Lake Placid house rental - Relax and Unwind in our Village Home
Relax and Unwind in our Village Home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Lake Placid House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Wonderful Location -- Year-Round Activities -- Escape to the Adirondacks and Enjoy the Comforts of Home

This home is the ideal getaway for family groups to enjoy together. Discover the convenience of being in the center of the olympic village while relaxing in a quiet and peaceful setting. Escape the hustle and bustle of home without having to isolate yourselves in the deep woods.

Unwind on one of our two secluded outdoor decks. The lower deck is screened and has a porch swing, table and chairs -- nice for evenings with wine and cheese. The upper deck has a picnic table, comfortable cedar Adirondack chairs and a gas BBQ -- great for taking in the mountain sunshine.

Our cozy den has a beautiful gas fireplace and large screen TV. The spacious Adirondack great room has cathedral knotty cedar ceilings and plenty of room to relax and unwind.

Centrally located in the heart of the historic village of Lake Placid.

Leave your car parked in the heated two-car garage while you explore the village, walk to the Olympic Arena, catch the Whiteface Ski Shuttle, jog around Mirror Lake or bike the fabulous scenic mountain highways.

Easy access to swimming (Mirror Lake), biking, skiing, tobogganing and many other outdoor activities. Enjoy a relaxing stroll to dinner at one of the many fine restaurants and pubs in town. Sample some of the award winning micro-brews or savor your favorite wine without having to worry about who is going to safely drive you home. Easily accessible in the winter.

At-home recreation includes: Hot Tub (8 person), Gas Fireplace, Professional Quality Ping-Pong Table, Air Hockey, Foosball, High Definition 42'' Plasma TV, High-Speed Wireless Internet, small library.

SPECIAL IRONMAN RENTAL INFORMATION (Sorry, Ironman rentals are no longer available)

Please note that for an Ironman rental we will require a two-week total rental --this may be split between two visits - a late spring training visit and the actual event visit -- the event visit must end on a Sunday -- most past Ironman athletes have stayed the week after the event. Since our normal rental week for the summer is Sunday to Sunday this is the only way for us not to ''lose'' part of two very popular July rental weeks. Our home is perfectly situated for Ironman -- no parking issues (a serious consideration for this race!) and walking distance to the swim and transition area -- plus a hot tub for after the race.

As fellow triathletes we try to be fair to Ironman athletes while not negatively affecting our peak rental season. We do this two ways #1 - We do not increase our normal summer rates for Ironman and #2 - We request the two-week total rental described above.

Distances to nearby attractions:

Main Street: 4 Minute Walk

Shopping: 4 Minute Walk

Whiteface Ski Shuttle: 5 Minute Walk

Olympic Arena: 8 Minute Walk

Mirror Lake Beach: 8 Minute Walk

Speed Skating Oval: 9 Minute Walk

Ironman Transition Area: 9 Minute Walk

Ski Jumping Facility: 5 Minute Drive

Lake Placid Horse Shows: 5 Minute Drive

Ausable River Fishing: 8 Minute Drive

Bobsled, Luge, Skelton: 10 Minute Drive

Whiteface Mountain Ski Area: 15 Minute Drive

ADK Loj & High Peaks Access: 15 Minute Drive

More Details
Hide Details

We both love the Adirondacks and Lake Placid. Lake Placid is a wonderful family vacation destination. Fitness enthusiasts will appreciate the challenging bike terrain, miles of hiking/running/skiing trails and crisp mountain lakes. Explore the beauty that is the Adirondacks and discover why we've kept returning after close to 50 years of visits!

Jill & Marty Gordon purchased this house in 2006

We both love the Adirondacks and Lake Placid. Lake Placid is a wonderful family vacation destination. Fitness enthusiasts will appreciate the challenging bike terrain, miles of hiking/running/skiing trails and crisp mountain lakes. Explore the beauty that is the Adirondacks and discover why we've kept returning after close to 50 years of visits!

Location is one of the best features of our home -- we're in the center of the village tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood. When we visit we walk everywhere and leave the cars behind! Some of our guests enjoy walks around Mirror Lake, a stroll down Main Street or a tour of the Olympic Arena. Other guests (and ourselves) find that our home is so comfortable that they have a hard time leaving it behind!

15 Reviews of Property 358266 in Lake Placid, New York

Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Pennsylvania
5

Perfect Getaway in Lake Placid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at this great house with two other families. We loved our experience from being to end. Owner was very responsive to all my irritating questions - we had never been on a ski vacation to Lake Placid. The second floor where the kitchen and family room was actually bigger than I anticipated. Kitchen was well supplied with spices and all the kitchen equipment. The kids ended up hanging in the cozy downstairs family room while the adults listened to music and relaxed on second floor. Bunk beds were super comfortable and roomy. Heated garage was clutch for ski gear. Hot tub was great and so was game room. I would rent here again - proximity to town was ideal - we walked into town although an uphill walk - it was beautiful. Town was great, food great, service was less than ideal but oh well. Only comment is that it would have been ideal to have the propane tank filled in the gas grille b/c guys wanted to grille steaks one night but we managed fine. You will not regret renting this great home. We simply loved it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We strive to make our home as comfortable and well-equipped as possible. We should probably put a little sign by our Weber grill that explains that the grill is hooked into the main gas supply so no "little" propane tank is necessary - we use the main gas supply so that our guests never have to worry about running out of propane in the middle of cooking.
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Napoleon, Oh
5

