Condon cabin rental - The Overlook Cabin on a mid-fall afternoon
The Overlook Cabin on a mid-fall afternoon
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Condon Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Loft, Sleeps 7

Nestled in the majestic Swan Valley with its soaring peaks, abundance of wildlife, and lakes galore, this cabin is truly the Montana vision, meant to be enjoyed all year round. Directly on the bank of Piper Creek, it is surrounded by forestland.

Creature comforts – you don’t have to rough it to get away. Enjoy all the comforts of home, including a complete kitchen, comfy beds, books, games and movies. We even provide a few toiletries if you forget yours, as well as some basic food items.

Fishing is plentiful! Drop your line right off the deck, or make the short jaunt to the Swan River just 1/4 mile away. If it’s lake fishing you want, a multitude of lakes are within an easy 20-30 minute drive from the cabin.

Wildlife viewing – deer and turkey frequent the property. See them right out your window, or as you relax outside. In the area are also elk, bear, cougar, moose, wolves, eagles and more.

Hiking – dozens of well marked trails are easy day trips, and range from easy to difficult. You can even start your exploration right outside the cabin door.

Glacier National Park – easily seen in a day, but you might want to make it more. Renowned for its spectacular beauty, plentiful hikes, and pristine lakes, be sure to make this part of your trip.

Boating – motor across a number of lakes large or small, or choose a canoe for a more pristine experience. Rafting opportunities are up and down the Swan River. The opening of the dam creates class 4 rapids in Bigfork every Memorial Day weekend. Flathead Lake is the largest in Montana, and can be accessed from Bigfork as well.

Swimming – lots of lakes offer great swimming opportunities. Don’t miss nearby Holland Lake’s fantastic rope swing. It is right on the easy hike to beautiful Holland Falls.

Golf – within a 30 minute drive is the Double Arrow Lodge in Seeley Lake, or Eagle Bend Golf Club in Bigfork.

Shopping – just a short drive to Bigfork offers great gift shops, art galleries and more.

Restaurants – casual eats are just a 10 minute drive, or head to Bigfork for a variety of choices, including fine dining.

At the cabin – relax to the sounds of the creek in the comfortable deck chairs. Pull up a log and roast s’mores by the campfire. Go for a walk and collect pine cones or wildflowers. Enjoy the assortment of books, games, magazines and movies for some quiet time, or to pass a rainy day.

Wintertime – snowmobile, cross country ski, snowshoe or even dogsled through the plentiful snow. A snow fort and old fashioned snowball fight are always a safe bet for an afternoon of fun. You’ll want to enjoy some hot cocoa by the stove. Nearby Seeley Lake offers an annual winter festival in February.

Hunting – wildlife is plentiful, and the cabin makes a great base camp at the end of the day.

Accomodations inside include a log queen bed in the master bedroom. The open loft has one queen, one twin and a double futon. Divided from the sleeping area in the loft, is an entertainment area with seating, satellite TV, VCR, DVD, games and books. The living room has a sofa and loveseat, and a second TV. The gas stove with its glass doors completes the welcoming atmosphere.

The dining area joins the living room and the modern full kitchen. This open floor plan, and the vaulted ceilings make for a great gathering place. The bedroom and bathroom have hand painted wildlife borders. From the antlered chandelier to the rod and reel décor, you’ll truly get a feel of the Montana life.

The large wrapping deck overlooks the creek. Stone steps lead directly to the water’s edge, or take the meandering path to the bridge. The sounds of the water will have you relaxed, and wanting to stay forever!

Perfect for a romantic getaway, a family or medium sized group.

**HUNTERS - Make this your base camp with National Forest on two sides. You can reach hunting spots from here that very few others can. The hunting is great! Enough beds so 4 of you can have your own. The ultimate man camp!**

CHECK CALENDAR BELOW FOR AVAILABLITY ON THE OVERLOOK CABIN.

________________________________________________________________________

Keywords: mountain, cabin, river, beautiful, exciting, trees, forest, quiet, peaceful, tranquil, secluded

More Details
Hide Details

We have lived in Montana for 12 years, having lived in many other areas of the country. Montana is one of the best kept secrets in our great country! We live about 3 hours south in the Bitterroot Valley. While we love visiting our cabin, it's such a special private getaway, we don't have the time to get there as often as we'd like. The next best thing is to share it with others. Come see what we fell in love with years ago.

Kathy Ussery purchased this cabin in 2007

Privacy, privacy, privacy! What more can we say? Except peaceful, quiet, scenic beauty, wildlife...

It's a gem!

