Keaau house rental - Living Room with French Doors open to poolside
Living Room with French Doors open to poolside
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Aloha and welcome to Hale O’Hoe! (The House of Paddles)

Located in the Kaloli Point sun belt on the East side of the Big Island of Hawaii within earshot of the Pacific Ocean’s crashing waves. This very well maintained private tropical oasis is a two-minute walk from the spectacular Puna coastline to watch sea turtles and whales (when in season)!

Stunning custom-built in 2005, Hale O’Hoe features an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings. Throughout the home are exotic local hardwoods and Mexican tile. The fully equipped kitchen features custom Native Koa hardwood & Mango cabinets and a six burner gas stove with griddle. French doors open the Grand Room to a private tropical resort-style pool area. Observe from the pool area beautiful sunrises & magical stargazing.

Comfortable sleeping for up to eight*, each bedroom is spacious & tastefully decorated giving different flavors of the beautiful Big Island lifestyle. The 2nd master suite has an amazing outdoor lava shower that is a joy to experience!

Hale O’Hoe is an immaculate tropical get-away with much thought invested into every aspect down to the smallest details. You are certain to fall in love with this little piece of paradise.

Hale O’Hoe is conveniently located approximately 25 minutes from Hilo International Airport. Only 30 minutes to many must see attractions including Hawaii Volcano National Park, natural hot ponds & the newly renovated Poho’iki Beach Park. Just 15 minutes to quaint Pahoa Town for fine dining, art boutiques & groceries. Only 8 minutes to Maku’u Farmer’s Market on Sundays.

Hale O’Hale looks forward to providing you with a memorable vacation experience!

*1 Master Suite with King Bed, 2nd Master Suite with Queen Bed, 3rd bedroom with Queen bed and other sleeping area with double bed.

Keywords: Pool,Ocean View,Close to Volcano, Close to Hilo,Close to Hot Ponds, Has Outdoor Shower, Close to Fine Dining, Ocean View, Private Road, Salt Water Pool house, 3 Bedrooms plus Bonus Double Bed, Tropical Setting,

More Details
Hide Details

Cory and I came to the Big Island for a vacation and fell in love with its tropical beauty and rugged lava terrain. We were welcomed and embraced their Aloha spirit. It is wonderful to be able to pass that spirit on to our guests.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

The minute we saw it we knew we had to have it. It spoke to our heart and soul.

We love the privacy the surrounding tropical vegetation gives us. We are mesmorized by the array of birds- watching the doves 'dance', the Red Cardinals that come right up our lava wall and sing to us, the crashing of the waves on the lava cliff walls. The most clearest sky with the full moon and stargazing - you can almost touch it. We are in awe of all that surrounds us.

21 Reviews of Property 359052 in Keaau, Hawaii

House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
4

Staycation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful home! Everything was awesome. The home is well taken cared of, amenities were awesome. The only downfall has nothing to do with the house. Not very easy to find, very little cell reception but the home dose have a phone/fax which helped only wish it was located centrally in the home and not in the back room.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
Nashville, TN
5

Just what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I took my 2 sons & DIL's on a trip to Hawaii and we chose the Big Island because a good friend from my hometown & his wife live on the east side. After reviewing about 25 properties, we settled on HOP because it had 3 nice bedrooms, 3 full baths, and great reviews. The saltwater pool was a big consideration, also. We loved this place! Having the pool arranged in the middle of all was just perfect, as we could hang out in the great room and hop in and out to swim, sit, snack, visit, whatever. We used the washer and dryer a lot, which was very handy and located in a 4th bedroom that we did not need other than that. We picked fresh lemon/limes off the tree in the yard and squeezed them over fresh strawberry-papayas that we purchased at the Farmer's Market in Hilo on Wednesday. Pahoa was a really neat little town nearby with an organic market with very friendly and helpful staff. We were utterly pleased with our visit and Cory was quite responsive whenever we called. If you have trouble with lots of rainforest noises at night, you might want to download a white noise app to your smartphone, because they may take some getting used to. As for us, though, we reveled in being surrounded by the night characters!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
Dallas, TX
5

