Charleston townhome rental - Entrance to Huntley Lodge
Entrance to Huntley Lodge
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Charleston Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

A quaint townhouse - Huntley Lodge is part of an original firehouse dating from 1812 - adjacent to Lodge Alley - a narrow cobblestone alley that connects historic East Bay Street and State Street that is reportedly the site of as many as 50 duels.

Enjoy your own private courtyard (walled and gated). This small private courtyard is adjacent to the large courtyard with gaslights and a large fountain which is part of the Historic Lodge Alley Inn 'home away from home' for many celebrities that visit Charleston - Two blocks from Waterfront Park on the Charleston Harbor - steps away from most of Charleston's premier restaurants, one block from the Old Market, and an easy stroll to The Battery.

The townhouse has original wide plank heart pine floors upstairs and down. Two bedrooms upstairs, one with a queen bed and a king-size bed in the master; both bedrooms have private baths, and master bedroom has a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. There is a queen sleeper sofa downstairs in the main living area facing the gas log fireplace and has access to a half bath. This home is ideal for two couples, or a couple with children.

Keywords: Townhouse,apartment,condo

More Details
Hide Details

Sonny and Dean Huntley , along with Sonny's sister Beth , purchased 'Huntley Lodge' because they love downtown Charleston . The native South Carolinians have visited the area all of their lives and decided to get a piece of history for themselves. They wanted a place to visit with friends and family while having some income to offset the costs. It has worked very well , except they cannot spend nearly as much time there as they would like.Even though Beth lives in the area and Sonny and Dean live in Hilton Head , visiting the property has been limited. They hope to change this in the future and gather for the many fun and interesting things the 'Holy City ' has to offer!

The Owner purchased this townhome in 2004

We are in the real estate and interior design business in Charleston and Hilton Head. There is a limited amount of property like 'Huntley Lodge' in the historic French Quarter area of downtown Charleston and we found this opportunity irresistable. The location is second to none...you can park your car and never get back in it if shopping in a multitude of stores and dining in first class restaurants is your goal. The ambiance and history is palpable !

You can enjoy a vast array of art galleries, antique shops and historic venues within a few minutes of your private , gated courtyard and the luxury of the townhome itself is evident from the moment you step inside. Flickering gaslight lanterns and the centerpiece water fountain add a special feel to the larger gated courtyard available when more space is desired.

37 Reviews of Property 35879 in Charleston, South Carolina

Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 37 reviews
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
5

Gwen & Gary, Louisiana

Gwen & Gary, Louisiana
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Loved Charleston. Loved the townhouse. The location was perfect for walking everywhere. We just parked our car in the very close parking garage and just walked. The townhouse was very comfortable and made us feel right at home. Booking on VRBO and working with Pam was so easy. Pam was extremely helpful and accommodating.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
-
5

A GEM!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Just got back from a weekend retreat with my coworkers and this rental could not have been any better. This is the most charming, quiant villa with all of the amenities of your desire. The beds were as comfortable as any 5 star hotel. Plenty of seating in the cozy den and TVs in every room. In response to a previous review, this unit was VERY clean and the bathrooms were quite charming! I will be back!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
Hilton Head Island
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I love to explore cities and Huntley Lodge was the perfect location to walk the streets of historic Charleston. The location was central to the historic district, safe, and surrounded by terrific restaurants, cozy bars, neighborhood shops, and museums. The condo was very clean, well furnished, and far exceeded our expectations. And for those who need to stay tuned...a flat screen in every room plus wifi. Comfy beds, plenty of closets, a cozy patio, and every utensil you could ever need in the kitchen. A great find. We are sure to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
savannah, ga.
5

A treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I recently returned to Savannah after spending 3 incredible nights in this charming, well-equipped, well-furnished town house that felt just like home. All the amenities anyone would want: comfortable furniture, fireplace, WiFi, large screen TV, user friendly kitchen. Immaculate, warm and inviting, within short walking distance to everything in downtown Charleston. We parked on arrival and did not need to move our car until we departed. Cannot wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
Tennessee, USA
2