Amazingly wonderful time by all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Have been at various places for family outings with mixed results, but this location has definately set the bar high. Without a doubt, on of THE most comfortable, warm, fun places we have ever stayed at.
Spaceous and accomodating with lots to do while there. One of the best stocked kitchens we have ever stayed at. Made the whole week feel as if we were home. Will definately look to book this property again upon our next trip back to Lake Placid. A great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Lovely Time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had such a nice time staying at this home. It was conveniently located, roomy for our big group, and cozy. We hope to stay again the next time we make it back to the Adirondacks!
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Ottawa, Canada
5

Oh So Grand!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spent 3 glorious days in this house and loved every minute of our stay. The house is conveniently located in the centre of town (although a walk to dine or shop does require a bit of a climb) and accommodated 8 of us with no problem whatsoever. The kitchen is extremely well laid out and equipped and we happily cooked and ate all our dinners there. The living room is right beside the kitchen so everyone can be included. The highlights (for us at least) had to be the games room and hot tub. After a tough day hiking or shopping it was such a pleasure to relax in the hot tub and then play table tennis or air hockey. We also had the opportunity to use the decks on a number of occasions and enjoyed them as well. All in all it was an extraordinary time in an extraordinary home. We definitely plan on returning next year.
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Absolutely first class

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was even better than we expected. There were eleven of us but we all found spaces we liked, never felt crowded, but had lots of space for 'togetherness' too.

All the appliances were in good condition, the games downstairs worked very well and were lots of fun (we organized a riotous team competition) the beds were comfortable, and the TV/DVD player worked very well.

Lots of activities in the area. As the weather was cool, we didn't do the water sports we had planned, but had lots of wonderful hiking and other activities. I think we have a couple of prospective 46ers in the family.

Thanks so much for the stay. I hope we manage another such trip.
Eve Marshall and family, Montreal, Long Island and B.C.
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Rochester, New York
5

Outstanding!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A beautiful home, very clean and well maintained! Loved the Adirondack flavor of the decor. Also within walking distance of Main St!

Lots of room to spread out, especially with kids. They had their own space to be. They especially enjoyed the game room! The icing on the cake was the hot tub!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!! Owners were very accomodating and easy to deal with. We highly recommend this as a place to stay in Lake Placid.
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
United States
5

Town and Country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great place to spend a week. Very comfortable and modern while not compromising the Adirondack feel. Views were fantastic. The house was impeccably clean. The home is decorated with very beautiful furnishings, and the kitchen is totally up to date.with every convenience you could ever want. We have been to Lake Placid many many times. The GGR is without a doubt the best accommodations we have experienced. I can recommend this property with a 5 star rating. The long weekend was without a doubt well worth it, and we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
United States
5

Martin Luther King Family Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The house was great! Very well maintained and clean, comfy and cozy. It was a VERY cold weekend (-17 degrees on Saturday) but we were warm and toasty inside -- we LOVED the fireplace -- which came in handy when we watched the GIANTS beat the 49ers. It was too cold outside to use the hot tub, but the boys used the game room, which was great. Loved the big bar in the kitchen area. The kitchen table was big and great for playing board games, and the walk into town was close - but cold. The garage was awesome! The only negative is that the shower heads are built for shorter people than us -- we range from 5'7" to 6'4". We just squatted - and it was fine. We will DEFINITELY come back again! Thanks GGR!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
new york
5

Thanksgiving at Gordon's Retreat

Thanksgiving at Gordon's Retreat
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Our three generations of family enjoyed a delightful Thanksgiving weekend in this beautiful and comfortable home. Plenty of room for everyone and large open living areas for shared time. We prepared our traditional Thanksgiving meal and found all the necessary tools and appliances. Nothing was missing! Well maintained and clean with all the comforts of home. Tastefully decorated. A residential neighborhood yet very private. Great playground nearby made an adventure for the kids. Easy walk to Main Steet - it is up hill on the way home. We even had several inches of snow which simply enhanced the experience. We really did not explore to much prefering to stay in by the fireplace and enjoy the home and each other. We would not hesitate to recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Central Village Location, Family Friendly, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Gameroom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358266
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Black River, N.Y.
5

A great fun filled girl's weekend

A great fun filled girl's weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I can not say enough good things about this house. I have rented a few cabins in Jay,but renting this house just on the outside of Lake Placid was the best. The house was very clean and well maintained.The house is filled with everything you need. There was nothing lacking to make the stay anymore enjoyable.Everything was just perfect.The hot tub came in very handy after horse back riding near Mirror Lake,and a long day at white face for the oct fest.Very short distance to town walking or riding.Thankyou for opening your house to the girl's weekend away. Eveyone had a great time.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1