Great Property, Poor Management Company
Whilst the house is beautifully appointed and equipped, it was poorly prepared for our arrival and we experienced quite a few problems from the start of our vacation.
Our first job, before using the pool, was to pull weeds from between the pavers of the lanai/pool deck. Whilst this only took 10 minutes, it was not something we would have expected to do ourselves. The Spa was dirty and had to be cleaned out before our use, the garage door opener did not work properly, a blind in the dining area was stuck and the huge 3D TV in the lounge would not work because a fault had developed with the incoming signal which had not been spotted prior to our arrival. As a result, we spent the two and a half days, the first third of our vacation, without any TV in the house.
The Rental Agent got all of these problems fixed (apart from the weeding and the blind which we did ourselves), but these issues did detract from the enjoyment of the start of our vacation, the lack of TV in particular as our boys had chosen the property especially for its enormous screen in the lounge area. All of these issues would have been avoided had the property been properly prepared for us in advance.
I sent the Rental Agent an email on the evening before our departure saying that, whilst overall we had enjoyed our time there, our stay had been somewhat spoiled by the initial problems we suffered and as a result I did not feel that we had received the full value of what we had paid for. When he turned up on the final afternoon to check us out of the property, it was clear that the Agent had taken personal exception to my email. He told me that whilst he had prepared a 'package' for me to make up for the inconvenience we had suffered, he was now not going to give it to me because I had emailed him my concerns. He pointed to a clause in the contract which indemnifies the renter from loss of service and invited me to write a negative review of the property as he had already advised the owner that I would do so and that he would 'deal with it as he had done in the past'. I felt that the Agent acted in a most unprofessional manner towards me and my family that day. We have been renting holiday properties in Florida for 15 years now and I can honestly say I have never been treated so unpleasantly by a Rental Agent.
So in summary, this is a beautiful property but I would not use the services of this Rental Agent again.
Owner's Response: We are very surprised by the guests review, as he stated more than once that the home was beautiful and well appointed and that they enjoyed their stay in the home.
The home is maintained by a professional gardener and pool person and serviced regularly. Upon arriving at the home with the guest, it was discovered that the spa required servicing. As we were unable to reach the current service person, another was contacted and the spa was ready within 2 hours of the guests arrival.
We do understand, it can be unfortunate when TV service is interrupted, however these things can be beyond a persons control. The service provider was contacted immediately and came to the home to repair the lines at their first available appointment.
The renter chose to unstick the blind instead of waiting for a handy man and the garage door opener worked, but not the side of the garage he wished to park. A handyman reprogrammed the garage door opener for his convenience.
Any issue the guest had, valid or not, was addressed and corrected in a very timely manner. The guests were treated with courtesy and candor and we regret that such small issues could have such an impact on an otherwise lovely vacation in the Florida sunshine. Should anyone have concerns regarding this review, we would welcome your call and would be happy to address any questions one may have.
Did you find this review helpful?