Grand Lake cabin rental - Grand Lake Cabin
Grand Lake Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Grand Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, sleeps 10

Our cabin is near the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and 1 mile from the charming and picturesque town of Grand Lake. Our family and pet friendly log home backs to recreation land including a golf course in the summer and Nordic center in the winter. Our modern log home has all the conveniences to make for a wonderful mountain vacation experience. Enter into the cabin and enjoy beautiful vaulted ceilings. The master bedroom is located on the main floor complete with a queen sized bed and bathroom with shower and washer/dryer. Enjoy our fully stocked kitchen and breakfast bar overlooking the family room. The kitchen includes a refrigerator, dishwasher, electric stove, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, and more. Snuggle up with a fire in the wood stove and enjoy the large windows looking out the back, perfect for viewing local wildlife. The family room includes a full size pullout sofa sleeper, love seat, and satellite flat screen TV with DVD player.

Upstairs you will find the second bedroom loft that features a queen bed, 2 loveseat sofa sleepers, and a bathroom with shower. We also provide a self inflating/deflating air mattress that will sleep 2 additional people. For families with infants you will also find a pack and play crib, portable highchair/booster seat, and infant bathtub. We also provide a washer and dryer for your convenience. Outside there is a new gas grill on the deck with a table and chairs. To truly appreciate the mountain experience, gather around our fire pit for an evening under the stars. We take great pride in offering a family friendly cabin. You will find plenty of toys, puzzles, movies and books to entertain the kids. We also provide a kid sized picnic table for our small guests to use while enjoying the outdoors. For the older kids, adults, we have plenty of games and DVDs to select from to make your stay more comfortable.

Amenities: Washer, Dryer, Linens, Off street parking, wood stove, outdoor firepit, 2 Queen beds, 1 full pull out sofa, 2 twin pull outs sofas, pack and play crib, satellite TV, DVD player, DVD library, games, stereo, CD player, full kitchen, utensils, cookware, glasses, refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven, microwave, ice maker, gas barbecue, charcoal BBQ, deck, mountain views, easy lake access, backs to golf course, backs to cross country ski Nordic recreational center, telephone, pet friendly, family friendly, NO SMOKING.

Activities and attractions in Grand Lake Colorado: Golf, tennis, lake swimming, fishing, boating, located at the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, very close to downtown Grand Lake with shopping, restaurants and entertainment, rafting, kayaking, sailing, water-skiing, ice fishing, biking, mountain biking, cross country skiing, alpine skiing (Sol Vista 20 minute drive, Winter Park 40 minute drive, Steamboat 1.5 hour drive), snowboarding, snowmobiling (rental 1 minute drive), sledding, tubing, wildlife (moose, elk, deer, fox), hiking, hunting, rock climbing, fitness center, health/beauty spa, basketball, antiquing, live theatre in Grand Lake, museums, horseshoes, miniature golf, horseback riding, hot air ballooning.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a Colorado family who love to visit Grand Lake and Rocky Mountain National Park. We became frustrated with the lack of availability of clean, family and pet friendly lodging options in the area. That is why we purchased this cabin and are making it available for others to enjoy. We take pride in our cabin and hope that each guest feels at home during your stay.

Jason or Sarah purchased this cabin in 2010

We love the location of Grand Lake because it offers a plethora of activities throughout the year. As Grand Lakes motto says, 'just one season, yours.' The summer months in Grand Lake offer many outdoor activities including hiking at nearby Rocky Mountain National Park and partaking in daily park activities. Enjoy a boat ride on Grand Lake and spend the afternoon shopping along the boardwalk. Take is an evening performance at Grand Lake’s Theatre and have dinner at one of the many local restaurants. Fishing, horseback riding, golfing and mountain biking are just some of the spectacular summer events occurring each day in Grand Lake. The fall provides excellent opportunities to take in the beautiful autumn colors or enjoy the Elk Bugling. During the winter you can experience a whole new vacation destination. Grand Lake is the snowmobile capital of Colorado with over 125 miles of groomed trails. From our cabin you can directly access snowmobile, cross country skiing and snowshoeing trails. In nearby Granby and Winterpark, you will find excellent downhill ski resorts.

24 Reviews of Property 357589 in Grand Lake, Colorado

New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 24 reviews
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Thanksgiving getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife, 2 kids, 2 friends, dog and had a great time at this beautiful cabin. There was plenty of room for us in a great location. The cabin had everything we could want.
We are looking forward renting the cabin again soon.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Denver, CO
5

Girl Scout friends reunion after 50+ years

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were 4 old friends who live in different states having a wonderful reunion at the cabin. Three more old friends joined us for 2 nights so we were able to use all the beds, including the 2 twin sleepers upstairs and the hideabed in the living room, fitting comfortably. We were there while Trail Ridge Road and Rocky Mountain National Park were closed due to the flooding in Estes Park, but it opened up a few days later so we got to enjoy everything, especially the wonderful cabin which was very clean. A couple of problems were addressed and fixed almost immediately. We used the firepit one evening to sing Girl Scout songs and make s'mores. The listing photos are really accurate. We enjoyed reading the guest book with lots of great comments and recommendations from previous visitors. I would recommend this cabin to anyone. Luckily we figured out how to enlarge the table which is easy to open (just pull it apart and lift up the leaf) and can fit at least 8 people around it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Denver, Colorado
5

