Austin house rental - Front View of House - Driveway parking safe and shaded
Front View of House - Driveway parking safe and shaded
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps 4-5

Make this charming cottage in the historic Hyde Park neighborhood - just blocks from the University of Texas campus and minutes from downtown – your home away from home in the heart of Austin. Tucked away on a quiet street, this spacious 1500 sq. ft. home has an eclectic, contemporary interior with a relaxing, Zen vibe. The dining room seats six comfortably, while the second bedroom features a Murphy’s Bed – perfect when you want a little extra floor space. Plus, you’ll have all of the amenities of home: modern kitchen appliances, new washer/dryer, flat screen TV, 100 cable channels, wireless Internet access, and surround sound system in the common areas. There’s plenty of outdoor space too. Grill out on the back deck, or enjoy your morning coffee on the front porch. Best of all, you’ll be just around the corner from many of Austin’s favorite local restaurants, coffee shops, bars, grocery stores, hike and bike trails, and live music venues. Sleeps four people comfortably.

Read our raving reviews: Although this property has only been on the rental market for a short time, we have already been highly rated by our lovely guests. See what others have to say about staying at Laurel Lane!

This property is not just another house: It is a historic landmark with great energy -- it's charm will capture you the minute you walk in. It is tastefully decorated with art and objects collected from around the world. The owner is well traveled and has a great eye for design. The neighborhood is also really special. For those who are familiar with Austin, you know why...for those who are first time travelers to Austin, you'll be in the center of town, near the University, close to Downtown while in an established restored turn-of-the-century neighborhood. Stroll around and take it in, grab a coffee in one of the many coffee shops, walk to get fresh farmed groceries or dine at local restaurants and be sure to stop at a nearby bakery to pick up some dessert! From this location you can walk, bike or drive to anything your heart desires -- you're in the center of it all!

Accommodations : The House is ideal for two couples, one couple in each bedroom. If there is a fifth guest in your party, there is plenty of floor space for an inflatable mattress. Children are welcome!

For your convenience, a Caretaker is available 24/7 to answer all your questions, give you directions and suggestions to make your stay with us exceptional! We will arrange your check in and check out and make sure we exceed your expectations!

More Details
Hide Details

I moved to Austin in 1995 and immediately fell in love with this town. I had no doubt that this is where I would settle once I graduated from UT. We are a family of 5 and decided to rent this great house to Austin's finest visitors. I love interacting with travelers and try to accommodate any individual needs you may have. If you need tips on anything in Austin, please don't hesitate to ask.

Denny Young purchased this house in 2003

Homes that were built in the 1920's are unique. This property is in GREAT shape and just a few cosmetic touch-ups restored its beauty and preserved its essence. The house is very cozy with a solid construction.

This house has all the modern amenities necessary for comfort. Located on a quiet block, near a park and just walking distance to nearby restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores and more. Centrally located, a short bike ride or super fast car ride to downtown. The house is cozy and warm, great to just lounge around and relax. It has a great front porch, to check out the neighborhood, and a great back yard for grilling and hanging out.

13 Reviews of Property 357712 in Austin, Texas

Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
4

Historic house with Asian-inspired decoration

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My boyfriend and I came in from Dallas for a Valentine's Day weekend and to celebrate a friend's engagement.

The property was clean and well-maintained, but there were a few minor frustrations along the way: it was around 7P when we arrived, but no lights were on and we had a hard time seeing the lock to get in and find the light switches for inside; would have liked a one-sheet describing the location of the disposal switch (under the sink) and how to work the speaker system.

The owner/manager was slower than expected to respond, as we called at 1P and didn't get a return call until 6P the day of our arrival. We were told to text any more questions (we texted about the speaker system & Christmas lights in the backyard), which seemed to get a faster response.

Overall, we thought the neighborhood was quiet, close to small stores, restaurants, bars and UT. The owner also left us a bottle of local wine from Becker, which we enjoyed.
Owner's Response: The renter called prior to check in to request a late check out on Sunday; however, due to an emergency situation at work I was not available to immediately return her call. The issue was in regards to check out time in which we agreed to allow them to check out at their leisure since we did not have anyone checking in on the day of their departure. We have included an alternate phone number on the site in case guests would prefer to speak to someone rather than text if a similar situation arises. We have also included the location of the disposal switch and information about the receiver for the speakers in the welcome note to remedy the confusion for future guests. Lastly, we confirmed the motion light is working on the front porch. We appreciate the opportunity to continue to improve the experience for our guests.
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
Rochester, NY
5

