Canyon Lake house rental - View of House and Waterfall Across the River
View of House and Waterfall Across the River
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Canyon Lake House Rental Photos and Description
House with 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Recently Updated on Guadalupe River

A picturesque waterfall runs across this quiet stretch of the Guadalupe River, creating a perfect place for wading on one side, and for exploring or just putting our lawn chairs in the river and relaxing on the other side. The location is perfect for using our kayak, and you can tube right out our back door. A favorite pastime is watching the river go by from the three-tiered, large riverside flagstone patio. It is also a wildlife magnet, with osprey and heron fishing here. Oh, and so do the fly fishermen, as this trophy section of the river is stocked with trout from November through February directly across the river. All of this can be enjoyed from the multiple layers of decks outside of this charming, well-appointed, and recently remodeled house with all of the creature comforts. The many activities of Canyon Lake, Gruene, and New Braunfels are also just a short drive away.

Special Events and Festivals: The Texas Hill Country boasts many different events and festivals throughout the year. Below is just a sample of them. You can Google any of these for more info...

Gruene Market Days (every 3rd weekend Feb - Nov) -- 100s of vendors for Texas crafts and foods; Whitewater Amphitheater (spring & summer) -- concert venue 3 miles away. Listen to your favorite bands riverside; Texas Clay Festival (4th weekend in October) -- Gruene brings Texas potters to sell their craft and demo for kids; Wurstfest (early November) -- New Braunfels' Octoberfest; Christmas Holidays -- New Braunfels, Gruene, Canyone Lake, and San Antonio all have special events; Live Music -- Summertime brings lots of live music to Gruene & New Braunfels; Troutfest (February) -- Down the street and in our backyard; Fiesta San Antonio (April) -- Music, dancing in the streets, large festival; Kerrville Folk Festival (May/June) -- longest running musical festival of its kind;

Nearby Attractions: Canyon Lake (5-10 mi) - one of the deepest lakes in Texas; 80 miles of shoreline; all the usual lake activities; Canyon Lake Golf Club (5 mi); Schlitterbahn (10 mi) - nation's best water amusement park; Landa Park (10 mi) - great park in New Braunfels; San Marcos Outlet Stores (11 mi); Gruene Historical District (12 mi) - shopping, antiques, Gruene Hall, old town charm; Dry Comal Creek Vineyards (13 mi); Aquarena Nature Center (15 mi) - glass bottom boat & glass bottom kayak tours of wetlands; Wimberley (18 mi) - one of America's 10 Best Small Towns; Natural Bridge Caverns (21 mi) - chambers of underground caverns - a natural wonder; Wonder World (21 mi) - cave and themepark rolled into one; Guadalupe River State Park (29 mi); Six Flags Fiesta Texas (30 mi); Sea World San Antonio (41 mi); LBJ National Historic Park & Birthplace (45 mi); San Antonio (River Walk, the Alamo, the Missions, Zoo) (47 mi); Austin (State Capital, University of TX, 6th Street (56 mi)

Tubing, Kayaking, and Fishing: Tubing: This is a great section of the river to launch your tubing trip. No need to rent a tube, just drive up river and float down to the house or toob the horseshoe, which is just a couple of miles from the house (see our guide in the house for more information)....Kayaking: The river is usually at a level such that paddling upstream is quite easy, even for the kids. Then you can float back effortlessly toward the house. We provide a two person kayak with paddles and life jackets....Fishing: Fishing is a popular pastime on the Guadalupe, and the waterfall in our backyard is a popular spot for fish and anglers alike. Both the Texas Parks and Wildlife and Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited stock the river with trout between November and February, and the fish thrive in the cool waters of the Guadalupe, which was recently voted one of the top 100 trout streams in the US.

More Details
Hide Details

We live just an hour away from this house, in Austin, Texas. We visit Canyon Lake every month to enjoy the house ourselves too!

Chris Brownson purchased this house in 2010

27 Reviews of Property 358785 in Canyon Lake, Texas

Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
Allen, Texas
5

Wow - Peaceful and Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We didn't want to leave! This getaway was worth a million bucks! The decks are awesome and the perfect place to drink coffee in the morning and watch the wildlife wake up (Yes you have to get up early)! The water was a little chilly and against my better judgement we ignored Chris's tip to not kayak down river. Our son talked us into it and while we had a great time going over the rapids on the way down, we did have to carry our kayaks alot on way back! But what a memory! Everything you need to have a great time is right here!
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Relaxing Winter Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Spent three nights here over New Year's holiday. Great location, very clean and well equipped. Trout fishing was great off lower deck. We are already planning next year's trip.
Owner Chris could not havebeen more accomodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Treehouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Have stayed several times. House is always immaculate and stocked with essentials; good owner prepared guidebooks; terrific layout for groups outside due to several layers of patio under a canopy of pecan trees.There are just two bedrooms, but the couches provide additional bedding. Tubes/kayaks/outdoor things included.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Family Girl's Summer Getaway

