Brainerd cabin rental - Lakeside view of the cabin with beach area just steps away from the front door!
Lakeside view of the cabin with beach area just steps away from the front door!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Brainerd Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible sofa-bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Escape to this classic “Northwoods” cabin with knotty pine interior and stone fireplace. Enjoy views of Upper South Long Lake from your living room, dining areas, sun room and new cedar lakeside deck. A level 45’ stroll brings you to a private beach with gentle elevation and a large cedar dock. This is a wonderful vacation spot for families with children! Towering pines and the call of loons provide a true “Up-North” experience. South-facing cabin and lakeshore receive wonderful southerly breezes and mature trees provide plenty of shade. Relax to the sound of waves lapping against the shore. Bring your boat to enjoy water sports and fishing although you will be able to catch fish right off the dock! Lakeside picnic table for pleasant, shaded dining. After a day spent on the water, relax around the campfire and roast some marshmallows. We even provide the firewood!

Enjoy morning coffee in the sunroom with wicker seating and views of the lake. There is a dining area in the kitchen with windows that over look the lake and also an eating area in the living room. A large stone fireplace, knotty pine walls and the vaulted ceiling provide a comfortable setting to relax in the evening. Each of the 2 bedrooms have pine floors, a double bed, and ceiling fan as well as ample closet and dresser space. An updated bath features tub with tiled shower. (Shower has a 6 foot ceiling). For your convenience, laundry facilities are provided and there is also a retractable clothes line for hanging damp towels and swim suits.

Keywords: Lakeshore, Knotty Pine, Private, Stone Fireplace, Lake Cabin, Upper South Long Lake, Very Close to Water

More Details
Hide Details

Dan and Roxanne work and live in Colorado. We met while living in the Brainerd area and always have felt at home at the lake. Our trips to the cabin are often the inspiration for many of the photographs your see on the walls. Roxanne runs an art studio in Colorado.

Daniel R. Herzog purchased this cabin in 2000

The Brainerd lakes area has always been a very comfortable setting for recreation, the night life or just being pulled in an inner tube behind the boat. We enjoy unwinding, entertaining friends and family in a relaxing environment.

19 Reviews of Property 358708 in Brainerd, Minnesota

Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
5

Winter Wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Despite low temperatures approaching -20F, the cabin stayed warm, with its southern exposure and windows providing solar assistance. Cabin was clean, nice TV and DirectTV subscription; can't spend all day outdoors when it is below zero! Did not use the wood burning fireplace, but looked ready. Updated shower with good pressure and water conditioning. Beds were comfortable. Very relaxing stay. Only surprise was an additional cleaning charge in addition to the nightly rent which was disclosed before we confirmed our reservation, but does not appear in the VRBO Listing. We have not encountered that in previous VRBO rentals. Still, a good value for a long winter weekend getaway, and we would definitely visit again in the summer or winter.
Owner's Response: Very glad that the cabin was warm and inviting. We checked into the question on the cleaning fee. It seems that when the website was upgraded the cleaning fee did not transfer over to the new site. It has been fixed. The cabin is warm and relaxing even in the coldest of times! Lots to do in the winter in the Brainerd area.
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
5

Christmas get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I rented this cabin for 3 weeks in December 2013 so we could attend our son's wedding and stay for the holidays. I was able to work remotely for part of the time. We loved the ambience of the cabin and appreciated the Christmas decorations as we did celebrate Christmas with our daughter, her boyfriend and our granddaughter before they had to leave to go back to Kentucky. We also appreciated the fact that our dog could stay with us and that we had internet connection. I definitely wasn't ready to come home and could have stayed longer. We would stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
Maplewood, mn
5