Annual Girls Trip

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
For 20 years we three college roommates take an annual girls trip to a new destination city, this year we chose Charleston. The city was fabulous, but not this VRBO. This is the worst rental we have ever stayed in! We should have been alerted when the listing photos did not show any pictures of the bathrooms. They are outdated with 1980's fixtures and plumbing. The smaller bedroom has a skylight over the bed, so the minute the sun comes up light is shining directly on the bed. The owners have tried to cover it up with a sheet, but still does not block the light. The entire unit did not feel clean or well maintained. The patio was so overgrown with plants and bushes that there was very little room for 3 people to even sit for a cup of coffee. The only positive was the location and the contact person Pam. The unit seems to be consistently rented but yet no reviews...that is probably because it is not a place very many would recommend!
Owner's Response: We strive to provide an outstanding lodging experience. The 32 previous reviews have been resoundingly positive, so we were a bit surprised by this evaluation. Not having pictures of the bathrooms is an oversight that we will rectify. The skylight shade (not a sheet) is intended to block direct sunlight while exposing the room to natural light. Maintaining high standards for quality accommodations is our ultimate goal and, in that pursuit, we welcome feedback that helps us to determine areas for improvement.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
5

Location, location, location!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Five girl friends came to Charleston for a week to celebrate our 20 years of friendship and traveling together. Lodge Alley is the PERFECT spot. 2 bedroom and 2 1/2 baths made it perfect for the 5 of us. Besides being a very nice townhouse, the location was SUPERB!!!! We just walked across the street to Charleston Cooks (a great kitchen shop that also offers cooking classes); we could through a rock and hit 4 of the best restaurants in Charleston right on E. Bay St. (S.N.O.B., Amen St. Restaurant and Raw Bar, High Cotton, and Magnolia). Within another 2 blocks was Cypress, McCradys and Blossom, all great restaurants. The City Market was a 2 block walk. We were able to walk a couple of blocks to catch the free trolley that took us to the Visitor's Center where we caught our bus for a tour of Charleston. It's also an easy way to get back home from King St. if you're loaded down with packages from your shopping expedition. Our townhouse was comfortable, clean and very attractive. We enjoyed having our evening cocktails in the courtyard just outside our gate. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming to Charleston. You cannot find a better place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
New York
5

Wonderful Property!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family and I just stayed here for the Thanksgiving Holiday. What an amazing place! My father traveled from Florida, my family from New York and my sister lives in Charleston. Perfectly located in the heart of everything! We did not need a car rental as we walked everywhere. The home is lovely. Clean and comfortable an amazing place to spend with my family. The court yard outside was great for my boys to run and play. If you are looking for a home away from home this is it!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
Memphis, Tn
5

A great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
When we arrived after a BIG storm we had no Internet connection for 5 days, the garbage disposal and iron did not work, and while we were there the A/C broke. Sounds like a nightmare right? Well it was NOT!! Pam took care of everything ASAP! My husband and I had one of the best vacations we have EVER had and we have traveled all over! We were there for 2 weeks and enjoyed every moment. The house is very comfortable and the beds were amazing! We were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go and if we couldn't, there were bicycle cabs everywhere. We shopped or ate until we needed a rest and because the house was so close to everything we were able to stroll home and recouperate. Location, location, location!! The only thing I would suggest, if you go in warm weather, ask that the A/C filter be cleaned so it won't freeze up. We had a WONDERFUL time and hope to goodness to return!
Marjorie Gore
Memphis, TN
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
Chicago
5

Week at Spoleto

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a perfect location. Home had all the amenities needed. Loved getting up in the morning and walking down to the Battery along the waterfront and back up Church St (one of my favorites in Charleston). Plenty of great nearby restaurants. Try the Husk bar for "boiled peanuts." Venues for Spoleto were all convenient. Easy walk to King St shopping. Overall just a wonderful experience! Also a great place for 2 couples traveling together.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lodge Alley : in the Heart of Charleston's French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35879vbi
(843) 814-1297 (South Carolina, USA)
Charleston Charleston Area
Virginia
5

In Charleston for Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were in Charleston for a family wedding and decided to stay in the Lodge Alley townhouse rather than a hotel. It was an excellent choice! Staying here made us feel as if we lived in Charleston with all the comforts of home. We would definitely stay here again when in Charleston!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2