Northside condo rental - Two of the locals next door
Two of the locals next door
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 6 nights
 

Northside Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

(check out our video! Just copy and paste this link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmnNNutIFHs&feature=youtu.be

Our condo, located on the beautiful unspoiled north shore, is just 15 minutes from the airport, although it seems much further, is by no means your typical Caribbean beach front condo. First of all you are 50 feet from the surf! The sound is incredible, especially while lying in bed. This is by far the best unit in the complex because of the location, view, size, and it was just fully remodeled and furnished.

Next, all but two of the 32 units there are lived in year round by it's inhabitants. All the neighbors know each other and are very friendly. Most will realize you are staying in our place, so don?t be shy asking for directions or a beer. This is not a resort, but absolutely feels like a sanctuary or retreat. There are wild chickens and roosters, as well as the occasional iguana running around. Well kept but not manicured, nothing feels forced.

The beach, 50 feet from our living room, is usually deserted, as everyone living there in Dorothea is at work. If there happens to be a horse on the beach or in the water don’t worry, sometimes they break out to go for a swim! If you want to hike to another beautiful quiet, deserted beach where there are no buildings or anything but white sand, you can hike to Neltjeberg (pr. nelteeberg). It’s a little less than a half a mile walk on a spectacular forest trail that includes an ocean cliff section directly adjacent to the property. It’s a local’s favorite, deserted most weekdays. If you want something more traditional, world famous Megan’s Bay is only two bays over, about a 7 minute drive from Dorothea. There are 53 other public beaches. Typical this is not.

It’s a small island so everything is close, including the ferries to St John, Tortolla, Virgin Gorda and many others. Day trips are easy and inexpensive

.Owning this exact condo was Dori?s dream before ever meeting me in Connecticut, so after we got together I bought it for us. I now understand why it was her dream and I think you will too.

Dori and I live in Connecticut where we each have businesses. Dori is a psychotherapist in private practice in West Hartford and I have a mortgage company in Farmington. In fact, I recently received my lending license from the Virgin Islands so I can work as well as vacation in Saint Thomas now. We were recently married right on the beach in front of the condo!

More Details
Hide Details

19 Reviews of Property 358111 in Northside, Virgin Islands

Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Jewett City
4

Amazing views and SO close to the surf

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We spent nearly two weeks at this rental and really enjoyed ourselves. You cannot get a place any closer to the ocean! The view was spectacular and watching the pelicans dive into the water was something you don't see everyday! The beach there is very rocky and the surf is rough so swimming is challenging.
The other locals living in the development were extremely nice and welcoming. We were even visited by Rover, a large black lab mix who lives in a neighboring community. He adopted us for our entire stay and I actually cried when it came time to leave him.
The condo is as described however the surrounding units are a bit run down. I'm guessing that could have to do to the elements of salt air and sea spray. I was a little taken back, but our condo certainly had comfortable living arrangements and everything you need is there including beach chairs, coolers, and snorkeling gear. Listening to the surf at night was a delight!
If you're looking for seclusion, this is the place. You MUST have a car to get around and be prepared for a pretty steep climb to get to the main road. Personally, that's how we like it...true island living. Best vacation to the island so far!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
5

Loved every minute!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were immediately blown away the moment we stepped off the airplane. The VI as a whole are extremely beautiful. As we weaved in and out of the tiny little roads to get to our condo, you would catch a glimpse of beaches and other islands. The north side of the island is by far the least populated section and provides some of the best views as well. We arrived at the condo and were immediately greeted by Deb. She welcomed us and told us to let her know if we needed anything at all. All of the locals that live in the other units are extremely friendly and very eager to help when needed.

The unit was just as described...right on the water, and in great shape. We watched the pelicans catch fish the entire time we were in the condo. There is a hidden secrete to this location, a completely secluded beach about 1 mile from the condo. We took the walking path through the jungle, which provided some breathtaking views itself, to the beach one morning, and spent about 4-5 hours snorkeling and playing in the sand all by ourselves.

We also took trips to St. John and Virgin Gorda. Everything is easily accessible by rental car, and is usually less than a 15min drive (if you don't get lost). My family loved every minute of it, and I am sure you will too.
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Roseland, New Jersey
4

Relaxing with ocean view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Secluded condominium with ocean view. Quiet and relaxing. Jeff was very accommodating and helpful. Jeff went out and got a pack and play for our eight months old son. Greatly appreciated !!! The waves can be rough but Magen bay is a short drive away. The condo is clean and well kept. Fulltime residents are friendly and helpful as well.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Tolland CT
5

Beach Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband & I aren't tourist/resort types, we prefer local rentals when we vacation. Jeff & Dorie's condo was perfect for us. Located on the quiet North Shore we loved having the ocean right outside the unit and the view from the great room was terrific. Hearing the waves was lovely. Jeff couldn't have been more helpfull with providing directons and helpfull tips. We would definately stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
5

10 Whole Days of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
After a relatively stressful beginning to 2012, the four of us (2 couples who have known each other for over 30 years) were overdue for this trip. Having been to St. Thomas for a day here and there on various cruises, we decided that it was time to explore the island in depth. In retrospect, we didn't venture too far out too often. Everything we could possibly want was here at this condo. Two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen, beach and pool...and several super-friendly resident cats!

We toured every second day or so, but didn't venture too far away from our home away from home! Thanks Jeff, you'll be hearing from us again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Idaho Springs, CO
5

Very beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
For off the beaten path and secluded beach type of experience, this place can not be beat. Very comfortable (nothing fancy) unit virtually right at the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Reno, Nevada
5

Complete Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Thankyou for opening you gorgeous home to my family. It was exactly what we needed to unwind. I do have to say that my favorite part of the house was at night when i was getting ready to go to sleep, as soon as i heard the ocean waves at the window, i went straight to sleep. It was a great change from staying at a resort. The little store at the top of the hill by the house was a bit expensive compared to other stores close to town, but they have just about anything you could think of. If your looking for toruisty parts of the island, this is not the place for you. Quiet, relaxing, peacefull. Couldn't have asked for a better vacation! I cant wait to come back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
New Jersey
4

Recommended

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our family of 4 stayed at Estate Dorethea the week after New Year's. The property was exactly as described and we found it to be clean and comfortable. We were not looking for a resort experience (been there, done that), but something off the beaten trail where we could get into the rhythm of island life.

The kitchen is updated and well stocked with appliances and utensils. The bedrooms are a good size and equipped with AC, which are a must to knock down the humidity levels. The beds are adequate. There are two generous sized bathrooms, though enough hot water for back-to-back showers was sometimes a problem. A TV with DVD is available, though the satelite service was not working during our stay - which was not much of an issue since we didn't come to St. Thomas to watch TV.

This is a quiet location with a great view of the bay. Swimming is limited due to the rocky shoreline, but definitely possible. Another bay is accessible via a 20' hike through the woods, that is deserted during the week and offers beautiful sandy beaches. Hull Bay is a short drive away and was a nice diversion from the more popular beaches that are favorite of the cruise ship tourists. Given the remote location of the property, a rental car is highly recommended.

We enjoyed our stay and for the money, it is a great value compared to other VRBO sites and especially compared to the resorts. For a family of 4, our other option was two hotel rooms at $300-350/night. Since we were able to prepare our own meals, this property was a bargain in comparison.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Connecticut
5

Heaven on Earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Words cannot do this place justice. Truly paradise on earth. Dorthea Bay offered the perfect retreat off the beaten path, yet was only a short drive to restaurants and public beaches for exploring. However, both the beach outside the front door and the ten minute walk to secluded Neltjeberg beach, were our favorite parts of this location, as well as cooking lovely meals here to be enjoyed on the ocean front balcony. This property was comfortable and totally relaxing, a retreat away from the world, yet we met many friendly locals who made us feel completely welcomed. The condo was equipped with everything necessary to have all the comforts of home plus an amazing view and a pounding surf to sleep to. WARNING: if you are allergic to palm trees, whites sand, clear azure water, pelicans, fishing, snorkeling, relaxation or bliss- do not rent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Front on Secluded Bay (See our video!!!)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p358111
+1 860 989-1683
Northside St. Thomas
Long Island, NY
5

A View of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This condo was clean and comfortable. The view is spectacular. The pictures on the website are accurate but nowhere near as beautiful as the reality of watching the bay. The sounds of the waves just transported us. We had a sense of peace and calm just being there. The owner of the condo was also helpful and responsive.
The challenge was the driving through the hills!! However, it was well worth it since those views were also gorgeous. St. Thomas is simply a wonderful place to be. The people are friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a great time and came home renewed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1