Lovely Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We decided to stay at this home based on all the positive reviews and do not regret our decision. First off, I was impressed with the bottle of wine that was left for us on the table. That was a very nice touch. It's a lovely, comfortable home in a great neighborhood. It's close to everything we wanted to see and do. The caretakers/owners were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
5

perfect venue for an open house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Loved loved loved this home. I hosted a graduation celebration here and got SO many compliments on the space. There were a lot of personal touches as well. I could tell that the owners took the time to make my stay comfortable. The location is FABULOUS, a short walk from UT, and the home was beautiful inside and out. Highly recommended for a couple or small group (as there is only one bathroom) and excellent venue to host a party!
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
5

Fantastic home, great amenities and design.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This home is very Austin, in a great neighborhood in north campus just by the university. Lots of detail has gone into the furnishings without making you feel like you are intruding in someone's house. Owner was very accessible for the few questions we had. Value on a weekend in Austin when the hotel prices go through the roof cant be beat, we'll always look here first when we come to Austin again!
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
5

Wish I could live here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The property is LOVELY. It's in a great neighborhood, with wonderful neighbors, and I loved the fact that I could walk to the co-op, liquor store, and restaurants. Denny was a pleasure to work with, and she really made everything quite easy and stress-free.

I would highly recommend this home if you are looking to escape to Austin. I know that I will certainly be renting again for my future trips!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
Oklahoma City
5

Lovely Cottage...Lovely Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We loved Laurie's darling little cottage! It's cozy, clean & a great location. The backyard is a little oasis & we ate several meals outside on the deck. The beds are very comfortable, which is important when you are staying 2 weeks. We walked in Hemphill Park, around the block everyday or drove a short way to Shoal Creek. We had pizza from Milto's (it's greek pizza), very good; a "Burnett" breakfast burrito from Taco Shack (YUM!) & also ate at Trudy's several times, which all of these you can walk to... if you want. The Wheatsville grocery is close....although pretty pricey.
We just felt very much at home. It was safe & quite. We loved the caretaker, Dawn, who was fun & very helpful, including info on the best vintage shops. I also took advantage of Laurie's offer for 10% off services at either of her spas (Viva). The diamond express facial was "awesome'. (I never use that word!). Also...very important...Laurie (the owner) is super easy to work with. You won't be disappointed!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
5

PERFECT weekend for our Family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My husband, 18 month old daughter and I LOVED this house. It was super convenient for the UT game and a million cafes and restaurants. It was super clean, easy to navigate, and beautiful inside. The owner was super easy to work with.

We plan to return soon!
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
5

This keeps Austin Weird

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We enjoyed our stay in this cottage more than we had expected. We've lived in the Austin suburbs for years until recently relocating away. So,when we wanted to visit family and friends we want to try out the central Austin lifestyle. We were not disappointed! It is located just north side of UT campus and had the charm of Hyde Park. We loved taking our daily walks in the immediate neighborhood among all the shade even though it was 100 degrees out. The home was very easy to keep cool and big enough to entertain. We were popular among our family as we were centrally located, close to downtown, and because the UT game aired on our TV (Grande Communications). Overall, we had plenty of space and enjoyed the layout and furnishings of the home. My favorite thing is how well the kitchen is appointed - applicances, dishware, pots, spices, etc. Everything I needed - and I was skeptical. Juanita treated us like a friend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
5

Thank you, Laurie!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at Laurie's place for our summer vacation. Austin's *hot* in the summer, but Laurie's is a perfect place to chill! It's a beautiful, comfortable house generously stocked with all the basics. Plus, it's in a great central location, with easy access to everything we needed. Our highlights were Spider House (for beer), Flightpath Coffee Shop (for reading), Tacodeli (breakfast tacos), Phil's Ice House (burgers), Amy's (ice cream), and working it all off with the coaches at Atomic Athlete. The neighbors are friendly and fun to hang out with, and Whirly the neighborhood cat came by to visit us on the porch most mornings. (We didn't let her in the house, of course!) We'd stay here again for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Highly Recommended 1920's Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357712
+1 5126332339
Austin Austin area
Indianapolis
5

AbFab Austin Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We were thrilled to have found this wonderful home to rent during our Austin vacation! The property owner, Laurie, was incredibly responsive from beginning to end. We were equally impressed with Juanita, the property manager. Not only did she stop by upon our arrival to personally welcome us and show us the logistics of the property, but was quick to recommend the closest grocery stores, the yummiest restaurants and the best places to burn the calories consumed at said restaurants. She made sure we wanted for nothing during our stay – well, with the exception of more stuffed avocados from Trudy’s and more time in Austin! And the home itself was the perfect vacation rental: ideal location, warm, welcoming, wonderful outdoor space. Had we picked up our own home and dropped it in the middle of Austin, we could not have been more comfortable. Would absolutely stay here again. Thanks for the warm hospitality Ladies!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway