Would love to stay again. Amazingly peaceful and very comfortable. Andrew was also, incredibly helpful and very responsive.
Owner's Response: Louis, we're so glad you and your guests enjoyed your stay and happy to help. We hope to see you again.

-Andy
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

Great stay and place for cooking and entertaining

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Awesome place. Really great space and if you are into cooking and entertaining, it is all right there for you. We were having a small birthday gathering and the main room is really conducive to cooking, hanging out and being together in an awesome house. The rooms are comfortable and it feels spacious even when you have kids running around. It was really lovely to be inside in this warm place looking out into the trees covered with snow.
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What an amazing home Andy has created

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A true dream house to visit in the woods. Andy is a perfect host and everything we needed was at our finger tips. We'll be back for sure very soon!
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

Great house and area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a GREAT house. Seriously. It is just amazing from the moment you walk in. The 4 of us (two couples) just loved it. You walk in, get into the main room, and you are in the trees - literally. What’s great though is not just the view, but the way the house was planned - super-simple, but super-comfortable. It looks really design-y, but it’s not ‘cold’ - you can tell that it was planned to be lived in, not just looked at. The upstairs room is particularly amazing to sleep in (although the master bedroom is also fabulous!) We all really loved it, and the really good thing is that you feel like you are away from it all, but you’ve got so much around there to do, even in winter.
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
New York, NY
5

Great weekend stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My family had a great weekend in "the treehouse". I can say that the name really fits! You are way up in the trees with huge windows in the middle of the forest. The house is like new with no wear and tear and all modern amenities. It was close to skiing which we took advantage of at Bellayre one day and Hunter the next. We can't wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

Beautiful property in great area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was a respite from the city and it really truly is secluded in the woods in a beautiful setting making you feel that you're a world away. However, it does not give up comfort or modern conveniences and is close to the center of Woodstock and Saugerties where we went to explore. We love to cook and the kitchen is not only modern and well equipped, its open to the main room so that we could be with our kids. The kids loved all the toys and the ability to run around outside. We hope to stay again.

As a side note, another reviewer mentioned the security camera. Its quite visible when you come in. We never saw it move and, in fact, I don't think it could even turn to see inside so I'm not sure what they experienced but we certainly didn't feel "monitored".
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
3

Beautiful property but beware of owner

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A group of 7 stayed at this beautiful home to celebrate a birthday. The house is modern and tastefully decorated, situated on acres of absolutely serene and beautiful woods. The kitchen is state of the art and well equipped. The house truly is a luxurious tree house for adults. It's also conveniently located close to the wonderful shopping and dining scene in downtown Woodstock.
We were all enjoying our stay until we noticed that a camera that was facing outwards when we arrived was turned to face the living room of the house. Upon closer inspection, we found another camera at the front door that was once outward-facing, monitoring activity inside the house. There could have been more that we didn't notice. Before long, we received an email from the broker of the home about a pet we brought to the house. To be fair, house rules do not allow for dogs, but we did not realize that the time. The owner had seen the dog inside on the rug. After making amends about the dog, we questioned the owner (via the broker) about the cameras. Without reply, the cameras were turned back to face the outside of the property.

Needless to say, our privacy was completely violated and the incident set an awkward tone for the rest of our stay. We had no idea when and where we were being watched. The owners never acknowledged the cameras. While they are free to monitor their own home, inside or outside, the level of surveillance should be fully and clearly disclosed to guests.

All in all, nice property, nice location, but management is intrusive and inappropriate.

Side notes: Bruce, the property manager (broker), is a dream to work with. I would recommend him any day. // A slight gripe about the bedrooms: they don't have curtains. While aesthetically pleasing, floor to ceiling windows aren't the most conducive to sleep when uncovered.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As we clearly state in our house guidelines given to all guests, we have security cameras since the house is a weekender and has people coming and going. They are clearly visible upon entry and face outside. When guests arrive they are also used to verify who it is and no monitoring occurs during guest stays.
When this guest arrived, it appeared they had a dog. Unfortunately, we do not allow dogs due to family health issues and it requires a complete fumigation of the house. We clearly state this in our guidelines and on our lease agreement which this guest signed. To our great dismay, the dog also urinated on our living room rug. To compound it, the guest decided to try and cover it by using chemical window and tile cleaner on a shag rug all but ruining it.
When we asked the guest about the dog she acknowledged it and understood it was against the terms of the lease. We requested they remove the dog as soon as possible. However, their arrival was late at night and we knew it was impractical at that point. We heard nothing from them the next day and checked in to see if the dog had been removed. It had not been and the guest did not "make amends" in any way as stated above. At this point, the lease was broken and our house and trust had been damaged. We could have asked them to leave but knew this was a celebratory weekend so we decided to let them stay.
Sadly, as a homeowner trying to share your house you get guests who have no regard for your property. In our years having people stay we've never had a problem like this. As you can see by our other reviews, we have many happy guests and no problem in having simple security cameras which are commonplace in many homes these days. Contrary to the inaccurate statements above, the cameras are not monitoring guests and no privacy was violated.
Helpful votes: 1/5
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