Great Area for Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
5 adults and 2 children ages 2-1/2 and 5 spent 4 nights in this well maintained log cabin home. It had all the comforts of home. The children really enjoyed sleeping in the loft area with their parents and playing with all the toys and games left there by the owners. The downside was that we picked the worst week for a vacation in Colorado that we could have. The rain dampened some of our activities such as roasting hot dogs and marshmallows outside in the fire pit. However, we were still able to get some fishing in at beautiful Columbine Lake, had a great horse back ride at Winding River Ranch, not far away, saw a mama moose and her baby, and a doe with her two youngsters. Can't blame anyone for the rain, and we are lucky we weren't on the other side of Trail Ridge road in Estes Park as it was completely flooded. All things considered, we had a good time. The owners were very helpful and quick to respond to any questions. We would like to return and hopefully would pick a week when the weather is more pleasant.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Lovely cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This cozy cabin exceeded our expectations! The cabin is clean, well organized, and equipped with all of the comforts of home, with the added bonus, of a fire ring and ample supply of wood. Convenient to Columbine lake, mountain bike trails, the town of Grand Lake, and Rocky Mountain National Park, this cabin is perfectly located for many activities, or a quiet retreat. The owners are hospitable and quick to reply to questions. We loved our stay and hope to return soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
4

Cute and clean family-friendly Grand Lake/Columbine Lake cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband, our 4 children, and I were fortunate enough to find this cabin available on relatively short notice. I was a little skeptical of booking online, without having seen it, and not having used vrbo.com before....but was relieved when the description was everything it said it was. It was very clean (I was also worried about the possibility of fleas from dogs that are allowed to stay, but that worry too was unfounded!). There were tons of board games and some toys for younger children. The cabin kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, pans, plates, glasses, etc. The upstairs loft was very spacious, and with all the chairs and a couch that all converted to beds, there was ample sleeping options. We used the fire pit outside, since there was no fire ban at the time, and even that was equipped with a water bucket, and tools to use for the fire. There were also MANY seating options outside. The whole neighborhood was very peaceful, with residents and guests alike taking morning and evening strolls/hikes/bike rides. Columbine Lake is a very short walk away, so serene. The only thing I would have liked to have was a larger dining room table inside...one that could seat 6 instead of 4....But with the great weather and scenery Grand Lake has, many guests, at least in the warm months, may prefer eating outside on the deck anyway. I would definitely recommend this cabin as a great, safe and clean stay. The owner and his family seem like they really care about their cabin and it's guests!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review!

I wanted to point out to potential guests reading this review that our kitchen table has a built in leaf and extends out with enough chairs to fit 6 adults. It may not be obvious so we plan to communicate that to future guests.

We take pride in keeping our cabin very clean. We expect the cabin will be cleaner than any rental people have stayed in, dog friendly or not.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Minneapolis, MN
5

Best Cabin — Had to come back a second time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was my second time staying at the “Kinnikinnick Cabin,” as we call it. This time, there were 10 of us! We are a bunch of young adults (4 gals, 6 guys) from Minneapolis that traveled here on a church retreat. 10 full-grown adults comfortably fit in this fantastic cabin.

I wrote a review about a year ago, and everything still applies. To reiterate, the décor is lovely and tasteful. It’s not that tacky kind of “trying-too-hard” cabiny type stuff. It’s authentic. I love the genuine log walls, the log beams, and the artwork.

This cabin is very clean and tidy and has everything we needed. Even down to the night lights, humidifier, crock pot, and marshmallow roasters. Oh, and the grill. The guys loved the big grill! The heater in the bathroom was a plus, and there was plenty of space to put all of our bathroom things.

This year, we discovered the extra leaf in the table which was a huge help when seating 10 people for meals! The truth is, though, that we had room to spare during meals as it was. The cabin also has everything you could need — every kitchen utensil, extra blankets, the washer and dryer were SO helpful, and it's very clear that the owners put a lot of thought into making sure it was complete.

Two of my favorite things about the cabin are the bonfire pit (no fire ban this year!) and the indoor wood-burning stove. That was such a treat on chilly mountain mornings! The outdoor fire pit was perfect for roasting marshmallows, talking, and playing guitar under the stars. Most of all, though, I love the openness. It's spacious while maintaining a very cozy feel!

Beautiful Columbine Lake is a 5-minute walk away. Neighbors are friendly and the lake is so beautiful and peaceful and quiet. “Town,” or downtown Grand Lake, is a quick 5-minute drive – though some of my friends chose to walk. I really liked being in the Columbine Lake Community. Very private, peaceful, and cozy. I’ve stayed in town before too, but my preference is this neighborhood and always will be the Columbine Lake Community.

I hope to come to this cabin many more times in the future.

