Johnson City farmhouse rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Johnson City Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse sleeps up to 9 plus bunkhouse that sleeps 9+

Whether you are craving an escape from the city and reconnecting with nature or a great place to explore all theTexas Hill Country has to offer, you'll find it here at Rancho de Vida. The relaxing starts when you turn your car into the gate. This 100-year-old house has been lovingly restored and burnished into a wonderful gathering place for friends & family. Texas Hill Country meets shabby chic in the shadow of a 400-year-old oak in the backyard. Dine under the canopy of the lighted oak, enjoy a campfire and gazing at the stars. Hike the property's bluffs and creek beds, float in the limestone bottom seasonal creek, take in the sunshine from the hammock, tree swings and treehouse. Beautiful hill top area with an arbor and views across the valley for toasting the each sunset. There's even a stage for kids to do skits or hone their chops for the big time.

Rancho de Vida is located right in the middle of the New Napa---at least a dozen wineries are in a 20 minute drive. Historic Fredericksburg is a short drive, as is Luckenbach if you want to do some boot scootin'. Two state parks, both with water for swimming, and the LBJ National Park and the Western White House are within 15 minutes. Explore the parklike setting of bluffs and creek beds on our 67-acres and bike the quiet backroads that surround the property.

Main house 1st floor kitchen-dining room, living room, master bedroom and bath. 2nd floor 2 bedrooms and 1/2 bath. 1 bedroom as 2 full size beds and 2nd bedroom 1 full size bed .

Air conditioned bunkhouse is optional (additional $150) & sleeps 7---perfect for kids with a pool/ ping pong table. Great new bath house adjoins with two showers, two toilets, a sink and plenty of getting ready for a hill country night out room.

Ranch location & local attractions: Austin- 1 hour away

San Antonio-1 hour away

Johnson City--10 minutes

Luckenbach-15 minutes

Marble Falls -boating & golf-- 20 minutes

Enchanted Rock & Pedernales State Park-hiking 15 to 20 minutes

Fredericksburg festivals & shopping--20 minutes

Texas Hill Country Wine Trail---10 minutes

LBJ National Historical Park--10 minutes

Benini Studio and Sculpture Ranch--3 minutes (2 miles)

Wine Tasting Tours: We are smack dab in the middle of the Texas Hill Country Wine Trail. There are nearly a dozen wineries within 30 minutes of Rancho de Vida. Let us assist you in scheduling your wine country tour---limo services are available for you and your group.

More Details
Hide Details

I took an aptitude test at the age of 20 and it said I'd be good in advertising or agriculture. I have checked the advertising box as the owner of an Austin ad agency for almost 20 years now and have loved getting in touch with my agriculture roots more recently with the purchase of Rancho de Vida. It's been a great place to get away from it all, bring people together, enjoy the therapy of manual labor and the restorative power of Momma Nature.

Mary Pat purchased this farmhouse in 2008

About 10 years ago I went to a retreat where we talked about getting back on track with goals and pursuing your dreams. One of the exercises was to write your obituary. I'd been thinking about it a bit as I had just finished chemo for breast cancer when I was 44. I wrote this obit almost joyfully, describing how I had a special place in the country where friends and family could gather, listen to music, eat great meals and enjoy being out in nature and dancing under the Texas stars. Later, I shared with a couple of friends and forgot about it. Several years went by and then one of my friends, a real estate broker, said 'I found your place.' I'd forgotten about the obit and the description of my ranch-a-rita. Well, fell in love with the place at first site. Friends and family have gathered there and created some great memories. Just coming over the rise to the entrance of the ranch, my blood pressure lowers and the connection to nature takes over. Life becomes simpler and more beautiful. The giant oak tree right outside the house, is a place where people gather under for meals and draw strength from that big, wise oak. It's estimated to be 300 to 400 years old. There are lights in the tree and a bird cage 'chandelier' over the table. Life is good. And it brings me happiness to share with others.

The land is very varied over it's 67 acres. There's a hill top with forever views looking north west, a rocky ravine, seasonal creek that has a great limestone bottom swimming hole and waterfalls when it's running, beautiful hayfields, oaks and wildflowers.

27 Reviews of Property 358343 in Johnson City, Texas

Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
average rating of 4.909091 based on 27 reviews
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
Fort Worth, TX
5

amazing place for bachelorette party

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We comfortably slept 19 people here for a bachelorette party this past weekend, it was amazing. guest house with bunk beds was super adorable, easily fit 11 in there as well as another 9 inside the main house. The location was just far enough but not too far away. Spent all day Saturday at the wineries in Fredricksburg, and the other nights out by a camp fire or around the large dining room table sharing stories. I would definitely recommend for a girls weekend.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Samantha,

So glad you girls had a good time! Hope the wedding is extra special and come back and see us soon.