Family Girl's Summer Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a perfect location! My family has been vacationing on the Guadalupe River for decades and this was the best location by far. Although the water was a bit low, we still had the best of both worlds. The small damn allowed us to kayak up the river/swim and the area below the damn was just right for sitting in the cold water and soaking up the sun. Our dog, Buddy, had a blast in the water - nice pet-friendly houses are hard to find. Chris provided a great comprehensive list of things to do and restaurants but we enjoyed the house so much, we ended up cooking in every night. Coffee on the deck in the mornings was so cool and peaceful and cocktails on the lower deck completed our days. We even got to see a huge Axis deer which was a real treat. Beds were comfy and linens/towels very soft and plush. The house is small but very well appointed and thought through - we will definitely be returning.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Family Girl's Summer Getaway

Family Girl's Summer Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a perfect location! My family has been vacationing on the Guadalupe River for decades and this was the best location by far. Although the water was a bit low, we still had the best of both worlds. The small damn allowed us to kayak up the river/swim and the area below the damn was just right for sitting in the cold water and soaking up the sun. Our dog, Buddy, had a blast in the water - nice pet-friendly houses are hard to find. Chris provided a great comprehensive list of things to do and restaurants but we enjoyed the house so much, we ended up cooking in every night. Coffee on the deck in the mornings was so cool and peaceful and cocktails on the lower deck completed our days. We even got to see a huge Axis deer which was a real treat. Beds were comfy and linens/towels very soft and plush. The house is small but very well appointed and thought through - we will definitely be returning.
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Great family fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed a week with my son, daughter and their families. My 5 year old grandson had the time of his life exploring the river and stream, watching the wildlife and just being outdoors. We had to promise him that we would come back again! Chris was very easy to work with and provides wonderful information. The house has everything you need from kayaks, to toobs, to wine glasses. We spent so much time on the decks and patios that time and stress left our minds. It is a wonderful retreat and I would recommend it to anyone looking to get away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
Tampa, FL
5

Needed To Get Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I really enjoyed my 1 week stay here, found it to be very quiet and relaxing. The sound of the river below the homewas soothing for the nerves. The home was very clean and just as described. I played 5 local golf courses which was quite a joy with the elevation changes (I'm from FLA). The weather was cool several nights and the fireplace was great. The home came ready with all the essentials and I recommend it to any couples or small families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Fort Worth couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
It was another great trip to the river. This was our second stay at the river house and we loved it even more now that we know the area. Looking forward to coming back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
Sachse, Texas
5

Paradise - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and immediately feel in love with the place. Easy drive from the Dallas area! Beautiful scenery, lovely house and the views of the river were magnificant. The soothing sound of the river flowing was extremely relaxing. We saw several deer across the field each morning around 6:50 a.m. My husband brought his kayak however 2 were available to use on the property, which I tried kayaking for the first time myself, LOVED IT! Extremely easy to get into the water right in front of the property. Alot of people fishing for trout and my husband caught a nice 20" one.

In regards to the house itself, it was a home away from home! We brought things we thought we might need but didn't need them as the kitchen was well stocked with all the gadgets and applicances. We loved having a microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer. It was nice having the "soaps" available for use as well. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to use the fireplace which made a romantic setting. The little extras were wonderful down to the Qtips in the restroom. We loved the information notebooks on the coffee table, very useful. Instructions for the different items in the house were very helpful.

We did try the local barbeque place and Sweenies donuts which was very good. We cooked most of our food at the house. Enjoyed morning coffee on the 3 different sitting areas outside while watching the fish jump, deer and squirrels!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone, we already have next years trip booked!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful piece of Paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Scenic Riverfront House-Quiet Stretch of Guadalupe with Waterfall Off Back Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358785
+ (512) 658-2476 (Texas, USA)
Canyon Lake Texas Hill Country
5

Rental 358785 - A Little Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our five weeks at the river house could not have been any better!!!!. The pictures do not do the place justice!!! The view is amazing!!! The owners have thought of everything you could ever wish for to make your stay pleasant. The home was spotless when we arrived. A fresh boutique of flowers were waiting for us on the breakfast bar which was an unexpected surprise!! Working with the owner is very easy. He returns emails promptly and accurately. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends. While we were there we were able to watch the stocking of the river with trout which was very interesting. Watching the fisherman and wildlife each day was great. We actually watch two hawlks build a nest in one of the trees right in front of the house. It was fascinating to watch how they went about their project. We will definitely be returning to thie "little piece of heaven"!!!

Phillip Carlson
Helpful votes: 4/4