Gorgeous! Felt like we were IN the woods!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A beautiful house, calm and serene setting IN the woods, we saw deer everyday by the creek below drinking water. This house was perfect for a fall weekend in the Hudson Valley with extended family. The house accommodated our two families very well, with plenty of space for being together and also privacy when desired! The rooms are bright, clean, with modern finishes and plenty of sunlight! LOVED the main room/kitchen/living room, the kids could play while the adults cooked/chatted. It is spacious and bright, rooms have high ceilings, comfortable beds, bathrooms are new and nicely done. House has all modern conveniences and then some! We visited Woodstock, Rhinebeck, went apple picking, etc… all close by. A wonderful long weekend location!
Owner's Response: It puts such a smile on our faces when we see somebody appreciate the house like we do. It is an amazing creation and a labor of love for us. We love to share it with others. Thanks for taking such good care of our tree top house. Please do come see us again! Respectfully
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

House in the Trees

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have been here several times, in both winter and summer, and have always cherished our time spent at this house in the trees. With its elevation and sweeping common area windows, the house has a panoramic view of the encircling treetops that evokes a sense of being in a refuge-like aerie: a treehouse for grownups (and their families). This "treehouse" does have all modern conveniences, including a first-rate kitchen, clean and modern bathrooms, and parking. The open concept living area makes it easy for family and friends to play together, while the gracious bedrooms and balconies enable quiet solitude. Last but certainly not least, the unique environmental design and sustainability adds an extra sense of well-being that is definitely palpable. The home is a tasteful combination of old-time quiet comfort, and modern convenient design. The owners are friendly, helpful, and reasonable, and go out of their way to make guests feel good. We can't wait to return.
business
WOODSTOCK TREEHOUSE near CATSKILLS, SAUGERTIES, HITS, secluded yet close to all
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3592050
Woodstock Catskills
5

Modern but cozy getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great time here over the fourth! The house it truly impressive.

Very design savvy but equally comfortable and convenient. This user-friendliness goes for the house itself but also for the location. It's truly 'secluded yet close to all.' When you're 'home' you are peacefully surrounded by treetops and have a real sense of quiet. But you're a quick trip away from anything you need. If you're looking to explore, you have plenty at your feet: from swimming holes to farmers markets and everything in-between.
In so far, the house and location are equally well suited for those looking to hole-up as they are for those seeking to be out and about. We fell somewhere in the middle.

The house itself is well appointed and fun. Breathtaking views and real solace for stressed out city people sans hokiness! We were spoiled and visited with just two people but the floor plan of the house is clearly well thought out for more. It can accommodate a full house with a nice balance between potential privacy for everyone and great common areas- both inside and out. A real plus- we will definitely be back with friends!

Andrew has clearly put a lot of care and consideration and (from what we could gather) serious effort into the house and property. As an Urban Planner, the environmental considerations relative to the construction definitely struck a chord with me and the research Andrew shared with us is really inspiring. If only more people thought this way and had the gumption to go for it!

I am also a sucker for the no-fuss of polished cement floors. We'll have to go back to experience the radiant heat in the colder months...

One more logistical plus: the house is pretty close to the Kingston exit off of 87. The trip from NYC for a weekend is totally do-able. Compared to some places further down 28 -though certainly worth a visit- the extra 30-45 minutes tacked onto the drive makes a big difference.

The most daunting thing you might encounter: a lot of light switches. But, don't worry, you'll get the hang of them!
Owner's Response: Sounds like you enjoyed the house as much as we do and that makes us very happy. Thanks for your thoughtful words and for taking such good care of the Tree House. We really look forward to your next visit!! Respectfully
Helpful votes: 2/2