Best,

MP
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
4

Great!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great - neat place!
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
Singapore
5

Yes, Heaven on Earth...Mary Pat = la angel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Rancho de Vida is a mystical place in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. With 14 of us converging for Thanksgiving it was the perfect venue for everyone. We aged from 10 years to 86 + dogs and we all found peace and personal space with all the togetherness here! From the moment we came through the gate, I knew this was hallowed ground. There is something so special about the light and the love you feel here. A lot of this has to due with MP- Mary Pat's sense of style, her eye for details, and simplistic beauty. The bunk house was perfect for the sisters and the nieces and nephews, Dad took the sunroom, Mom and upstairs bedroom, the boys upstairs, and on couches, Jim & I commanded the awesome front bedroom w/ real century plant...so cool.The kitchen accommodated all of our cooking and chaos in preparing a Thanksgiving meal for 14, and MP has every tool and utensil you can imagine! The fire pit was wonderful on 30 degree nights for smores and campfire stories! Sadly we had to cancel our horse riding with Helen who was to bring over 8 mounts due to cold weather. We hiked to the creek more than once, found a treasure trove of fossils in the outcrop, and took in the view from the scenic hilltop more than once. Sunsets and sunrises were spectacular, especially the morning we were fogged in. The light is ethereal here, and the opportunities for photos are unending. The majestic oaks must have seen so much over their 400 years, they grace the property like grand guardians. There are so many special touches. You can sense MP's spirituality, and her sense of humor as well as her homage to all things Texas. We are talking about an Easter trip next year, but I better book now! This property will not be a best kept secret forever, those that know it know its magical draw, and become repeat visitors...it is truly like coming home. Mary Pat, thank you for your communications, your attention to detail, and all the amenities that make this destination so very special.Loved the swing, the showers, the bunkhouse and "big house", the outdoor seating, and indoor seating- great for cards, games and clay projects! The kids all absolutely felt free and it was nice to not see I-phones as the usual appendages! We will be back, and though there are so many close great places: Fred, Enchanted, LBJ Ranch, we were content only leaving to go see the lights in Johnson City- a must during the holiday! Thank you thank you thank you! Muchisimas gracias por todo.
LOVE and highest regards
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
5

A Little Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have rented Rancho De Vida for the past two years for a reunion and we plan on returning every year for a long time! The charm of this place warms your heart. It's clean and has everything you could need. The new additions in the bunkhouse, with adding two showers and toilets, has made it more functional and comfortable. The outdoor space lends itself to making great memories with the hammock, fire pit, lights strung up in the beautiful oak tree, and views. The pictures do not do this place justice! The owner is easy to work with and makes the process pain free. I'm looking forward to our next stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
5

Beautiful, relaxing space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property is located in a beautiful hill country area. MP has exquisite taste and the decor shows it. But she also accomplish what many rentals can't: make it feel like home. We were so comfortable the whole weekend that it felt like we never left our own home. It's close enough to different towns if you feel like mingling but it's also secluded enough to have silence and peace.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
5

Perfect destination for all ages, peaceful & fun !

Perfect destination for all ages, peaceful & fun !
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
First impression is old farmhouse however inside the house is incredibly creative, whimsical and comfortable. Inviting to visitors and perfect destivnation for children and older visitors. Outdoor space gives the property a peaceful visiting spot, play house for kids. The bunkhouse is coveted place for families and teenagers that prefer a safe place to be roudy ! We visited wineries, Echanted Rock, Fredericksburg and stores close by. This is perfectly located feeling peacefully away but realistically nothing is too far out to grab if you need it ! Pure heaven and always planning our return !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
5

Rancho De Vida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There is such a nice cross breeze in the backyard, that even the hot summer days won't keep you inside. The house makes you feel as though you are at Grandma's place. Access to the pool table and ping pong table was great. The supermarket in Johnson City is budget worthy; and, has fresh local produce. I would definitely return for a future family gathering.

SMF
Houston
Owner's Response: Thanks Sally for the nice review. Hope you and your family had a great visit and time together before your son deployed.

Mary Pat
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
Odessa, TX
5

Amazing Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This house was amazing in every aspect! The outdoor area is perfect for family gatherings and children to play. There is an amazing play house that my 3 year old and my 2 year old nephew loved! We will be staying at this location again. Mary is so kind and informative. Great home owner to work with! Thanks again for an amzing stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
dallas tx
5

rancho de vida in december

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
the house and property met all our expectations, and exceeded them in many aspects. we used the location for a mini-break and reunion with our children and grandchildren. everyone was delighted with the home and grounds. the playhouse and bunkhouse and swings kept our kids/g'kids occupied for hours and the grounds/property were a terrific place to play, wander, and enjoy. we'll definitely try to return. we were surprised how roomy the facilities really were. gobs of perfect photo spots and amazing cliff to view sunsets. the kitchen had everything we needed for all meals as well. thank you for such a great time :)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great getaway in the heart of the new Napa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358343
+1 15127759227
Johnson City Texas Hill Country
Houston
5

Wonderful Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Wonderful place to get re-aquainted with your family. Lots of space to explore. Small kid friendly.
We had a great time making smores and telling stories by the camp fire. Would highly recommend this for a family gathering.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2