Finally, Jason, the owner, is fantastic. He will reply to your emails quickly and he makes the process quick and smooth. It’s clear he really cares about this home because it has always been in great condition.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Lafayette, CO
4

Spring Break Get Away with the kids

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family (two adults, two kids, two dogs) wanted a spring break away from home with some relaxation and some adventure. The house was not only kid friendly with children's toys that kept them entertained for hours but dog friendly as well complete with a dog bed. The kitchen was well stocked with the necessary utensils and pots-n-pans and the beds were cozy. The house was comfortable and clean and we will definitely stay here again in the future. We were able to play just outside in the golf-course area that had some great sledding and cross-country skiing. We were close enough to enjoy Hot Sulphur Springs and the local candy shop, to cross-country at White Mountain Ranch and visit friends in WinterPark! Grand Lake has some great shops and restaurants...be sure to check out Fat Cat Cafe for breakfast!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Minneapolis, MN
5

Perfect Cabin - It had everything we needed and more. Comfortable. Clean. Rustic. Beautiful.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our group of 7 young adults (4 men, 3 women) stayed in this awesome cabin. We walked in the door and immediately, everyone was saying, "Wow this is nice," and "hooooooly cow this is AWESOME!!" The photos don't do it justice, really. It completely exceeded my expectations, especially for the price.

The kitchen had everything we needed. We cooked 7 breakfasts, made all of our lunches, and cooked 6 or 7 dinners in that kitchen and they had every pot and pan you would need, all the utensils... everything. The living area was so comfortable and the furniture wasn't that cheap stuff you find in hotels. It was rich and plush! The decor was perfect. Niether gaudy nor tacky, but rather very tasteful and warm. There was plenty of seating for all seven of us at the kitchen table and at the bar. We ate most of our dinners outside and there were plenty of chairs out there, even a little picnic table where the girls sat (we're tiny...) and everything was clean -- obviously well cared for.

The ladies used the bedroom and air mattress, which was very comfortable. There were TONS of extra blankets! Two full bathrooms was exactly what we needed, and the washer and dryer were so nice, especially after hiking. The men were in the loft, which they LOVED. Pure dude time up there. We fell asleep to them making animal noises and giggling. Not even kidding...

We completed two whole puzzles (!!), watched about three movies (and it was so comfy!) and spent a little time looking at the stars. We took one night to play guitar around our "bonfire." There was a fireban when we went, but that didn't mean we couldn't pretend we were singing around a real fire.

The neighborhood was beautiful and everyone was so friendly. One of my favorite things to do was walk to the fishing spot on Columbine Lake early in the morning. So peaceful. Neighbors waved to me on the way. It was great to be so close to Grand Lake, yet be in a quaint community.

I would highly HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone who wants to stay in a comfortable, clean, and beautiful cabin with all the amenities. The owners are awesome, and they will respond to your emails, and make sure everything is going well while you're staying at their cabin.

To the Owners, thank you again. So much. I know I have said that a million times, but you deserve it. Everything about the cabin was absolutely perfect and I hope to return again next year. Thank you for making this trip possible, and for making it so memorable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Minnesota
5

Perfect getaway in a great location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The cabin owner is fantastic to work with - communication was great from the start, information given up front was 100% accurate. The cabin is located just a couple miles out of the town of Grand Lake and had all the amenities we needed. The kitchen was fully stocked with appliances/dishes/BBQ tools/microwave, etc. There were basic condiments in the fridge, which was great because we did not think to bring those! We picked up groceries in Grand Lake - the options were pretty limited and rather expensive - so next time we will stop for items prior to getting into Grand Lake! The gas BBQ grill and fire place were perks to use after a long day of snowmobiling. The cabin was clean, nicely decorated and cozy. There were 4 adults and one dog and we had more than enough space. There are cabins on both sides of this cabin, but we did not see anyone while we were there. There is ample parking for a car (or 2), a truck and snowmobile trailer. There was a hottub in the community building, but the hours were limited so we weren't able to use it. We hope to return and stay a little longer next time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
New, Clean, Family/Pet Friendly Grand Lake Cabin in Grand Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p357589
+1 303-489-0004
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

an awesome trip - again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This cabin fit our needs so well that we've just returned from our 2nd weeks vacation. The owners have really thought of it all and provide a great, comfortable, convenient and relaxing retreat.

They've added a small childrens dining table so now the boys had their own places inside and outside. And the toys & games were required less this year because the beautiful late summer weather had us outside as much as possible. As for the dog, the bowls & bedding come in handy after the just perfect off-leash Colorado River Trial hike nearby. And the starry cool evenings made s'mores around the firepit all the more memorable.

Our two intrepid explorers (boys 3.5 & 2 yrs old) loved expeditions to Monarch Lake (south of Grandby Lake), Pine Beach (south end of Shadow Mtn Lake) and all around Grand Lake. We saw otters in the wetlands, osprey overhead, mule deer, chipmunks & squirrels, geese & ducks, and moose (a lot of moose). Seems this was the summer of moose with repeated sightings of a young cow and her calf near the cabin, other young cows and calfs around Sun Valley Ranch and a large cow or two around Columbine Lake.

All-in-all this is a great retreat for a memorable family vacation. We've been very happy with this comfortable, clean, cozy yet roomy & up-to-date destination and we'd recommend it to other young families (and yes a family includes the dog).
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7