The Browns

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved our stay at the house of paddles! The house was my dream Hawaiian house and we plan on staying here again whenever we visit. The kitchen had everything we needed, the beds were comfortable, and having a private pool was great! The landscaping was beautiful and fruit trees were abundant. The pool needs a little bit of maintenance as some tiles were missing but by all means still swimmable. A slight view of the ocean can be seen from the kitchen and the bedroom that we stayed in and was a short walk to ocean cliffs. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
Las Vegas NV
5

House of Paddles

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay was wonderful we are planning to go next year and are hoping to stay at House of Paddles again.
The mosquitos would be our only complaint but we will be prepared next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
White Plains, NY
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first stay on this side of the island - we had always stayed on the Kona side before, so we only booked 3 nights here - I wish we had booked the entire week! The photos on the website were beautiful, but the house itself was even better! The decor is lovely - the colors, the hardwood, the tiles - we felt very much at home here. The house was spacious and clean. The kitchen had everything we needed to make wonderful meals with local fish and produce from the farmers market. The wifi was good. My husband and I were traveling with our two young adult children who very often wanted their own space. The separate master bedroom with king bed and outdoor lava shower were perfect for my husband and me, while our kids each had a bedroom at opposite ends of the house with doors to the pool area in between (you can see the ocean from the pool area). The location was great - short drives to Hilo (restaurants) and Hawaii Volanoes National Park, a ten minute drive to Pahoa where the Malama Market has all the food supplies you might need (they have great rice/poke bowls) and a Red Box machine for renting dvds. Pahoa Fresh Fish market has good seafood to go. Also close by are the Lava Trees State Park and the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Farm. The neighborhood is residential but the property is large and very private. There were lots of lizards on the property, which kept the insect population very low :-). It was wonderful going to sleep at night to the sound of the coqui (tree frogs). Cory was extremely helpful and very accessible by phone. We actually walked the property while Cory was on the phone explaining what all the plants were! Emily, the caretaker, arrived while we were packing up on our last day - she is such a lovely woman and obviously takes pride in caring for the property. We fell in love with this house and will definitely go back. We have recommended to all of our friends and when we show them our pictures they can't believe how wonderful it is. Thank you Cory! Can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
calgary, Alberta
5

wonderful time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
our family had a wonderful stay in your home. The frogs at night are hard to get use to, but the place and pool make up for them. fresh lemons, limes and pineapples in the garden were great. easy to tour the whole island from here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
California
5

Dream Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
House of Paddles was better than the pictures! We knew we were coming to a special home when we entered the driveway. The overall layout was great for our family, everyone had their own room which was private. The decor was tasteful and comfortable. Every room had a door that opened to the outside, whether the pool or sideyeard. We slept to the coquis singing at night. Loved that sound. The ocean was a house away...could get a glimpse of it from the kitchen window. We barbequed fresh ono fish which we bought at a fish market 2 nights in a row. Sad to leave this beautiful home! The only drawback was the dishwasher which was broken and was inoperable. Nonetheless, it did not take away from a memorab stay! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
Seal Beach, CA
4

House of Paddles

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very beautiful house; tastefully decorated with lots of space, but it has very little ocean access. Hilo has no beaches except for a small one downtown Hilo. The pool is a great feature.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
Hamilton ,Ontario,Canada
5

Laura and Steve

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wow! We just got home and I have to say everything was perfect! Spacious and clean. Good location for all activities--star gazing , snorkeling, black sand beaches, horse back riding, lava flow watching etc.. we were close to down town and fresh veggie markets. Walmart was close by too. I would recommend this house for groups traveling together, in laws, family with teens etc. Families with small children be aware two rooms have doors to the pool. Our kids 12,14, 16 loved this! As did we! The open concept of the living room to lanai was simply beautiful!! We would bbq and spend time pool side! 3 full bathrooms made life easy too. The kitchen had everything we needed. The landscaping and flowers were stunning. Lime trees out the front, and coconut tree in the drive way and a little pineapple growing off to the side of the house.It only rained at night and every day was sunny.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House of Paddles - Large Private Home with Salt Water Pool.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359052vbi
206-930-3968
Keaau Puna District
Arlington, WA
5

Amazing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had an excellent stay at your beautiful house!! Love the way it's furnished. Made us feel right at home....absolutely loved the pool. It was an awesome surprise and used it daily! It was great to open the doors to the pool from the living room and have the outside living space part of the inside space! Although it was just the two of us, next time we come we can bring our entire family along with the grandkids.......great place to return too! Thank you so much for the use of your gorgeous home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2