13 Reviews of Property 358983 in Condon, Montana

Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
average rating of 4.909091 based on 13 reviews
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
5

Fantastic Thanksgiving Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed here over Canadian Thanksgiving weekend with our two dogs. The cabin is a perfect getaway from the city. Everything was spotless and extremely comfortable, there are plenty of hikes and lots of places to fish nearby. Kathy was extremely helpful, answering all of our questions and telling us where we could buy fishing licenses. We had a fantastic relaxing weekend exploring and cooked an amazing Thanksgiving dinner at the cabin.
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
5

Overlook cabin was FANTASTIC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We just returned home after our week stay at the Overlook Cabin and are already planning our next stay. We found the cabin perfect and we didn't lack for anything. My fishing fanatic husband caught a couple of brook trout just below the deck and a larger fish in Swan River. We took a charter out on Flathead lake just 1 hour from the cabin and he caught a 38" lake trout. We toured Glacier Park and was always relieved to get home to the solitude of the cabin. Thanks Kathy and Jeff, we look forward to getting back up to your cabin for real solitude now that the touristy stuff is done.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words, D'Lynn. It sounds like you had a great time and enjoyed our place, which is always pleasing to hear. I noticed you referred to it as "home", which is just how we hoped you would feel there. We'd love to have you back again and hope the fishing is just as excellent next time around as well. Thanks for choosing our cabin.
Kathy
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
Helena, MT
5

Wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Overlook is a delightful cabin in a beautiful area. We stayed earlier this summer and enjoyed it so much, we came back again. It has a nicely equipped kitchen, good Internet access, and a large screen TV. We saw deer, squirrels, and even a black bear mama and cub a few miles down the road. Spending time on the deck watching and listening to the creek was very relaxing and peaceful. It's a great getaway and we hope to do it again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you Staci. It speaks volumes when our guests return! We hope to have you back again. We love it there too, and just don't get to spend enough time there. It's nice to know others are appreciating it when we can't. Thanks again!
Jeff and Kathy
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
5

Our 2012 Montana Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I had a great time during our stay. The vacation home layout was perfect. All facilities were in good working order. We would recommend the vacation home to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Anytime you'd like to return, we're happy to have quality guests such as your group. Thanks again for choosing our cabin.

Jeff and Kathy Ussery
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
Lincolnshire, UK
5

Cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a very lovely and comfortable cabin. It was well equiped and had good internet connection. It is completely surrounded by high trees and has the creek running right outside. The garden was frequented by numerous deer and on our first morning a black bear wandered through.We enjoyed BBQ's on the decking and relaxing in the reclining chairs in the evening sunshine (we were blessed with good weather). The garage is 10 minutes away and has a store which stocks a good variety of foods and other essentials. Be prepared to travel further for a decent restaurant. We would recommend Holland Falls and canoeing the Swan River (where we saw a moose) ! There are spectacular mountain views as you travel around and our favourite town was BigFork. It is very picturesque with lots of little shops and restaurants. If you like the forest and all the wildlife it brings, you will love the peaceful setting of this cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Liz and Dave,

I know it's been a couple months since you were here, but I hope the memories linger. It sounds like you made the most of your stay, seeing and doing a lot of what this beautiful part of Montana has to offer. Thanks again for choosing our cabin. We'd love to have you back!

Kathy and Jeff Ussery
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
South Jordan, Utah
5

Private and beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The cabin setting is very beautiful. It was very quiet and peaceful as well. Inside, the cabin was clean and well appointed. This would be a perfect place to getaway from the city rat race! Nice TV, comfy beds, kitchen well stocked with cookware and such! Be sure and take food though because there is only one place to get supplies that is miles from the cabin. Our friends stayed at cabins at Holland Lake Lodge....They were not near as nice as this and they paid way more! I'd love to go back and stay longer at this cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Becky,

While it's been several weeks since you stayed at our cabin, we wanted to thank you for the kind words about our cabin. When we are unable to get there, it's nice to know there are others who enjoy it.

Thanks again for choosing our cabin. We hope to have you back again.

Jeff and Kathy Ussery
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
Whitefish, MT
4

Relaxed and rejuvenated.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This was our second stay at this cozy cabin and again loved every minute. It has the peace and quiet of camping except we had all the comforts of home; comfortable bed, great shower, DISH TV and a nice kitchen for meal preparation. Kathy was great to work with and very responsive to our concerns and requests. We enjoyed lunch at the Swan Valley Cafe just up the road towards Seeley Lake. Nice property in a beautiful area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
Spokane WA
5

Quiet and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our first trip to Montana and we found the perfect hideaway! The cabin is fantastic as is Swan Valley. Falling asleep to the creek sounds brought back wonderful childhood memories of our family cabin. Many great places for walks and hikes and we found a nice swimming hole for puppies/kids on the Swan at Cold Creek Rd .This is truly a great vacation getaway and we look forward to coming back next summer. Thanks Kathy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Karen & Jim,
We love to share our place with those who enjoy it as much as we do. Thanks for taking great care of the place. We'd love to have you back any time!
Kathy and Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
Spokane, WA
5

Perfect get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What you see in the pictures is exactly what we found at the Overlook Cabin. Everything you need for a quiet and peaceful relaxing vacation. We had breakfast every morning on the creekside deck. Went to Condon for 4th of July celebration and watched fireworks. Unfortunately, water was too high to fish in creek or nearby river...all of Montana is experiencing massive high water. We found the cabin to be quite accommodating and look forward to going back with our kids. Kathy is very easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review Deb. You were great guests, and took such wonderful care of our place. We'd love to have you visit again! Thanks!
Kathy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring Special stay 3 nights, get the 4th FREE (4/15/14 - 5/22/14)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358983
Condon Montana
North Carolina
5

Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We stayed here for our honeymoon, it was also our first trip to montana. The cabin was in excellent shape and couldn't be in a more perfect location. For sure we will be coming back to this cabin and montana!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1