Retreat for the soul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
10/4-10/6/13 We rented this cabin for a mini-getaway. the weather was crumby all weekend, but we still enjoyed this wonderful cabin! We both felt so relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful view of the lake and scenery. Managed to squeeze in a campfire one evening, What a great retreat to renew your spirit. Even though it rained mostly the whole time, we never left the cabin. We felt so welcomed and could not think of one thing we needed that was not available Ito us during our stay. Only one problem, didn't want to leave! Thank you Herzogs for sharing the cabin and for your warm hospitality. Mike & June R, Maplewood, MN
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
Twin Cities
5

Great Cabin/Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We booked this cabin as a last minute Labor Day weekend get-away. The cabin was exactly as it is presented on VRBO- adorable! The cabin itself is perfect for a small family and has everything you may need! There are several aidirondack chairs on the deck, near the firepit and elsewhere on the property for relaxing and enjoying the view.

The lake was quiet, even on a holiday weekend, so it was a very peaceful experience. We loved the feeling of remoteness, yet it is in such close proximity to Brainerd (perfect). Our two year old loved the beach and canoeing and we had a great time celebrating our friends' recent engagement.

We are looking forward to staying at this cabin again. Dan was very attentive to our questions and was great to work with! We definitely recommend this cabin and the owners :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
Minneapolis, MN
5

Vintage Charmer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a lovely and well stocked cabin. We can now say that we've had the classic Minnesota lake experience. Dan and Roxanne were responsive, trustworthy, and accommodating hosts. The lake was so peaceful. We made wonderful memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent a long weekend here in June and enjoyed some fishing, watching the birds, and just relaxing. Good location, close enough to Brainerd to get what you need and yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet of the area.
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
Arden Hills, MN
5

family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
After a very busy spring, early summer it was a joy for the four of us and our dog to chill out at this cabin. Peace and quiet at a convenient location! We enjoyed fishing, swimming (great once past the end of the dock otherwise weeds) picking raspberries and going for walks. The sun room a wonderful place for morning coffee and reading. Cabin was very well equiped, we wanted for nothing. Bird feeders were fun to watch, busy hummingbirds for sure. Recommend for a relaxing MN summer break.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Unfortunately a very warm summer and low water level can lead to more weeds than normal. We are glad that it didn't get in the way of a comfortable and relaxing vacation!
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
Plymouth, MN
5

Wonderful cozy cabin on a great lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great experience renting Dan and Roxanne's cabin. When we arrived, the cabin was very clean and ready for our arrival, complete with fresh linens and nice fluffy towels in the bathroom. The kitchen was stocked with nice dishes, silverware, glasses, wine glasses, coffee maker and every kitchen utensil we needed. Firewood was stocked for our almost-nightly campfires. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and on the dock in the adirondack chairs, fishing off the dock and in the canoe, roasting marshmallows over the campfire, grilling dinner overlooking the lake, relaxing in the sunroom with coffee, and listening to the loons at night as we laid in bed. Our 4-year old had a blast fishing (he caught 40+ fish!) and swimming in the lake--which had a nice sandy bottom near the shore. The location is great--secluded and private, yet close enough to the Brainerd/Nisswa area to go to the grocery store or out for dinner. The lake was very quiet and peaceful during the week. Another nice perk was the washer and dryer in the cabin: we went home with suitcases full of clean clothes--a first for a family vacation! Overall, we had a great experience, and will be back. We highly recommend this cabin, and Dan and Roxanne were fantastic to rent from!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
United States
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a great place to stay! Everything you could possibly need is provided. We enjoyed the sandy beach and nightly campfires more than anything else. There is no one around during the week which made for a very quiet and relaxing vacation. Dan and Roxanne make this property very welcoming. We would highly recommend this to any and all. Thanks again for a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Classic 'Up North' Cabin, Perfect for a Relaxing Getaway, Nice Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358708vb
303 656 6709
Brainerd Brainerd Lakes
Mankato MN
5

wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The cabin was perfect for our family! We enjoyed using the canoe, fishing off the dock, playing on the sandy beach and nightly campfires. It has everything we could have needed. Made for a very relaxing vacation. Would definately come back for another stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway